1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Phenom II X4 960T ''Zosma'' Unlock to Phenom II X6

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Apr 16, 2010.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    33,118 (9.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16,873
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    AMD's upcoming series of Phenom II X4 900T series that supports AMD Turbo Core technology, and which are based on the "Zosma" die, have been confirmed to be able to unlock both its manufacturer-disabled cores to work as a six-core processor. Zosma is a "cut-down" version of AMD's Thuban six-core die, where two of its cores are disabled. With the remaining four cores, two can function with increased clock-speeds in boost-state as Turbo cores (3/6 could on the X6 chip).

    The core unlocking is said to have been done on an AMD 890GX chipset based motherboard, in the same way disabled cores on Phenom II X3 and X2 chips are unlocked. One of the first models based on Zosma are the Phenom II X4 960T and X4 940T, which operate at 3.30 GHz and 3.00 GHz, respectively. Their Turbo Core speeds are up to 500 MHz over clock speeds, depending on the model. The X4 T-series could form AMD's mainstream processor in the sub-$200 range.

    Source: OCWorkbench
     
    HUSKIE, PVTCaboose1337, _JP_ and 13 others say thanks.
  2. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    33,118 (9.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16,873
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Many Thanks to cdawall for sending this in.
     
  3. cdawall

    cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    24,780 (6.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,030
    Location:
    Houston
    Hehe of course I found this
     
    blu3flannel, de.das.dude, _JP_ and 5 others say thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. AlienIsGOD

    AlienIsGOD

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Messages:
    4,413 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,499
    Location:
    Kingston, Ontario Canada
    O snap!! MOAR Cores !! I really think AMD has a winner on thier hands in these X4's. If unlocking ratio is good, these X4 will sell like hotcakes..
     
  5. MikeX

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2006
    Messages:
    129 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    960T the new 550BE
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. cool_recep

    cool_recep

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    345 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    Istanbul/Turkey
    Wow man. From 2 cores to 4 cores was good but with 6 cores, my e-penis will be 6 feet longer anymore. w00t

    Seriously good.
     
    WarEagleAU says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,679 (5.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,790
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Any information on exactly which AMD 8 series boards were used in the source?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. cdawall

    cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    24,780 (6.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,030
    Location:
    Houston
    The asus and asrock have core unlocking from what has been said so far but others may have it...
     
    H82LUZ73, Baam and JrRacinFan say thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. claylomax

    claylomax

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,657 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    London
    Release date?
     
  10. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    9,596 (2.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,089
    3.3Ghz with a 500Mhz clock increase? triple core 3.8Ghz from the factory......


    Sounds like a very overclockable chip..... I need one. Not that i do anything really that my CPU can't handle, but I just need it.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU 10 Million points folded for TPU
  11. claylomax

    claylomax

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,657 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    London
    That's my next CPU. :rockout:
     
  12. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    13,391 (4.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,258
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
    Any chance of unlocking on a 785G?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,708 (10.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,126
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    i'd say definitely yes.


    i'm gunna buy one, see if it unlocks, and if not... well, its gunna work nicely in my media PC until i go AMD on my main
     
    [Ion] says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. Eng.Mostafa Guest

    Wonderful ,,

    Keep it up AMD ;)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  15. naoan New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2009
    Messages:
    303 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    62
    I wonder if its able to turbo if it unlock, just wondering as even if it won't it's still a very nice "feature". :laugh:

    and wow, sub-$200? (both of them? for real?) get that Intel!
     
  16. Baam New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Messages:
    93 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Trucker..so all over
    Nice. I think the MSI 890GX also has core unlocking with a bios update.
     
  17. Tartaros

    Tartaros

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    230 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    Location:
    Madrid, Spain
    Also the prices are great, you can do a great system with almost no money compared to intel. I recently purchased a new amd system and I'm very impressed.
     
  18. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,708 (10.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,126
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    that would depend on how good a chip you get.

    Like, i'm sure many of these 'quads' are the ones that work fine as 6 core chips, just that they cant clock up right in turbo.. so hey, turn the FSB down a few MHz and it might go stable.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  19. Kantastic

    Kantastic

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,180 (1.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    998
    Why was I not surprised? You seem to have all these wonderful chips that can unlock & clock to 4GHz, which is not an easy feat for an AM3 C2 chip. :laugh:
     
  20. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    13,391 (4.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,258
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
    So these Thuban-based chips do have DDR2 memory controllers, right?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,535 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,095
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    I believe the answer is 'Yes'.
     
    [Ion] says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  22. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    13,391 (4.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,258
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
    Awesomeness!
    I see what might be a new b-day upgrade for my rig :cool:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,535 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,095
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    10 Year Member at TPU
  24. cdawall

    cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    24,780 (6.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,030
    Location:
    Houston
    I have a lot of fun chips and all c1 and c2 chips can do 4ghz it depends on the person clocking them
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  25. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    15,979 (3.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,020
    Location:
    Beaumont, Alberta
    :laugh: I hate to say it, but you are very right.


    I do not beleive the 960T will hit 3.8 on turbo, just 3.6. The 940T should hit 3.5ghz.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)