• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Phenom II X4 960T ''Zosma'' Unlock to Phenom II X6

casemods

New Member
Joined
Sep 5, 2010
Messages
24 (0.01/day)
System Name r4
Processor athon x2 3800/phenom 2 x4/x6 960t/1605t
Motherboard msi k9n6pgm2-v2
Cooling x4 copper heatpipe 120mm for cpu
Memory 2x1gb ddr2 2.5-7-5-7
Video Card(s) XFX hd 5770 1gb GDDR5
Storage 200gb + 500GB
Display(s) tyris 19" 16:9 1440x900 max
Case GMC R-4 bulldozer - white
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply ulta v-series D0805/ULT-500p
Software win 7 ult
That's not too bad.. Both boards have Thuban bios's so either will work. If you want less expensive, go for it. :)
What would I be missing out on if I went the microcenter board vs the newegg board, out of curiosity?
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
17,104 (3.42/day)
880G board, w/IGP, less pci-e, vs 890FX, max pci-e, no IGP.

890FX is better for overclocking.
 

casemods

New Member
Joined
Sep 5, 2010
Messages
24 (0.01/day)
System Name r4
Processor athon x2 3800/phenom 2 x4/x6 960t/1605t
Motherboard msi k9n6pgm2-v2
Cooling x4 copper heatpipe 120mm for cpu
Memory 2x1gb ddr2 2.5-7-5-7
Video Card(s) XFX hd 5770 1gb GDDR5
Storage 200gb + 500GB
Display(s) tyris 19" 16:9 1440x900 max
Case GMC R-4 bulldozer - white
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply ulta v-series D0805/ULT-500p
Software win 7 ult
880G board, w/IGP, less pci-e, vs 890FX, max pci-e, no IGP.

890FX is better for overclocking.
I'm not going to be doing any overclocking, just want to unlock the cores if possible and possibly use the turbo function if it doesn't decrease the life span of the CPU.
 
Joined
Jan 2, 2009
Messages
9,773 (2.45/day)
Location
Suffolk/Essex, England
System Name Joseph's Laptop Clevo P771ZM
Processor 4970k @4/4.4ghz
Motherboard *shrugs*
Cooling About 2 kilos of copper fins and pipes.
Memory 2x 8gb
Video Card(s) GTX 970m 6gb
Storage 500gb Msata SSD 2x 2TB storage drives
Display(s) Built in
Power Supply 300w power brick
Mouse Steam controller
Software Windows ten
I'm not going to be doing any overclocking, just want to unlock the cores if possible and possibly use the turbo function if it doesn't decrease the life span of the CPU.
The CPUs are designed to run turbo straight away with no fiddling thus running it won't decrease the life span.






By the way, assuming CPU is 3ghz turbo will net you a 16.5% increase not 50%.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
47,484 (8.56/day)
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Big Fella
Processor Ryzen R7 2700X (stock/XFR OC)
Motherboard Asus B450-i ITX
Cooling Corsair H110 W/ Corsair ML RGB fans
Memory 16GB DDR4 3200 Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS mod to Gaming Z) w/ Corsair H55 AIO
Storage 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 1TB Intel 6000 Pro NVME
Display(s) Phillips 328m6fjrmb (32" 1440p 144hz curved) + Sony KD-55X8500F (55" 4K HDR)
Case Fractal Design Nano S
Audio Device(s) Razer Leviathan + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G903 + PowerPlay mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
17,104 (3.42/day)
I'm not going to be doing any overclocking, just want to unlock the cores if possible and possibly use the turbo function if it doesn't decrease the life span of the CPU.
When it comes to unlocking cores, you need to get a motherboard that supports unlocking, as the unlock hardware in 790FX is not present in the 800-series chipsets. ASUS and gigabyte have added thier own hardware to unlock, while MSI relies on software to unlock.

I'd like to explore how that works, so this chip is very interesting to me. So much so..I'll give you 965BE for it.
 
Joined
Jan 14, 2010
Messages
970 (0.27/day)
Location
Granby, Qc. Canada
System Name Loose nuts & bolts
Processor FX-8350 - EK Supreme HF full nickel
Motherboard ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2.0
Cooling Water EK goodness all around 2xBlack Ice X-280
Memory 2 x8G HyperX Fury 1600 @ 9-9-9-24-1T
Video Card(s) 2 x XFX RX 480 w/EK-FC RX 480 nickel+Acetal
Storage Samsung 850 Evo + 2xWD Black 500GB in RAID0
Display(s) Crossover 27" 2560x1440 110Hz OC
Case Cooler Master HAF XB EVO
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Win 10 Enterprise x64
I'd like to explore how that works, so this chip is very interesting to me. So much so..I'll give you 965BE for it.
Even though a trade for a 965BE is an amazing offer, I imagine he's received quite a few pm'ed offers for that chip by now :laugh:
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
17,104 (3.42/day)
Even though a trade for a 965BE is an amazing offer, I imagine he's received quite a few pm'ed offers for that chip by now :laugh:
Not sure why though. It's nothing really spectacular...same as 940BE, but with turbo. IT would be quite a bit slower than 965BE...I'm just interested in investigating the differences between MSi's software unlock, and the hardware solution provided by the other two.

So really, I don't REALLY want it ...playing with it might be fun. But it might be NOT fun too...:laugh:..the chip might NOT unlock.
 
Joined
Jan 2, 2009
Messages
9,773 (2.45/day)
Location
Suffolk/Essex, England
System Name Joseph's Laptop Clevo P771ZM
Processor 4970k @4/4.4ghz
Motherboard *shrugs*
Cooling About 2 kilos of copper fins and pipes.
Memory 2x 8gb
Video Card(s) GTX 970m 6gb
Storage 500gb Msata SSD 2x 2TB storage drives
Display(s) Built in
Power Supply 300w power brick
Mouse Steam controller
Software Windows ten
Joined
Jan 14, 2010
Messages
970 (0.27/day)
Location
Granby, Qc. Canada
System Name Loose nuts & bolts
Processor FX-8350 - EK Supreme HF full nickel
Motherboard ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2.0
Cooling Water EK goodness all around 2xBlack Ice X-280
Memory 2 x8G HyperX Fury 1600 @ 9-9-9-24-1T
Video Card(s) 2 x XFX RX 480 w/EK-FC RX 480 nickel+Acetal
Storage Samsung 850 Evo + 2xWD Black 500GB in RAID0
Display(s) Crossover 27" 2560x1440 110Hz OC
Case Cooler Master HAF XB EVO
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Win 10 Enterprise x64
If he does decide to trade with you, I'd be very curious to know what your results are. :rockout:
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
17,104 (3.42/day)
Why would you run it stock speed anyway ? :laugh:



I pretty much run stock 24/7 because of my environment, and temps(using stock cooler, even). Seems Crossfire needs an OC, but really, I think that's asinine. I think i might be making a change in Intel very soon...only thing holding me back ATM is my 4x2gb mem...cost too much for me to buy another set for 1366. Problably won't be able to find another set of hypers.

I'm also interested in how Turbo, at stock, might affect Crossfire performance.
 

Attachments

Joined
Jan 2, 2009
Messages
9,773 (2.45/day)
Location
Suffolk/Essex, England
System Name Joseph's Laptop Clevo P771ZM
Processor 4970k @4/4.4ghz
Motherboard *shrugs*
Cooling About 2 kilos of copper fins and pipes.
Memory 2x 8gb
Video Card(s) GTX 970m 6gb
Storage 500gb Msata SSD 2x 2TB storage drives
Display(s) Built in
Power Supply 300w power brick
Mouse Steam controller
Software Windows ten
Oh right, just used to everyone busting crazy clocks on every bit of kit they have XD
 

theonedub

habe fidem
Joined
Apr 30, 2009
Messages
7,999 (2.06/day)
Location
Northern CA, USA
System Name Erakith || Asus UX305FA
Processor AMD ThreadRipper 2990WX ES (32c/64t 3.5ghz@1.02v) || Intel Core M 5Y10 @ 800mhz
Motherboard MSI X399 MEG Creation || ASUS OE
Cooling EK Supremacy TR4 Full Nickel, D5 w/ EK Top, 2X EK-CoolStream XTX 360 & Photon 270 Res || !PASSIVE!
Memory 32GB (4x8GB) Corsair Vengeance PRO RGB DDR4 3000|| 8GB LPDDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Vega 64 EK FC|| Intel HD Graphics 5300
Storage 250gb WD Black NVMe & (2) 2TB Intel 660p NVMe || Toshiba 256GB SSD
Display(s) 34" Dell Ultrasharp U3415W || 13.3" 1080P IPS
Case CaseLabs Merlin SM8 || Aluminum Unibody
Power Supply Corsair HX1000
Mouse Logitech M705 Marathon
Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB w/ Cherry MX Silent
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 || WIndows 10 Home x64
Benchmark Scores WCG & F@H Only
http://forums.techpowerup.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=37878&stc=1&d=1283701737


I pretty much run stock 24/7 because of my environment, and temps(using stock cooler, even). Seems Crossfire needs an OC, but really, I think that's asinine. I think i might be making a change in Intel very soon...only thing holding me back ATM is my 4x2gb mem...cost too much for me to buy another set for 1366. Problably won't be able to find another set of hypers.

I'm also interested in how Turbo, at stock, might affect Crossfire performance.
OT, but you could probably lower that Vcore :D
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
17,104 (3.42/day)
OT, but you could probably lower that Vcore :D
Actually, no, I cannot. Load temps are 65c under P95, far too hot for any volt drops.

Once colder, sure, 1.275v, no problem, but need to keep load under 48c.

:banghead:

Hence me willing to play with other chips...what I've got now is absolute crap, in my house.


Thanks for the advice, but trust me...I definately know what to do when it comes to overclocking. Probably moreso than most, given my "skills" in memory tweaking. I can't even got 3500mhz outta this chip on the stock cooler, and stock volts. It being a 965BE really has no reflection on how good the chip might be.
 

theonedub

habe fidem
Joined
Apr 30, 2009
Messages
7,999 (2.06/day)
Location
Northern CA, USA
System Name Erakith || Asus UX305FA
Processor AMD ThreadRipper 2990WX ES (32c/64t 3.5ghz@1.02v) || Intel Core M 5Y10 @ 800mhz
Motherboard MSI X399 MEG Creation || ASUS OE
Cooling EK Supremacy TR4 Full Nickel, D5 w/ EK Top, 2X EK-CoolStream XTX 360 & Photon 270 Res || !PASSIVE!
Memory 32GB (4x8GB) Corsair Vengeance PRO RGB DDR4 3000|| 8GB LPDDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Vega 64 EK FC|| Intel HD Graphics 5300
Storage 250gb WD Black NVMe & (2) 2TB Intel 660p NVMe || Toshiba 256GB SSD
Display(s) 34" Dell Ultrasharp U3415W || 13.3" 1080P IPS
Case CaseLabs Merlin SM8 || Aluminum Unibody
Power Supply Corsair HX1000
Mouse Logitech M705 Marathon
Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB w/ Cherry MX Silent
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 || WIndows 10 Home x64
Benchmark Scores WCG & F@H Only
I was just making an observation and offering up an opinion not judging your abilities, so you can save the skills and 'I know more than you' talk for someone else.

Must suck to have such a crappy chip, I'd have gotten rid of it by now.
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
17,104 (3.42/day)
It's actually not so bad...4ghz @ 1.475. Just need good cooling for it to scale.

Overclocking is something I lost interest in some time ago. Unfortunately, testing shows that 965BE @ stock is not sufficient to push 5870 Crossfire, but learning that was well worth any "crappyness" that this chip may have.

And sry, you posted OT, just to try to give advice, to someone that doesn't need it. I'm not bragging, just stating a fact. Anyone that spends some decent time tweaking can do that same, hence the quotations aorund "skill"..I do not see it as any skill. It's really not hard to change a setting, and test the effects. you may think it's me bragging, when really, any "skill" in overclocking, to me, is a joke.

But in the end, yes, because this cpu isn't a "stellar" chip, my interest in 960T remains fairly high. I don't think it will offer the performacne the rest of my system needs...and unfortunately, it seems no AMD chip, at stock, will meet the needs of 5870 Crossfire.
 
Last edited:

crazyeyesreaper

Chief Broken Rig
Staff member
Joined
Mar 25, 2009
Messages
9,371 (2.39/day)
Location
04578
well the 960T where its thuban probably has a much better IMC ive seen many THubans getting over 3000mhz NB with relative ease with good cooling where as 955 965 need extreme volts to do the same thing and as you mentioned the higher the NB the better CF seemed to scale so id say its worth it due to bandwidth and latency drop
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
17,104 (3.42/day)
Yeah, my thoughts exactly, and hence my interest...need to see if it pans out that way or not...

I have 1090T here, have for many months now...still waiting for the CH4Extreme, as I mentioned earlier...maybe that might be better...but...I'd much rather have the direct compare of a Deneb vs Thuban, @ natural 4core. Also, the compare of how disabled cores affects performacne, might be interesting too.

Seems kinda odd that they have named it 960T, given the clockspeeds, too...IMHO should be called 940T.

ya gotta wonder about the binning process too...is it downbinned for bad cores...or maybe bad IMC...or NB? Quite an interesting chip, to me.
 

crazyeyesreaper

Chief Broken Rig
Staff member
Joined
Mar 25, 2009
Messages
9,371 (2.39/day)
Location
04578
or most likely they could be 1090T derivatives that didnt make the cut thus lower speeds all around if say 1 core is truly faulty then it couldnt be a 1055t or a 1035t oem so my guess is the 960T has at least 1 bad core good thing about core unlocking tho u dont need to unlock ALL the cores a 5 core cpu might be pretty interesting as well :roll:
 

casemods

New Member
Joined
Sep 5, 2010
Messages
24 (0.01/day)
System Name r4
Processor athon x2 3800/phenom 2 x4/x6 960t/1605t
Motherboard msi k9n6pgm2-v2
Cooling x4 copper heatpipe 120mm for cpu
Memory 2x1gb ddr2 2.5-7-5-7
Video Card(s) XFX hd 5770 1gb GDDR5
Storage 200gb + 500GB
Display(s) tyris 19" 16:9 1440x900 max
Case GMC R-4 bulldozer - white
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply ulta v-series D0805/ULT-500p
Software win 7 ult
or most likely they could be 1090T derivatives that didnt make the cut thus lower speeds all around if say 1 core is truly faulty then it couldnt be a 1055t or a 1035t oem so my guess is the 960T has at least 1 bad core good thing about core unlocking tho u dont need to unlock ALL the cores a 5 core cpu might be pretty interesting as well :roll:
Well I was planning on seeing if I could unlock the cores, but not sure how to do it.

Any guides on this?

Probably going to get the microcenter motherboard today since it's close by.

I don't want to do anything that can possibly damage the CPU at all though.

I have a couple people interested in it and I don't see the need to keep it unless it's actually capable of unlocking to 6 cores (or 5 even like you said)

edit: probably getting this, since it's 15 minutes away

http://www.frys.com/product/6250080?site=sr:SEARCH:MAIN_RSLT_PG

MSI 870A-G54 AMD 870 AM3 Motherboard

$90 after rebate

"OC Genie and Unlock CPU Core"

"stable core unlock function, overclocking capability"

should do the trick, yeah?
 
Last edited:

crazyeyesreaper

Chief Broken Rig
Staff member
Joined
Mar 25, 2009
Messages
9,371 (2.39/day)
Location
04578
i prefer the asus M4A785 TD V evo since i can pretty much jump into the bios and manually set what core to unlock in under 20 seconds i had 2 athlon II x3 440s unlock to Quads with L3 about a week ago on those boards surprisingly enough they were C2 variants so extremely rare they unlocked with L3 but cpuz and the benchmarks didnt lie

not sure if it supports turbo or not etc etc tho
 
Last edited:
Top