• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Phenom II X6 1090t issues [not overclocked]

davi

New Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2018
Messages
3 (0.08/day)
Likes
0
#1
Hello everyone,

It's been a while that I'm using this config and only recently i'm facing a real problem with it (probably since it was updated to w10, but not so sure about that).

1516158828906.png
1516158855094.png


Above the screenshot from Voltage Values (Everest ultimate edition) on a regular use (only google chrome opened, no videos etc.)
The cooler is the stock one and i'm facing temperatures going from:
45ºC - very low usage
70ºC - random 720p/1080p youtube video
81ºC - League of Legends + google chrome opened

with high RPM (usually 4500-5500 RPM)

The CPU clock on low-usage goes suddenly from 800MHz to 1500/2000/3400/3600MHz and keeps varying.

I was going to buy the cooler "Hyper 212x" but started to think what might be causing high temperature on a normal daily use.
Then i found that the voltage was not so normal, so my main question here is:

Is it that relevant to be at 1.23V - 1.5V ? Should I go for a Hyper 212 X? What can I do?


My config:

CPU Type: HexaCore AMD Phenom II X6 Black Edition 1090T, 3452 MHz (16 x 216)
Motherboard Chipset: nVIDIA nForce 7025-630a, AMD K10
RAM: Kingston HyperX 8 GB DDR3-1800 DDR3 SDRAM
Motherboard: Gigabyte M68MT-S2P
Graphic card: AMD Radeon HD6770 1gb 128bits

BIOS Type: Award Modular (12/24/10)
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 29, 2012
Messages
4,665 (2.10/day)
Likes
3,946
Location
Florida
System Name natr0n-PC
Processor Phenom II X6 1100T/ Xeon E3-1290 / Dual Xeon X5675's
Motherboard MSI 970 Gaming / Asus Sabertooth Z77 / GIGABYTE GA-7TESM
Cooling TRUE 120 / Deep Cool Assassin / Stock
Memory Gskill Ripjaws X - 16GB DDR3 / Samsung Reg - 24GB DDR3 Hexa-Channel
Video Card(s) MSI 7970 Twin Frozr III BE OC - 1100/1500
Storage Crucial MX300 525GB + Multiple Mechs
Display(s) SyncMaster 2343BWX 23" 2048x1152 / Dell 1909W 19" 1440x900
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Extreme Music / X-Fi Titanium
Power Supply Corsair TX650 v1/ EVGA SuperNOVA 750
Software Windows XP/7/8.1/10
Benchmark Scores Xeon E3-1290 cpuz world record
#2
Buy the hyper cooler. I never let my phenom get that hot ever. Mine would hover around 26-35c with a tower cooler.
 

davi

New Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2018
Messages
3 (0.08/day)
Likes
0
#3
Besides that, everything looks normal?

Are there any other coolers that might be better than the hyper x, for a regular use and good price?
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2008
Messages
4,555 (1.25/day)
Likes
1,069
Location
Australia
System Name Night Rider | Mini LAN PC | Workhorse
Processor AMD FX 8350 | i7 2600 | i7 970
Motherboard GA-990FXA-UD3 AM3+ | GA-H77M-D3H | Gigabyte EX58-UD5
Cooling AMD Wraith cooler| Coolermaster Gemini with Noctua 3000RPM Fan | Big shairkan B
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 G.Skill 1600 6-8-6-24| 2x4GB Corsair 1600 | 6x2GB DDR3 1300 Corsair
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 970 OC in Sli | Gainward GTX 650 TI GS | ASUS 7970 Matrix
Storage 250GB Plextor SSD Por 5 /1TB WD Black | 500GB WD ES/WD Black | WD 320/Seagate 320
Display(s) Samsung 2494hs 24" 1080P| Samsung 20" S20C300L/DELL 15" | 22" DELL/19"DELL
Case LIAN LI PC-18 | Mini ATX Case (custom) | Atrix C4 9001
Audio Device(s) Onboard | Onbaord | Onboard
Power Supply Silverstone 750 | Silverstone Mini 450W | Corsair CX-750
Mouse Gigabyte aivia krypton gaming mouse | Rapoo V900 | Gigabyte 6850X
Keyboard MAX Keyboard Nighthawk X8 | Creative Fatal1ty eluminx | Some POS Logitech
Software Windows 7 Pro 64 | Windows 7 Pro 64 | Windows 7 Pro 64/Windows 10 Home
#4
Have you checked that your fan is spinning up? cleaned your cooler? replaced the thermal paste? put your hand on the cooler to see if the temp it is saying is what it feels like? check all these first then if needs be then replace the cooler if its not doing any good.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
20,213 (5.19/day)
Likes
5,500
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#5
Phenom 2s, and FXs are fine for 1.5Volts, have you cleaned the fan/heatsink on the cpu and fans inside the case?

Being a stock cooler I would replace the thermal compound.

1 thing can happen too, if your boards vcore is set to auto it will jump around, but when you set a minimum vcore if it's loaded to extremes such as a Ryzen Blender run or OCCT or IBT, the vcore will adjust on its own up to compensate for clock rates.


1 major factor in temperatures inside the case are affected by ambient temperature aka room temperature, if that's high the system will run hot. Poor case airflow is another.

A hyper 212 or scythe ashura would be an ideal cooler. (Trust me FX on Ashura OC to 5.0GHz Stable)

You can adjust the minimum vcore to say 1.3 to try to mitigate temps.
 

davi

New Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2018
Messages
3 (0.08/day)
Likes
0
#6
@Melvis
Tried all that and the temp is very hot on the cooler.

@eidairaman1
I did and it helped a bit, but the temperature just kept high.

To change the minimum vcore, it's very intuitive once you are at the bios?

My room temperature is usually 10-25ºC, but on the summer it goes up to 25-33ºC
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
20,213 (5.19/day)
Likes
5,500
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#7
@Melvis
Tried all that and the temp is very hot on the cooler.

@eidairaman1
I did and it helped a bit, but the temperature just kept high.

To change the minimum vcore, it's very intuitive once you are at the bios?

My room temperature is usually 10-25ºC, but on the summer it goes up to 25-33ºC
That is pretty warm.

Another thing that can happen is the VRM circuits can get pretty hot thus radiate the heat to nearby components or go up in smoke, your motherboard has no vrm heatsinks and that might be a mod you may want to do.

If you have your motherboard manual, you should read it and learn how to access uefi/bios and read up on where vcore settings are.

If you do not have the manual go to gigabytes support site and look up your specific motherboard and download the manual, preferrably to an Android/Iphone, if no work read it on your pc. If you need further help we are here.

Other than what you've done already, I would add vrm heatsinks to your existing board or change the motherboard to a 970FX or Better if possible and upgrade the cpu heatsink. I may suggest if possible do proper cable management in your case, remove all dust and get ambient temps down a little more in your pc room
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2005
Messages
238 (0.05/day)
Likes
165
#8
If your not overclocking, there's no reason for the CPU to run at 1.5v.

Phenom II X6 1090T should operate in the 40-60c temperature range.

Something is wrong wth the core voltage and cooler.

First try to update the BIOS on the motherboard.

Gigabyte M68MT-S2P comes in several revisions (its written on the motherboard on the top left corner ), make sure to download the latest BIOS for the right revision.

If it doesn't help, try to set vcore manually via the "CPU Voltage Control" in the BIOS.
 
Last edited:

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
20,213 (5.19/day)
Likes
5,500
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#9
he is on a pretty cheap board, too many factors to count. I would manually go in and set minimum to 1.3**
 
Joined
Dec 14, 2013
Messages
268 (0.17/day)
Likes
295
Location
Alabama
#10
If your not overclocking, there's no reason for the CPU to run at 1.5v.

Phenom II X6 1090T should operate in the 40-60c temperature range.

Something is wrong wth the core voltage and cooler.

First try to update the BIOS on the motherboard.

Gigabyte M68MT-S2P comes in several revisions (its written on the motherboard on the top left corner ), make sure to download the latest BIOS for the right revision.

If it doesn't help, try to set vcore manually via the "CPU Voltage Control" in the BIOS.
I agree, the reported CPU voltage is too high for stock speed or a mild OC with it.

1.35v's set manually in the BIOS should be plenty for it at stock and the reason your CPU speeds are changing is due to "Cool and Quiet" kicking in. Personally I always disable that function so it stays where I set it.
The board itself is something not really suited for a hex cored chip but can handle it as long as it's left at stock. About the same thing as my ASRock N68C-GS FX board and although this one has been good I don't trust it with any chips beyond 95W TDP, the 1090T is a 125W TDP chip like my 1100T is.

Noted you did have a mild OC going (From your original post) and that's not a big deal just as long as you don't go cranking on it like it's one of the big boy boards.... Because it ain't one and won't handle it for long at all.
 
Joined
Nov 3, 2007
Messages
1,616 (0.43/day)
Likes
646
Processor i7-8700K / i7-7700K / i7-6700K / E5-1620 v3 / E5-2650L v4 / E5-2630L v3 / E5-2630 v4
Motherboard Asus Maximus X Apex / Maximus X Code / Maximus IX APEX / Asrock EPC612D4I ITX / Bunch o' Supermicros
Cooling Noctua / Aquacomputer / EKWB / Corsair
Memory Corsair DP DDR4 2x16GB 3200 / Crucial LVP 2133 ECC 8x8GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1070 Ti SLI / GTX 1080 Ti SLI
Storage nvme's
Display(s) Alienware AW3418DW
Case CaseLabs / Lian Li
Audio Device(s) Creative SB X7
Power Supply Corsair AX1500i / Corsair AX1200i / Seasonic (A handful)
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Windows 7 ULT / Windows 10 Pro / unRAID / pfSense
#11
Have you checked with something other than Everest? Everest switched to AIDA64 about 8 years ago.

Some good free programs our there too like cpu-z, as well aida64 lets you run in "trial" mode, but may block out some voltage settings in trial mode.
 

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
7,516 (2.61/day)
Likes
4,095
Location
Rochester area
System Name Kreij Lives On
Processor Intel Core i5 4670K @ 4.4Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VI Gene Z87
Cooling Reeven Okeanos Single 140MM Fan +2 SP120 White's
Memory 16GB kingston hyper x @ 2133 @ 11 11 11 32
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 ACX Copper Single fan
Storage 240gb Cruical MX200SSD/WD Blue 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S24D300/HP2071D
Case Custom Full Aluminum By ST.o.CH <3
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse Roccat KONE
Keyboard Rocatt ISKU with ISKUFX keycaps
Software Windows 10 +startisback
#12
a hyper212 is not going to cool a phenom 6x at 1.5v no effing way you need a much bigger cooler
a phenom II seeing 80c I am surprised it hasn't smoked they get unstable at 65c
you want at minimum a dual tower cooler
 
Joined
Dec 18, 2012
Messages
303 (0.16/day)
Likes
114
Processor Core I7-2600k @4,8GHZ @1,4V
Motherboard Asus p8-Z68 V Gen3
Cooling 2x1080 Custom loop
Memory G.Skill Ripjaws x 16gb 1866 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA 1080 Ti
Storage Raid 0 2 x Sasmsung 850 EVo
Display(s) ASUS Swift
Case Test Bench
Power Supply Be quiet! 850 P10
Mouse G5
Keyboard Old USB Dell Keyboard
Software Windows 10
#13
a hyper212 is not going to cool a phenom 6x at 1.5v no effing way you need a much bigger cooler
a phenom II seeing 80c I am surprised it hasn't smoked they get unstable at 65c
you want at minimum a dual tower cooler
Working as a retailer, most pc i repair coming in with an old Pehnom ll have they temperature sensors failing, not failing as in broke failing as in reading to high, last time i had a chip that was running 120c° under load without turning off or beeing unstable , until it reached around 125 and the Minaboard shutoff put a big freaking cooler on it went from stock to some artic freezer big tower cooler and stayed around the 40´s, since your chip is getting old it might be the same happening with your sensor.
 

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
7,516 (2.61/day)
Likes
4,095
Location
Rochester area
System Name Kreij Lives On
Processor Intel Core i5 4670K @ 4.4Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VI Gene Z87
Cooling Reeven Okeanos Single 140MM Fan +2 SP120 White's
Memory 16GB kingston hyper x @ 2133 @ 11 11 11 32
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 ACX Copper Single fan
Storage 240gb Cruical MX200SSD/WD Blue 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S24D300/HP2071D
Case Custom Full Aluminum By ST.o.CH <3
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse Roccat KONE
Keyboard Rocatt ISKU with ISKUFX keycaps
Software Windows 10 +startisback
#14
phenom II dts sensors have error in them if the software is not written to take that into account you will see odd readings like you mentioned
they are off by like 20c if you are using very very old temperature monitoring software
 
Joined
Dec 14, 2013
Messages
268 (0.17/day)
Likes
295
Location
Alabama
#15
a hyper212 is not going to cool a phenom 6x at 1.5v no effing way you need a much bigger cooler
a phenom II seeing 80c I am surprised it hasn't smoked they get unstable at 65c
you want at minimum a dual tower cooler
What I can add here is if I were to try my 1100T with 1.5v's on water it would shutdown almost on the spot. I'd have to chill it just to make it boot, much less anything else and yes I've had it there before. Clocks great but with a full measure of cores running under a lid size originally designed for a single cored chip it's gonna get hot under there but fast. Mine has been ran with a tower style cooler before (Tt OCK Frio) and I was able to get it above 4.0 stable with decent voltage (1.40v's or so) but it was getting nice and warm in the process.

I don't know how many times it's been said - If you're gonna OC it ditch the stock cooler because it's for stock useage only.

Get the tower cooler or backoff the OC if you want it to live awhile is all I can say to that end.