• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Phenom II X6 1100 T @ 4.2 GHZ with 7970

Joined
Mar 19, 2013
Messages
102 (0.06/day)
Likes
12
Location
Germany
#1
Hello,

would the Phenom be a bottleneck if i upgrade to a Gigabyte 7970 Windforce OC ?..I uses Win 8, Asrock extreme 870 and 8 gigs of ram......( 2x4 dual )
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2008
Messages
6,264 (1.75/day)
Likes
3,365
Location
S.E. Virginia
System Name Barb's Domain/Barb's Cruncher#2/Barb's Laptop
Processor i7 3930k@4.37ghz/i7 860 @ 3.3ghz/AMD E300
Motherboard ASUS Rampage IV Black Edition/Gigabyte P55-UD3R/Proprietary
Cooling Deep Cool Assassin/Corsair A50/stock
Memory 16gig DDR3 1600/4gig DDR3 1600/3gig DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) GTX 1070 OC'ed 2GHz core/mem/MSI HD7770/HD6310
Storage Seagate 2tb Hybrid SSHD/Caviar Blue 160gb/Toshiba 500gb
Display(s) HP ZR30W 30" 2560*1600/SOYO Topaz S 24" 1920*1200
Case SilverStone Fortress FT04/NZXT Source 210 Black
Audio Device(s) Realtek High Definition Audio
Power Supply XFX 750W XXX edition/PC Power Cooling Turbo Cool 860
Software Windows 10 Pro 64 bit /Windows 7 Ult 64 bit/Windows 8.1 Pro
#2
Minimal bottleneck if any at all. A 7970 will do fine with a 1100t @ 4.2ghz
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,401 (4.84/day)
Likes
5,481
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#3
I would imagine there would be some gains if you upgraded your CPU, but I don't think it would be needed. The 7970 might make the X6 work harder but I think you would be fine. Most of the time I found that on my 940 the bottlenecks I would run into where memory related rather than core related, mainly because I was running DDR2, but that was only in some cases.

Someone else might want to chime in but I would imagine that it would be okay for a single 7970 in most circumstances.

What do you have for a GPU now? It might not be worth while to upgrade the CPU/Motherboard before the GPU.
 

RCoon

Gaming Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 19, 2012
Messages
11,370 (5.50/day)
Likes
9,511
Location
Gypsyland, UK
System Name HP Omen 17
Processor i7 7700HQ
Memory 16GB 2400Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1060
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB + HGST 1TB
Display(s) 1080p IPS G-SYNC 75Hz
Audio Device(s) Bang & Olufsen
Power Supply 230W
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD+
Software Win 10 Pro
#4
My old x6 1055 could handle 2 x GTX 570 just fine, so i imagine a single 7970 would be great on that processor.
 

Mindweaver

Moderato®™
Staff member
Joined
Apr 16, 2009
Messages
6,585 (2.08/day)
Likes
3,917
Location
Charleston, SC
System Name Sechs / EyeSeven
Processor i7 5820k @ 4.5ghz / i7 2600k @ 4.0Ghz
Motherboard X99S GAMING 7 / ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
Cooling CORSAIR Hydro Series H100i Extreme / Stock cooler... H50 leaked!..
Memory G.Skill DDR4 2800 16GB 4x4GB / G.Skill DDR3 1600 8gb 2x4GB
Video Card(s) PNY Quadro K2000 / MSI GTX 970 GAMING 4Gb
Storage Samsung 850 PRO 256GB SSD /Intel 240gb, corsair 120gb SSD, 3x 1 tb s storage
Display(s) 2x Acer G276HL 27" 1080p / 3x Acer 22" Nvidia surround
Case Phanteks “Enthoo Pro series”/ Cooler Master Storm Scout
Audio Device(s) Azalia Realtek ALC1150 / SB X-Fi Gamer
Power Supply Corsair CXM CX600M / Corsair 600w
Mouse Razer DeathAdder Chroma / Razer DeathAdder
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Ultimate /
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 / Windows 10 Pro x64
#6
Yea, those x6 processors are pretty solid with an overclock. I'm with BarbaricSoul, and think it's a minimal bottleneck. I also, side with Aquinus and believe you can get a new CPU for extra gains, but it's not a necessity. Take a look at the graph below and you can see some of those gains, but remember that these are stock cpu's. Your overclock should add another 5 to 10 fps.

 
Joined
Mar 19, 2013
Messages
102 (0.06/day)
Likes
12
Location
Germany
#7
thnx..i thought the same.....4.2 ghz with the silver arrow and still 39° ( celsius ) is pretty good i think...unfortunately i can´t get higher with the processor...i think the ram clocks does limit it ( BSOD )......so, no need to upgrade....then it will be fine and i can sell my asus 6950 @ 6970 ( 975/1475 )......it is the gigabyte windforce becaquse th HIS ( which is better i think ) does not fit in my case ( CM 690 II)....