• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Phenom X4, X3 45nm Lineup for H1 2009 Explained

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
34,335 (9.22/day)
Likes
17,427
Location
Hyderabad, India
System Name Long shelf-life potato
Processor Intel Core i7-4770K
Motherboard ASUS Z97-A
Cooling Xigmatek Aegir CPU Cooler
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX Beast DDR3-1866
Video Card(s) 2x GeForce GTX 970 SLI
Storage ADATA SU800 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U28D590D 28-inch 4K
Case Cooler Master CM690 Window
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX850W
Mouse Razer Abyssus 2014
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro Creators Update
#26
However, I must admit I am a bit disappointed that they seem to be ditching the AM2+ and DDR2 since I'm still really not sold on DDR3 especially considering the prices are still higher and I'm not going to be paying double for the same performance just for a new socket.
That's why they didn't give the AM3 lineup a clock-speed advantage over its AM2+ counterparts. The fastest AM2+ Deneb is 3.00 GHz, same with AM3. Depending on the memory of your choice, pick your chip.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,288 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,399
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#27
It seems to me that AMD is taking a page from Intel's book and taking an underperforming architecture and pairing it with an insane amount of Cache to try and up the performance to competitive levels. Everyday, I think more and more that K10 is the netburst of the current processor world.
 

KBD

New Member
Joined
Feb 23, 2007
Messages
2,477 (0.63/day)
Likes
275
Location
The Rotten Big Apple
Processor Intel e8600 @ 4.9 Ghz
Motherboard DFI Lanparty DK X48-T2RSB Plus
Cooling Water
Memory 2GB (2 x 1GB) of Buffalo Firestix DDR2-1066
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon HD 4870 1GB OC (820/950) & tweaking
Storage 2x 74GB Velociraptors in RAID 0; 320 GB Barracuda 7200.10
Display(s) 22" Mitsubishi Diamond Pro 2070SB
Case Silverstone TJ09-BW
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Profesional
Power Supply Ultra X3 800W
Software Windows XP Pro w/ SP3
#28
I dont know, i think this is an improvement from the earlier roadmap. Looks like we wont be getting a 4 gig Deneb FX, but speaking of FX, why isn't it up on that chart? Any thoughts on when it could be released and at what clock speed? I think it will be at 3.2Ghz and may there will be Black Editions of the other chips later down the road. That would correspond to AMD's earlier policy: release locked multi chips first and then Black Edition later.


As far as AM2+/AM3 deal, its nice of AMD to continue supporting the old socket, not everyone wants to move to DDR3 yet, i think it needs to mature more and drop in price. But i was still hoping to see official support for at least DDR3-1600, but i supppose the RAM could be overclocked to that frequency. One nice thing about is that beats Intel Nehalem DDR3-1066 boards.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 28, 2007
Messages
2,481 (0.63/day)
Likes
340
Location
Your house.
System Name Jupiter-2
Processor Intel i3-6100
Motherboard H170I-PLUS D3
Cooling Stock
Memory 8GB Mushkin DDR3L-1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage 512GB Corsair SSD
Display(s) BENQ 24in
Case Lian Li PC-Q01B Mini ITX
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 450W
Mouse Logitech Trackball
Keyboard Custom bamboo job
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores Finished Super PI on legendary mode in only 13 hours.
#29
It seems to me that AMD is taking a page from Intel's book and taking an underperforming architecture and pairing it with an insane amount of Cache to try and up the performance to competitive levels. Everyday, I think more and more that K10 is the netburst of the current processor world.
Newtekie's world:

8M Cache on an Core 2 Chip: "Great chips -- that much added cache makes for great performance."

8M Cache on a Phenom: "Poor chips -- added cache is obviously a poor attempt to improve performance."

:wtf:

I agree with you that K10 is looking like the Pentium 4 of the current processor world, but it's got nothing to do with their choice of cache sizes. (It's got much more to do with the heat/performance ratio.)
 

Abu Assar

New Member
Joined
Aug 30, 2008
Messages
20 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
Location
Egypt
#30
those who said that AMD dropped the support for AM2+ can notice that AMD didn't release any deneb AM2+ cpu that has an equivalent agena .

i.e agena core maxed at 2.6 , so deneb will start from 2.8 going through 3.0GHz and maybe in 2009/H2 they will introduce 3.2 for AM2+ and AM3 simultaneously , this or they will pull a 939 again.

and about the naming scheme , once we get used to it ; it will make much more sense , as you can divide it into 2 sections (1) 20 (2) 550 , and there is much more for future product to fill the grid : 20xxx , 30xxx , 40xxx and so on !

looks like ATi team gave them this idea as it is similar to Radeon HD 2000 , HD 3000 , HD 4000 ...
 

KBD

New Member
Joined
Feb 23, 2007
Messages
2,477 (0.63/day)
Likes
275
Location
The Rotten Big Apple
Processor Intel e8600 @ 4.9 Ghz
Motherboard DFI Lanparty DK X48-T2RSB Plus
Cooling Water
Memory 2GB (2 x 1GB) of Buffalo Firestix DDR2-1066
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon HD 4870 1GB OC (820/950) & tweaking
Storage 2x 74GB Velociraptors in RAID 0; 320 GB Barracuda 7200.10
Display(s) 22" Mitsubishi Diamond Pro 2070SB
Case Silverstone TJ09-BW
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Profesional
Power Supply Ultra X3 800W
Software Windows XP Pro w/ SP3
#31
Newtekie's world:

I agree with you that K10 is looking like the Pentium 4 of the current processor world, but it's got nothing to do with their choice of cache sizes. (It's got much more to do with the heat/performance ratio.)
I think both you and newtekie hit the nail on the head, the heat/performance ratio and intro of large cache sizes reminds the revised K10 of netburst. But if i'm not mistaken Intel was alsopushing the frequency of P4s to insane levels, i guess thats where the similarity ends.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 17, 2008
Messages
1,062 (0.31/day)
Likes
68
System Name REBEL R1
Processor Core i7 920
Motherboard ASUS P6T
Cooling Stock
Memory 6GB OCZ GOLD TC LV Kit 1866MHz@1.65V 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) Two Sapphire HD 5770 Vapor-X Xfire'd and OC'd (920/1330)
Storage Seagate 7200.11 500GB 32MB
Case Antec Three Hundred
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar D1 PCI Sound Card
Power Supply OCZ StealthXStream 500W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
Benchmark Scores 16585 Performance Score on 3DMark Vantage
#32
3Ghz Phenom? TWO 64-bit controllers? I want one.
 

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
34,335 (9.22/day)
Likes
17,427
Location
Hyderabad, India
System Name Long shelf-life potato
Processor Intel Core i7-4770K
Motherboard ASUS Z97-A
Cooling Xigmatek Aegir CPU Cooler
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX Beast DDR3-1866
Video Card(s) 2x GeForce GTX 970 SLI
Storage ADATA SU800 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U28D590D 28-inch 4K
Case Cooler Master CM690 Window
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX850W
Mouse Razer Abyssus 2014
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro Creators Update
#33
3Ghz Phenom? TWO 64-bit controllers? I want one.
:confused: it's the same with today's Phenom X4 as well. K10 dice have two memory controllers, each of 64-bit data width to connect to a memory channel (unlike a single 128-bit controller on K8). When you say "Ganged Mode", you're making the two controllers on a K10 work combined for a single 128-bit wide path (same as "dual-channel") but when you ungang them, you have two 64-bit wide paths (supposed to help multi-threaded apps). Don't confuse this to "single-channel" memory, as there, you'd have only a single 64-bit wide path. For Unganged mode, you'd still need your two modules in the correct slots on the motherboard, so each controller could access its module.
 

WarEagleAU

Bird of Prey
Joined
Jul 9, 2006
Messages
10,809 (2.59/day)
Likes
529
Location
Gurley, AL
System Name Boddha Getta Boddha Getta Bah!
Processor AMD FX 6100 @ 4.432Ghz @1.382
Motherboard ASUS M5A99X EVO AMD 990X AMD SB950
Cooling Custom Water. EK 240MM Kit, Supreme HSF - Runs 35C
Memory 2 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance White LP @ 1.35V
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon HD 6870 980/1100
Storage WD Caviar Black 1.0TB, WD Caviar Green 1.0TB, WD 160GB
Display(s) Asus VH222/S 22: (21.5" Viewable) 1920x1080p HDMI LCD Monitor
Case NZXT White Switch 810
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek 5.1
Power Supply NZXT Hale 90 Gold Cert 750W Modular PSU
Software Windows 8.1 Profession 64 Bit
#34
True, but all the phenoms from 9950 to 9750 is supposed to be 125W now, I thought they changed those.


And thanks, I checked newegg.com after I posted that. Foxconns looks awesome.
 
Joined
Mar 28, 2007
Messages
2,481 (0.63/day)
Likes
340
Location
Your house.
System Name Jupiter-2
Processor Intel i3-6100
Motherboard H170I-PLUS D3
Cooling Stock
Memory 8GB Mushkin DDR3L-1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage 512GB Corsair SSD
Display(s) BENQ 24in
Case Lian Li PC-Q01B Mini ITX
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 450W
Mouse Logitech Trackball
Keyboard Custom bamboo job
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores Finished Super PI on legendary mode in only 13 hours.
#35
I think both you and newtekie hit the nail on the head, the heat/performance ratio and intro of large cache sizes reminds the revised K10 of netburst. But if i'm not mistaken Intel was alsopushing the frequency of P4s to insane levels, i guess thats where the similarity ends.
Ah -- thus, until the FX series Phenoms come out, the "netburst" analogy doesn't fully apply. (Hopefully, it won't then either, if the performance is there and the chips don't catch on fire due to the heat.)
 
Joined
Aug 13, 2008
Messages
146 (0.04/day)
Likes
7
Location
Dresden, Germany, Europe, Earth
System Name HTPC
Processor Intel Core i5
Motherboard Asrock ITX
Cooling Water
Memory 8GB
Video Card(s) Radeon R9 290
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 1TB
Display(s) Sharp Aquos 70" TV
Case Coolermaster ITX
Audio Device(s) Radeon Onboard HDMI
Software Windows 10 64bit
Benchmark Scores -242 whatsoever
#36
hmmm and i thought that they'd pack a ddr2 and a ddr3 controller on one chip >_>, guess i didn't read good back then
 

Polarman

New Member
Joined
Jun 24, 2008
Messages
1,626 (0.47/day)
Likes
290
Location
Rimouski
System Name Polar's Dragon
Processor AMD Phenom II 975BE
Motherboard MSI 890FXA-GD65 (Bios 18.7)
Cooling Zalman CNPS 9700 Led
Memory Gskill 8GB DDR3-1333 (8,8,8,21)
Video Card(s) MSI HD6870 Hawk
Storage WD Raptor 250 - WD RE4 500GB
Display(s) Samsung T240 (1920 X1200)
Case Silverstone Raven 2
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892
Power Supply PC Power&Cooling Silencer 750 (Red)
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64Bit + SP1
#37
I look forward in seeing some benchies comparing AM2+ and AM3 using the same speed CPU.
 
Joined
Aug 13, 2008
Messages
146 (0.04/day)
Likes
7
Location
Dresden, Germany, Europe, Earth
System Name HTPC
Processor Intel Core i5
Motherboard Asrock ITX
Cooling Water
Memory 8GB
Video Card(s) Radeon R9 290
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 1TB
Display(s) Sharp Aquos 70" TV
Case Coolermaster ITX
Audio Device(s) Radeon Onboard HDMI
Software Windows 10 64bit
Benchmark Scores -242 whatsoever
#38
I look forward in seeing some benchies comparing AM2+ and AM3 using the same speed CPU.
yup that would be pretty nice indeed :D
 

WarEagleAU

Bird of Prey
Joined
Jul 9, 2006
Messages
10,809 (2.59/day)
Likes
529
Location
Gurley, AL
System Name Boddha Getta Boddha Getta Bah!
Processor AMD FX 6100 @ 4.432Ghz @1.382
Motherboard ASUS M5A99X EVO AMD 990X AMD SB950
Cooling Custom Water. EK 240MM Kit, Supreme HSF - Runs 35C
Memory 2 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance White LP @ 1.35V
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon HD 6870 980/1100
Storage WD Caviar Black 1.0TB, WD Caviar Green 1.0TB, WD 160GB
Display(s) Asus VH222/S 22: (21.5" Viewable) 1920x1080p HDMI LCD Monitor
Case NZXT White Switch 810
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek 5.1
Power Supply NZXT Hale 90 Gold Cert 750W Modular PSU
Software Windows 8.1 Profession 64 Bit
#40
They said something about them being interchangeable and also about them being backwards compatible. I wasnt entirely sure how they were gonna do DDR2 and DDR3 IMC on one chip though. Looks like they axed that plan.
 

flashstar

New Member
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
743 (0.20/day)
Likes
56
System Name Einstein IV
Processor 1090t @ 3.8 Ghz
Motherboard Fatal1ty 990FX Professional
Cooling Swiftech H20 Cooling Kit w/ Apogee XT Rev. 2
Memory 32 GB DDR3
Video Card(s) MSI 260 XT 216 edition
Storage 2x 120gb Sandisk Extreme SSDs, 1x 120 gb Corsair Force 2
Display(s) Samsung BW206
Case Lian-li Lan-cool
Audio Device(s) M-Audio Profire 610
Power Supply Corsair TX-750
#41
When Intel went to 90nm on the Prescott architecture they saw virtually no temperature drops. AMD is seeing a very healthy temperature decrease with its 45 nm cpu's. 140w to 95w for the same speed and a much greater L3 cache.
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2008
Messages
5,230 (1.48/day)
Likes
661
Location
IRAQ-Baghdad
System Name MASTER
Processor Core i7 3930k run at 4.4ghz
Motherboard Asus Rampage IV extreme
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 4x4G kingston hyperx beast 2400mhz
Video Card(s) 2X EVGA GTX680
Storage 2X Crusial M4 256g raid0, 1TbWD g, 2x500 WD B
Display(s) Samsung 27' 1080P LED 3D monitior 2ms
Case CoolerMaster Chosmos II
Audio Device(s) Creative sound blaster X-FI Titanum champion,Creative speakers 7.1 T7900
Power Supply Corsair 1200i, Logitch G500 Mouse, headset Corsair vengeance 1500
Software Win7 64bit Ultimate
Benchmark Scores 3d mark 2011: testing
#42
so what about phenom fx im still like it cuz 4.0ghz core clock , any news
 
Joined
Aug 13, 2008
Messages
146 (0.04/day)
Likes
7
Location
Dresden, Germany, Europe, Earth
System Name HTPC
Processor Intel Core i5
Motherboard Asrock ITX
Cooling Water
Memory 8GB
Video Card(s) Radeon R9 290
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 1TB
Display(s) Sharp Aquos 70" TV
Case Coolermaster ITX
Audio Device(s) Radeon Onboard HDMI
Software Windows 10 64bit
Benchmark Scores -242 whatsoever
#43
They said something about them being interchangeable and also about them being backwards compatible. I wasnt entirely sure how they were gonna do DDR2 and DDR3 IMC on one chip though. Looks like they axed that plan.
so am i getting it right that you just need one new board to house a DDR3 or a DDR2 phenom?
 
Joined
May 31, 2008
Messages
670 (0.19/day)
Likes
50
System Name Super Budget Gamer Thing lol
Processor AMD 5600+ Windsor @3.0ghz
Motherboard ASUS M3N78-VM AM2/AM2+ Micro ATX
Cooling Thermaltake TR2-R1 Ultra Silence CPU heatsink+fan / 3 exhaust case fans
Memory 3 Gigs Kingston DDR2@800mhz
Video Card(s) PNY 8800GT 512mb OC'd 710/1740/950 - 178.24
Storage 2X 320 gig Seagate Barracuda's @7200rpm - SATA
Display(s) 22in Dell LCD 1680X1050 / 21.6in AOC LCD / Hauppauge TV Tuner
Case Antec Three Hundred
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Audio
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts EA500D 500w
Software Vista, bby <3
Benchmark Scores yay it works! =]
#44
i'm a little confused also. are these going to work with "old" AM2 boards as well as AM2+? the AM2 board in my specs, for instance?
 

jbunch07

New Member
Joined
Feb 22, 2008
Messages
5,260 (1.47/day)
Likes
598
Location
Chattanooga,TN
Processor i5-2500k
Motherboard ASRock z68 pro3-m
Cooling Corsair A70
Memory Kingston HyperX 8GB 2 x 4GB 1600mhz
Storage OCZ Agility3 60GB(boot) 2x320GB Raid0(storage)
Display(s) Samsung 24" 1920x1200
Case Custom
Power Supply PC Power and Cooling 750w
Software Win 7 x64
#45
Joined
May 31, 2008
Messages
670 (0.19/day)
Likes
50
System Name Super Budget Gamer Thing lol
Processor AMD 5600+ Windsor @3.0ghz
Motherboard ASUS M3N78-VM AM2/AM2+ Micro ATX
Cooling Thermaltake TR2-R1 Ultra Silence CPU heatsink+fan / 3 exhaust case fans
Memory 3 Gigs Kingston DDR2@800mhz
Video Card(s) PNY 8800GT 512mb OC'd 710/1740/950 - 178.24
Storage 2X 320 gig Seagate Barracuda's @7200rpm - SATA
Display(s) 22in Dell LCD 1680X1050 / 21.6in AOC LCD / Hauppauge TV Tuner
Case Antec Three Hundred
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Audio
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts EA500D 500w
Software Vista, bby <3
Benchmark Scores yay it works! =]
#46
ah...i see. another quick read would bear that out

man some of us got left in the dust by AMD with our mobos. upgrade, upgrade, upgrade....

it never ends :(
 

jbunch07

New Member
Joined
Feb 22, 2008
Messages
5,260 (1.47/day)
Likes
598
Location
Chattanooga,TN
Processor i5-2500k
Motherboard ASRock z68 pro3-m
Cooling Corsair A70
Memory Kingston HyperX 8GB 2 x 4GB 1600mhz
Storage OCZ Agility3 60GB(boot) 2x320GB Raid0(storage)
Display(s) Samsung 24" 1920x1200
Case Custom
Power Supply PC Power and Cooling 750w
Software Win 7 x64
#47
ah...i see. another quick read would bear that out

man some of us got left in the dust by AMD with our mobos. upgrade, upgrade, upgrade....

it never ends :(
tell me about it. I've been through 3 motherboards in the past 9 months! :ohwell:
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,288 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,399
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#48
Newtekie's world:

8M Cache on an Core 2 Chip: "Great chips -- that much added cache makes for great performance."

8M Cache on a Phenom: "Poor chips -- added cache is obviously a poor attempt to improve performance."

:wtf:

I agree with you that K10 is looking like the Pentium 4 of the current processor world, but it's got nothing to do with their choice of cache sizes. (It's got much more to do with the heat/performance ratio.)
Where did I say the added cache on a Core 2 Chip was great for performance? And the 8MB on the Core 2 chips have always been there, when Intel went to 45nm they added another 4MB, and it didn't really help performance any. Intel added cache because they could, AMD is adding cache to try and improve performance in a flop architecture.

mdm-adph's world: "[Phenom] performs on par with equal-clocked conroe parts":roll:

Your unconditional love for AMD has blinded you to the facts.

I think both you and newtekie hit the nail on the head, the heat/performance ratio and intro of large cache sizes reminds the revised K10 of netburst. But if i'm not mistaken Intel was alsopushing the frequency of P4s to insane levels, i guess thats where the similarity ends.
The Phenom's won't clock to the insane levels that the P4's could, but in terms of what we had now from the Phenom line-up the 3GHz stock clock is an insane level. But pushing clock speeds isn't really important. It is really what the processor companies want to do.
 
Last edited:

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,130 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,564
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#49
tell me about it. I've been through 3 motherboards in the past 9 months! :ohwell:
oh how i remember AMD fans telling me in past days, how AMD didnt require contsant motherboard updates but intel did with their constant FSB changes.

at least its easy to tell if your CPU is supported on intel nowdays, amd has wattages, steppings, DDR2/3.... its just getting worse and worse.
 

KBD

New Member
Joined
Feb 23, 2007
Messages
2,477 (0.63/day)
Likes
275
Location
The Rotten Big Apple
Processor Intel e8600 @ 4.9 Ghz
Motherboard DFI Lanparty DK X48-T2RSB Plus
Cooling Water
Memory 2GB (2 x 1GB) of Buffalo Firestix DDR2-1066
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon HD 4870 1GB OC (820/950) & tweaking
Storage 2x 74GB Velociraptors in RAID 0; 320 GB Barracuda 7200.10
Display(s) 22" Mitsubishi Diamond Pro 2070SB
Case Silverstone TJ09-BW
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Profesional
Power Supply Ultra X3 800W
Software Windows XP Pro w/ SP3
#50
The Phenom's won't clock to the insane levels that the P4's could, but in terms of what we had now from the Phenom line-up the 3GHz stock clock is an insane level. But pushing clock speeds isn't really important. It is really what the processor companies want to do.
Actually i wasn't referring to overclocking, i was talking about how Intel released P4 & Celerons in the above 3 gig stock frequencies. If i'm not mistaken they did overclock well after Intel moved to 90nm, and AMD stopped overclocking well after putting on onboard IMC. 3GHz for AMD is not insane thats why i said the similarity with netburst ends there. But you are right, there are parallels with netburst that we discussed above.