1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Phenoms To Break The 3GHz Barrier

Discussion in 'News' started by HellasVagabond, Aug 2, 2007.

  1. HellasVagabond New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,404 (0.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    162
    Location:
    Athens , GREECE
    According to our friends over at Fudzilla (a site known for it's rumors), the new Barcelona / Phenom X4 Quad core can hit 3.24 GHz or more in it's B2 revision. If this is true, the Phenom processors could easily surpass the newest Intel Penryn core, which is clocked at 3.33 GHz.

    Source: Fudzilla
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 2, 2007
    Lodzinjsh says thanks.
  2. mandelore

    mandelore New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Messages:
    3,251 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    151
    Location:
    UK-small Village in a Valley Near Newcastle
    if its true that fu*k YEAH!! tho it IS fud..
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. HellasVagabond New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,404 (0.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    162
    Location:
    Athens , GREECE
    Well sometimes Fudzilla is right. Besides it isn't like they support AMD so why say this ? :)
     
  4. cjoyce1980 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Messages:
    715 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    a cpu-z shot would be nice
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. jaydeejohn New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    127 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Seems alot of people dont like AMD lately. At 90nm they hit 3 GHZ , so why not higher at 65 on a new arch, with better transistors
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. Ben Clarke

    Ben Clarke

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,403 (1.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    England
    I already posted this, like, 2 weeks ago.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. HellasVagabond New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,404 (0.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    162
    Location:
    Athens , GREECE
    We posted the 3GHz news but not the 3.24GHz news. Not really awesome but it is good for AMD.
     
  8. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16,210 (4.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,131
    Location:
    London,UK
    I agree....


    But AMD did at 1 point say that they never needed raw speed like intel to make a good CPU - back then Intels Netburst's & AMD's Shortpipeline CPU's were on the stage. now the tables have turned & a new hero has emerged victorious (Intels Core @ Duo). things have changed much since the 90nm days
     
    Last edited: Aug 2, 2007
  9. Atech New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    284 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Relatively but not absolutely. AMD's processors get wider and wider with every new "generation". They're getting wider again with this "generation", I see no reason to believe the trend will change this time around. I don't see what the size of the transistors have to do with "raw speed" needed (I presume you mean transistor switching rate, if not, ignore this entire comment), though.
     
  10. Ben Clarke

    Ben Clarke

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,403 (1.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    England
    Core @ Duo? I think you mean Core 2 Duo :D And use the UK keyboard layout, your'e in London...
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16,210 (4.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,131
    Location:
    London,UK
    My bad. sorry this keyboard & mouse set was imported from China - lol



    Im talking about raw speed. Intel has always favoured more Ghz then a more efficient architecture - I'm referring the the Pre-Core 2 Duo days. when AMD was king of the castle.

    AMD never needed raw speed to kick Intels asses back then but It seems its been demoted from King Of The Castle to Royal Inhouse Butler Otherwise Known As Jeeves like i said things have changed. I think AMD need to really start pumping some Engelbert Humperdinck during the manufacturing process to sweeten up the process - or send them to Iraq to get some action so they can come back beefed up like Vin Diesel.

    More Cycles perclock = Higher frame rate - higher frame rate = better gaming = more time spent in Guildwars
     
  12. mikek75

    mikek75 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1,371 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    118
    Location:
    Chippenham, Wilts, United Kingdom
    While we're being pedantic, its you're, not your'e.......
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. Atech New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    284 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    And I've said only relatively. The K10 is wider than the K8, as the K8 was wider than the K7, as the K7 was wider than the K6.

    No ****. As I said, the K10 is very wide.
     
  14. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16,210 (4.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,131
    Location:
    London,UK
    Forgive me. I did not understand when u used the term 'Wide'
     
  15. mandelore

    mandelore New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Messages:
    3,251 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    151
    Location:
    UK-small Village in a Valley Near Newcastle
    because of the "sometimes" part ;)

    i would love this to be true, its just a couple of hundred Mhz but that would be very nice
     
    Last edited: Aug 2, 2007
    10 Year Member at TPU
  16. kwchang007

    kwchang007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,979 (1.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    Severn, MD, USA.
    P3@ 1ghz could open a can of whoop ass on a p4 below...I think 2.13 ghz. Also, look at Intel's laptop lineup (excluding p4 m). Only netburst was a highclock rate, narrow pipe, long pipestage architecture.
     
  17. Wayward

    Wayward New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2007
    Messages:
    235 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    If this is true, then it's good news. I need proof though if I'm to believe these claims. As mentioned above by cjoyce1980, a cpu-z shot would suffice.
     
  18. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,814 (2.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    547
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Thats nice if they arent OCing the procs to get them that speed (But I was under the impression and from several reputable magazines that the FX's were reaching those speeds on the quads at stock, not the X2 and X4s) but if its on an OC, C2D whoops the shit out of these new procs.


    Im really interested in seeing how the Phenoms spar with the C2Ds. If they are awesome and reclaim the crown, Intel wouldnt have had it for but a year. However, as much a fanboy as I am, I think they will be a nice kick in the nutts, but thats about it...Intel wins this war...for now.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)