• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Phoenix Technologies Working on SCT 2.2 System Firmware for Windows 8

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
34,486 (9.19/day)
Likes
17,517
Location
Hyderabad, India
#1
BIOS developer Phoenix Technologies announced its latest SecureCore Tiano (SCT) version 2.2 UEFI firmware that will be designed for PCs running Windows 8 operating system. The desktop client motherboard BIOS industry is currently dominated by AMI with its AMIBIOS and AMI-UEFI solutions, although Phoenix' AwardBIOS is still found on certain channel PC motherboards. It's with mobile computing devices that Phoenix' firmware solutions get a lot more prevelent. SCT 2.2 is looking to mark the company's bid to return to competitiveness in the PC motherboard BIOS market.

SecureCore Tiano 2.2 is a UEFI BIOS/firmware that conforms to UEFI 2.3.1 specifications, TCG 2.0, 1.2 (Trusted Computing Group) specifications, ACPI 4.0 and 5.0, SMBIOS 2.7, NIST-SP800-147, and USB 3.0 native, making it a feature-packed solution. In addition to Windows on x86 PC platforms (Win32, Win64, WoW64), Phoenix will develop firmware support for the upcoming Windows on ARM (WoA) platform. It is collaborating with ARM majors Qualcomm and Texas Instruments in this regard.

Source: DigiTimes
 
Last edited:

Nemesis881

New Member
Joined
Jun 22, 2006
Messages
690 (0.16/day)
Likes
32
Location
Dawsonville, GA
System Name Nemy's comp
Processor AMD Athlon x2 4200+ @ 2.61ghz
Motherboard ASUS A8M2N-LA
Cooling 1x250mm (side), 2x120mm (one front and back), 6000+ stock cooler
Memory 3Gb Corsair value select PC2-4200 (2x512mb and 2x1gb))
Video Card(s) XFX HD7770
Storage 320gb Seagate Baracuda / 160gb western digital
Display(s) ASUS 19" widescreen LCD. 1440x900
Case Apevia Jupiter-JR S-Type
Audio Device(s) on-board. Audigy died D;
Power Supply Ultra 600W X-pro
Software Vista Home Premium
#2
AKA, BIOS that can't be modified or gotten into to change anything except for boot disks..
My computer would be a LOT better if I didn't have a pheonix BIOS. I can get to a 2.6ghz OC easy with Nvidia system tools (can't anymore because it breaks the nvidia control panel with the new drivers...) Just imagine what I could do in the BIOS..I never get above 44C overclocked.
 

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
34,486 (9.19/day)
Likes
17,517
Location
Hyderabad, India
#3
AKA, BIOS that can't be modified or gotten into to change anything except for boot disks..
My computer would be a LOT better if I didn't have a pheonix BIOS. I can get to a 2.6ghz OC easy with Nvidia system tools (can't anymore because it breaks the nvidia control panel with the new drivers...) Just imagine what I could do in the BIOS..I never get above 44C overclocked.
Actually, OC options are at board vendor's discretion, not BIOS vendor's. Stroll through Gigabyte's higher-end motherboards. They use AwardBIOS, and are literally vomiting with options. That's also because Gigabyte backs those options up with a ton of legacy controllers, sensors, and "tweaking" circuits in the higher-end boards.
 

Nemesis881

New Member
Joined
Jun 22, 2006
Messages
690 (0.16/day)
Likes
32
Location
Dawsonville, GA
System Name Nemy's comp
Processor AMD Athlon x2 4200+ @ 2.61ghz
Motherboard ASUS A8M2N-LA
Cooling 1x250mm (side), 2x120mm (one front and back), 6000+ stock cooler
Memory 3Gb Corsair value select PC2-4200 (2x512mb and 2x1gb))
Video Card(s) XFX HD7770
Storage 320gb Seagate Baracuda / 160gb western digital
Display(s) ASUS 19" widescreen LCD. 1440x900
Case Apevia Jupiter-JR S-Type
Audio Device(s) on-board. Audigy died D;
Power Supply Ultra 600W X-pro
Software Vista Home Premium
#4
The main problem is my board is from an OEM HP desktop. The BIOS is by Phoenix and the board itself is an ASUS.
There are tons of M2N boards, but they don't list the M2N-LA on their site. Is it possible to take one of the M2N boards BIOS with the same chipset and flash it to my board?
Asus software (AI suite, probe, etc.) doesn't work with my board either.
 
Joined
Nov 2, 2008
Messages
767 (0.23/day)
Likes
414
Processor Intel Core i3-4370
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-H97-D3H
Cooling Zalman CNPS9500 AT
Memory 16GB Crucial Ballistix Sport DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GV-N75TOC-2GI GeForce GTX 750 Ti WindForce
Storage Crucial MX100 256GB SSD
Display(s) Dell S2316M LCD
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Black Pearl
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150
Power Supply Corsair CX600M
Mouse Logitech M500
Keyboard Lenovo KB1021 USB
Software Windows 10 Professional x64
#5
The main problem is my board is from an OEM HP desktop. The BIOS is by Phoenix and the board itself is an ASUS.
There are tons of M2N boards, but they don't list the M2N-LA on their site. Is it possible to take one of the M2N boards BIOS with the same chipset and flash it to my board?
Asus software (AI suite, probe, etc.) doesn't work with my board either.
Unfortunately, you can't use the OEM's BIOS on the board. I ran into this problem a while back trying to update the BIOS on Intel motherboards in Gateway PCs. There is a vendor ID string in the BIOS. The ASUS flash program won't update an HP-flagged motherboard, and HP's flash program won't load an ASUS-flagged BIOS. :banghead:
 

Nemesis881

New Member
Joined
Jun 22, 2006
Messages
690 (0.16/day)
Likes
32
Location
Dawsonville, GA
System Name Nemy's comp
Processor AMD Athlon x2 4200+ @ 2.61ghz
Motherboard ASUS A8M2N-LA
Cooling 1x250mm (side), 2x120mm (one front and back), 6000+ stock cooler
Memory 3Gb Corsair value select PC2-4200 (2x512mb and 2x1gb))
Video Card(s) XFX HD7770
Storage 320gb Seagate Baracuda / 160gb western digital
Display(s) ASUS 19" widescreen LCD. 1440x900
Case Apevia Jupiter-JR S-Type
Audio Device(s) on-board. Audigy died D;
Power Supply Ultra 600W X-pro
Software Vista Home Premium
#6
That's just pathetic...
If someone is smart enough to know what the BIOS is and does, they should be able to flash it...I can understand not wanting inexperienced people to screw up their settings, but to not allow ANYONE in is just absurd.
 
Joined
Nov 2, 2008
Messages
767 (0.23/day)
Likes
414
Processor Intel Core i3-4370
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-H97-D3H
Cooling Zalman CNPS9500 AT
Memory 16GB Crucial Ballistix Sport DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GV-N75TOC-2GI GeForce GTX 750 Ti WindForce
Storage Crucial MX100 256GB SSD
Display(s) Dell S2316M LCD
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Black Pearl
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150
Power Supply Corsair CX600M
Mouse Logitech M500
Keyboard Lenovo KB1021 USB
Software Windows 10 Professional x64
#7
That's just pathetic...
If someone is smart enough to know what the BIOS is and does, they should be able to flash it...
I won't argue with that. But once ASUS sells the board to HP, it becomes HP's property, and HP is responsible for the warranty. It wouldn't be so bad if HP would simply update their BIOS when ASUS releases a newer version. This is why I always build my PCs.

I can understand not wanting inexperienced people to screw up their settings, but to not allow ANYONE in is just absurd.
Many vendors are like that. They don't want to have to deal with the extra support problems if someone hoses their BIOS config, so they lock-down the BIOS and disable a lot of the advanced features.
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2009
Messages
1,654 (0.51/day)
Likes
234
Location
slovenia , europe
System Name 2013Plus
Processor Intel Core i7 3820 @ 4.0 GHz OC
Motherboard Asus P9X79
Cooling Noctua NH-L12
Memory Corsair Vengeance 24GB 1333MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire ATI Radeon RX 480 8GB
Storage Samsung SSD 840 Pro, WD1002FAEX,4xWD10EZEX,2xWDGreen2TB
Display(s) Asus PB328Q 32' 1440p@75hz (prev. Asus VG278 144Hz)
Case Cooler Master CM Storm Trooper
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1
Power Supply Antec Edge 550W
Mouse Mad Catz RAT5
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#8
"certain channel PC motherboards" = gigabyte

;)
 

Nemesis881

New Member
Joined
Jun 22, 2006
Messages
690 (0.16/day)
Likes
32
Location
Dawsonville, GA
System Name Nemy's comp
Processor AMD Athlon x2 4200+ @ 2.61ghz
Motherboard ASUS A8M2N-LA
Cooling 1x250mm (side), 2x120mm (one front and back), 6000+ stock cooler
Memory 3Gb Corsair value select PC2-4200 (2x512mb and 2x1gb))
Video Card(s) XFX HD7770
Storage 320gb Seagate Baracuda / 160gb western digital
Display(s) ASUS 19" widescreen LCD. 1440x900
Case Apevia Jupiter-JR S-Type
Audio Device(s) on-board. Audigy died D;
Power Supply Ultra 600W X-pro
Software Vista Home Premium
#9
I won't argue with that. But once ASUS sells the board to HP, it becomes HP's property, and HP is responsible for the warranty. It wouldn't be so bad if HP would simply update their BIOS when ASUS releases a newer version. This is why I always build my PCs.
This explains why ASUS and the model number aren't visible on the board itself..

I really want to rebuild mine but I have lack of funds at the moment. Since I have had this computer for about 4 years now, I have removed it from its HP case and put it into one of my own, added ram, and been through 2 or 3 video cards.