• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Photoshop CS4 to Have 64-Bit Version... But Only on Windows

Joined
Jan 15, 2005
Messages
5,458 (1.16/day)
Likes
242
Location
England
System Name Jimmy 2004's PC
Processor S754 AMD Athlon64 3200+ @ 2640MHz
Motherboard ASUS K8N
Cooling AC Freezer 64 Pro + Zalman VF1000 + 5x120mm Antec TriCool Case Fans
Memory 1GB Kingston PC3200 (2x512MB)
Video Card(s) Saphire 256MB X800 GTO @ 450MHz/560MHz (Core/Memory)
Storage 500GB Western Digital SATA II + 80GB Maxtor DiamondMax SATA
Display(s) Digimate 17" TFT (1280x1024)
Case Antec P182
Audio Device(s) Audigy 4 + Creative Inspire T7900 7.1 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair HX520W
Software Windows XP Home
#1
In the past, Macs were sometimes argued to be better for image editing than Windows-based PCs. To be perfectly honest, I’m not sure if this was true or a complete myth, but it looks like things may not be like that anymore with the introduction of Adobe’s Windows-only 64-bit version of Photoshop Creative Suite 4. Until now, Adobe has strived to ensure that both the Windows and Mac versions of Photoshop come with similar features. However, due to a choice by Apple not to make the Carbon technology that is used to develop Photoshop available as 64-bit, Adobe has decided it will not be providing a 64-bit version of CS4. Adobe’s product manager for Photoshop, John Nack, said:
We're not going to ship 64-bit native for Mac with CS4. We respect Apple's need to balance their resources and make decisions right for that platform. But it does have an impact on developers.
Adobe’s preliminary testing suggests that the 64-bit version of Photoshop CS4 will offer a performance boost of 8-12%, with the benefits being much greater for memory-intensive tasks due to its ability to take advantage of more than 4GB of memory.

Show full news post
 
Joined
Jan 15, 2005
Messages
5,458 (1.16/day)
Likes
242
Location
England
System Name Jimmy 2004's PC
Processor S754 AMD Athlon64 3200+ @ 2640MHz
Motherboard ASUS K8N
Cooling AC Freezer 64 Pro + Zalman VF1000 + 5x120mm Antec TriCool Case Fans
Memory 1GB Kingston PC3200 (2x512MB)
Video Card(s) Saphire 256MB X800 GTO @ 450MHz/560MHz (Core/Memory)
Storage 500GB Western Digital SATA II + 80GB Maxtor DiamondMax SATA
Display(s) Digimate 17" TFT (1280x1024)
Case Antec P182
Audio Device(s) Audigy 4 + Creative Inspire T7900 7.1 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair HX520W
Software Windows XP Home
#2

jbunch07

New Member
Joined
Feb 22, 2008
Messages
5,260 (1.47/day)
Likes
598
Location
Chattanooga,TN
Processor i5-2500k
Motherboard ASRock z68 pro3-m
Cooling Corsair A70
Memory Kingston HyperX 8GB 2 x 4GB 1600mhz
Storage OCZ Agility3 60GB(boot) 2x320GB Raid0(storage)
Display(s) Samsung 24" 1920x1200
Case Custom
Power Supply PC Power and Cooling 750w
Software Win 7 x64
#3
sweet!
anyone know when its release date is?
 
Joined
May 13, 2006
Messages
654 (0.15/day)
Likes
18
Location
Newcastle upon Tyne
Processor Intel Core I7 4770K
Motherboard MSI Z87-GD65
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer i30
Memory 32GB DDR3 (16GB Corsair XMS3 / 16GB Crucial Ballistix Tactical)
Video Card(s) AMD 280X
Storage Samsung 840 / Crucial BX100
Display(s) BenQ XL2430T / BenQ EW2430
Case CoolerMaster Stacker 831
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Recon3D
Power Supply Corsair 750W HX Modular
Mouse Razer DeathAdder Chroma
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Ultimate
Software Windows 10 Professional
#4
its nice to see a 64bit version, serves apple right if they are unwilling to advance its technology. I am aware that carbon is getting on a bit now compared to its newer brother cocoa but carbon is still commonly used by cross platform developers, imo bad move that will come back to bite apple on the arse.
 

kylew

New Member
Joined
Nov 19, 2007
Messages
604 (0.16/day)
Likes
70
Location
Liverpool
Processor Main: Intel Core 2 Quad Q6700 @ 3.7Ghz / Server: Q6600@ Stock
Motherboard Main: Asus P5E @ Rampage Forumla / Server: P5K Deluxe
Cooling Main: Thermalright 120 Ultra Extreme (8 x 120mm fans inc. PSU + 2 x 92mm fans.) / Server: Stock
Memory Main: 4x2GB Gskill DDR2 1000Mhz / Server: 4x1GB Gskill DDR2 800Mhz
Video Card(s) Main: 2GB 5870 Eyefinity 6 / Server: HD 4850
Storage 8 Internal (SATA) 2 External (USB). Total storage 5.4TB
Display(s) Triple Dell 24" 2408WFP
Case Main: Silverstone TJ07 / Server: Coolermaster Stacker 810
Audio Device(s) Main: Auzentech Xmystique / Server: NI Rig Kontrol
Power Supply Main: Coolermaster Realpower 850w Modular / Server Tagan 600W Modular
Software Main: Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit / Server: Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
Benchmark Scores 3D Mark 06 19.5k 3D Mark Vantage 12.5k Super PI 13.4s
#5
I don't know of a release date, but I know that there is a CS4 Beta. I don't know if it' open or closed, but I downloaded the beta the other day (haven't gotten around to installing it). I won't post the link where I got though as I don't know if it would be allowed.
 
Joined
Aug 10, 2007
Messages
4,059 (1.07/day)
Likes
1,122
Location
Geneva, FL, USA
Processor Intel i5-6600
Motherboard ASRock H170M-ITX
Cooling Cooler Master Geminii S524
Memory G.Skill DDR4-2133 16GB (8GB x 2)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte R9-380X 4GB
Storage Samsung 950 EVO 250GB (mSATA)
Display(s) LG 29UM69G-B 2560x1080 IPS
Case Lian Li PC-Q25
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892
Power Supply Seasonic SS-460FL2
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech G110
Software Windows 10 Pro
#6
Cool.

Though I hope they mean the entire CS4 collection will be 64bit, not just Photoshop. Premiere and After Effects could use it more than PS.
 

jbunch07

New Member
Joined
Feb 22, 2008
Messages
5,260 (1.47/day)
Likes
598
Location
Chattanooga,TN
Processor i5-2500k
Motherboard ASRock z68 pro3-m
Cooling Corsair A70
Memory Kingston HyperX 8GB 2 x 4GB 1600mhz
Storage OCZ Agility3 60GB(boot) 2x320GB Raid0(storage)
Display(s) Samsung 24" 1920x1200
Case Custom
Power Supply PC Power and Cooling 750w
Software Win 7 x64
#7
Cool.

Though I hope they mean the entire CS4 collection will be 64bit, not just Photoshop. Premiere and After Effects could use it more than PS.
very true!

we use cs3 at school on macs and i use it at home on my computer... it works allot better on mine :) dont know why people think photoshop works so much better on macs
 
Joined
Jan 14, 2008
Messages
3,204 (0.88/day)
Likes
155
Location
London, UK
System Name Azazel 2.5
Processor Intel Core i5 3570K
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V
Cooling Corsair Hydro Series H80i
Memory Kingston 16GB DDR3 1600MHz HyperX Genesis
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 670 FTW Sig 2 2GB
Storage Kingston 120GB HyperX + WD 1TB Caviar Black Hard Drive
Display(s) Samsung SM2032BW 20"
Case Corsair Vengeance C70 Black
Audio Device(s) Xonar DG
Power Supply Corsair TX 750W PSU
Software Windows 7 64bit
#8
:) wow that was quick...cs3 is not that old yet....
 

Millenia

New Member
Joined
Apr 20, 2008
Messages
98 (0.03/day)
Likes
8
Location
Turenki, Finland
System Name PixelCruncher Mk. II
Processor AMD Phenom X4 965 @ 3,92GHz
Motherboard MSI GD70-790FX
Cooling Noctua NH-U12P
Memory 2x Patriot Viper DDR3-1600MHz Extreme
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon HD4870 1GB
Storage Samsung SpinPoint T166 500GB + Samsung SpinPoint F2 1,5TB
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 226BW 22" widescreen
Case CM Storm Scout
Audio Device(s) Creative X-FI XtremeGamer
Power Supply LC-Power Ozeanos 650W modular
Software Windows Vista Home Premium 64-bit (Finnish)
Benchmark Scores 1337 in lulzmark
#9
Cool stuff, I'm on a 64-bit Vista with 4 gigs of RAM so this will be a welcome feature :cool:
 

Necrofire

New Member
Joined
Nov 1, 2007
Messages
585 (0.16/day)
Likes
43
System Name Chuck
Processor Core i5-2500k @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard msi P67A-C43
Cooling hyper 212, 2 120mm fans
Memory 8GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) XFX 6870
Storage 60GB sata3 sandforce ssd, 1TB samsung hdd
Display(s) Yamakazi Catleap
Case Possibly Antec, not sure
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Rosewill 600W
#10
Sure, some aspects of speed come from software and the OS, but the main boost comes from hardware. Since you can get some beefier hardware on a pc these days for less money, it's no wonder why people say that Photoshop runs faster than on a mac. They probably have a high-end system compared to the macs they've used before.
 
Joined
Dec 13, 2007
Messages
2,758 (0.75/day)
Likes
465
#11
Release date is between Dec.08 and April 09. This is the newest date that i can find. If i found more info, i'll let ya'll know.


As far as I know the Entire CS4 Suite will be 64-Bit. They have been working on this since last summer. So surely it will be, but no promise. But the Photoshop CS4 Beta is is ONLY 32-Bit for right now. When I get the chance I'll upload the CS4 Beta on my site. If you already have CS3, I wouldn't worry about it. Not in less you want too.
 

jbunch07

New Member
Joined
Feb 22, 2008
Messages
5,260 (1.47/day)
Likes
598
Location
Chattanooga,TN
Processor i5-2500k
Motherboard ASRock z68 pro3-m
Cooling Corsair A70
Memory Kingston HyperX 8GB 2 x 4GB 1600mhz
Storage OCZ Agility3 60GB(boot) 2x320GB Raid0(storage)
Display(s) Samsung 24" 1920x1200
Case Custom
Power Supply PC Power and Cooling 750w
Software Win 7 x64
#12
oh ok so we got some time!
thnks jack
 
Joined
Mar 9, 2006
Messages
1,198 (0.28/day)
Likes
130
Location
FL
System Name Iam-a-computah
Processor 7700k @5 Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte Auros z270x
Cooling Custom water loop, x2 280 radiators
Memory 16gb Corsair Dominator
Video Card(s) MSI 1080 TI FE 11gb WC
Storage SSD: 256gb Samsung 840pro & HHD: WD black 2T
Display(s) Dell 34" UW screen
Case Full tower NZXT
Audio Device(s) Creative x-FI
Power Supply EVGA super NOVA 1300wtt
Keyboard G710
Software W 10
#13
I've been waiting for adobe to release something like this!, my machine was made mainly for their software and other editing software.

:D
 
Joined
Dec 13, 2007
Messages
2,758 (0.75/day)
Likes
465
#14
I've been waiting for adobe to release something like this!, my machine was made mainly for their software and other editing software.

:D
yeah same here, now cs4 will allow all us to use it farther.

Here's a screenshot!!!
 
Last edited:

panchoman

Sold my stars!
Joined
Jul 16, 2007
Messages
9,595 (2.52/day)
Likes
1,148
Processor Amd Athlon X2 4600+ Windsor(90nm) EE(65W) @2.9-3.0 @1.45
Motherboard Biostar Tforce [Nvidia] 550
Cooling Thermaltake Blue Orb-- bunch of other fans here and there....
Memory 2 gigs (2x1gb) of patriot ddr2 800 @ 4-4-4-12-2t
Video Card(s) Sapphire X1950pro Pci-E x16 @stock@stock on stock
Storage Seagate 7200.11 250gb Drive, WD raptors (30/40) in Raid 0
Display(s) ANCIENT 15" sony lcd, bought it when it was like 500 bucks
Case Apevia X-plorer blue/black
Audio Device(s) Onboard- Why get an sound card when you can hum??
Power Supply Antec NeoHe 550-manufactured by seasonic -replacement to the discontinued smart power series
Software Windows XP pro SP2 -- vista is still crap
#15
OMG!!! It's a freaking miracle that adobe actually went 64 bit... sucks about not getting it on the mac side though... really gay of apple to do it.. i use cs3e on my home computer and cs2 mac/cs windows at school. cs3e is mainly uber cool gui + plus some extra features. ps for windows is something i'd never wanna touch after using the newer ones and cs2 mac is really awesome to work with.. its easier and faster to use gui-wise. of course we have the cheap imacs at are school with nice c2d's but not much ram so they lag with big images and thats where my machine and cs3e really pwn... but i'd really want os x leopard + cs3e on my machine...

what instruction sets does cs3 use up to? sse2?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 18, 2006
Messages
2,964 (0.73/day)
Likes
397
Location
your local vending machine
System Name HTPC||Lenovo IBM ThinkPad
Processor AMD Phenom II x4 965 stock 3.4GHz||Intel C2D T9300 @ 2.5GHz
Motherboard Zotac 890GX-ITX WiFi||Lenovo 8918CTO
Cooling Stock 3x 120's||Stock stuff
Memory 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 6-6-6-15||3GB DDR2
Video Card(s) Asus 3870x2||nVidia Quadro NVS 140M
Storage 1TB Seagate Barracuda, 1x 2TB WD EARX ||Hitachi 160GB 7200RPM
Display(s) Samsung T260HD||
Case SilverStone Grandia GD05||
Audio Device(s) on-board||on-board
Power Supply Cooler Master 450W||6-cell
Software Windows 7 Pro x64||Windows 7 Pro x64/Linux Mint x64
#16
WOOHOO! finally! now i can enjoy photoshop without having to dual boot and stuff like that haha
 
Joined
Dec 10, 2007
Messages
7,185 (1.96/day)
Likes
769
Location
Adelaide Australia
System Name Becca 2
Processor AMD A10 4600m quad core @ 2.3 ghz
Motherboard dunno
Cooling Logitech alto connect
Memory 16 Gig ddr3 1600mhz
Video Card(s) Ati HD 7660G + & 7470M
Storage 1 TB
Audio Device(s) onboard crap
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit with sp1
#17
Yay i only just get cs3 now there updating with a new one dang oh well 64 bit will be good
 
Joined
Apr 28, 2007
Messages
1,182 (0.30/day)
Likes
98
Location
Bellevue, WA
System Name NORMANDY
Processor Intel Core i7 4930K @ 4.5GHz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 WS
Cooling Corsair H60
Memory 16GB G.SKILL (2x F3-2400C11D-8GXM) @ 2333 Quad CH
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX750 TI and 4x Plugable UGA-3000 UGB Graphics Adapters
Storage Crucial M4 128GB SSD / Seagate ST2000DX001 Hybrid HDD
Display(s) Samsung 305t and 4x Dell 2001FP
Case CM Stacker 832 + 9x120mm CM TLF-S12-EB
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Xtreme Audio PCI-E
Power Supply Seasonic X-760 Gold
Mouse Logitech MX Revolution / Microsoft SideWinder Gaming
Keyboard Varmilo VB87ML Cherry MX Black Bluetooth
Software Microsoft Windows 8.1 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores Cinebench R15: 1188
#18
very true!

we use cs3 at school on macs and i use it at home on my computer... it works allot better on mine :) dont know why people think photoshop works so much better on macs
A Mac Pro still beats my rig hands down. I just can't compete with 8 cores.
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2007
Messages
1,140 (0.29/day)
Likes
63
Location
Baltimore, Maryland
System Name Cozad (Asus G60JX)
Processor Core i5 M 430
Memory 8 GB DDR3 1066
Video Card(s) nVidia GeForce 360M
Storage 500GB
Display(s) 16 inch LED LCD
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1
#19
It was 3 years between CS2 and CS3, so I assume we will seen CS4 in 2010 or shortly after Windows 7 is launched so they are sure it'll run. I use Photoshop CS3e and the rest is CS2 still... Not ready to upgrade the whole lot until I learn it better.
 

Dangle

New Member
Joined
Dec 13, 2007
Messages
497 (0.14/day)
Likes
15
Location
Reno
System Name Vista
Processor Q6600
Memory 2GB Corsair 800mhz
Video Card(s) 2900XT
Storage 300GB 7.2kRPM Seagate for OS; 74GB 10kRPM WD for Games
Audio Device(s) XFi
Power Supply 750W
#20
The CS3 macromedia line sux balls. They didn't upgrade anything. Which is why I'm not upgrading Studio 8 until CS4 comes around. I hope it's all 64 bit. WOOT! Poo ON U apple! Here's what I get from macFanboys all the time: "Photoshop is made for apple hardware so it wurkz bettur!!!1!"
 

ex_reven

New Member
Joined
Sep 4, 2006
Messages
5,217 (1.27/day)
Likes
159
#21
A Mac Pro still beats my rig hands down. I just can't compete with 8 cores.
When I decide to spend $4000 on a tower that only outspecs my two year old $1800 tower in the processor category, Ill shoot myself publicly.

Im using these Pro's at university and they arnt that crash hot as every design teacher and mac fanboy student praises it to be. I was actually looking forward to using one... What a let down lol. I can see from the upgrade options on it that it could be quite a formidible platform though...but stock....the stock package sucks.

As for the 64 bit edition, its good to see them rolling it out in CS4.
Running a 32 bit edition of photoshop on a 64 bit OS doesnt yield the greatest results and I look forward to how much performance/stability improves with this.

Another blow to the Apple team?
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2008
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
#22
64 bit for Photoshop, After Effects and Premier would be cool indeed.

64 bit wouldn't be much of a use for Dreamweaver, Flash etc though
(but is still welcomed nonetheless)
 

ex_reven

New Member
Joined
Sep 4, 2006
Messages
5,217 (1.27/day)
Likes
159
#23
64 bit for Photoshop, After Effects and Premier would be cool indeed.

64 bit wouldn't be much of a use for Dreamweaver, Flash etc though
(but is still welcomed nonetheless)
64 bit anything would be welcomed.
We should be using 64 bit everything, but we arnt because developers cant get their act together. Hardware manufacturers and the lack of 64 bit drivers for various products also holds us back from 64 bit becoming the rule rather than the exception.
 
Joined
Aug 22, 2007
Messages
3,170 (0.84/day)
Likes
527
Location
Florida, US
System Name bits and pieces
Processor Intel Xeon E3-1230V3
Motherboard Gigabyte H97
Cooling stock
Memory 16GB for now
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 970 SC
Storage 256GB SSD + 3x 2TB WDs (storage)
Display(s) 2x BENQ GW2250 + ViewSonic 24"
Case Cooler Master Centurion 5 :P
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium HD --- JBL 4412 Studio Monitors / Polk PSW505
Power Supply Antec 550W
Mouse Corsair M65 pro
Keyboard MS Sidewinder
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#24
sweet can't wait for it to come out!
 

jonmcc33

New Member
Joined
Mar 25, 2008
Messages
580 (0.16/day)
Likes
40
Location
Fort Myers, FL
System Name BLACK
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 @ 3.2GHz
Motherboard Abit IP35-E @ 1600FSB
Cooling Thermalright XP-90 w/92mm ADDA fan
Memory 4GB Hynix DDR2-667 @ 800MHz
Video Card(s) PowerColor Radeon X1900XT
Storage (2) 320GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.10
Display(s) Samsung 225BW
Case Antec Nine Hundred
Audio Device(s) Audigy2 ZS Platinum
Power Supply Corsair HX520
Software Windows Vista Business x64 SP1
#25
A Mac Pro still beats my rig hands down. I just can't compete with 8 cores.
For the same price you can easily build a Windows Vista x64 based system using a pair of quad core Xeon processors. Never heard of Skulltrail?

64 bit anything would be welcomed.
We should be using 64 bit everything, but we arnt because developers cant get their act together. Hardware manufacturers and the lack of 64 bit drivers for various products also holds us back from 64 bit becoming the rule rather than the exception.
Using 64-bit VirtualBox myself. :D
 
Last edited: