• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

PII X3 710 back on the Egg

Joined
May 12, 2009
Messages
5,167 (1.65/day)
Likes
944
Processor Intel Core i5-3570K
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z77N-WIFI
Cooling Corsair A70 (Passive)
Memory Samsung 8GB MV-3V4G3D/US
Storage Samsung PM841 256GB
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp U2412M
Case BitFenix Prodigy (Arctic White)
Power Supply FSP Zen 400 (Fanless)
Software OS X 10.9.1 Mavericks
#1

1Kurgan1

The Knife in your Back
Joined
Dec 8, 2008
Messages
10,412 (3.16/day)
Likes
2,391
Location
Duluth, Minnesota
System Name My Comp | Fiancees Comp
Processor i7 5820k @ 4.6Ghz 1.285v| i5 2500k
Motherboard MSI x99 SLI Plus | AsRock Z77 Pro 3
Cooling Watercooled
Memory 16GB DDR4 2400 @ 2666 | 12GB DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) AMD R9 290x | MSI 5850 OC
Storage 128gb SSD + 2x 2TB | 2TB
Display(s) Asus 27" LCD | 25" Hanns G
Case CM Storm | CM Elite 430
Audio Device(s) Creative Recon 3D PCIe
Power Supply Enermax Galaxy 1250W | Rosewill 630w
Mouse Logitech G700s | Logitech G100s
Keyboard Logitech G901 | Logitech G105
Software Win 8.1 Ultimate x64 | Win 8.1 Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores 3D Mark - Fire Strike Extreme - 4403
#2
Nice to see it back, but it's $10 more than it was before, and with the new 620 out at a lower cost it's a really questionable price now more than every.
 
Joined
May 12, 2009
Messages
5,167 (1.65/day)
Likes
944
Processor Intel Core i5-3570K
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z77N-WIFI
Cooling Corsair A70 (Passive)
Memory Samsung 8GB MV-3V4G3D/US
Storage Samsung PM841 256GB
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp U2412M
Case BitFenix Prodigy (Arctic White)
Power Supply FSP Zen 400 (Fanless)
Software OS X 10.9.1 Mavericks
#3
I think they're getting rid of the inven and making room for the X3 740, moving the prices down a notch accordingly.
 
Joined
May 7, 2009
Messages
5,257 (1.67/day)
Likes
1,451
Location
Marietta, GA USA
System Name ODIN
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1800X @ 3.9 GHz (all cores)
Motherboard ASRock TaiChi X370
Cooling Cryorig Universal R1
Memory 16 GB G.Skill FlareX @ 2933 MHz 14-14-14-34
Video Card(s) Nvidia EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 SC 8 GB
Storage WD M.2 1TB SSD :: 4 TB RAID 1 Array of 2 drives
Display(s) Dell S2716DG 27" 144 Hz G-SYNC
Case NZXT H630
Audio Device(s) Onboard Audio
Power Supply Antec HCP 850 80+ Gold
Mouse Corsair M65
Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB Lux
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores I don't benchmark.
#4
Well it does have the 6MB L3 cache. While the new 620 does have an extra core, the L3 cache will help in games and other apps. that pre-cache commands (if I understand that correctly).

At average screen resolution, we are talking 6 to 10 frames per second, but 10 FPS can push a game out of a playable frame rate at higher settings at the same screen res.
 
Joined
Dec 23, 2007
Messages
16,919 (4.65/day)
Likes
1,622
Location
Omaha, NE
System Name The ShadowFold Draconis (Ordering soon)
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T 2.8ghz
Motherboard ASUS M4A87TD EVO AM3 AMD 870
Cooling Stock
Memory Kingston ValueRAM 4GB DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) XFX ATi Radeon HD 5850 1gb
Storage Western Digital 640gb
Display(s) Acer 21.5" 5ms Full HD 1920x1080P
Case Antec Nine-Hundred
Audio Device(s) Onboard + Creative "Fatal1ty" Headset
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts 650w
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
Benchmark Scores -❶-❸-❸-❼-
#5
That's a VERY hard choice VS the 620. I would grab the 620 for a multimedia/internet rig and the 710 for a gaming rig.
 
Joined
Oct 21, 2008
Messages
3,459 (1.04/day)
Likes
483
Location
95350
Processor ???
Motherboard 760
Cooling HK
Memory 3x1gb
Video Card(s) 285 Classified / EVGA 480
Display(s) 22" Acer /42" Toshiba
Case Stacker
Power Supply Toughpower 1000w / Coolmaster 650w
Software All of them
#6
I belive i read that you can unlock the L3 cache on the 620 through ACC

not 100% sure so ill go try to find link
 
Joined
May 12, 2009
Messages
5,167 (1.65/day)
Likes
944
Processor Intel Core i5-3570K
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z77N-WIFI
Cooling Corsair A70 (Passive)
Memory Samsung 8GB MV-3V4G3D/US
Storage Samsung PM841 256GB
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp U2412M
Case BitFenix Prodigy (Arctic White)
Power Supply FSP Zen 400 (Fanless)
Software OS X 10.9.1 Mavericks
#7
I belive i read that you can unlock the L3 cache on the 620 through ACC

not 100% sure so ill go try to find link
It depends on whether it's a Deneb or not. Some batches are Denebs with locked L3, some are true Athlon IIs.
 
Joined
May 7, 2009
Messages
5,257 (1.67/day)
Likes
1,451
Location
Marietta, GA USA
System Name ODIN
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1800X @ 3.9 GHz (all cores)
Motherboard ASRock TaiChi X370
Cooling Cryorig Universal R1
Memory 16 GB G.Skill FlareX @ 2933 MHz 14-14-14-34
Video Card(s) Nvidia EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 SC 8 GB
Storage WD M.2 1TB SSD :: 4 TB RAID 1 Array of 2 drives
Display(s) Dell S2716DG 27" 144 Hz G-SYNC
Case NZXT H630
Audio Device(s) Onboard Audio
Power Supply Antec HCP 850 80+ Gold
Mouse Corsair M65
Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB Lux
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores I don't benchmark.
#8
I wouldn't risk it on a maybe. I would just buy what you want, but I would also just dish the extra 10 spot and get the 720BE to OC it with each. You can OC the 710, but the 720 takes less work.
 
Joined
Mar 3, 2008
Messages
2,131 (0.60/day)
Likes
624
System Name ...then I became obsessed with watts
Processor AMD FX-8350 stock clocks waiting for Zen
Motherboard Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3 (Sata 6gb I love you)
Cooling Cooler Master V8 (lapped) w/Thermaltake Silent Cat (on lowest speed)
Memory Patriot Viper Xtreme's 8Gb @ 1800Mhz 9-10-9 1T
Video Card(s) EVGA 1070 GTX SC
Storage 2 Samsung 128Gb 830's (one for OS+ one for Programs) & 2 Seagate SSHD 2Tb drives
Display(s) Oculus Rift!!! oh....and an LG IPS 27" monitor max resolution 1920x1080
Case Cooler Master 690...lots of fans, all of them super silent
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1 (holy $uck this is good)
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 750w G1
Mouse Logitech G9x (awesome!)
Keyboard Logitech G105
Software Windows 10 64Bit
Benchmark Scores no benches in a long time, SteamVR 10.8, maybe I'll add some more again lol
#9
I just built another machine for someone and used the X2 550 to base it around...I really wished the 710 was there last Sunday when I ordered everything. :)

Oh well I've not done any work in finding out whether or not the processor is able to use any of the deactivated cores so maybe that would work out either way. He's already got FAR more speed than he'll need for many years so it's no rush, and if it doesn't have the extra cores it doesn't matter. :)

That 710 looks awesome though and had I the choice to do over I'd have picked that over the X2 550 no contest.

Kei