1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

[US] PII X6 1100T's in stock @NewEgg (OEM) $199

Discussion in 'Hot Deals' started by Norton, Mar 10, 2012.

  1. Norton

    Norton Moderator & WCG-TPU Captain Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    12,498 (5.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35,792
    Location:
    USA
    Jeffredo says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  2. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    10,342 (4.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,420
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. claylomax

    claylomax

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,675 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    299
    Location:
    London
    Is that supposed to be a deal? I got mine for less than that back in October.
     
  4. Jeffredo

    Jeffredo

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Messages:
    969 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    NorCal
    They've been out of stock everywhere for over a month - clearing out for BD.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. claylomax

    claylomax

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,675 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    299
    Location:
    London
    I understand. At the end of the day it's currently AMD best, fastest and most decent cpu.
     
  6. Norton

    Norton Moderator & WCG-TPU Captain Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    12,498 (5.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35,792
    Location:
    USA
    OEM not open box... no cooler and 90 day warranty on OEM CPU's

    See what they are getting on ebay and Amazon.... if they're in stock

    Right- they aren't making them anymore
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  7. Jeffredo

    Jeffredo

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Messages:
    969 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    NorCal
    Can't get my X4 955 C2 beyond 3.6 Ghz. Weighing whether its worth it for a final upgrade to my system. Probably not for a few extra FPS at 4.2 Ghz.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. erocker

    erocker Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    42,351 (10.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18,432
    This isn't a deal at all.:ohwell:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. Norton

    Norton Moderator & WCG-TPU Captain Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    12,498 (5.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35,792
    Location:
    USA
    960T will get you close for cheaper- 95w BE chip that may unlock to X6 ;)

    My 960T wasn't stable unlocked but I got it to 3.8 with very little tweaking as an X4 running cool on air :toast:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  10. Norton

    Norton Moderator & WCG-TPU Captain Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    12,498 (5.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35,792
    Location:
    USA
    For these chips....

    in stock=deal

    The price is only going to go higher as supply dries up
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  11. erocker

    erocker Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    42,351 (10.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18,432
    That's your opinion I guess. Retailers have been price gouging cpus on older platforms forever and I would never call it a deal.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. claylomax

    claylomax

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,675 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    299
    Location:
    London
    Really? Come on, you know that chip can do 4.2Ghz with just a little voltage; had it been released back in October I would have got one, but it was too late like the x4 980 was as well.
     
  13. Norton

    Norton Moderator & WCG-TPU Captain Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    12,498 (5.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35,792
    Location:
    USA
    I know it can but I am perfectly happy with this "lite" overclock... any more will put heat and stress on my system that isn't necessary.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  14. user21

    user21 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    282 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Peshawar
    Queztion; why this PII X6 if there is buldozer and all the FX family being even cheaper :/
     
  15. Exeodus

    Exeodus

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2005
    Messages:
    630 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    159
    Location:
    A suburb of Chicago, IL
    Because certain older boards can't run a BD, but can run PII chips.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  16. Jeffredo

    Jeffredo

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Messages:
    969 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    NorCal
    Yeah, my 790 FX motherboard doesn't support Bulldozer (or the X4 960t for that matter). I either do a drop-in upgrade to tide me over for a few years or a totally new motherboard/CPU and possibly RAM. Really can't afford all that.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  17. BlackOmega

    BlackOmega

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    Messages:
    620 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    158
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    You probably need to update your BIOS to support the 960T. IRC, the 960T is just a Thuban with 2 core disabled. The M4A79T does support that.

    My 790FX-GD70 also needed a BIOS update for it to support Thuban CPUs'.
     
  18. Jeffredo

    Jeffredo

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Messages:
    969 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    NorCal
    I should probably just forget about it and save the $200 for a new build. Its just frustrating that I'm at pretty much a dead end upgrade-wise with AMD. Haven't had an Intel PC in ten years.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  19. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    9,559 (2.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,449
    Location:
    Wyoming
    Yea that was pretty much the way I was. I had run AMD for way more than 10 years and only had a laptop that was running an Intel chip. Well recently I grabbed a socket 1366 motherboard, i7 930, and 6gb of ram on the cheap. The frigging thing would run circles around anything that AMD has to offer!

    Naturally I then started putting together some Sandy Bridge systems.:p
     
    Jeffredo says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)