• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Pin mod for Phenom - is it possible?

Joined
Feb 12, 2013
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
System Name PC
Processor AMD Phenom X3 8450 @ 2.62 Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte M61PME-S2
Cooling BOX
Memory Good Ram 2+1 GB DDR2 @ 860mhz CL5
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Radeon HD 4850 @ 790/1200
Storage Samsung HD321KJ
Display(s) Viewsonic VA1903wb 1440x900
Case Fever Ahilles
Audio Device(s) Realtek Integrated
Power Supply Delta Electronic GPS-500AB-A
Software Windows 8.1
#1

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,527 (6.39/day)
Likes
6,950
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#2
Honestly I wouldn't do it, why not pickup a better board for OCing?
 
Joined
Feb 12, 2013
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
System Name PC
Processor AMD Phenom X3 8450 @ 2.62 Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte M61PME-S2
Cooling BOX
Memory Good Ram 2+1 GB DDR2 @ 860mhz CL5
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Radeon HD 4850 @ 790/1200
Storage Samsung HD321KJ
Display(s) Viewsonic VA1903wb 1440x900
Case Fever Ahilles
Audio Device(s) Realtek Integrated
Power Supply Delta Electronic GPS-500AB-A
Software Windows 8.1
#3
I rather think about changing my CPU to Phenom II in nearly future, and then MB.
But I haven't enough money for now, so I started thinking about any possibility to raise voltage on this piece of junk.
Anybody know how i can do this, I will by very appreciative if somebody help me do this.

Edit:
I took the risk and make this mod and guess what:
It working! I rised voltage from 1.26v to 1.36v.
Sadly my shitty mobo can't work with FSB higher than 250 so finally I have reached 2.62Ghz (stock 2.1 Ghz) and it's stable.
It's not enough good score, because i still have huge fps drops in games.
 

Attachments

Last edited:
Joined
Mar 12, 2009
Messages
1,042 (0.32/day)
Likes
153
Location
SCOTLAND!
System Name Machine XII
Processor Phenom II 1155T
Motherboard Asus M4A88TD-M EVO/USB3
Cooling Custom Water Cooling
Memory 8Gb ddr3 1600mhz XMS 3
Video Card(s) HD5970 2Gb
Storage 128Gb Sandisk SATAIII 6G/s
Display(s) 19" + 23" + 17"
Case micro atx case
Audio Device(s) XFi xtreme OEM
Power Supply 750W
Software Windows 7 x64 Ultimate
#4
It should work fine on an am2 motherboard but not am2+ or am3 as they use split power rails for the cores and l3/memory controller
 

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,527 (6.39/day)
Likes
6,950
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#5
The first gen Phenoms were good but not the best out there during their time. A phenom II would be a good jump in performance. I still rock a Phenom II x3 720 unlocked to quad in my cruncher running raid 0, It seems just as snappy as my 2600K doing daily tasks.
 
Joined
Feb 12, 2013
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
System Name PC
Processor AMD Phenom X3 8450 @ 2.62 Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte M61PME-S2
Cooling BOX
Memory Good Ram 2+1 GB DDR2 @ 860mhz CL5
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Radeon HD 4850 @ 790/1200
Storage Samsung HD321KJ
Display(s) Viewsonic VA1903wb 1440x900
Case Fever Ahilles
Audio Device(s) Realtek Integrated
Power Supply Delta Electronic GPS-500AB-A
Software Windows 8.1
#6
It should work fine on an am2 motherboard but not am2+ or am3 as they use split power rails for the cores and l3/memory controller
I know that am2+ an higher mobos have split power rails ,but only on amd chipsets based, correct me if i was wrong. Nvidia chip (like nForce 430) based mobos have only single power rail for cpu.

So do you think that the fps drops are caused only by too weak cpu. I have oced hd4850. It looks this way, when game starting lags then usage of GPU drops to 60-80%, but CPU stays all time at about 75%.
Can this be caused by pci v1.1 or HT trimed to 1000Mhz on this mobo.
I'm asking for help because i have not any ideas for now what could it be.
 
Joined
Mar 12, 2009
Messages
1,042 (0.32/day)
Likes
153
Location
SCOTLAND!
System Name Machine XII
Processor Phenom II 1155T
Motherboard Asus M4A88TD-M EVO/USB3
Cooling Custom Water Cooling
Memory 8Gb ddr3 1600mhz XMS 3
Video Card(s) HD5970 2Gb
Storage 128Gb Sandisk SATAIII 6G/s
Display(s) 19" + 23" + 17"
Case micro atx case
Audio Device(s) XFi xtreme OEM
Power Supply 750W
Software Windows 7 x64 Ultimate
#7
you might be right about some cheap motherboards only having a single power rail to the cpu to keep costs down. the only time i have had to do pin mods were on some old asrock 775 boards that didnt have vcore adjustment and laptops that i wanted to lower the voltage on to run them cooler.

i would have thought your gigabyte board would have vcore adjustment? i dont think i have seen a gigabyte board without it.
its a am2 motherboard your using so your pin mod should work for a phenom II.

watch out you dont burn out the voltage regulators the original phenom chips draw a huge amount of power when you start to raise the voltage. around 130W at stock for an x4 and over 250 when you start upping the voltage.
 
Last edited: