• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

PLAYSTATION3 (PS3) Firmware v2.35 Available

malware

New Member
Joined
Nov 7, 2004
Messages
5,422 (1.13/day)
Likes
954
Location
Bulgaria
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 VID: 1.2125
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3P rev.2.0
Cooling Thermalright Ultra-120 eXtreme + Noctua NF-S12 Fan
Memory 4x1 GB PQI DDR2 PC2-6400
Video Card(s) Colorful iGame Radeon HD 4890 1 GB GDDR5
Storage 2x 500 GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 32 MB RAID0
Display(s) BenQ G2400W 24-inch WideScreen LCD
Case Cooler Master COSMOS RC-1000 (sold), Cooler Master HAF-932 (delivered)
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic + Logitech Z-5500 Digital THX
Power Supply Chieftec CFT-1000G-DF 1kW
Software Laptop: Lenovo 3000 N200 C2DT2310/3GB/120GB/GF7300/15.4"/Razer
#1
PLAYSTATION3 (PS3) firmware update 2.35 is now available. According to the PlayStation Blog, v2.35 is "a relatively minor update" that should "improve stability of some PS3 titles." Unfortunately Rockstar's GTA IV is not among these PS3 games. Al De Leon, SCEA's PR Manager said: "I just want to clarify that this upcoming firmware update isn't related to GTA IV. For those of you who may still have an issue playing the game on your PS3, we have identified a solution that should resolve the issue. You can contact SCEA Consumer Services for support."

Show full news post
 
Joined
Oct 13, 2007
Messages
233 (0.06/day)
Likes
18
Location
Australia, SA
System Name Computer MkVIII
Processor 2500K @ 4.5ghz
Motherboard ASUS Sabertooth P67
Cooling CPU: 212+ EVO GPU: Stock
Memory 16gb G.Skill Ares @2133mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 SC
Storage 1x Samsung 840 EVO 1TB
Display(s) 24" Asus VE248
Case Corsair Carbide 300R
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair HX-650
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
#2
Any update is good news to me, pity they didn't provide more detailed information about it, sorry to hear people are still having problems with GTA IV, i just got a PS3 from a friend of mine, it was a launch console, i've had none of the problems other people have been suffering from, i must be lucky with the PS3, which is good as my 360 decided to start eating my games by feasting on GTA IV :(
 
Joined
May 24, 2007
Messages
4,715 (1.22/day)
Likes
354
Location
Tennessee
System Name AM3+
Processor AMD FX-8350 @ 4715.73 MHz (23.5*200.63 MHz)
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair V Formula-Z AM3+ AMD 990FX SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard
Cooling AMD 8150 Factory Water Cooler
Memory Corsair XMS3 16 GB 1333 MHz PC3-10666 240-Pin DDR3
Video Card(s) ASUS ROG MATRIX-R9290X-P-4GD5 Radeon R9 290X 4GB 512-Bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0
Storage SanDisk Ultra II 480GB, INTEL SS DSC2BW240A4, Western Digital WDC WD50 00AAKX-003CA0
Display(s) Acer S211HL bd 21.5-Inch Widescreen Ultra-Slim LED Display - Black
Case COOLER MASTER Elite 335 Upgraded RC-335U-KKN1 Black Steel / Plastic ATX Mid Tower Computer Case
Power Supply Corsair RM Series 850 Watt ATX/EPS 80PLUS Gold-Certified Power Supply - CP-9020056-NA RM850
Software Windows 10.0 Pro 64 Bit
#3
Any update is good news to me, pity they didn't provide more detailed information about it, sorry to hear people are still having problems with GTA IV, i just got a PS3 from a friend of mine, it was a launch console, i've had none of the problems other people have been suffering from, i must be lucky with the PS3, which is good as my 360 decided to start eating my games by feasting on GTA IV :(
This update has nothing at all to do with GTA IV preformance (goto the offical Playstation blog). Furthermore, the fix for PS3 GTA IV is already out, now wheres the Xbox fix?
 
Joined
Oct 13, 2007
Messages
233 (0.06/day)
Likes
18
Location
Australia, SA
System Name Computer MkVIII
Processor 2500K @ 4.5ghz
Motherboard ASUS Sabertooth P67
Cooling CPU: 212+ EVO GPU: Stock
Memory 16gb G.Skill Ares @2133mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 SC
Storage 1x Samsung 840 EVO 1TB
Display(s) 24" Asus VE248
Case Corsair Carbide 300R
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair HX-650
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
#5
This update has nothing at all to do with GTA IV preformance (goto the offical Playstation blog). Furthermore, the fix for PS3 GTA IV is already out, now wheres the Xbox fix?
I know this, i was just saying it's sad that the problem hasn't been fixed, also the 1.01 patch didn't seem to fix the problems for alot of people
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 24, 2007
Messages
4,715 (1.22/day)
Likes
354
Location
Tennessee
System Name AM3+
Processor AMD FX-8350 @ 4715.73 MHz (23.5*200.63 MHz)
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair V Formula-Z AM3+ AMD 990FX SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard
Cooling AMD 8150 Factory Water Cooler
Memory Corsair XMS3 16 GB 1333 MHz PC3-10666 240-Pin DDR3
Video Card(s) ASUS ROG MATRIX-R9290X-P-4GD5 Radeon R9 290X 4GB 512-Bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0
Storage SanDisk Ultra II 480GB, INTEL SS DSC2BW240A4, Western Digital WDC WD50 00AAKX-003CA0
Display(s) Acer S211HL bd 21.5-Inch Widescreen Ultra-Slim LED Display - Black
Case COOLER MASTER Elite 335 Upgraded RC-335U-KKN1 Black Steel / Plastic ATX Mid Tower Computer Case
Power Supply Corsair RM Series 850 Watt ATX/EPS 80PLUS Gold-Certified Power Supply - CP-9020056-NA RM850
Software Windows 10.0 Pro 64 Bit
#6
I know this, i was just saying it's sad that the problem hasn't been fixed, also the 1.01 patch didn't seem to fix the problems for alot of people
Source? Because according to the people over at psu.com, the "problems" (which I think you are trying to say freezing) have been fixed with the patch (for the majority), or if you did what Sony said to do on their official blog (they offered a pre-patch fix/replacement PS3 even though it's actually software based).
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 11, 2006
Messages
1,008 (0.25/day)
Likes
63
Location
Long Island, NY
System Name My Current Desktop
Processor i7 6700k
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-Gaming 7
Cooling Corsair H80i v2
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX Savage 2666 CL13
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Storage 1TB Mushkin Reactor
Display(s) Asus VK266H 25.5" Widescreen 1920x1200
Case Corsair 760T White
Audio Device(s) Schiit Bifrost
Power Supply Corsair AX860i
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB LUX
Software Win 10 Pro 1703 x64
#7
we have identified a solution that should resolve the issue. You can contact SCEA Consumer Services for support."
...well what is it?
 
Joined
Oct 13, 2007
Messages
233 (0.06/day)
Likes
18
Location
Australia, SA
System Name Computer MkVIII
Processor 2500K @ 4.5ghz
Motherboard ASUS Sabertooth P67
Cooling CPU: 212+ EVO GPU: Stock
Memory 16gb G.Skill Ares @2133mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 SC
Storage 1x Samsung 840 EVO 1TB
Display(s) 24" Asus VE248
Case Corsair Carbide 300R
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair HX-650
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
#8
Source? Because according to the people over at psu.com, the "problems" (which I think you are trying to say freezing) have been fixed with the patch (for the majority), or if you did what Sony said to do on their official blog (they offered a pre-patch fix/replacement PS3 even though it's actually software based).
I'm sorry, i should of sourced that, sadly it just comes from various forums i visit, and two friends of mine, one lives just down the street, he still can't even get passed the first cutscene, freezes as soon as roman opens the boot, my other friend has problems going to pay and sprays because it might freeze :(

Anyway, this is getting a little off-topic, good to see they brought out a new firmware update :)
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 7, 2006
Messages
7,404 (1.73/day)
Likes
663
#9
The only thing fixed with the GTA patch was the network issue. A lot of people (including me) game locked up during loading, and it was the result of a network issue. Also the multiplayer had bad stability issues and trouble connecting, which was also fixed in the patch. The initial freezing issue (the one that happens in the first cut scene) still occurs.
 
Joined
Feb 7, 2007
Messages
892 (0.22/day)
Likes
63
Location
Australia, NSW,Mid North Coast.
System Name Commander
Processor Intel i3 540 3.06Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-H55-UD3H
Cooling 4x 80mm Case Fans, Zalman ZM-MFC1 Fan Controller, Stock CPU Cooler
Memory 4GB DDR3 1333Mhz (2x 2GB) - Kingston
Video Card(s) HIS ATi Radeon HD3850 256mb DDR3
Storage 640GB Western Digital Caviar Black
Display(s) 22" BenQ FP22W LCD, 700:1, 5ms, 16:10
Case Don't know exactly, metal, built on LED's.
Audio Device(s) Integrated - Altec Lansing 5.1 Speakers (6.5" Sub)
Power Supply Antec True 550W, 24 AMP on 12v rail
Software Vista Home Premium 64bit - AVG - Spybot
#11
I only had freezes during the game loading and if I had the network cable unplugged, then after I plugged it back in. It seemed too only be at popular times in a U.S. timezone as well (morning here). The 1.01 patch seemed to fix it fine.
 
Joined
Feb 7, 2007
Messages
892 (0.22/day)
Likes
63
Location
Australia, NSW,Mid North Coast.
System Name Commander
Processor Intel i3 540 3.06Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-H55-UD3H
Cooling 4x 80mm Case Fans, Zalman ZM-MFC1 Fan Controller, Stock CPU Cooler
Memory 4GB DDR3 1333Mhz (2x 2GB) - Kingston
Video Card(s) HIS ATi Radeon HD3850 256mb DDR3
Storage 640GB Western Digital Caviar Black
Display(s) 22" BenQ FP22W LCD, 700:1, 5ms, 16:10
Case Don't know exactly, metal, built on LED's.
Audio Device(s) Integrated - Altec Lansing 5.1 Speakers (6.5" Sub)
Power Supply Antec True 550W, 24 AMP on 12v rail
Software Vista Home Premium 64bit - AVG - Spybot
#13
Compared to other consoles you dont see the ps3 giving flash red rings :p
Exactly why I sold my 360 and got a PS3. I was scared, lol.