• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Plea For VGA BIOS ROM File: XFX HD7970 Dual Dissipation Black Edition (FX-797A-TDBC)

Joined
Aug 23, 2012
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
Ojai, California, USA
#1
Dear Friends,

I am such a wiener. I think I have "bricked" my brand new beautiful XFX HD 7970 Dual Dissipation Black Edition (FX-797A-TDBC). The card is still talking and can be flashed, but I don't think that the BIOS for this exact card is in the PowerUp database.

I have posted a request for help to the XFX web site, but I'm afraid that once they know I tried to flash my VGA BIOS they'll tell me to take a hike.

Does any generous soul out there happen to have the factory ROM file for FX-797A-TDBC that they would like to share (or possibly any ROM file that is presumed to be compatible)?

If so, please send to me either in here, or to david@sotaenterprises.com.

TIA,
Dave
Senior Brick Maker
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
11,517 (3.96/day)
Likes
6,273
Location
Ohio
System Name Daily Driver
Processor 7900X 4.5GHz 10c/10t 1.15V.
Motherboard ASUS Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling MCR320 + Kuplos Kryos NEXT CPU block
Memory GSkill Trident Z 4x8 GB DDR4 3600 MHz CL16
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 FTW3
Storage 512GB Patriot Hellfire, 512GB OCZ RD400, 640GB Caviar Black, 2TB Caviar Green
Display(s) Yamakasi 27" 2560x1440 IPS
Case Thermaltake P5
Power Supply EVGA 750W Supernova G2
Benchmark Scores Faster than most of you! Bet on it! :)
#2
Next time, save your factory bios before you go flashing. ;)

BUMP!
 
Joined
Aug 23, 2012
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
Ojai, California, USA
#3
You bet EarthDog, I should have saved BIOS first. Seriously wish I had now. I didn't realize that the factory BIOS would be generally unavailable. I guess that this VGA BIOS flashing is a more subversive, fringe action than say flashing a motherboard BIOS.

There actually 7 entries in the TechPowerUp database that *might* work with my card, but I don't think that any are a precise match, and I'm not sure what kind of wiggle room I have to mix and match. I know that with the BIOS that I chose, everything works up to a certain point--in fact I can login to Windows 7, but then during login, the screens freeze up and display a green pattern. This may be the point at which the Catalyst Control Center tray application starts.
 

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
14,886 (3.45/day)
Likes
5,416
System Name A dancer in your disco of fire
Processor i3 4130 3.4Ghz
Motherboard MSI B85M-E45
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 4 x 4GB Crucial Ballistix Sport 1400Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 760 DCU2OC 2GB
Storage Crucial BX100 120GB | WD Blue 1TB x 2
Display(s) BenQ GL2450HT
Case AeroCool DS Cube White
Power Supply Cooler Master G550M
Mouse Intellimouse Explorer 3.0
Keyboard Dell SK-3205
Software Windows 10 Pro
#4
There actually 7 entries in the TechPowerUp database that *might* work with my card, but I don't think that any are a precise match, and I'm not sure what kind of wiggle room I have to mix and match. I know that with the BIOS that I chose, everything works up to a certain point--in fact I can login to Windows 7, but then during login, the screens freeze up and display a green pattern. This may be the point at which the Catalyst Control Center tray application starts.
I assume it works in safe mode then?
 
Joined
Aug 23, 2012
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
Ojai, California, USA
#6
Yes it works in Safe Mode or also in Regular Mode

I assume it works in safe mode then?
Yes, it works in Safe Mode and also Regular Mode if I remove all displays but my primary which is DVI (my side displays are DisplayPort) and use msconfig to defeat all startup applications. I should be able to reflash with the correct BIOS.
 
Joined
Aug 23, 2012
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
Ojai, California, USA
#7
My god thank you guys so much what incredible fast turn-around I see that W1zzard has already posted the requested ROM file. I am going to try tonight with my freshly-made bootable USB drive.
 

foeshigity

New Member
Joined
Apr 8, 2013
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
#8
Simular issue different card

I have the 3rd release of this card W/ the two dvi ports. 797A tdbc v5.0 any one have the vBios for it.? if Not can someone preform a dump. Thanks
 
Last edited: