• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Please Help - Artifacts when booting / GPU-Z and Driver don't recognizes it

Atos

New Member
Joined
Jul 1, 2011
Messages
11 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
#1
Hi guys, I have two GTX 480, water cooled. Well, I flashed them to the new bios, released in the end of 2010, I think it was released a few weeks before the GTX 580 launch, I did that looking for better stability and maybe a little of performance boost.

The strange thing is that after a few weeks, one day I used my computer for a few hours with the 480s at stock clocks, and I turned off my computer. The other day I turned on my computer and it was showing a lot of artifacts while botting, and my OS/Nvidia Control Panel/GPU-z dont recognizes my video card anymore and I can't change my screen resolution.
This is happening only with one card, the other is fine, no problem at all. I flashed my bad card to the original bios and I don't had any sucess, I tried with a lot of bios too. One more thing, the bad card it is my primary card.



What it can be? Dead card? If it was dead it is not supose to don't send video signal ?



Here is two pictures of GPU-Z, after I flashed to the original bios:






 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,380 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,021
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#2
One card works and the other doesn't. Yes, you have a bad card.
 

Atos

New Member
Joined
Jul 1, 2011
Messages
11 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
#3
One card works and the other doesn't. Yes, you have a bad card.
Yeah, but can I fix it? Because it is working to boot and it gives video signal, the screen shot was taken with the bad card only, so I tought it could be a bios issue or something that I could fix.
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,380 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,021
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#4
Yeah, but can I fix it? Because it is working to boot and it gives video signal, the screen shot was taken with the bad card only, so I tought it could be a bios issue or something that I could fix.
You could try different bios' but that's about it. The cards should still be under warranty.
 

Atos

New Member
Joined
Jul 1, 2011
Messages
11 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
#5
You could try different bios' but that's about it. The cards should still be under warranty.
I will spend more than 200 USD only in shipping, dont worth it. Using -4 -5 -6 at nvflash it will clean everything and then change it to the new file, right? I will try more flashes and if I have no lucky again I think I will try GTX 570 and 580 bios, LOL.





But if anyone have any idea, please reply.
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
1,877 (0.78/day)
Likes
878
Location
Mainland Britain
System Name H2o Box
Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 4820k @ 4.40 GHz
Motherboard MSI X79A-G43 Plus (MS-7760) v3
Cooling CPU EK Block and 360RAD H2o
Memory Gskill RipjawsZ 16Gb 9-10-9-28 3T @ 2021Mhz
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080ti AMP EXTREME, EVGA GTX 980ti FTW
Storage HyperX Fury 120GB & Savage 480GB SSD, Seagate 250GB,250GB 7200rpm Kingston 64GB SSD
Display(s) Panasonic GT30 46'' 1080p 3D HDTV [Custom Resolution 3200*1800]
Case Corsair O-800D
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Be Quiet! [Dark Power Pro 11] 1200W CM replaced [7-4-2017]
Mouse Asus ROG
Keyboard Microsoft Digital Media 1.0A
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit v 1703 / OS[build 15063.13]
#6
Hi

Sorry to say your card looks to be dead; raise a support ticket and RMA is the only way

nb: had this happen with a pair of GTX 480's in SLi, tryed for days to force drivers and flash gave up in the end.

atb

Law-II
 

Atos

New Member
Joined
Jul 1, 2011
Messages
11 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
#7
Hi

Sorry to say your card looks to be dead; raise a support ticket and RMA is the only way

nb: had this happen with a pair of GTX 480's in SLi, tryed for days to force drivers and flash gave up in the end.

atb

Law-II
Thanks for the reply, like I said before I don't think RMA worth for my case, I will need to pay something around 230 USD with shipping. I will try gtx 570 and 580 and go back to 480 , I don't know, just 2 min to test and I don't have any other idea.

Cooking the card sometimes get it back to life, but I read that It will not long to much, is it true?
 
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
1,877 (0.78/day)
Likes
878
Location
Mainland Britain
System Name H2o Box
Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 4820k @ 4.40 GHz
Motherboard MSI X79A-G43 Plus (MS-7760) v3
Cooling CPU EK Block and 360RAD H2o
Memory Gskill RipjawsZ 16Gb 9-10-9-28 3T @ 2021Mhz
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080ti AMP EXTREME, EVGA GTX 980ti FTW
Storage HyperX Fury 120GB & Savage 480GB SSD, Seagate 250GB,250GB 7200rpm Kingston 64GB SSD
Display(s) Panasonic GT30 46'' 1080p 3D HDTV [Custom Resolution 3200*1800]
Case Corsair O-800D
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Be Quiet! [Dark Power Pro 11] 1200W CM replaced [7-4-2017]
Mouse Asus ROG
Keyboard Microsoft Digital Media 1.0A
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit v 1703 / OS[build 15063.13]
#8
Thanks for the reply, like I said before I don't think RMA worth for my case, I will need to pay something around 230 USD with shipping. I will try gtx 570 and 580 and go back to 480 , I don't know, just 2 min to test and I don't have any other idea.

Cooking the card sometimes get it back to life, but I read that It will not long to much, is it true?
Hi

I have to admit, I was a little silly and very sleepy setting up an H2o rig at 1:00a.m in the morning and had an accident with a GTX 295 a £355.00 graphic card. I got a little H2o inbetween the waterblock and the PSB, the very next day I completed the system that I had been in a hurry to assemble and test; low and behold That card went "POP" I tryed to convince myself that I had not been carless and had that lump in my throat when I realised just what had happened.

Getting back to the point BAKING you need a very hot oven most won't cut the mustard; I learnt that day that Baking a graphic card in your own oven is not a good idea.

If you do have to do it; just to say you tried everything (before popping your $400.00 card in the bin). Make sure you remove all the plastic lables, serial numbers heatsink from the PSB first you will require an oven that will go as high as 285-290*F (pre-heated oven) to allow the solder to run ; place the PSB with the flat side down on grease proof paper and keep a careful eye on it, in the oven between 8-10 minutes max (8 minutes should do it); leave the oven to cool with the card inside do not attempt to move it straite after the baking process; make sure your kitchen is well ventilated.
(Please do more research on this subject online before you attempt it)

nb: expect the taste of hot PSB to be in your food for weeks, needless to say I leave baking to people that make bread these days.

Warning DO NOT USE AN OVEN WITH A MICROWAVE BUILT IN

atb

Law-II
 
Last edited:

Atos

New Member
Joined
Jul 1, 2011
Messages
11 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
#9
I'm having hope now, I spent 1 hour more or less to find one GTX 480 lightning bios, and I flashed with this bios and it got better, now at least I have more colors. I'm thinking what to do next.....


Compare my first screen shot with this:

Screen Shot:

 

Atos

New Member
Joined
Jul 1, 2011
Messages
11 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
#10
Ohh and I'm having artifacts all over my screen, but I think it is not in the screen shot, I can't say because I'm right now with the bad card and artifacts all over my screen.

Edit:
I'm going to start bad company 2 to see what happens
 

Atos

New Member
Joined
Jul 1, 2011
Messages
11 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
#11
Hmm I can't open any game or kombustor, how can I stress my video-card? Maybe is cold bug, my gpu temp is at 24 celsius.... ehhehehe J/K about the cold bug..... but really how can I stress my card?
 

Atos

New Member
Joined
Jul 1, 2011
Messages
11 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
#12
I discovered that I can't open anything because my current openGL version is 1.1, with this card.

I need something with openGL 1.1 to stress my video card...
 
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
1,877 (0.78/day)
Likes
878
Location
Mainland Britain
System Name H2o Box
Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 4820k @ 4.40 GHz
Motherboard MSI X79A-G43 Plus (MS-7760) v3
Cooling CPU EK Block and 360RAD H2o
Memory Gskill RipjawsZ 16Gb 9-10-9-28 3T @ 2021Mhz
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080ti AMP EXTREME, EVGA GTX 980ti FTW
Storage HyperX Fury 120GB & Savage 480GB SSD, Seagate 250GB,250GB 7200rpm Kingston 64GB SSD
Display(s) Panasonic GT30 46'' 1080p 3D HDTV [Custom Resolution 3200*1800]
Case Corsair O-800D
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Be Quiet! [Dark Power Pro 11] 1200W CM replaced [7-4-2017]
Mouse Asus ROG
Keyboard Microsoft Digital Media 1.0A
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit v 1703 / OS[build 15063.13]
#13
Hmm I can't open any game or kombustor, how can I stress my video-card? Maybe is cold bug, my gpu temp is at 24 celsius.... ehhehehe J/K about the cold bug..... but really how can I stress my card?
Hi

You may only have 2D and no 3D, / if you can use the card like this you may still be able to set it up as a dedicated PhysX card!

Did the nvidia drivers load o.k?
Can you adjust the resolution?

nb: flash back to the original bios, I don't see any fillrates in your screenshot

atb

Law-II
 
Last edited:

Atos

New Member
Joined
Jul 1, 2011
Messages
11 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
#14
Hi

You may only have 2D and no 3D, did the nvidia drivers load o.k?

atb

Law-II
No, its says that I'm not using a display attached to an Nvidia GPU... LOL

I'm downloading the latest Nvidia driver, I was using I think 272, and the 275 is available.
 
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
1,877 (0.78/day)
Likes
878
Location
Mainland Britain
System Name H2o Box
Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 4820k @ 4.40 GHz
Motherboard MSI X79A-G43 Plus (MS-7760) v3
Cooling CPU EK Block and 360RAD H2o
Memory Gskill RipjawsZ 16Gb 9-10-9-28 3T @ 2021Mhz
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080ti AMP EXTREME, EVGA GTX 980ti FTW
Storage HyperX Fury 120GB & Savage 480GB SSD, Seagate 250GB,250GB 7200rpm Kingston 64GB SSD
Display(s) Panasonic GT30 46'' 1080p 3D HDTV [Custom Resolution 3200*1800]
Case Corsair O-800D
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Be Quiet! [Dark Power Pro 11] 1200W CM replaced [7-4-2017]
Mouse Asus ROG
Keyboard Microsoft Digital Media 1.0A
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit v 1703 / OS[build 15063.13]
#15
No, its says that I'm not using a display attached to an Nvidia GPU... LOL

I'm downloading the latest Nvidia driver, I was using I think 272, and the 275 is available.
Good Luck

atb

Law-II
 

Atos

New Member
Joined
Jul 1, 2011
Messages
11 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
#16
Good Luck

atb

Law-II
I flashed back to my original bios and it got back to what it was in my first screen shot. I'm using my good card to update, and I think I will modifi one bios with more voltage to see what happens
 
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
1,877 (0.78/day)
Likes
878
Location
Mainland Britain
System Name H2o Box
Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 4820k @ 4.40 GHz
Motherboard MSI X79A-G43 Plus (MS-7760) v3
Cooling CPU EK Block and 360RAD H2o
Memory Gskill RipjawsZ 16Gb 9-10-9-28 3T @ 2021Mhz
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080ti AMP EXTREME, EVGA GTX 980ti FTW
Storage HyperX Fury 120GB & Savage 480GB SSD, Seagate 250GB,250GB 7200rpm Kingston 64GB SSD
Display(s) Panasonic GT30 46'' 1080p 3D HDTV [Custom Resolution 3200*1800]
Case Corsair O-800D
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Be Quiet! [Dark Power Pro 11] 1200W CM replaced [7-4-2017]
Mouse Asus ROG
Keyboard Microsoft Digital Media 1.0A
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit v 1703 / OS[build 15063.13]
#17
I flashed back to my original bios and it got back to what it was in my first screen shot. I'm using my good card to update, and I think I will modifi one bios with more voltage to see what happens
Hi

Be carefull and take your time; good luck

My mentor Dr Robb (doctorate in real time computing) once said "as a profesional time is money and if you start to tilt the balance spending more time fixing; some times you have to cut your losses and stop fixing"

nb: don't forget to take a break from fixing and play some games, you still have a great card

all the best

Law-II
 

Atos

New Member
Joined
Jul 1, 2011
Messages
11 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
#18
Hi

Be carefull and take your time; good luck

My mentor Dr Robb (doctorate in real time computing) once said "as a profesional time is money and if you start to tilt the balance spending more time fixing; some times you have to cut your losses and stop fixing"

nb: don't forget to take a break from fixing and play some games, you still have a great card

all the best

Law-II
Thanks for the advice, yeah I give up, the next time that I disassemble my system I think I will cook my card, but my food will smell pcb for weeks or maybe months? And it can be toxic?

Thanks
 

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
7,343 (2.62/day)
Likes
3,961
Location
Rochester area
System Name Kreij Lives On
Processor Intel Core i5 4670K @ 4.4Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VI Gene Z87
Cooling Reeven Okeanos Single 140MM Fan +2 SP120 White's
Memory 16GB kingston hyper x @ 2133 @ 11 11 11 32
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 ACX Copper Single fan
Storage 240gb Cruical MX200SSD/WD Blue 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S24D300/HP2071D
Case Custom Full Aluminum By ST.o.CH <3
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse Roccat KONE
Keyboard Rocatt ISKU with ISKUFX keycaps
Software Windows 10 +startisback
#19
card is fuked