• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Please Help, First Build Freezes

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Jun 18, 2019
Messages
17 (0.53/day)
Processor Intel - Core i9-9900K 3.6 GHz 8-Core Processor
Motherboard MSI - MEG Z390 ACE ATX LGA1151 Motherboard
Cooling DEEPCOOL Captain 240 RGB V2, AIO Liquid CPU Cooler, Anti-Leak Technology Inside, Sync RGB Waterblock
Memory Corsair - Vengeance LPX 16 GB (2 x 8 GB) DDR4-3000 Memory
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GT 730 (Low Profile)
Storage Crucial - MX500 500 GB 2.5" Solid State Drive
Display(s) HP Pavilion 21.5-Inch IPS LED HDMI VGA Monitor (22cwa)
Case Rosewill - RISE ATX Full Tower Case
Power Supply EVGA - SuperNOVA G3 650 W 80+ Gold Certified Fully Modular ATX Power Supply
Software Windows 10 Pro
Hello, I built a new pc and when I try to do something on it freezes shortly after starting up so soon I haven't even been able to install an OS. It does not freeze if I am in the bios.
Thanks!
 
Joined
Oct 28, 2018
Messages
103 (0.39/day)
Location
South Africa
System Name 1.Archimedes 2. Ianna
Processor 1. i7 7700k 2. R5 1600x
Motherboard 1. MSI Z270 Gaming Pro Carbon 2. ASUS Prime X470 Pro
Cooling 1. U12S with IPPC 3000RPM 2. AMD Wraith Prism
Memory 1. 16GB Crucial 2400MHz (4x4GB) 2. 16GB Crucial 2666Mhz (4x4GB)
Video Card(s) 1. MSI 1060 Gaming X Plus(6GB). 2. MSI 1050TI Gaming X (4GB)
Storage 1. 32GB Optane+120 GB SSD, 4TB X300, Firecuda 2TB. 2. Kingston 240GB SSD, 2TB WD Blue
Display(s) AOC G2460VQ6, Samsung 8 series
Case 1. S340 Elite. 2. S340
Audio Device(s) Lenovo Y Gaming , Logitech X530 , Galaxy Buds
Power Supply 1. Antec TPC 750W (Seasonic OEM) 2. Antec Neo Eco II 550W (Delta OEM)
Mouse G502, G102
Keyboard G413
Please post pic/screenshot of where exactly PC freezes? That said, first thing i would do is reseat cpu and try use only a single stick of ram. Also use onboard graphics instead.
 
Joined
Jun 18, 2019
Messages
17 (0.53/day)
Processor Intel - Core i9-9900K 3.6 GHz 8-Core Processor
Motherboard MSI - MEG Z390 ACE ATX LGA1151 Motherboard
Cooling DEEPCOOL Captain 240 RGB V2, AIO Liquid CPU Cooler, Anti-Leak Technology Inside, Sync RGB Waterblock
Memory Corsair - Vengeance LPX 16 GB (2 x 8 GB) DDR4-3000 Memory
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GT 730 (Low Profile)
Storage Crucial - MX500 500 GB 2.5" Solid State Drive
Display(s) HP Pavilion 21.5-Inch IPS LED HDMI VGA Monitor (22cwa)
Case Rosewill - RISE ATX Full Tower Case
Power Supply EVGA - SuperNOVA G3 650 W 80+ Gold Certified Fully Modular ATX Power Supply
Software Windows 10 Pro
it doesn't always freeze at the same spot. the motherboard does not have a port to plug in a display. I'll try the CPU and ram idea.
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2007
Messages
7,182 (1.68/day)
Location
Austin Texas
System Name Q
Processor Intel i7 7820X Delidded @ 4.7 Ghz / 3.3 Ghz Mesh
Motherboard MSI X299 Tomahawk
Cooling 120mm Custom Liquid
Memory 32 GB Quad 3800 Mhz DDR4 17-17-17-36-360-2T
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 2080 Ti Windforce (Undervolted OC)
Storage 1Tb Samsung 960 Pro m2, 2TB SATA SSD
Display(s) Dell 24" 2560x1440 144hz, G-Sync @ 165Hz
Case Jonsbo U4 Compact ATX
Audio Device(s) Arctis 7
Power Supply Corsair SF750
Mouse 6D G402
Keyboard tenkeyless
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores 5011 Cinebench
can you replace the sata cable as well / try a different sata port.
 
Joined
Jun 18, 2019
Messages
17 (0.53/day)
Processor Intel - Core i9-9900K 3.6 GHz 8-Core Processor
Motherboard MSI - MEG Z390 ACE ATX LGA1151 Motherboard
Cooling DEEPCOOL Captain 240 RGB V2, AIO Liquid CPU Cooler, Anti-Leak Technology Inside, Sync RGB Waterblock
Memory Corsair - Vengeance LPX 16 GB (2 x 8 GB) DDR4-3000 Memory
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GT 730 (Low Profile)
Storage Crucial - MX500 500 GB 2.5" Solid State Drive
Display(s) HP Pavilion 21.5-Inch IPS LED HDMI VGA Monitor (22cwa)
Case Rosewill - RISE ATX Full Tower Case
Power Supply EVGA - SuperNOVA G3 650 W 80+ Gold Certified Fully Modular ATX Power Supply
Software Windows 10 Pro
neither the RAM nor the changing SATA cables/ports fixed it. Could the problem be the old graphics card?
 
Joined
Jul 3, 2018
Messages
131 (0.34/day)
Location
Australia
I suspect you may have a faulty cpu. Try disabling all but 1 core (just for testing), and see if you get further.
 

tigger

I'm the only one
Supporter
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
11,135 (2.29/day)
System Name Black to the Core MKV
Processor Amd Ryzen 7 1800x
Motherboard Asus Prime B350-plus
Cooling Noctua NH-D15, 6x 140mm + 1 120mm controlled by Corsair commander pro
Memory 2x8gb G.Skill Flare X 2400 DDR4
Video Card(s) Palit GTX 1070 8GB
Storage Sandisk 256GB M2 ssd Boot and Seagate Barracuda 1TB Data+1TB WD Green
Display(s) Acer K272HL 27" 1080HD 75hz
Case Corsair Obsidian 750D 6 x 140mm fans
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC887 with Topping VX2 digital amp and Teac small hifi speakers
Power Supply Corsair CX550M
Mouse Corsair Scimitar
Keyboard Corsair K65 LUX
Software Win 10 Pro x64
neither the RAM nor the changing SATA cables/ports fixed it. Could the problem be the old graphics card?
Try replacing that GPU first to take it out of the equation. Is everything else new?
 
Joined
Jan 8, 2014
Messages
203 (0.10/day)
System Name maipc
Processor 4790k @ 4Ghz / 1.05v
Motherboard Asus vii hero
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (2x8GB) Hyperx fury 1866 / CL10
Video Card(s) MSI GTX1060 Gaming X 6GB
Storage 1TB 860EVO + 1TB 7200.12 + 4TB WD Red + 4TB WD Red
Display(s) Samsung 2243BW 22'' 1680x1050 @ 77Hz
Case Cooler Master Centurion 6
Power Supply Seasonic SSP-450 RT (80+ Gold OEM PSU)
Mouse Razer DeathAdder 3.5G
Keyboard CM Storm Quickfire Rapid-i
Software Win 7 64bit
Try running memtest86 for a couple hours to see if it freezes or if there are any errors.
 
Joined
Feb 22, 2019
Messages
367 (2.48/day)
System Name Goliath
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3700X @ 4.3 GHz (all cores)
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair VIII Hero WiFI
Cooling Custom water
Memory G.SKILL Trident Z RGB 3200MHz C14 @ 3600 C14
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 Ti FTW3 under water
Storage Samsung SM951 256GB + 860 EVO 1TB
Display(s) ASUS ROG PG278Q
Case Fractal Design R6 Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA P2 1200w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Cooler Master Pro Keys L
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores I only game on this system... built for silence, not absolute max performance. ;)
Where does it freeze? On attempt to install the OS? Give us some estimates as opposed to “it varies”.
 
Joined
Mar 24, 2019
Messages
181 (1.55/day)
Location
Denmark - Aarhus
System Name Iglo
Processor Intel® Core™ i7-3770K CPU @ 3.50GHz OC to 4000 mhz (Ivy Brigde)
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme 9 Socket 1155 LGA
Cooling 240 mm water
Memory 16 gb 2600 mhz ddr3
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 SC2 GAMING
Storage Ssd ´s in raid.
Display(s) BenQ XL2420Z
Case corsair obsidian 650d
Audio Device(s) Logitech Z-2300 THX-Certified 2.1 Speaker
Power Supply XFX Pro 750
Mouse G900
Keyboard Hyper x
Software win 10
Benchmark Scores Super-PI 1M Time : 9,265 sec CPU-Z scores Version 2017.1 (x64) S-T 395 M-T 1945
if your GPU have a internal gfx, try removing the discrete GFX ,then you can rule the GFX out.
To test the CPU , try disabling the cores 1 by one and test.
Also try to flip the ram.
 

bug

Joined
May 22, 2015
Messages
6,122 (4.03/day)
Processor Intel i5-6600k
Motherboard ASRock Z170 Extreme7+
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer i11
Memory 2x8GB DDR4 2400 G.Skill
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 SC
Storage 128 and 256GB OCZ Vertex4, 500GB Samsung 850 EVO, 1TB Crucial MX300 and 3TB Seagate
Display(s) HP ZR24w
Case Chieftec BX01
Power Supply Seasonic 620W M12
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Keyboard G.Skill KM780R
Run with the minimal amount of components, see if you can get it stable. If not, try replacing the RAM sticks, use a different PSU... If it runs ok with fewer components, add the rest in one by one and see where it starts freezing again.
Nothing particular to your setup, it's just how you isolate faulty components.

Also, try to keep that CPU within specified TDP (it can go over, I just don't know how to restrict that otoh). Your PSU should be fine, but just in case it isn't...
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
5,487 (1.16/day)
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, 2 x Fractal Design 140mm fans, stock CPU HSF
Memory 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Microsoft Wireless 5000
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
I would pull the the motherboard and PSU and assemble the computer on a plain, unfinished bread/cutting board. Then inspect your case to ensure, with 200% certainty, you installed a standoff only where there is a corresponding motherboard mounting hole.

Note that cases are designed to support 1000s of different motherboards. So, it is common for cases to have more motherboard mounting points than boards have mounting holes. A common mistake by the less experienced and distracted pros alike is to insert one or more extra standoffs in the case under the motherboard. The result ranges from "nothing" (everything works perfectly) to "intermittent problems" to "nothing" (as in nothing works at all :(). So you might want to verify you only inserted a standoff where there is a corresponding motherboard mounting hole.
It does not freeze if I am in the bios.
Then the CPU is properly mounted. I do not recommend messing with the CPU once mounted. They (or the socket) are too easily damaged through mishandling or ESD. Did you apply TIM (thermal interface material)? Note a common mistake is to apply too much. It only needs to fill the microscopic pits and valleys in the mating surfaces. Any excess is in the way and counterproductive to the cooling process.

If you used the thermal pad commonly found on many coolers, a common mistake is forgetting to peel the protective plastic cover over the pad.
 
Joined
Mar 24, 2019
Messages
181 (1.55/day)
Location
Denmark - Aarhus
System Name Iglo
Processor Intel® Core™ i7-3770K CPU @ 3.50GHz OC to 4000 mhz (Ivy Brigde)
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme 9 Socket 1155 LGA
Cooling 240 mm water
Memory 16 gb 2600 mhz ddr3
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 SC2 GAMING
Storage Ssd ´s in raid.
Display(s) BenQ XL2420Z
Case corsair obsidian 650d
Audio Device(s) Logitech Z-2300 THX-Certified 2.1 Speaker
Power Supply XFX Pro 750
Mouse G900
Keyboard Hyper x
Software win 10
Benchmark Scores Super-PI 1M Time : 9,265 sec CPU-Z scores Version 2017.1 (x64) S-T 395 M-T 1945
if i put ram in a2 & b2 my pc wont boot, what slot are you using ?

man my pc seriously dont like messing with ram, took 10 atempts to make it work again, i could not get dual channel to work, only single channel with 2 sticks.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 18, 2019
Messages
17 (0.53/day)
Processor Intel - Core i9-9900K 3.6 GHz 8-Core Processor
Motherboard MSI - MEG Z390 ACE ATX LGA1151 Motherboard
Cooling DEEPCOOL Captain 240 RGB V2, AIO Liquid CPU Cooler, Anti-Leak Technology Inside, Sync RGB Waterblock
Memory Corsair - Vengeance LPX 16 GB (2 x 8 GB) DDR4-3000 Memory
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GT 730 (Low Profile)
Storage Crucial - MX500 500 GB 2.5" Solid State Drive
Display(s) HP Pavilion 21.5-Inch IPS LED HDMI VGA Monitor (22cwa)
Case Rosewill - RISE ATX Full Tower Case
Power Supply EVGA - SuperNOVA G3 650 W 80+ Gold Certified Fully Modular ATX Power Supply
Software Windows 10 Pro
All the components are new except the graphics card, which is the only one I have and is from an old computer, I’ll order a different one and try that. I can’t see what it is displaying without a graphic card because the motherboard doesn’t have a spot to plug in a vga, hdmi etc(unless there is a way to see I don’t know of). the bios gives a temperature reading of about 87-91. How do I know if I have to much thermal paste? My ram is in DIMMA2 and DIMMB2, the slots it says in the mother board user guide. I put in a hard drive with windows on it and it froze after sitting for less than a minute, so I restarted it and logged in to an account and it froze in about the same amount of time again (I tried this several times with the same result) I thought maybe the problem was windows from a different computer so I made a bootable USB for windows and it also froze( I tried this 2-3 times) I made a usb for Linux and it froze also(I tried this at least 2 times and couldn’t even get past the live session of Linux to the install). I can’t flip the ram around because it has a notch on one side.
 
Joined
Mar 24, 2019
Messages
181 (1.55/day)
Location
Denmark - Aarhus
System Name Iglo
Processor Intel® Core™ i7-3770K CPU @ 3.50GHz OC to 4000 mhz (Ivy Brigde)
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme 9 Socket 1155 LGA
Cooling 240 mm water
Memory 16 gb 2600 mhz ddr3
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 SC2 GAMING
Storage Ssd ´s in raid.
Display(s) BenQ XL2420Z
Case corsair obsidian 650d
Audio Device(s) Logitech Z-2300 THX-Certified 2.1 Speaker
Power Supply XFX Pro 750
Mouse G900
Keyboard Hyper x
Software win 10
Benchmark Scores Super-PI 1M Time : 9,265 sec CPU-Z scores Version 2017.1 (x64) S-T 395 M-T 1945
well A2 & B2 is for Daisy chain layout, so you are fine there with ram, i presume either the mobo is worthy of an RMA or the PSU.
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
5,487 (1.16/day)
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, 2 x Fractal Design 140mm fans, stock CPU HSF
Memory 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Microsoft Wireless 5000
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
the bios gives a temperature reading of about 87-91.
:eek: I hope that is in Fahrenheit (°F) and not the standard centigrade (°C) because if 87° C when just running the BIOS Setup Menu, that is WAY too hot! Typically, the default setting is centigrade so you need to check this ASAP.

How do I know if I have to much thermal paste?
You only need a tiny dab - many say about the size of a grain of rice to the size of a small pea. The goal is to have as thin a layer as possible while still providing complete coverage. You definitely do not want any squishing out once you mount the heatsink.
 
Joined
Jun 18, 2019
Messages
17 (0.53/day)
Processor Intel - Core i9-9900K 3.6 GHz 8-Core Processor
Motherboard MSI - MEG Z390 ACE ATX LGA1151 Motherboard
Cooling DEEPCOOL Captain 240 RGB V2, AIO Liquid CPU Cooler, Anti-Leak Technology Inside, Sync RGB Waterblock
Memory Corsair - Vengeance LPX 16 GB (2 x 8 GB) DDR4-3000 Memory
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GT 730 (Low Profile)
Storage Crucial - MX500 500 GB 2.5" Solid State Drive
Display(s) HP Pavilion 21.5-Inch IPS LED HDMI VGA Monitor (22cwa)
Case Rosewill - RISE ATX Full Tower Case
Power Supply EVGA - SuperNOVA G3 650 W 80+ Gold Certified Fully Modular ATX Power Supply
Software Windows 10 Pro
it is Fahrenheit
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2015
Messages
2,010 (1.27/day)
Location
Long Island
1. I'm having trouble understanding freezing at different "spots" when you have not even loaded an OS. Are you referring to different "spots" in the OS installation process ?

2. Are the two RAM sticks installed in the 2nd and 4th sots (A2 / B2) ? as per page 29 of the Manual ?

3. Is the 500GB SSD connected to the lowest numbered SATA port (page 34) ?

4. Are there any other storage devices installed ? If so remove them.

5. Remove the GFX card and connect the monitor to the IGP port; make sure IGP is enabled in the BIOS.

6. Is the 8 pin EPS cable connected to the MoBo port (CPU-PWR1) to provide CPU power (page 38) ?

7. Is the 8 pin EPS cable connected to the MoBo port (CPU-PWR2) to provide CPU power page 38) ?

8. Is the fan power / sensor cable connected to CPU_Fan1 / Pump Fan port (page 41) ?

9. When you had the card in was it connected to PCI_E1 (see page 30) ?

10. What debug code appears on your MoBo LCD ? Code listings are on page48 - 52 of your manual. This code will tell you what the problem is by looking it up in these tables.

11. Check BIOS and make sure all components have been detected.

12. Check fan rpms and make sure that they are above the minimum threshold.

Troubleshooting w/o the card removes one element from the equation. Once you get ya debug code posted, we can move on from there.
 
Joined
Jun 18, 2019
Messages
17 (0.53/day)
Processor Intel - Core i9-9900K 3.6 GHz 8-Core Processor
Motherboard MSI - MEG Z390 ACE ATX LGA1151 Motherboard
Cooling DEEPCOOL Captain 240 RGB V2, AIO Liquid CPU Cooler, Anti-Leak Technology Inside, Sync RGB Waterblock
Memory Corsair - Vengeance LPX 16 GB (2 x 8 GB) DDR4-3000 Memory
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GT 730 (Low Profile)
Storage Crucial - MX500 500 GB 2.5" Solid State Drive
Display(s) HP Pavilion 21.5-Inch IPS LED HDMI VGA Monitor (22cwa)
Case Rosewill - RISE ATX Full Tower Case
Power Supply EVGA - SuperNOVA G3 650 W 80+ Gold Certified Fully Modular ATX Power Supply
Software Windows 10 Pro
Sorry I’m new to this, what is an IGP port?
 
Joined
Jan 23, 2016
Messages
281 (0.22/day)
Sorry I’m new to this, what is an IGP port?
Integrated graphics port means the one you have back of the motherboard. Which i presume you dont have any. Anyways your temps are abit abnormal try reseating you cpu and make sure the fansink is installed correctly. Just try one ram stick and then see where it leads to. I presume you dont have any m2 sata or nvme installed ?
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
5,487 (1.16/day)
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, 2 x Fractal Design 140mm fans, stock CPU HSF
Memory 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Microsoft Wireless 5000
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
Anyways your temps are abit abnormal
No, they are good. His monitor is set to display temps in Fahrenheit and 91°F is just 32°C. Nothing wrong with that when browsing the BIOS Setup Menu.
 
Joined
Jun 18, 2019
Messages
17 (0.53/day)
Processor Intel - Core i9-9900K 3.6 GHz 8-Core Processor
Motherboard MSI - MEG Z390 ACE ATX LGA1151 Motherboard
Cooling DEEPCOOL Captain 240 RGB V2, AIO Liquid CPU Cooler, Anti-Leak Technology Inside, Sync RGB Waterblock
Memory Corsair - Vengeance LPX 16 GB (2 x 8 GB) DDR4-3000 Memory
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GT 730 (Low Profile)
Storage Crucial - MX500 500 GB 2.5" Solid State Drive
Display(s) HP Pavilion 21.5-Inch IPS LED HDMI VGA Monitor (22cwa)
Case Rosewill - RISE ATX Full Tower Case
Power Supply EVGA - SuperNOVA G3 650 W 80+ Gold Certified Fully Modular ATX Power Supply
Software Windows 10 Pro
It froze here this time doesn’t let me move the mouse or do anything. A different time it said 37%

I should be able to get a new graphics card in the next month, should I just let it wait until I do and then test it with a new card and see if that fixes it? The card I was going to get is MSI VGA Graphic Cards RX 580 Gaming X 8G, does anyone know if this would be a good one?
 

Attachments

bug

Joined
May 22, 2015
Messages
6,122 (4.03/day)
Processor Intel i5-6600k
Motherboard ASRock Z170 Extreme7+
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer i11
Memory 2x8GB DDR4 2400 G.Skill
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 SC
Storage 128 and 256GB OCZ Vertex4, 500GB Samsung 850 EVO, 1TB Crucial MX300 and 3TB Seagate
Display(s) HP ZR24w
Case Chieftec BX01
Power Supply Seasonic 620W M12
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Keyboard G.Skill KM780R
It froze here this time doesn’t let me move the mouse or do anything. A different time it said 37%
For the love of God, try a single RAM stick and try it in different slots. If that doesn't do it, try the other stick.
 
Joined
Jun 18, 2019
Messages
17 (0.53/day)
Processor Intel - Core i9-9900K 3.6 GHz 8-Core Processor
Motherboard MSI - MEG Z390 ACE ATX LGA1151 Motherboard
Cooling DEEPCOOL Captain 240 RGB V2, AIO Liquid CPU Cooler, Anti-Leak Technology Inside, Sync RGB Waterblock
Memory Corsair - Vengeance LPX 16 GB (2 x 8 GB) DDR4-3000 Memory
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GT 730 (Low Profile)
Storage Crucial - MX500 500 GB 2.5" Solid State Drive
Display(s) HP Pavilion 21.5-Inch IPS LED HDMI VGA Monitor (22cwa)
Case Rosewill - RISE ATX Full Tower Case
Power Supply EVGA - SuperNOVA G3 650 W 80+ Gold Certified Fully Modular ATX Power Supply
Software Windows 10 Pro
I tried it with the other stick and it got to 93 percent then froze, after about a minute it showed a blue screen that said DPC Watchdog Violation. I looked up the violation and the solution was to install a driver but I didn’t know how to install a driver if I don’t have an OS. Is there a way to do that? Or is there a different fix?
 

tigger

I'm the only one
Supporter
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
11,135 (2.29/day)
System Name Black to the Core MKV
Processor Amd Ryzen 7 1800x
Motherboard Asus Prime B350-plus
Cooling Noctua NH-D15, 6x 140mm + 1 120mm controlled by Corsair commander pro
Memory 2x8gb G.Skill Flare X 2400 DDR4
Video Card(s) Palit GTX 1070 8GB
Storage Sandisk 256GB M2 ssd Boot and Seagate Barracuda 1TB Data+1TB WD Green
Display(s) Acer K272HL 27" 1080HD 75hz
Case Corsair Obsidian 750D 6 x 140mm fans
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC887 with Topping VX2 digital amp and Teac small hifi speakers
Power Supply Corsair CX550M
Mouse Corsair Scimitar
Keyboard Corsair K65 LUX
Software Win 10 Pro x64
Just looked, there is no IGP port of any kind on the MEG z390 board he is using.

What bios version is on the board? it should show it in the bios.
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top