• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Please Help! Looking for RX 580 right BIOS

MRC_1971

New Member
Joined
Feb 25, 2021
Messages
9 (0.19/day)
Hello to everyone.

I've bought in a second hand fair a MSI RX580.
Good price, it seemed to work fine.

Then I realized it freezes every now and then.
Randomly.

Not a temperature issue.

But I've notice it seems to have the wrong BIOS. So I thought it could be the problem, maybe it was flashed by the previous owner.

The card is a MSI RX 580 ARMOR SP 8 GB
From the BIOS I get MSI RX 580 OC.

This is the exact model I have: https://www.techpowerup.com/gpu-specs/msi-rx-580-armor-sp-8-gb.b7462

Anyone could help me to find the right BIOS?
In the database there are several models of MSI Armor but not this one!

Thanks a lot.
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
11,655 (4.93/day)
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel i5-9600KF
Motherboard NZXT N7 Z370 Black
Cooling Cooler Master 240 RGB AIO / Stock
Memory Thermaltake Toughram 16GB 4400MHz DDR4 or Gigabyte 16GB 3600MHz DDR4 or Adata 8GB 2133Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) Asus Dual 1060 6GB
Storage Kingston A2000 512Gb NVME
Display(s) AOC 24" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Mouse Yes
Keyboard Of course
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
A GPU-z screenshot would help, as would the numbers from the stickers on the back if it still has them.
 

MRC_1971

New Member
Joined
Feb 25, 2021
Messages
9 (0.19/day)
gpz.png


armp.jpg


7462-i-o.small.jpg
7462-front.small.jpg


sensors.gif


Anyone knows where to find the right BIOS? Thanks!
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
11,655 (4.93/day)
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel i5-9600KF
Motherboard NZXT N7 Z370 Black
Cooling Cooler Master 240 RGB AIO / Stock
Memory Thermaltake Toughram 16GB 4400MHz DDR4 or Gigabyte 16GB 3600MHz DDR4 or Adata 8GB 2133Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) Asus Dual 1060 6GB
Storage Kingston A2000 512Gb NVME
Display(s) AOC 24" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Mouse Yes
Keyboard Of course
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
Last edited:

MRC_1971

New Member
Joined
Feb 25, 2021
Messages
9 (0.19/day)
Hallo & thanks. I've tried but now windows 10 gives me an error "43" and ATI SW cannot install the drivers for the card... :(
Any suggestion?
 

MRC_1971

New Member
Joined
Feb 25, 2021
Messages
9 (0.19/day)
rx1.JPG
rx2.jpg
rx3.gif


What makes you think its the bios?
Just curious?
Well, it doesn't overheat, I've repleaced the silicon paste, reinstalled the whole PC.
I even tried it on a different PC.
Still, randomly, it freezes (with screen of various color, sometimes red, sometimes green , sometimes yellow).
It can work for a few hours (even while playing fortnite), other times it freezes after a few minute, while doing... nothing at all.

Looking at the BIOS I saw the vendor ID was wrong, so I thought that the previous owner had flashed it.

Bringing the card back to the original BIOS is the last attempt before giving up. :)
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 2, 2020
Messages
579 (2.58/day)
View attachment 190540View attachment 190541View attachment 190543


Well, it doesn't overheat, I've repleaced the silicon paste, reinstalled the whole PC.
I even tried it on a different PC.
Still, randomly, it freezes (with screen of various color, sometimes red, sometimes green , sometimes yellow).
It can work for a few hours (even while playing fortnite), other times it freezes after a few minute, while doing... nothing at all.

Looking at the BIOS I saw the vendor ID was wrong, so I thought that the previous owner had flashed it.

Binging the card back to the original BIOS is the last attempt before giving up. :)
i think i have the exact same 580 as you but i would have to check vram
if is right i can dump for you
 

MRC_1971

New Member
Joined
Feb 25, 2021
Messages
9 (0.19/day)
Thanks Isaac. Unfortunately... it didn't workout. After the flash the card was not working anymore (nor starting rebooting the PC), I had to use a second video card to bring back the PC online and flash the bios back :)

At least we tried!
Just, as a matter of curiosity, on the back of your card do you have this very same label?

armp.jpg
 
Joined
Sep 2, 2020
Messages
579 (2.58/day)
Thanks Isaac. Unfortunately... it didn't workout. After the flash the card was not working anymore (nor starting rebooting the PC), I had to use a second video card to bring back the PC online and flash the bios back :)

At least we tried!
Just, as a matter of curiosity, on the back of your card do you have this very same label?

View attachment 191688
Yup idk why it not dident Work
 
Top