• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Please help me interpret(and possibly fix) this behavior in the "limit reasons" in ThrottleStop.

Coyote67

Hello! I am a COMPLETE beginner to ThrottleStop and I know very little about it beyond the few articles that I've read. So I've been given an HP Pavilion 15 cx-0056wm by my friend that I fixed and have been using for quite a while. However, it has these TERRIBLE lag spikes when everything lags. Recently, I found a reddit thread about this computer where another user with the same computer fixed his problem with fps drops in game by reducing CPU clocks, which is why I downloaded ThrottleStop and decided to learn how to tune my computer using it. (I tried doing what that person said, reducing clock speeds to 3.3-3.5ghz, and it didn't work) I found this "limits" page in the ThrottleStop interface and I understand that the yellow means the limit previously happened, and red means they are happening, and that this is DEFINITELY not normal behavior.
Video of behavior being referenced: "Limit Reasons"
Little info about the computer at the time of the video: Only running applications was chrome with one tab (gmail) and discord in the background. This is a fresh windows install (installed a couple weeks ago) that I have changed nothing on besides disabling all telemetry and removing classic windows bloatware, and there is no "weird" software/bloatware on it. All my ThrottleStop settings are default (I reset the clock speeds after trying to reduce them as it didn't work).

Laptop Specifications (HP Pavilion Gaming 15 cx-0056wm): Intel i5-8300H, GTX 1050ti, 16gb ddr4 2667MHZ RAM, 250gb Kingston SATA SSD.