• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

please help me

evilgower

New Member
Joined
Jan 2, 2014
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
hello i have got

amd fx 6100 6 core
gtx 480 1.5gb
8gb ram
500 watt psu

i have u been getting lag in games i should be able to play easy isit some kind of bottle neck or damaged RAM or need to reset bios????? please someone help been driving me nuts for ages
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2006
Messages
5,609 (1.30/day)
Likes
1,285
Location
New York
System Name http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=73751
Processor i7-920 CO@4.2GHZ / ASUS GL553VW 15.6" Gaming Laptop NVIDIA GTX 960M 4GB Intel Core i56300HQ 8GB DDR4
Motherboard Asus P6T Deluxe Intel X58
Cooling Asetek Liquid CPU Cooling System
Memory CORSAIR DOMINATOR 6GB (3 x 2GB) DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) 2X ATI Radeon HD 4870 X2 2GB DDR5 PCI-Express
Storage (RAID-0) with 4 Identical Hard Drives (1.28TB (320GBx4)
Display(s) LG 50" 50PK550 1080p 600Hz Plasma/37 Inch WestingHouse @1920x1080
Case Thermaltake M9 (I hate it its like trying to live in a 1 inch box)
Power Supply ThermalTake ToughPower 1200 Watt
Software Windows 7 professional 64
#2
What games are you playing?
What Mobo and what harddrive config too?
Please define lag a little better.
Oh yeah, what monitor are you using as well?
 
Last edited:

RCoon

Gaming Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 19, 2012
Messages
11,370 (5.50/day)
Likes
9,511
Location
Gypsyland, UK
System Name HP Omen 17
Processor i7 7700HQ
Memory 16GB 2400Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1060
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB + HGST 1TB
Display(s) 1080p IPS G-SYNC 75Hz
Audio Device(s) Bang & Olufsen
Power Supply 230W
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD+
Software Win 10 Pro
#3
Check your GPU isn't loaded while you're sat on the desktop, could be a background process running on your GPU without you knowing such as bitcoin mining malware.
Alternatively, if you're playing something that goes past your 1.5GB VRAM, that would give you frame drop.
 
Joined
Sep 25, 2012
Messages
1,598 (0.84/day)
Likes
636
Location
Jacksonhole Florida
System Name DEVIL'S ABYSS
Processor i7-4790K@4.6 GHz
Motherboard Asus Z97-Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H110 (2 x 140mm)(3 x 140mm case fans)
Memory 16GB Adata XPG V2 2400MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA 780 Ti Classified
Storage Intel 750 Series 400GB (AIC), Plextor M6e 256GB (M.2), 13 TB storage
Display(s) Crossover 27QW (27"@ 2560x1440)
Case Corsair Obsidian 750D Airflow
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150
Power Supply Cooler Master V1000
Mouse Ttsports Talon Blu
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 version 1709
Benchmark Scores Passmark CPU score = 13080
#4
Try lowering the resolution and detail levels, if your FPS increases, this usually means your CPU can handle better graphics. If your FPS stays about the same, the CPU is most likely the bottleneck. I'm betting it's the CPU - lots of games can only use 1 or 2 threads (single core perf. on FX 6100 is notoriously weak). Your video card is old, but should still handle it if it has no problem. Have you tried the card in another system? You didn't say what size and resolution you're running, but the above test should give you an idea where to start. Good luck!
 
Joined
Nov 27, 2007
Messages
2,228 (0.61/day)
Likes
374
System Name HOMECOMPUTER
Processor Intel I7-4790k @ 4.8Ghz 1.30v
Motherboard Gigabyte z97 gaming 7
Cooling ek supremacy evo full nickle, xspc megarad
Memory 16GB Corsair ddr3 2400
Video Card(s) Sapphire r9 Fury Tri-x @ 1200/500
Storage 2x samsung 840 evo in raid 0
Display(s) LG 35", LG 27"
Case Thermaltake Core x5
Audio Device(s) Asus xonar dsx pcie
Power Supply Corsair 1000watt
Mouse Zowie FK1+
Keyboard Corsair Strafe rgb silent
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores i'm working on that
#5
I second RCoon. Make sure your gpu isn't sitting at 100% on the desktop, usually means bad driver/underpowered/crashed display driver. You might notice this happen in game if it flickers for a second before the game keeps going and starts lagging hard.


my suggestion would be to a: drop any overclock(bios reset if possible) and try the game with everything on stock. Do the same with your vid card, no overclock and no extra software running.

b: clean up windows, update all drivers, make sure settings are at defaults for things like video card and the like

Try gaming and report back.
 

evilgower

New Member
Joined
Jan 2, 2014
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#6
What games are you playing?
What Mobo and what harddrive config too?
Please define lag a little better.
Oh yeah, what monitor are you using as well?
What games are you playing?
What Mobo and what harddrive config too?
Please define lag a little better.
Oh yeah, what monitor are you using as well?
im playing dayz rome 2 total war battlefield rust pritty much every game out there
 

evilgower

New Member
Joined
Jan 2, 2014
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#7
I second RCoon. Make sure your gpu isn't sitting at 100% on the desktop, usually means bad driver/underpowered/crashed display driver. You might notice this happen in game if it flickers for a second before the game keeps going and starts lagging hard.


my suggestion would be to a: drop any overclock(bios reset if possible) and try the game with everything on stock. Do the same with your vid card, no overclock and no extra software running.

b: clean up windows, update all drivers, make sure settings are at defaults for things like video card and the like

Try gaming and report back.
hello there thanks for reply erm whats the best way to reset bios take the battery out ???? cause i notice it started to lag wen i flashed bios about a year ago thats wen it started to lag
 

evilgower

New Member
Joined
Jan 2, 2014
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#8
Try lowering the resolution and detail levels, if your FPS increases, this usually means your CPU can handle better graphics. If your FPS stays about the same, the CPU is most likely the bottleneck. I'm betting it's the CPU - lots of games can only use 1 or 2 threads (single core perf. on FX 6100 is notoriously weak). Your video card is old, but should still handle it if it has no problem. Have you tried the card in another system? You didn't say what size and resolution you're running, but the above test should give you an idea where to start. Good luck!
thanks for reply im running 1060 x1050 resolution and was playing dayz on low settings only getting about 30 fps but still had its laggy moments its not constant lag now and then
 
Joined
Oct 29, 2010
Messages
2,944 (1.13/day)
Likes
1,379
System Name The Sheriff / The Deputy
Processor 2500K / G4560
Motherboard ASRock P67Extreme4 / Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 DDR3
Cooling CM Hyper TX3 / Intel stock
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX / 8 GB Kingston HyperX
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 960 SSC / Gigabyte GTX 1050 Ti LP
Storage SSD, some WD and lots of Samsungs
Display(s) BenQ GW2470 / Samsung SyncMaster T220
Case Cooler Master CM690 II Advanced / Thermaltake Core v31
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1/Denon PMA500AE/Wharfedale D 10.1/Senn HD518
Power Supply Corsair TX650 / Corsair TX650M
Mouse Steelseries Rival 100/ Mionix Avior 7000
Keyboard Sidewinder
Software Windows 10 / Windows 10 Pro
#9
I say that PSU is a bit weak for a GTX480. What brand is the PSU? On the other hand Rome 2 is bad, lags on far better systems.
 

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,518 (6.45/day)
Likes
6,938
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#10
im playing dayz rome 2 total war battlefield rust pritty much every game out there
DayZ is always going to have lag, I have a 7970 with a 2600K @ 4.5ghz and even on very low it lags hard in big towns on the stand alone and the MOD is pretty much no different.
 
Joined
Nov 27, 2007
Messages
2,228 (0.61/day)
Likes
374
System Name HOMECOMPUTER
Processor Intel I7-4790k @ 4.8Ghz 1.30v
Motherboard Gigabyte z97 gaming 7
Cooling ek supremacy evo full nickle, xspc megarad
Memory 16GB Corsair ddr3 2400
Video Card(s) Sapphire r9 Fury Tri-x @ 1200/500
Storage 2x samsung 840 evo in raid 0
Display(s) LG 35", LG 27"
Case Thermaltake Core x5
Audio Device(s) Asus xonar dsx pcie
Power Supply Corsair 1000watt
Mouse Zowie FK1+
Keyboard Corsair Strafe rgb silent
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores i'm working on that
#12
hello there thanks for reply erm whats the best way to reset bios take the battery out ???? cause i notice it started to lag wen i flashed bios about a year ago thats wen it started to lag
That all depends on the board you have.. For instance mine has a button, some people have jumpers, and fewer more have to pull the battery. look in your mobo manual.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,243 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,823
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#13
clean your machine and replace that 480, that sucker overheats, also tell us what powersupply youre using, not the rating of it but the specific model and name
 
Joined
Apr 15, 2009
Messages
474 (0.15/day)
Likes
266
Processor i5 4690K
Motherboard ASUS Z97-PRO Wi-Fi ac USB 3.1
Cooling Cryorig H5 Ultimate
Memory 16 GB Corsair XMS3 1600
Video Card(s) Sapphire R9 290X 8GB Tri-X OC
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240
Display(s) ASUS MG278Q
Case Corsair Carbide 600Q
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 750W Titanium
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#14
Please fill in your system specifications in your member profile.
Try running GPUZ and checking temps and GPU load while idle and while gaming. Let us know those numbers.
Run the obligatory Malwarebytes scan to check for nasty stuff.
If you noticed lag after a BIOS update, you may have neglected to update a setting somewhere after the flash. Double check all your current settings to be sure something isn't misconfigured.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,243 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,823
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#15
for you it might be safer to take it to a pc shop
 
Joined
Nov 9, 2010
Messages
5,160 (1.99/day)
Likes
1,710
Processor Intel i7 950 @ 3.2GHz
Motherboard ASUS P6X58D-E
Cooling Corsair H50 push/pull
Memory Kingston HyperX 1600 8GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 7970 OC
Storage Plextor M5P 128GB/WD Black 2x1TB,1x6TB/Seagate 1TB
Display(s) Panasonic TC-L32U3
Case Antec DF-85
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V371 AVR
Power Supply XFX 850w Black Edition
Mouse Logitech G402
Keyboard Logitech K120
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
#16
I agree that it could be a too weak PSU for that spec, esp if it's a cheap one that has low amperage for it's wattage. Reliable sources like EVGA and MSI recommend 600w and 42a PSU for a GTX 480. That was the first Fermi card, and not nearly as efficient as today's GPUs. It was the first consumer level GPU built with high performance industrial architecture. Models after that were scaled back to omit much of the latter. They run hot and suck a lot of power, esp with graphic intense or heavily modded games.

GeForce GTX 480 - 42A and a 600W PSU minimum

Source: http://forum-en.msi.com/faq/article/power-requirements-for-graphics-cards