• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Please help with 120Hz refresh @ 4K on 1080TI

Joined
Jun 29, 2011
Messages
446 (0.13/day)
System Name ---
Processor Ryzen 1600
Motherboard ASRock Taichi X370
Cooling Noctua D15
Memory G.Skill 3200 DDR4 2x8GB
Video Card(s) EVGA 1080 TI SC
Storage 500GB Samsung Evo 970 NVMe + 860 Evo 2TB SSD + 5x 2TB HDDs
Display(s) LG CX 65"
Case Phanteks P600S (white)
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair RM850x (white)
Graphics card: EVGA 1080 TI SC
Cable: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B081SDZZ14/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o01_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1
TV: LG CX

This TV has been advertised as being able to do full 4:4:4 4K @ 120Hz as well as at 4K 120Hz @ YCbCr (4:2:0) (The latter of which I am trying to achieve now)
I have seen other people reporting that it works for them, and I have asked there as well, but haven't been able to get anything to work yet, so I'm hoping someone here may have an answer.

Currently I am able to use 4K @ 60Hz


- The first thing I tried was going to the NVidia Control Panel. The first attached screenshot shows that I can't even get PC resolutions in HD. When I scroll up to the TV section, however, it will let me use 2160p, but only @ 60Hz.



On another forum user I downloaded the CRU utility and set a custom resolution. These were the steps I followed


"Create a custom resolution via CRU - Custom Resolution Utility. Click "Add" under the 'extension blocks' area, and then in the new window click "Add" under 'data blocks' - you would want to create a "TV Resolution" with 4:2:0 checked (top right corner) at 3840x2160 120Hz."

I went through all of the steps for CRU and nothing changed.

From there I downloaded DDU (Driver Display Uninstaller) from this link https://www.wagnardsoft.com/

then reinstalled the latest drivers from Nvidia. Still nothing. What else can I do?


Currently I'm at 1920 x 1080 @ 120Hz, but I do not know if that's indicative of the set's ability to hit 120Hz @ 4K
 

Attachments

  • Nvidiacpl.png
    Nvidiacpl.png
    73.4 KB · Views: 540
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
10,771 (4.72/day)
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel i5-9600KF
Motherboard NZXT N7 Z370 Black
Cooling Cooler Master 240 RGB AIO / Stock
Memory Thermaltake Toughram 16GB 4400MHz DDR4 or Gigabyte 16GB 3600MHz DDR4 or Adata 8GB 2133Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) Asus Dual 1060 6GB
Storage Kingston A2000 512Gb NVME
Display(s) AOC 24" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Mouse Yes
Keyboard Of course
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
Isn't the card limited to 4K @ 60Hz?
 
Joined
Sep 10, 2018
Messages
1,717 (1.99/day)
Location
California
System Name His & Hers
Processor i9 9900k @5ghz/ R9 3900X Stock
Motherboard Asus Maximus XI Code/ROG Crosshair VIII Hero
Cooling Corsair h150i Pro 6x Corsair QL120 + 4x Corsair LL120/ Corsair h115i Platinum
Memory 32 GB 4x8GB 4000CL15 Trident Z Royal/ 32 GB 3200 CL14 @3800 CL16 Team T Force Nighthawk
Video Card(s) Asus ROG Strix 2080 ti/ Titan XP
Storage lots of SSD.
Display(s) LG 27GN850/ MSI 27 inch VA panel.
Case 011 Dynamic XL/ Phanteks Evolv X
Audio Device(s) Arctis Pro + gaming Dac/ Corsair sp 2500/ Logitech Z 625
Power Supply Seasonic Ultra Prime Titanium 850w x2
Mouse Logitech G502 Lightspeed/ Logitech G Pro Hero.
Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB Platinum/ Logitech G Pro
afaik you need hdmi 2.1 to hit 4k120hz. No Current gpu are capable through hdmi.

I think you have to use Black Frame Insertion on that TV to technically do 120hz with current gen gpus

look into that not sure how that works.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Rei

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
27,496 (4.97/day)
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 10850K@5.2GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z470 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB DDR4-3600
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB SX8200 Pro + 8TB with 1TB SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply eVGA SuperNOVA 1000w G3
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Make sure you have disabled any TV modes on your TV, you might have to put the TV in "Game Mode" or something like that to get it to expose the 120Hz to the computer.

Also, check in your manual to make sure you don't have to connect the PC to a certain HDMI port on the TV to get 120Hz. On some TVs only one of the HDMI inputs does 4k 120Hz.

afaik you need hdmi 2.1 to hit 4k120hz. No Current gpu are capable through hdmi.

The 1080Ti is HDMI 2.0b, which can do 4k@120Hz 4:2:0 but not 4:4:4.
 
Joined
Jun 29, 2011
Messages
446 (0.13/day)
System Name ---
Processor Ryzen 1600
Motherboard ASRock Taichi X370
Cooling Noctua D15
Memory G.Skill 3200 DDR4 2x8GB
Video Card(s) EVGA 1080 TI SC
Storage 500GB Samsung Evo 970 NVMe + 860 Evo 2TB SSD + 5x 2TB HDDs
Display(s) LG CX 65"
Case Phanteks P600S (white)
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair RM850x (white)
Isn't the card limited to 4K @ 60Hz?
afaik you need hdmi 2.1 to hit 4k120hz. No Current gpu are capable through hdmi.

This is true for 4:4:4 , but it can be done at 4:2:0

BTW I got it to work. The instructions I was given for CRU only told me to add new resolutions. I didn't know I had to delete some existing ones.
 

Attachments

  • NVCP3.png
    NVCP3.png
    114.4 KB · Views: 1,336

Chorto

New Member
Joined
Nov 28, 2020
Messages
3 (0.06/day)
I'm in the same situation but I tried adding custom 120hz resolution but didn't work. You have a link or suggestions?
 
Joined
May 8, 2016
Messages
1,173 (0.68/day)
System Name BOX
Processor Xeon E5-1680 v2 @ 4,3GHz
Motherboard Sabertooth X79 (BIOS 4801 + NVMe mod + uCode update)
Cooling Thermalright Venomous-X (w/LGA 2011 kit) + 2x Delta PWM Push-Pull
Memory 8x A-Data Xtreme 2000X 2GB (1868MHz CL8.9.8.24 CR2T @ 1,65V)
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 1080 (FE)
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB NVMe, RAID0 2x WD10EZEX (1TB), HGST HUS726060ALE610 (6TB)
Display(s) Samsung T240
Case NZXT Tempest (Nanoflux/PWM fans only, some w/LEDs)
Audio Device(s) ASUS Essence ST Deluxe 7.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-760 (760W)
Mouse Roccat Savu
Keyboard Logitech UltraXPremium
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores https://www.passmark.com/baselines/V9/display.php?id=108080818886
DisplayPort ?
 
Joined
Dec 10, 2014
Messages
905 (0.41/day)
Location
Nowy Warsaw
System Name SYBARIS
Processor AMD Ryzen™ 5 3600
Motherboard MSI Arsenal Gaming B450 Tomahawk
Cooling Cryorig H7 Quad Lumi
Memory Team T-Force Delta RGB 2x8GB 3200CL16
Video Card(s) Colorful GeForce RTX 2060 6G V2
Storage WD Black WD1003FZEX 1TB + Crucial MX500 500GB
Display(s) LG 22MP68VQ-P 22" 75hz IPS
Case In Win Mana 136
Audio Device(s) HyperX Cloud X | iVOOMi iVO-169SUFBT 2.1
Power Supply Cooler Master G550M
Mouse Cooler Master MM711 | Logitech G102 Prodigy | Logitech G402 Hyperion Fury
Keyboard Fantech MK871 RGB TKL Outemu Blue mechanical keyboard
Software Windows 10 Education v2004 x64
To get 4K 120hz+ via the stupid HDMI you need HDMI 2.1 display, HDMI 2.1 cable and a GPU that has HDMI 2.1 support and port e.g. RTX 3000 and RX 6000 cards.
No using HDMI 2.1
 

Chorto

New Member
Joined
Nov 28, 2020
Messages
3 (0.06/day)
Yes I have an those things. Same setup as op. When I first installed the TV to comp it hooked up automatically to 4k 120hz, now after reformat I no longer have the option or get it back
 
Top