• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Please tell me my card is not dead. (Screenshots)

Joined
Jul 13, 2017
Messages
3 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#1
I'm going to include 2 screenshots. The first one is my PNY GTX Geforce 1060 3GB card as shown in GPU-Z. As you can see, the OpenCl box, Cuda Box, and the rest of the boxes including Direct Compute are CHECKED!

The second screenshot is of my brand new Gigabyte GTX Geforce 1060 6GB card as shown in GPU-Z and the OpenCl Box is Not checked, nor is the Cuda box, nor is the Direct Compute box.

I didn't do any insane overclocking. (not even close) Although I did play around with them in MSI afterburner AND The other program from EVGA. Precision OX or something like that.

Windows 7 x 64 recognizes both cards in Device manager. No yellow triangles indicating trouble. But GPU-Z is showing 2 entirely different pictures, and I'm assuming it's not good. With the 3GB card, (main card) I can boot into windows, mine, etc. If I completely wipe the drivers and shut down the PC, and plug in the 6GB card it will not boot into windows. All I get on my screen is "no signal." I assume the lack of OpenCL, CUDA, Direct Compute has everything to do with it.

Please help before I throw up. Thanks.


Not Working:
 

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
7,594 (2.56/day)
Likes
4,180
Location
Rochester area
System Name Kreij Lives On
Processor Intel Core i5 4670K @ 4.4Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VI Gene Z87
Cooling Reeven Okeanos Single 140MM Fan +2 SP120 White's
Memory 16GB kingston hyper x @ 2133 @ 11 11 11 32
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 ACX Copper Single fan
Storage 240gb Cruical MX200SSD/WD Blue 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S24D300/HP2071D
Case Custom Full Aluminum By ST.o.CH <3
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse Roccat KONE
Keyboard Rocatt ISKU with ISKUFX keycaps
Software Windows 10 +startisback
#2
how are you connecting the monitor
on some cards display port doesn't come up until the driver is loaded
try dvi/hdmi if you got it

the check boxes mean very little

but no display at POST tells me the card is defective
 
Joined
Sep 24, 2014
Messages
946 (0.71/day)
Likes
582
Location
Birmingham UK
System Name El Calpulator \Gaming Laptop
Processor i7 7700K@4.8ghz \i7 5700HQ@3.5ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z270 Gaming 7 \ MSIGE62 HM87
Cooling AC Liquid Freezer 240 \MSI Dual Fan
Memory 24GB DDR4 3200mhz Corsair Vengance White+Red\16GB DDR3 1600mhz Kingston
Video Card(s) Palit GTX1080 Game Rock@2080/5510mhz \ MSI GTX 970M@Stock
Storage Crucial MX300 m.2 275GB+MX500 500GB+MX100 256GB,Toshiba 2TB HDD \128GB m.2 SSD,1TB HDD
Display(s) Acer Predator X34 100hz G-Sync \15.6 Screen
Case Phanteks Enthoo PRO M Acrylic
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX + Edifier 2000RB+Logitech G533\ Realtek ALC 892 Nahimic+Dynaudio Speakers
Power Supply EVGA SuperNova G2 650W\Power Brick
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus \ A4 Tech V7 Bloody
Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spectrum \SteelSeriesGE62
Software Win 10 Pro\Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores Not enough!
#3
Hi and welcome,

Did you try to take out the 3GB card and put the 6GB one in that slot and try to boot again ?
 
Joined
Sep 17, 2014
Messages
4,760 (3.55/day)
Likes
3,825
Location
Duiven, Netherlands
Processor i7 8700k 4.8Ghz @ 1.31v
Motherboard AsRock Fatal1ty K6 Z370
Cooling beQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 3
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200/C16
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X @ 2100/5500
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 1TB + Samsung 830 256GB + Crucial BX100 250GB + Toshiba 1TB HDD
Display(s) Eizo Foris FG2421
Case Fractal Design Define C TG
Power Supply EVGA G2 750w
Mouse Logitech G502 Protheus Spectrum
Keyboard Sharkoon MK80 (Brown)
Software W10 x64
#4
There is no need to wipe drivers when you swap Nvidia to Nvidia cards. The driver model is solid enough to get past that. Still would recommend a clean install, but you can first boot into Windows on the old driver and you can probably also even game on it just fine.

Its worth trying this to see if it POSTS then.
 

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
7,594 (2.56/day)
Likes
4,180
Location
Rochester area
System Name Kreij Lives On
Processor Intel Core i5 4670K @ 4.4Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VI Gene Z87
Cooling Reeven Okeanos Single 140MM Fan +2 SP120 White's
Memory 16GB kingston hyper x @ 2133 @ 11 11 11 32
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 ACX Copper Single fan
Storage 240gb Cruical MX200SSD/WD Blue 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S24D300/HP2071D
Case Custom Full Aluminum By ST.o.CH <3
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse Roccat KONE
Keyboard Rocatt ISKU with ISKUFX keycaps
Software Windows 10 +startisback
#5
if it doesn't give display at post then nothing you do to windows will matter
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
21,400 (5.38/day)
Likes
6,175
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Joined
Oct 17, 2012
Messages
8,401 (4.11/day)
Likes
10,623
Location
Massachusetts
System Name Americas cure is the death of Social Justice & Political Correctness
Processor i5 8600k
Motherboard Asrock Z370 Extreme 4
Cooling Corsair H-110i GTX
Memory 2x 4Gb Crucial Sport LT
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Gaming
Storage Samsung 850 evo 250Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultra Sharp Widescreen 24" 1200P
Case Fractal Design Meshify-C
Power Supply Seasonic Focus+ 750 Gold
Mouse Logitech G502 spectrum
Keyboard AZIO MRGB Kaith Blue
Software Win 10 Professional 64 bit
Benchmark Scores Congrats USA!! on the Travel Ban.....
#7
If the PC won't post when you have the problem GPU installed how are you getting screenshot of GPuZ?

As for the card giving you trouble.....seeing as how it's brand-new just return it. If your card gives you issues like this right from the start it's not a good sign.

Also as mentioned above don't remove drivers when you switch video cards there's no need
 
Joined
Jul 13, 2017
Messages
3 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#8
If the PC won't post when you have the problem GPU installed how are you getting screenshot of GPuZ?

As for the card giving you trouble.....seeing as how it's brand-new just return it. If your card gives you issues like this right from the start it's not a good sign.

Also as mentioned above don't remove drivers when you switch video cards there's no need
I took screenshots with 1060 3GB card in 1st PCIE slot. It works. 1060 6GB card is the card in question. It's in 2nd PCIE slot. I read some other comments elsewhere and the fellow had the same problem as me. He tried everything, except the last resort. Re-installing a fresh operating system. Once he did that, his cards miraculously came back to life with no further issues.

I get brand new everything today. New mobo, cpu, psu, ram, SSD, the whole 9 yrds. I guess we'll find out once and for all if it's my cards, or if I fubarred the OS on my PC.

PS.....caution to people reading this: I had ZERO issues with any of my cards until I used that DDU software. Everything was fine. STAY AWAY. Just uninstall the regular way. I think this whole notion of "removing all traces of previous drivers" was ONCE a valid fix, long ago, but is now mostly just a myth as driver software coders have learned from the past and gotten better. My 2 cents. Take it or leave it. :)
 
Joined
Jan 8, 2017
Messages
2,340 (4.70/day)
Likes
1,529
System Name Good enough
Processor AMD FX-6300 - 4.5 Ghz
Motherboard ASRock 970M Pro3
Cooling Scythe Katana 4 - 3x 120mm case fans
Memory 16GB - 4x4GB A-DATA 1866 Mhz (OC)
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 1060 Turbo 6GB ~ 2139 Mhz / 9.4 Gbps
Storage 1x Samsung 850 EVO 250GB , 1x 1 Tb Seagate something or other
Display(s) 1080p TV
Case Zalman R1
Power Supply 500W
#9
Everything was fine. STAY AWAY. Just uninstall the regular way. I think this whole notion of "removing all traces of previous drivers" was ONCE a valid fix, long ago, but is now mostly just a myth as driver software coders have learned from the past and gotten better. My 2 cents. Take it or leave it. :)
You are simply wrong , there is no way a driver uninstall can prevent the PC from showing a video output at boot, your problem is hardware related.

I also noticed you were mining with these ;). So DDU is perfectly safe to use.
 
Joined
Aug 9, 2008
Messages
4,752 (1.33/day)
Likes
2,966
Location
Kingston, Ontario Canada
System Name My Rig | Kids Rig
Processor Core i5 3570K @ 4.0 ghz 1.15 vcore | FX 8350 @4 ghz
Motherboard EVGA Z77 FTW 1.21 BIOS |Gigabyte 990FXA UDH (rev 4.0)
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO R2-push/pull with 2x 120mm PWM | CM Hyper 212
Memory Mushkin Blackline 4GB x 2 1600mhz XMP profile |G. Skill 4GB x 2 DDR3 1866mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX 480 8gb | Asus Strix R9 390X 8GB
Storage Kingston SSDNOW V300 120/240 GB OS & Games / 1000 GB Data | 320GB OS / 500GB Data & Games
Display(s) Samsung S24D590 24" PLS 5ms 60hz refresh with Enhanced Sync | BenQ GW2270 22" VA 5ms 60hz refresh
Case NZXT 810 Switch |Thermaltake Soprano Snow Edition
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DSX w/ Logitech z623 | Realtek
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 750W 80+ Gold | CoolerMaster GS750M 80+ Bronze
Mouse Razer Diamondback Chroma | Tt Level 10M
Keyboard Razer Ornata Chroma w/ meka-membrane keys | MadCatz S.T.R.I.K.E. TE w/ Kailh brown
Software Windows 10 Pro | Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores Thanks to Norton/Lt_JWS/Guitar for the 2nd pc parts :)
#10
You are simply wrong , there is no way a driver uninstall can prevent the PC from showing a video output at boot, your problem is hardware related.

I also noticed you were mining with these ;). So DDU is perfectly safe to use.
agreed, DDU has never caused a problem for me over the years and many gfx cards
 
Joined
Jul 16, 2014
Messages
1,843 (1.31/day)
Likes
922
Location
SE Michigan
System Name Dumbass
Processor AMD-9370BE @4.6
Motherboard ASUS SABERTOOTH 990FX R2.0 +SB950
Cooling CM Nepton 280L
Memory G.Skill Sniper 16gb DDR3 2400
Video Card(s) GreenTeam 1080 Gaming X 8GB
Storage C:\SSD (240GB), D:\Seagate (2TB), E:\Western Digital (1TB)
Display(s) 2x Dell S2440L (16:9)
Case Phanteks Enthoo Primo w/8 140mm SP Fans
Audio Device(s) onboard (realtek?) SPKRS:Logitech Z623 200w 2.1
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spark
Software windows 10
Benchmark Scores https://i.imgur.com/12OuxaI.jpg
#11
DDU is great software actually, its understandable you had issues the first time you used it.

AFAIK, the 2nd card was strictly physX, nvidia might be goofy like that. If thats really the case, start from scratch, uninstall drivers remove both cards and insert the card you want as the primary card, install drivers, reboot, configure card dont overclock, reboot. Install secondary card, go from there.

There was something I read about that after the first card was installed and setup up and good to go, to install a 2nd card you had to remove the first card and install the 2nd card in the other slot and install drivers again. I dont remember how old this method is but I havent had a nvidia card in a long time either
 
Joined
Jan 8, 2017
Messages
2,340 (4.70/day)
Likes
1,529
System Name Good enough
Processor AMD FX-6300 - 4.5 Ghz
Motherboard ASRock 970M Pro3
Cooling Scythe Katana 4 - 3x 120mm case fans
Memory 16GB - 4x4GB A-DATA 1866 Mhz (OC)
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 1060 Turbo 6GB ~ 2139 Mhz / 9.4 Gbps
Storage 1x Samsung 850 EVO 250GB , 1x 1 Tb Seagate something or other
Display(s) 1080p TV
Case Zalman R1
Power Supply 500W
#12
DDU is great software actually, its understandable you had issues the first time you used it.

AFAIK, the 2nd card was strictly physX, nvidia might be goofy like that. If thats really the case, start from scratch, uninstall drivers remove both cards and insert the card you want as the primary card, install drivers, reboot, configure card dont overclock, reboot. Install secondary card, go from there.
But since there is just one driver involved , what more can you do ? I mean one of the cards work fine.

All I can think of is that the driver fails to properly recognize device IDs

Also I do not understand completely OP's issue , how did you get the second screenshot ? You said the PC wont go past Windows boot sequence with the second card installed.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 17, 2012
Messages
8,401 (4.11/day)
Likes
10,623
Location
Massachusetts
System Name Americas cure is the death of Social Justice & Political Correctness
Processor i5 8600k
Motherboard Asrock Z370 Extreme 4
Cooling Corsair H-110i GTX
Memory 2x 4Gb Crucial Sport LT
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Gaming
Storage Samsung 850 evo 250Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultra Sharp Widescreen 24" 1200P
Case Fractal Design Meshify-C
Power Supply Seasonic Focus+ 750 Gold
Mouse Logitech G502 spectrum
Keyboard AZIO MRGB Kaith Blue
Software Win 10 Professional 64 bit
Benchmark Scores Congrats USA!! on the Travel Ban.....
#13
I think this whole notion of "removing all traces of previous drivers" was ONCE a valid fix, long ago, but is now mostly just a myth
i dont even remove drivers when switching from AMD to NVidia or Vice Versa.... theres no need in my experience.
i hope you get it resolved. good luck
 
Joined
Jul 13, 2017
Messages
3 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#14
But since there is just one driver involved , what more can you do ? I mean one of the cards work fine.

All I can think of is that the driver fails to properly recognize device IDs

Also I do not understand completely OP's issue , how did you get the second screenshot ? You said the PC wont go past Windows boot sequence with the second card installed.
Vya, I explained how. But I can understand the confusion. Let me try again: 1060 3GB card is / was ALWAYS inserted into primary PCIE slot 1. Now imagine that I inserted the 1060 6GB card into PCIE slot 2 and restarted. I took BOTH screenshots with the 3GB card in slot 1.

GPU-Z shows the 3gb card working fine. I used the drop down menu to select the 6gb card and took a 2nd screenshot of it. Even though device manager saw no issues, GPU-Z clearly saw issues.

At any rate, I now have both cards installed on my new rig with a fresh install of Win 8.1 and BOTH cards are working flawlessly in both Windows and GPU-Z.

So now I need to move on to my Gigabyte Gtx 1070 FE card, (which was also working JUST FINE) until I used DDU. It would boot up windows, it would mine, run benchmarks withouth breaking a sweat. After using DDU, it's basically dead. I tried it FIRST in my new rig. Wouldn't boot. I tried it as a 2nd slot card, won't boot, 3rd slot card, won't boot. The lights come on and the fan spins, and it looks pretty....but no matter what, windows will not recognize it, let alone GPU-Z. So I stand by what I said....stay away from DDU. EVERYTHING was working perfectly before I used that God awful program. I'm thankful to have gotten ONE of my cards to come back to life, but have just about given up on the 1070 < which again, was working perfectly before using DDU.

Stay away from DDU. It's not needed and nearly destroyed one of my cards, and almost certainly killed a perfectly fine 1070.
 
Joined
Sep 17, 2014
Messages
4,760 (3.55/day)
Likes
3,825
Location
Duiven, Netherlands
Processor i7 8700k 4.8Ghz @ 1.31v
Motherboard AsRock Fatal1ty K6 Z370
Cooling beQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 3
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200/C16
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X @ 2100/5500
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 1TB + Samsung 830 256GB + Crucial BX100 250GB + Toshiba 1TB HDD
Display(s) Eizo Foris FG2421
Case Fractal Design Define C TG
Power Supply EVGA G2 750w
Mouse Logitech G502 Protheus Spectrum
Keyboard Sharkoon MK80 (Brown)
Software W10 x64
Joined
Oct 8, 2005
Messages
205 (0.04/day)
Likes
95
Location
Amsterdam
Processor Intel i7 2600k@4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P8z68 V Gen3
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212+
Memory Corsair Vengeance pro 2x8GB 1866Mhz C9
Video Card(s) MSI R9 390 Gaming 1110/1575
Storage 3x Seagate Barracuda 2TB
Display(s) LG W2442PA
Case Antec sixhundred
Audio Device(s) X-fi xtreme audio
Power Supply Coolermaster silent power M700
Mouse Logitech Hyperion G402
Keyboard Standard MS
Software Windows7 Ultimate x64-Windows10 Pro dual boot.
Benchmark Scores Default firestrike some 11400 points.
#17
Vya, I explained how. But I can understand the confusion. Let me try again: 1060 3GB card is / was ALWAYS inserted into primary PCIE slot 1. Now imagine that I inserted the 1060 6GB card into PCIE slot 2 and restarted. I took BOTH screenshots with the 3GB card in slot 1.

GPU-Z shows the 3gb card working fine. I used the drop down menu to select the 6gb card and took a 2nd screenshot of it. Even though device manager saw no issues, GPU-Z clearly saw issues.

At any rate, I now have both cards installed on my new rig with a fresh install of Win 8.1 and BOTH cards are working flawlessly in both Windows and GPU-Z.

So now I need to move on to my Gigabyte Gtx 1070 FE card, (which was also working JUST FINE) until I used DDU. It would boot up windows, it would mine, run benchmarks withouth breaking a sweat. After using DDU, it's basically dead. I tried it FIRST in my new rig. Wouldn't boot. I tried it as a 2nd slot card, won't boot, 3rd slot card, won't boot. The lights come on and the fan spins, and it looks pretty....but no matter what, windows will not recognize it, let alone GPU-Z. So I stand by what I said....stay away from DDU. EVERYTHING was working perfectly before I used that God awful program. I'm thankful to have gotten ONE of my cards to come back to life, but have just about given up on the 1070 < which again, was working perfectly before using DDU.

Stay away from DDU. It's not needed and nearly destroyed one of my cards, and almost certainly killed a perfectly fine 1070.
Utterly nonsense!

So sure, something went wrong on your end, and you decided not to use DDU anymore. That's all fine. But to say it destroys a videocard is entirely different.
It does not, will not, and can not destroy a videocard.

But regardless of that, keep in mind that with a cold boot, there is no windows yet, no driver yet, no nothing but your hardware. The bios of your motherboard will provide video so you are able to enter bios settings and change things accordingly.
The only reason why a reboot would give no video signal, is a windows crash and corrupted data left in memory. Something a complete power down and cold boot immidiately cures.

ps. the thing I am missing in your rant is that you never tried the 6GB card as a single card in pcie1 slot.
 
Joined
Aug 9, 2008
Messages
4,752 (1.33/day)
Likes
2,966
Location
Kingston, Ontario Canada
System Name My Rig | Kids Rig
Processor Core i5 3570K @ 4.0 ghz 1.15 vcore | FX 8350 @4 ghz
Motherboard EVGA Z77 FTW 1.21 BIOS |Gigabyte 990FXA UDH (rev 4.0)
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO R2-push/pull with 2x 120mm PWM | CM Hyper 212
Memory Mushkin Blackline 4GB x 2 1600mhz XMP profile |G. Skill 4GB x 2 DDR3 1866mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX 480 8gb | Asus Strix R9 390X 8GB
Storage Kingston SSDNOW V300 120/240 GB OS & Games / 1000 GB Data | 320GB OS / 500GB Data & Games
Display(s) Samsung S24D590 24" PLS 5ms 60hz refresh with Enhanced Sync | BenQ GW2270 22" VA 5ms 60hz refresh
Case NZXT 810 Switch |Thermaltake Soprano Snow Edition
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DSX w/ Logitech z623 | Realtek
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 750W 80+ Gold | CoolerMaster GS750M 80+ Bronze
Mouse Razer Diamondback Chroma | Tt Level 10M
Keyboard Razer Ornata Chroma w/ meka-membrane keys | MadCatz S.T.R.I.K.E. TE w/ Kailh brown
Software Windows 10 Pro | Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores Thanks to Norton/Lt_JWS/Guitar for the 2nd pc parts :)
#18
Vya, I explained how. But I can understand the confusion. Let me try again: 1060 3GB card is / was ALWAYS inserted into primary PCIE slot 1. Now imagine that I inserted the 1060 6GB card into PCIE slot 2 and restarted. I took BOTH screenshots with the 3GB card in slot 1.

GPU-Z shows the 3gb card working fine. I used the drop down menu to select the 6gb card and took a 2nd screenshot of it. Even though device manager saw no issues, GPU-Z clearly saw issues.

At any rate, I now have both cards installed on my new rig with a fresh install of Win 8.1 and BOTH cards are working flawlessly in both Windows and GPU-Z.

So now I need to move on to my Gigabyte Gtx 1070 FE card, (which was also working JUST FINE) until I used DDU. It would boot up windows, it would mine, run benchmarks withouth breaking a sweat. After using DDU, it's basically dead. I tried it FIRST in my new rig. Wouldn't boot. I tried it as a 2nd slot card, won't boot, 3rd slot card, won't boot. The lights come on and the fan spins, and it looks pretty....but no matter what, windows will not recognize it, let alone GPU-Z. So I stand by what I said....stay away from DDU. EVERYTHING was working perfectly before I used that God awful program. I'm thankful to have gotten ONE of my cards to come back to life, but have just about given up on the 1070 < which again, was working perfectly before using DDU.

Stay away from DDU. It's not needed and nearly destroyed one of my cards, and almost certainly killed a perfectly fine 1070.
I refuse to believe DDU "killed" your cards.
 
Joined
Nov 26, 2004
Messages
4,587 (0.93/day)
Likes
1,671
Location
Canuck in Norway
System Name Hellbox 3.0(same case new guts)
Processor i7 4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97 Sabertooth Mark 1
Cooling TT Kandalf L.C.S.(Water/Air)AC Cuplex Kryos CPU Block/Noctua
Memory 2x8GB Corsair Vengance Pro 2400
Video Card(s) Sapphire Tri-X Fury (Unlocked to Fury X)
Storage WD Caviar Black SATA 3 1TB x2 RAID 0 2xSamsung 850 Evo 500GB RAID 0 1TB WD Blue
Display(s) ASUS MG279Q 1440 IPS 144Hz FreeSync
Case TT Kandalf L.C.S.
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster ZX/Logitech Z906 5.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-1050W 80+ Gold
Mouse G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard G19s
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#19
1060 can't do SLI? No features on 2nd card?
 

cdawall

where the hell are my stars
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
27,210 (6.30/day)
Likes
8,065
Location
Houston
System Name Team Blue
Processor 5960X@4.8 1.42v
Motherboard Asus X99M-WS
Cooling EK Supremecy EVO, MCR220-Stack+MCR220+MCR320, D5-PWM+EK X-RES 140
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200 CL16
Video Card(s) (2) EVGA SC BLACK 1080Ti's+ EVGA reference 1080Ti soon to be under water+AMD VEGA FE
Storage Samsung SM951 512GB, Samsung PM961 512GB
Display(s) Dell UP2414Q 3840X2160@60hz
Case Caselabs Mercury S5
Audio Device(s) Fischer HA-02->Fischer FA-002W High edition/FA-003/Jubilate/FA-011 depending on my mood
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200w
Mouse Thermaltake Theron
Keyboard Thermaltake Poseidon ZX
Software W10P
Benchmark Scores Zoom zoom mofo
#20
Joined
Oct 3, 2015
Messages
153 (0.16/day)
Likes
105
System Name HP Pavilion Elite HPE-130me Desktop PC
Processor Intel i7-860 2.80 GHz
Motherboard "OEM" MSI MS-7613 (IONA-GL8E) mATX
Cooling Regular one
Memory Hyundai Electronics 2x4 8GB DDR3 @1333mhz
Video Card(s) OEM NVIDIA GeForce GTX 650 ti @GC:928/MC:1350 VRAM: 1GB
Storage WDC Blue 465.76 GiB WD5000AAKS
Display(s) HP 2310i 1920x1080 60hz 23"
Case A Cheap OEM HP Case
Audio Device(s) Realtek
Power Supply OEM Delta 460W power supply
Mouse Logitech M185
Keyboard Logitech K120
Software Windows 7 SP1 (with latest updates)
#21
I am sorry if I sound rude but I don't mean to be rude, maybe you fiddled with BIOS but felt scared to admit it because the forum's members reaction is usually harsh?
 

cdawall

where the hell are my stars
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
27,210 (6.30/day)
Likes
8,065
Location
Houston
System Name Team Blue
Processor 5960X@4.8 1.42v
Motherboard Asus X99M-WS
Cooling EK Supremecy EVO, MCR220-Stack+MCR220+MCR320, D5-PWM+EK X-RES 140
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200 CL16
Video Card(s) (2) EVGA SC BLACK 1080Ti's+ EVGA reference 1080Ti soon to be under water+AMD VEGA FE
Storage Samsung SM951 512GB, Samsung PM961 512GB
Display(s) Dell UP2414Q 3840X2160@60hz
Case Caselabs Mercury S5
Audio Device(s) Fischer HA-02->Fischer FA-002W High edition/FA-003/Jubilate/FA-011 depending on my mood
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200w
Mouse Thermaltake Theron
Keyboard Thermaltake Poseidon ZX
Software W10P
Benchmark Scores Zoom zoom mofo
#22
I am sorry if I sound rude but I don't mean to be rude, maybe you fiddled with BIOS but felt scared to admit it because the forum's members reaction is usually harsh?
There are no Pascal bios modding tools
 
Joined
Feb 23, 2016
Messages
35 (0.04/day)
Likes
23
Location
Manchester, England.
System Name Kali
Processor AMD RYZEN 1600x
Motherboard GA-AX370-Gaming 5 (UEFI mod by Ket)
Cooling Corsair H100
Memory 16Gb Corsair DDR4@3200mhz Dual row Hynix
Video Card(s) GTX 980
Storage Samsung SSD 850 EVO 250Gb. OCZ_SOLID3 120Gb and 2 x ST2000DX001-1CM64
Display(s) Iiyama G-Master GB2888UHSU
Case Cooler Master
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 850 Gold
Mouse Zelotes T-90
Keyboard Tecknet
Software W10 pro
#23
At any rate, I now have both cards installed on my new rig with a fresh install of Win 8.1 and BOTH cards are working flawlessly in both Windows and GPU-Z.
I`d say the old motherboard was the problem.