• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

PNGs not displaying correctly

Joined
Dec 27, 2008
Messages
587 (0.18/day)
Likes
104
System Name New / Breakin' the Lol
Processor i5 2500k / Athlon64 X2 4200+ (65W)
Motherboard P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3 / Asus M2N4-SLI
Cooling / Air (1 x 250mm, 2 x 120mm, 1 x 90mm)
Memory DDR3-1600 (8GB) / Crucial Ballistix Tracer PC2-6400 (2gb)
Video Card(s) / Visiontek 4870
Storage HD103SJ /
Display(s) Viewsonic 22" VX2240W
Case Xigmatek Midgard II / Thermaltake VA8003SWA
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750W
#1
I noticed this issue a couple days ago.

Using this page as an example:

Slickdeals EDIT: Mods over at Slickdeals edited this post because it didn't fit the rules. Also, the OP's link broke, so no attached images.

The second and fourth images (from left to right) are PNGs. The second image does not display anything (because the text is black and all whitespace is black), while the fourth image only shows red/orange arrows and what's contained within.

I've also found a couple PNGs on my computer don't display properly in IrfanView, but display just fine in Windows Photo Viewer. Also, while the thumbnails of those images display properly in Firefox, when saved to my computer the thumbnails show how IrfanView will display them. If I highlight the image that is completely black (second image), it accents the text in the thumbnail.

So far I've tried:

Running Firefox without add-ons.
Rebuilding the Icon Cache.
Changing the default image viewer for PNGs from IrfanView to Windows Photo Viewer.

Thanks in advance.

EDIT: Added screenshot.

 
Last edited:

sneekypeet

Unpaid Babysitter
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,633 (5.77/day)
Likes
9,357
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#2
what if you use windows photo viewer to open them. I went to the link and the four images show in thumbnail as well as full size for me, assuming you are speaking of these... (oops saved as .png)
 
Joined
Dec 27, 2008
Messages
587 (0.18/day)
Likes
104
System Name New / Breakin' the Lol
Processor i5 2500k / Athlon64 X2 4200+ (65W)
Motherboard P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3 / Asus M2N4-SLI
Cooling / Air (1 x 250mm, 2 x 120mm, 1 x 90mm)
Memory DDR3-1600 (8GB) / Crucial Ballistix Tracer PC2-6400 (2gb)
Video Card(s) / Visiontek 4870
Storage HD103SJ /
Display(s) Viewsonic 22" VX2240W
Case Xigmatek Midgard II / Thermaltake VA8003SWA
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750W
#3
Sorry, when I was writing "Windows Preview" I meant to be writing Windows Photo Viewer; it opens them just fine. I'm going to check and see how IE behaves.

I'm also going to attach a screenshot to give people a better idea what I'm talking about.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 23, 2011
Messages
1,555 (0.66/day)
Likes
1,459
Location
Kaunas, Lithuania
System Name Eternal WIP ][ HP ProLiant server blade
Processor AMD FX-8320 @ 4.4/4.1 GHz ][ 2x Intel Xeon L5520 @ 2.27GHz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V Formula-Z ][ -
Cooling Corsair H55 ][ Stock
Memory 2x4GB Kingston HyperX Genesis @ 1866MHz ][ 4x4 GiB Hynix @ 1333 MHz; ECC on
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GeForce GTX 770 DirectCU II OC ][ None
Storage 1TB WD Black + 1.5TB WD Green + 750GB Samsung + 64GB OCZ Agility 4 ][ 3x 1 TB Hitachi
Display(s) Asus VG278H + Asus VH226H ][ None
Case Antec Nine Hundred ][ it's a server blade, lol
Audio Device(s) Supreme FX II (Integrated); Using optical S/PDIF output ][ none
Power Supply Corsair AX1200i ][ [stock]
Software Gentoo Linux ][ Linux Mint 16
Benchmark Scores 65970 BogoMIPS. Ha. Ha. Ha. >=|
#4
Hint: What is Your default background fill color for transparent images in irfanview?
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,401 (4.84/day)
Likes
5,481
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#5
Your background is transparent, so on a black background you're not going to see the text. This isn't a complex problem, don't over-think it. If you can save it as a JPEG and it views fine, it is definitely a transparent background as JPEG doesn't support transparency and usually defaults to white.
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2009
Messages
1,566 (0.49/day)
Likes
546
Location
Warwick
System Name PC-Chips
Processor Intel core I5 4690K
Motherboard Asrock z87 Extreme 3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory G-Skill Ripjaws 2133mhz 4x4gig
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX-480 Nitro+ 8gig
Storage Samsung 250gig 840 SSD / 1TB HDD
Display(s) Samsung C27F591 27 inch Curved LED
Case NZXT phantom 410
Audio Device(s) Realtek digital out - Yamaha A-S501 - Wharfedale pacific evo 20 speakers - Wharfedale SW150 sub
Power Supply Cooler Master G650M
Mouse logitech G402
Keyboard Logitech delux 250
Software Windows 10 pro 64bit
#6
Aquinus is right about this, I did a test lastnight to and its defo down to transparency.
I have a black background but when i change it to say blue i can just make out the pictures background.
 
Joined
Jul 23, 2011
Messages
1,555 (0.66/day)
Likes
1,459
Location
Kaunas, Lithuania
System Name Eternal WIP ][ HP ProLiant server blade
Processor AMD FX-8320 @ 4.4/4.1 GHz ][ 2x Intel Xeon L5520 @ 2.27GHz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V Formula-Z ][ -
Cooling Corsair H55 ][ Stock
Memory 2x4GB Kingston HyperX Genesis @ 1866MHz ][ 4x4 GiB Hynix @ 1333 MHz; ECC on
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GeForce GTX 770 DirectCU II OC ][ None
Storage 1TB WD Black + 1.5TB WD Green + 750GB Samsung + 64GB OCZ Agility 4 ][ 3x 1 TB Hitachi
Display(s) Asus VG278H + Asus VH226H ][ None
Case Antec Nine Hundred ][ it's a server blade, lol
Audio Device(s) Supreme FX II (Integrated); Using optical S/PDIF output ][ none
Power Supply Corsair AX1200i ][ [stock]
Software Gentoo Linux ][ Linux Mint 16
Benchmark Scores 65970 BogoMIPS. Ha. Ha. Ha. >=|
#7
Aquinus is right about this, I did a test lastnight to and its defo down to transparency.
I have a black background but when i change it to say blue i can just make out the pictures background.
I'd suggest using setting either white or a checkered one (this also lets You easily see what images uses transparency. While using simply white looks a bit better most of the time, but lacks the benefit of quickly identifying transparency)
 
Joined
Dec 27, 2008
Messages
587 (0.18/day)
Likes
104
System Name New / Breakin' the Lol
Processor i5 2500k / Athlon64 X2 4200+ (65W)
Motherboard P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3 / Asus M2N4-SLI
Cooling / Air (1 x 250mm, 2 x 120mm, 1 x 90mm)
Memory DDR3-1600 (8GB) / Crucial Ballistix Tracer PC2-6400 (2gb)
Video Card(s) / Visiontek 4870
Storage HD103SJ /
Display(s) Viewsonic 22" VX2240W
Case Xigmatek Midgard II / Thermaltake VA8003SWA
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750W
#8
Hint: What is Your default background fill color for transparent images in irfanview?
Funny enough, when I was searching around the web for this issue, I came across this. It's found under Options -> Properties/Settings -> Viewing and called "Main window color". I gave that a try, and when I did it just changed the window color surrounding the image.

Well, I gave it a try again today, this time closing the file and reopening it, and it changed the transparency to white. So thanks for compelling me to give it another go :)

Your background is transparent, so on a black background you're not going to see the text. This isn't a complex problem, don't over-think it. If you can save it as a JPEG and it views fine, it is definitely a transparent background as JPEG doesn't support transparency and usually defaults to white.
I know JPEG doesn't support transparency and that it had something to do with the PNGs transparency, but it seemed as if it just suddenly started happening and that the images displayed just fine before. I still need to look around and find a similar scenario to the one I was first experiencing in Firefox to see if all is well. I'd be surprised if it was; I don't think I've integrated IrfanView to Firefox in anyway.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 27, 2008
Messages
587 (0.18/day)
Likes
104
System Name New / Breakin' the Lol
Processor i5 2500k / Athlon64 X2 4200+ (65W)
Motherboard P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3 / Asus M2N4-SLI
Cooling / Air (1 x 250mm, 2 x 120mm, 1 x 90mm)
Memory DDR3-1600 (8GB) / Crucial Ballistix Tracer PC2-6400 (2gb)
Video Card(s) / Visiontek 4870
Storage HD103SJ /
Display(s) Viewsonic 22" VX2240W
Case Xigmatek Midgard II / Thermaltake VA8003SWA
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750W
#9
I'm still having trouble with images in Firefox.

Slickdeals

The attached PNG on that page displays like this:

 
Joined
Dec 27, 2008
Messages
587 (0.18/day)
Likes
104
System Name New / Breakin' the Lol
Processor i5 2500k / Athlon64 X2 4200+ (65W)
Motherboard P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3 / Asus M2N4-SLI
Cooling / Air (1 x 250mm, 2 x 120mm, 1 x 90mm)
Memory DDR3-1600 (8GB) / Crucial Ballistix Tracer PC2-6400 (2gb)
Video Card(s) / Visiontek 4870
Storage HD103SJ /
Display(s) Viewsonic 22" VX2240W
Case Xigmatek Midgard II / Thermaltake VA8003SWA
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750W
#10
Removing IrfanView didn't do anything for Firefox, though I didn't really expect it to.
 
Joined
Dec 27, 2008
Messages
587 (0.18/day)
Likes
104
System Name New / Breakin' the Lol
Processor i5 2500k / Athlon64 X2 4200+ (65W)
Motherboard P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3 / Asus M2N4-SLI
Cooling / Air (1 x 250mm, 2 x 120mm, 1 x 90mm)
Memory DDR3-1600 (8GB) / Crucial Ballistix Tracer PC2-6400 (2gb)
Video Card(s) / Visiontek 4870
Storage HD103SJ /
Display(s) Viewsonic 22" VX2240W
Case Xigmatek Midgard II / Thermaltake VA8003SWA
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750W
#11
Would it be possible others post what they're seeing when they click the attached image on the Slickdeals page? I'd really appreciate it.
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2009
Messages
1,566 (0.49/day)
Likes
546
Location
Warwick
System Name PC-Chips
Processor Intel core I5 4690K
Motherboard Asrock z87 Extreme 3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory G-Skill Ripjaws 2133mhz 4x4gig
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX-480 Nitro+ 8gig
Storage Samsung 250gig 840 SSD / 1TB HDD
Display(s) Samsung C27F591 27 inch Curved LED
Case NZXT phantom 410
Audio Device(s) Realtek digital out - Yamaha A-S501 - Wharfedale pacific evo 20 speakers - Wharfedale SW150 sub
Power Supply Cooler Master G650M
Mouse logitech G402
Keyboard Logitech delux 250
Software Windows 10 pro 64bit
#12
Well the pics open for me in a new tab and show as they should (Firefox here) i do not use addons or anything either.

 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
20,922 (6.24/day)
Likes
10,023
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) PowerColor PCS+ 390 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate 6 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
#13
That's a problem with transparency. Instead letting the true background color through, it is substituting black. I have no idea what would cause a defect like that.

Edit: Actually, it's probably the website. They use black backgrounds for all images instead of leaving it transparent.
 
Joined
Dec 27, 2008
Messages
587 (0.18/day)
Likes
104
System Name New / Breakin' the Lol
Processor i5 2500k / Athlon64 X2 4200+ (65W)
Motherboard P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3 / Asus M2N4-SLI
Cooling / Air (1 x 250mm, 2 x 120mm, 1 x 90mm)
Memory DDR3-1600 (8GB) / Crucial Ballistix Tracer PC2-6400 (2gb)
Video Card(s) / Visiontek 4870
Storage HD103SJ /
Display(s) Viewsonic 22" VX2240W
Case Xigmatek Midgard II / Thermaltake VA8003SWA
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750W
#14
That's a problem with transparency. Instead letting the true background color through, it is substituting black. I have no idea what would cause a defect like that.

Edit: Actually, it's probably the website. They use black backgrounds for all images instead of leaving it transparent.
Thanks for the info you added in the edit. That's another piece to the puzzle.

Is it written in the vBulletin_Lightbox Javascript to use black backgrounds? Also, do you have any idea why others' browsers isn't making use of the Lightbox script?

I've had people restart Firefox without add-ons and make sure scripts are enabled, but it still automatically goes to what I believe is called the overlay page.
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
20,922 (6.24/day)
Likes
10,023
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) PowerColor PCS+ 390 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate 6 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
#15
I have no idea without looking at it. All I know is that heavy reliance on Javascript is begging for cross-browser incapabilities.
 
Joined
Dec 27, 2008
Messages
587 (0.18/day)
Likes
104
System Name New / Breakin' the Lol
Processor i5 2500k / Athlon64 X2 4200+ (65W)
Motherboard P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3 / Asus M2N4-SLI
Cooling / Air (1 x 250mm, 2 x 120mm, 1 x 90mm)
Memory DDR3-1600 (8GB) / Crucial Ballistix Tracer PC2-6400 (2gb)
Video Card(s) / Visiontek 4870
Storage HD103SJ /
Display(s) Viewsonic 22" VX2240W
Case Xigmatek Midgard II / Thermaltake VA8003SWA
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750W
#16
I have no idea without looking at it. All I know is that heavy reliance on Javascript is begging for cross-browser incapabilities.
Oh, when you said they use black backgrounds for all the images, you mean that you simply browsed through a couple different pages and looked at their attached thumbnails?
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
20,922 (6.24/day)
Likes
10,023
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) PowerColor PCS+ 390 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate 6 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
#17
No... what you're seeing is a black behind a transparent PNG. The pictures that look fine could simply have no transparency so you don't see the black behind it.



This guide might help you change the default background color:
http://kb.iu.edu/data/algz.html

Set it to white.
 
Last edited: