• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Poor transfer speeds over network with WiFi [Solved]

Joined
Jun 4, 2011
Messages
3,051 (0.95/day)
System Name The SwagMachine / The Sister
Processor Core i5 3570K @5.2ghz 1.3V/ 1100T
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-V / ASUS M5A99X EVO
Cooling Phanteks PH TC14PE / Corsair H40
Memory M379B5273DH0-YK0 2X4GB + PVI316G213C1QK 2X4GB / 2x4GB Patriot 2133
Video Card(s) PNY 780Ti /Windforce 7950
Storage 2xSamsung 840 EVO 250gb+WD10EZEX + WD30EZRX/ 1x WD1500 Black
Display(s) AOC Q2963PM+Acer S200HL / Acer S200L+ LG 22LD350
Case Fractal Define R4 / NZXT Trinity
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DG / Asus Xonar DG
Power Supply Seasonic 750X / ROSEWILL RG630-S12 630W R
Mouse Razer Deathadder Chroma / Roccat Kone+
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow 2013 Stealth / Roccat Isku
Software Windows 8.1 Pro / Windows 7 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores one time I scored a 3 on 3dmark 11
My router (DIR-655) refuses to transfer at any rate higher than 54Mbit/s. Going into the wireless settings and setting the transmission rate to MCS 15 - 130 ( the fastest option) makes the range of the router extremely small, and I have to be standing next to the router to even have a decent signal. Having the router on this setting also does not improve the transfer rate. I'm currently on the latest firmware (1.37NA). Sorry if I'm leaving out any major details, don't really know anything about networking


SOLVED:
why hallo thar, this thread seems like my kind of deal.


router is N300 - simple question, whats the security set to? anything other than WPA2 with AES encryption, and it will drop to 54Mb.
 
Last edited:

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
7,886 (2.16/day)
Location
Rochester area
System Name RPC MK2
Processor Intel Core i5 9600K@ 4.8Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard Asrock z390 phantom gaming 4
Cooling Enermax ets-t50
Memory CMK16GX4M2B3000C15 16GB DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 2060 XC ULTRA GAMING
Storage 512GB Intel 545s ssd 500GB ADATA SU800 ssd 1TB WD blue
Display(s) Cheap VA panel
Case Phanteks P300
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse M65 Pro RGB
Keyboard K70 RGB
Software Windows 10 +startisback
stupid question but does your Device support WiFI N ?
sounds like whatever device you are using only supports G
 
Joined
Jun 4, 2011
Messages
3,051 (0.95/day)
System Name The SwagMachine / The Sister
Processor Core i5 3570K @5.2ghz 1.3V/ 1100T
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-V / ASUS M5A99X EVO
Cooling Phanteks PH TC14PE / Corsair H40
Memory M379B5273DH0-YK0 2X4GB + PVI316G213C1QK 2X4GB / 2x4GB Patriot 2133
Video Card(s) PNY 780Ti /Windforce 7950
Storage 2xSamsung 840 EVO 250gb+WD10EZEX + WD30EZRX/ 1x WD1500 Black
Display(s) AOC Q2963PM+Acer S200HL / Acer S200L+ LG 22LD350
Case Fractal Define R4 / NZXT Trinity
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DG / Asus Xonar DG
Power Supply Seasonic 750X / ROSEWILL RG630-S12 630W R
Mouse Razer Deathadder Chroma / Roccat Kone+
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow 2013 Stealth / Roccat Isku
Software Windows 8.1 Pro / Windows 7 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores one time I scored a 3 on 3dmark 11
I've tried with 3 devices, all support wireless N.
 

Athlon2K15

HyperVtX™
Joined
Sep 27, 2006
Messages
7,877 (1.60/day)
Location
O-H-I-O
Processor Intel Core i3 8350K @ 4.8GHz
Motherboard Asus Prime Z370
Cooling Corsair H115i
Memory 32GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 3200
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 1050Ti 4GB
Storage Intel DC P3700 1.6TB / Intel Optane
Display(s) LG 34UC98 Curved Ultrawide
Power Supply Corsair RM850x
Mouse Asus Strix Evolve
Keyboard Asus Strix Claymore
You have older devices on the network? Anytime you have legacy devices on a wireless network, the entire wireless band has to slow down for it.
 

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
7,886 (2.16/day)
Location
Rochester area
System Name RPC MK2
Processor Intel Core i5 9600K@ 4.8Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard Asrock z390 phantom gaming 4
Cooling Enermax ets-t50
Memory CMK16GX4M2B3000C15 16GB DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 2060 XC ULTRA GAMING
Storage 512GB Intel 545s ssd 500GB ADATA SU800 ssd 1TB WD blue
Display(s) Cheap VA panel
Case Phanteks P300
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse M65 Pro RGB
Keyboard K70 RGB
Software Windows 10 +startisback
You have older devices on the network? Anytime you have legacy devices on a wireless network, the entire wireless band has to slow down for it.
what no Thats not how it works Yes there is some added latency when a G device talks with a N device but its not gonna drop the whole network to G speeds thats absurd where did you ever hear that bit of mis-information
in our house there is the following
1. ps3 ( wifi G)
2(PS4 wifi N)
3. BD player (wifi N)
4. 2 WIFI G cell phones
5. 3 WIF N cell phones
and a myriad of over devices
all can negotiate there own rate as well as archived the throughput for said negotiated rate
Op needs a better router D-link are just plain garbage ( crappy Ubicom chipset)
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
47,565 (8.41/day)
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Big Fella
Processor Ryzen R7 2700X (stock/XFR OC)
Motherboard Asus B450-i ITX
Cooling Corsair H110 W/ Corsair ML RGB fans
Memory 16GB DDR4 3200 Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS mod to Gaming Z) w/ Corsair H55 AIO
Storage 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 1TB Intel 6000 Pro NVME
Display(s) Phillips 328m6fjrmb (32" 1440p 144hz curved) + Sony KD-55X8500F (55" 4K HDR)
Case Fractal Design Nano S
Audio Device(s) Razer Leviathan + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G903 + PowerPlay mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
why hallo thar, this thread seems like my kind of deal.


router is N300 - simple question, whats the security set to? anything other than WPA2 with AES encryption, and it will drop to 54Mb.
 

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
7,886 (2.16/day)
Location
Rochester area
System Name RPC MK2
Processor Intel Core i5 9600K@ 4.8Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard Asrock z390 phantom gaming 4
Cooling Enermax ets-t50
Memory CMK16GX4M2B3000C15 16GB DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 2060 XC ULTRA GAMING
Storage 512GB Intel 545s ssd 500GB ADATA SU800 ssd 1TB WD blue
Display(s) Cheap VA panel
Case Phanteks P300
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse M65 Pro RGB
Keyboard K70 RGB
Software Windows 10 +startisback
why hallo thar, this thread seems like my kind of deal.


router is N300 - simple question, whats the security set to? anything other than WPA2 with AES encryption, and it will drop to 54Mb.
uHh no ? it won't security/encryption has nothing todo with speed at least not on any router I have ever used
I run my network open and it runs up to N300 without issue
http://cl.ly/XcVw/Image 2014-09-18 at 11.43.19 PM.png
http://cl.ly/XcmH/Image 2014-09-18 at 11.43.45 PM.png
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
47,565 (8.41/day)
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Big Fella
Processor Ryzen R7 2700X (stock/XFR OC)
Motherboard Asus B450-i ITX
Cooling Corsair H110 W/ Corsair ML RGB fans
Memory 16GB DDR4 3200 Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS mod to Gaming Z) w/ Corsair H55 AIO
Storage 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 1TB Intel 6000 Pro NVME
Display(s) Phillips 328m6fjrmb (32" 1440p 144hz curved) + Sony KD-55X8500F (55" 4K HDR)
Case Fractal Design Nano S
Audio Device(s) Razer Leviathan + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G903 + PowerPlay mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB

Athlon2K15

HyperVtX™
Joined
Sep 27, 2006
Messages
7,877 (1.60/day)
Location
O-H-I-O
Processor Intel Core i3 8350K @ 4.8GHz
Motherboard Asus Prime Z370
Cooling Corsair H115i
Memory 32GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 3200
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 1050Ti 4GB
Storage Intel DC P3700 1.6TB / Intel Optane
Display(s) LG 34UC98 Curved Ultrawide
Power Supply Corsair RM850x
Mouse Asus Strix Evolve
Keyboard Asus Strix Claymore
what no Thats not how it works Yes there is some added latency when a G device talks with a N device but its not gonna drop the whole network to G speeds thats absurd where did you ever hear that bit of mis-information
in our house there is the following
1. ps3 ( wifi G)
2(PS4 wifi N)
3. BD player (wifi N)
4. 2 WIFI G cell phones
5. 3 WIF N cell phones
and a myriad of over devices
all can negotiate there own rate as well as archived the throughput for said negotiated rate
Op needs a better router D-link are just plain garbage ( crappy Ubicom chipset)
You need to buy "wifi for dummies" and read it, then get back to me.
 

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
7,886 (2.16/day)
Location
Rochester area
System Name RPC MK2
Processor Intel Core i5 9600K@ 4.8Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard Asrock z390 phantom gaming 4
Cooling Enermax ets-t50
Memory CMK16GX4M2B3000C15 16GB DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 2060 XC ULTRA GAMING
Storage 512GB Intel 545s ssd 500GB ADATA SU800 ssd 1TB WD blue
Display(s) Cheap VA panel
Case Phanteks P300
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse M65 Pro RGB
Keyboard K70 RGB
Software Windows 10 +startisback
wifi N and AC only work with no encryption or WPA2 AES. google it.
if you are using WEP on the network then its limited 54G/125MBit it does not require you to use ANY encryption for > 300Mbs has no bearing on the rest of the network(unless you are using a Vlan to isolate said WEP network from the rest of the WiLAN) *we do this at work because we have long since forgotten the password for a wireless security camera LoLo

we created a virtual adapter with its own SSID for the WEP "insecurity cameras" using DD-WRT


WEP doesn't support a more then 56? bits for the unicast ciper its unlikely that the router would default to that anything post draftN is gonna default to WPA2

and telling me to go read a outdated pile of crap like a for dummies book is a good way to get put back on ignore Athlon
 
Last edited:

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
30,344 (6.52/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
The more devices accessing the wifi the more traffic there is,qos has to schedule bandwidth, there could be other wifi networks on same channel as yours is...
 

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
7,886 (2.16/day)
Location
Rochester area
System Name RPC MK2
Processor Intel Core i5 9600K@ 4.8Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard Asrock z390 phantom gaming 4
Cooling Enermax ets-t50
Memory CMK16GX4M2B3000C15 16GB DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 2060 XC ULTRA GAMING
Storage 512GB Intel 545s ssd 500GB ADATA SU800 ssd 1TB WD blue
Display(s) Cheap VA panel
Case Phanteks P300
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse M65 Pro RGB
Keyboard K70 RGB
Software Windows 10 +startisback
The more devices accessing the wifi the more traffic there is,qos has to schedule bandwidth, there could be other wifi networks on same channel as yours is...
this but it really would't explain why the all the client's are only negotiating at 54G
@op I would try a factory reset on the router and set the mode to N only instead of NG
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
30,344 (6.52/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Weakest link somewhere. Settings of all should be checked.
 
Joined
Mar 6, 2008
Messages
2,747 (0.62/day)
Location
Minnesota
System Name I Dub Thee Infinity
Processor AMD Ryzen Threadripper 1950X
Motherboard ASRock X399 Phantom Gaming 6
Cooling Alphacool LT240
Memory G.Skill Ripjaws V 4x8GB 3000MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA 980 Ti SC+
Storage SanDisk Ultra Plus 256GB, OCZ V2 180GB, 2x Toshiba X300 5TB RAID 1
Display(s) Acer XB270HU
Case Cooler Master HAF X
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium + Sennheiser HD598 + Klipsch ProMedia 2.1
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 850W
Mouse Razer Naga (2014)
Keyboard Gigabyte Aivia Osmium (MX Brown)
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
To have your Draft N wireless network connect at 300Mbps as it should, ensure that the following requirements are met.

1) The router and adapter are both D-Link [Ha, no.] 802.11N products and are using the latest firmeware/drivers. Ensure that the 802.11 Mode of the router has a 802.11N mode selected. Also if you have issues with mixed mode, try locking the 802.11Mode to either 802.11N Only or 802.11G/N.

2) If you are using encryption the router must be configured to use AES cipher. In some firmware versions/models, the only way to get the AES cipher is to run WPA2. If you can not select the Cipher, selecting WPA2 only will force this cipher type.

3) The channel width needs to be set to 20/40Auto, if it is not, the adapter will report a connection speed of 130Mbps. This is a feature that was added for compatibility with Intel 802.11N adapters, as they only operate on a channel width of 20.


TL;DR: Device+router=802.11n, AES encryption or no encryption, 20/40 Auto channel width.
 
Last edited:

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
7,886 (2.16/day)
Location
Rochester area
System Name RPC MK2
Processor Intel Core i5 9600K@ 4.8Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard Asrock z390 phantom gaming 4
Cooling Enermax ets-t50
Memory CMK16GX4M2B3000C15 16GB DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 2060 XC ULTRA GAMING
Storage 512GB Intel 545s ssd 500GB ADATA SU800 ssd 1TB WD blue
Display(s) Cheap VA panel
Case Phanteks P300
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse M65 Pro RGB
Keyboard K70 RGB
Software Windows 10 +startisback
*deleted Maban beat me to it*
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
47,565 (8.41/day)
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Big Fella
Processor Ryzen R7 2700X (stock/XFR OC)
Motherboard Asus B450-i ITX
Cooling Corsair H110 W/ Corsair ML RGB fans
Memory 16GB DDR4 3200 Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS mod to Gaming Z) w/ Corsair H55 AIO
Storage 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 1TB Intel 6000 Pro NVME
Display(s) Phillips 328m6fjrmb (32" 1440p 144hz curved) + Sony KD-55X8500F (55" 4K HDR)
Case Fractal Design Nano S
Audio Device(s) Razer Leviathan + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G903 + PowerPlay mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
if you are using WEP on the network then its limited 54G/125MBit it does not require you to use ANY encryption for > 300Mbs has no bearing on the rest of the network(unless you are using a Vlan to isolate said WEP network from the rest of the WiLAN) *we do this at work because we have long since forgotten the password for a wireless security camera LoLo

we created a virtual adapter with its own SSID for the WEP "insecurity cameras" using DD-WRT


WEP doesn't support a more then 56? bits for the unicast ciper its unlikely that the router would default to that anything post draftN is gonna default to WPA2

and telling me to go read a outdated pile of crap like a for dummies book is a good way to get put back on ignore Athlon

it requires it, or it drops to wifi G specs. its nice that you used a virtual adaptor for your WEP only device, but if you did that on the main wifi channel you would find it says wifi N 54Mb to any connected clients.


oh and 40Mhz is also a good point, but that would cap it to 150Mb, not 54Mb.
 
Joined
Jun 4, 2011
Messages
3,051 (0.95/day)
System Name The SwagMachine / The Sister
Processor Core i5 3570K @5.2ghz 1.3V/ 1100T
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-V / ASUS M5A99X EVO
Cooling Phanteks PH TC14PE / Corsair H40
Memory M379B5273DH0-YK0 2X4GB + PVI316G213C1QK 2X4GB / 2x4GB Patriot 2133
Video Card(s) PNY 780Ti /Windforce 7950
Storage 2xSamsung 840 EVO 250gb+WD10EZEX + WD30EZRX/ 1x WD1500 Black
Display(s) AOC Q2963PM+Acer S200HL / Acer S200L+ LG 22LD350
Case Fractal Define R4 / NZXT Trinity
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DG / Asus Xonar DG
Power Supply Seasonic 750X / ROSEWILL RG630-S12 630W R
Mouse Razer Deathadder Chroma / Roccat Kone+
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow 2013 Stealth / Roccat Isku
Software Windows 8.1 Pro / Windows 7 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores one time I scored a 3 on 3dmark 11
why hallo thar, this thread seems like my kind of deal.


router is N300 - simple question, whats the security set to? anything other than WPA2 with AES encryption, and it will drop to 54Mb.
This improved the connection quite a bit! I'm transferring at about 10mb/s, which is good enough for what I use it for anyway
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
47,565 (8.41/day)
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Big Fella
Processor Ryzen R7 2700X (stock/XFR OC)
Motherboard Asus B450-i ITX
Cooling Corsair H110 W/ Corsair ML RGB fans
Memory 16GB DDR4 3200 Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS mod to Gaming Z) w/ Corsair H55 AIO
Storage 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 1TB Intel 6000 Pro NVME
Display(s) Phillips 328m6fjrmb (32" 1440p 144hz curved) + Sony KD-55X8500F (55" 4K HDR)
Case Fractal Design Nano S
Audio Device(s) Razer Leviathan + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G903 + PowerPlay mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
This improved the connection quite a bit! I'm transferring at about 10mb/s, which is good enough for what I use it for anyway

if you meant 10MB/s, then you're getting about 150Mb worth - fairly normal. max i get on 300Mb is 19MB/s.
 
Joined
Jun 4, 2011
Messages
3,051 (0.95/day)
System Name The SwagMachine / The Sister
Processor Core i5 3570K @5.2ghz 1.3V/ 1100T
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-V / ASUS M5A99X EVO
Cooling Phanteks PH TC14PE / Corsair H40
Memory M379B5273DH0-YK0 2X4GB + PVI316G213C1QK 2X4GB / 2x4GB Patriot 2133
Video Card(s) PNY 780Ti /Windforce 7950
Storage 2xSamsung 840 EVO 250gb+WD10EZEX + WD30EZRX/ 1x WD1500 Black
Display(s) AOC Q2963PM+Acer S200HL / Acer S200L+ LG 22LD350
Case Fractal Define R4 / NZXT Trinity
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DG / Asus Xonar DG
Power Supply Seasonic 750X / ROSEWILL RG630-S12 630W R
Mouse Razer Deathadder Chroma / Roccat Kone+
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow 2013 Stealth / Roccat Isku
Software Windows 8.1 Pro / Windows 7 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores one time I scored a 3 on 3dmark 11
if you meant 10MB/s, then you're getting about 150Mb worth - fairly normal. max i get on 300Mb is 19MB/s.
Indeedly do I did. Thanks for your help!
 
Joined
Nov 4, 2005
Messages
10,509 (2.00/day)
System Name MoFo 2
Processor AMD PhenomII 1100T @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV
Cooling Swiftec 655 pump, Apogee GT,, MCR360mm Rad, 1/2 loop.
Memory 8GB DDR3-2133 @ 1900 8.9.9.24 1T
Video Card(s) HD7970 1250/1750
Storage Agility 3 SSD 6TB RAID 0 on RAID Card
Display(s) 46" 1080P Toshiba LCD
Case Rosewill R6A34-BK modded (thanks to MKmods)
Audio Device(s) ATI HDMI
Power Supply 750W PC Power & Cooling modded (thanks to MKmods)
Software A lot.
Benchmark Scores Its fast. Enough.
why hallo thar, this thread seems like my kind of deal.


router is N300 - simple question, whats the security set to? anything other than WPA2 with AES encryption, and it will drop to 54Mb.

Is it processing overhead for alternate forms of encryption that cause the slowdown?
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
47,565 (8.41/day)
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Big Fella
Processor Ryzen R7 2700X (stock/XFR OC)
Motherboard Asus B450-i ITX
Cooling Corsair H110 W/ Corsair ML RGB fans
Memory 16GB DDR4 3200 Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS mod to Gaming Z) w/ Corsair H55 AIO
Storage 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 1TB Intel 6000 Pro NVME
Display(s) Phillips 328m6fjrmb (32" 1440p 144hz curved) + Sony KD-55X8500F (55" 4K HDR)
Case Fractal Design Nano S
Audio Device(s) Razer Leviathan + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G903 + PowerPlay mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
Is it processing overhead for alternate forms of encryption that cause the slowdown?
no its an incompatibility. the new wifi standards forced AES because they knew the other methods were broken and insecure.

as a redundancy they allowed the old mode with the old security to work, to remain compliant with older devices - at the old speeds.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
30,344 (6.52/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Cough nintendo DS/Wii
 
Top