• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Poor Vodafone USB modem signal

Joined
Feb 11, 2007
Messages
288 (0.07/day)
Likes
21
Location
Emilia Romagna, Italy
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 1600
Motherboard Asus ROG Strix B350-F Gaming
Cooling AMD Wraith Spire, Thermaltake iFlash12 x2, Enermax TB Apolish 12cm Blue
Memory G-Skill Ripjaws V, 2400MHz, 15-15-15-35, 2 x 8GB (F4-2400C15D-16GVR)
Video Card(s) XFX RX580 8Gb Black Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Evo 250Gb, Western Digital WD10EAVS 1Tb, LG GH24NSD1 DVD-RW
Display(s) Viewsonic XG2401
Case Enermax Staray (Blue)
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair HX750
Mouse Razer Deathadder Chroma
Keyboard Microsoft 3000 v2.0
Software Windows 10 Home 64bit
#1
Last weekend I had to resort to getting a Vodafone USB Sim card modem for my desktop because Italia Telecom are too damn lazy to install a landline to my house.

Anyway, I am getting very poor reception and download/upload speeds and was wondering if there was a way of improving matters.

I have put the Sim card in my cell phone to find the best spot and that is by the window in an upstairs bedroom, which is totally impractical. At the moment I have had to wheel the computer to the opposite side of the living room to get at least some reception.

Is there some sort of box or antenna I can mount outside on the roof or some sort of Heath Robinson contraption I can build to improve preformance?

One other problem is that the USB cable that came with it is only about 50cm but when I plug it into my 1.75m cable it does not work even though the cable is fine. So not very flexible.

Thanks.


 
Joined
Feb 5, 2009
Messages
1,146 (0.35/day)
Likes
58
Location
South Africa
Processor AMD Athlon II X4 635
Motherboard Asus M4N78-SE
Cooling Stock
Memory 2x2GB G.Skill DDR2-800
Video Card(s) XFX 7900GS
Storage Samsung 5000GB 7200RPM 16MB cache
Display(s) Samsung 22'' T220
Case Coolermaster 590
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek audio
Power Supply OCZ fatal1ty 550w
#2
Ok, firstly are you sure your sim is using 3g, if not, edge should be second option. i dont know how things work in italy so im just trying here.
 
Joined
Feb 11, 2007
Messages
288 (0.07/day)
Likes
21
Location
Emilia Romagna, Italy
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 1600
Motherboard Asus ROG Strix B350-F Gaming
Cooling AMD Wraith Spire, Thermaltake iFlash12 x2, Enermax TB Apolish 12cm Blue
Memory G-Skill Ripjaws V, 2400MHz, 15-15-15-35, 2 x 8GB (F4-2400C15D-16GVR)
Video Card(s) XFX RX580 8Gb Black Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Evo 250Gb, Western Digital WD10EAVS 1Tb, LG GH24NSD1 DVD-RW
Display(s) Viewsonic XG2401
Case Enermax Staray (Blue)
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair HX750
Mouse Razer Deathadder Chroma
Keyboard Microsoft 3000 v2.0
Software Windows 10 Home 64bit
#3
I have the key set to UMTS only, which I presume is 3G.
 
Joined
Feb 5, 2009
Messages
1,146 (0.35/day)
Likes
58
Location
South Africa
Processor AMD Athlon II X4 635
Motherboard Asus M4N78-SE
Cooling Stock
Memory 2x2GB G.Skill DDR2-800
Video Card(s) XFX 7900GS
Storage Samsung 5000GB 7200RPM 16MB cache
Display(s) Samsung 22'' T220
Case Coolermaster 590
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek audio
Power Supply OCZ fatal1ty 550w
#4
Its close enough, try using edge and see what happens, i know with edge and my phone set up on the pc, i get 460kbps. I know its not ideal but at least its better than what you got
 
Joined
Aug 16, 2007
Messages
7,180 (1.88/day)
Likes
720
#5
thats the mobile broadband you top up isnt it, its like pay as you go broadband

sort of dial up with better speeds and no dial


i dont know what else to say other than contact vodaphone or get the telephone company to install a landline, it seems as if your getting interference you cant use a range extender or anythign like that because the usb would need to be near the singal and its usb so the pc would hveto be with it too
 
Joined
Feb 11, 2007
Messages
288 (0.07/day)
Likes
21
Location
Emilia Romagna, Italy
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 1600
Motherboard Asus ROG Strix B350-F Gaming
Cooling AMD Wraith Spire, Thermaltake iFlash12 x2, Enermax TB Apolish 12cm Blue
Memory G-Skill Ripjaws V, 2400MHz, 15-15-15-35, 2 x 8GB (F4-2400C15D-16GVR)
Video Card(s) XFX RX580 8Gb Black Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Evo 250Gb, Western Digital WD10EAVS 1Tb, LG GH24NSD1 DVD-RW
Display(s) Viewsonic XG2401
Case Enermax Staray (Blue)
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair HX750
Mouse Razer Deathadder Chroma
Keyboard Microsoft 3000 v2.0
Software Windows 10 Home 64bit
#6
I am trying to use GPRS/EDGE right now and it is absolutely terrible. Takes like 5 mins to load the Speedtest page and even then it doesn't load it properly.

Oh great, the line has just dropped.

Gone back to UMTS.

Kieran,
Similar, we contractually pay €30 per month for junk.
It's fine for loading you average webpage and forum pics but when it comes to music and film downloads then its a waste of time.
I would love to have a landline and believe me we have tried to get one, but Telecom Italia + new build house = 9 or 10 months of nothing and non existence on the map.