• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

POS 780i... 5th one sucks too.... help!

Fitseries3

Eleet Hardware Junkie
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
15,508 (4.12/day)
Likes
2,977
Location
Republic of Texas
#1
this is my 5th evga 780i board now. it is doing the same CRAP all the others have done.
:banghead::mad::banghead::mad::banghead::mad::banghead::shadedshu:shadedshu:shadedshu

here's the deal...

5 BRAND NEW, SEALED BOX, Evga 780i boards now have run fine for about 24hours at bios defaults. the minute i go back and set something different it wont boot and corrupts data on the hard drive to where i cant boot into windows without reinstalling. you may think, "he set something wrong or overclocked to far". NO!
EXAMPLE: i have a set of OCZ 1066mhz 2x1gigs... they have ran fine for MONTHS at 1066mhz at the 2.3v stock settings WITH EPP on in the bios of my 680i. my 780i will boot and run fine with the OCZ's set to 667mhz @ 1.8v BUT... i set them to run 1066mhz, voltage is auto set to 2.3v and timings are set correctly from SPD settings.... reboot, beeeeeeeeep! nothing. then... i turn the machine off, boot it up again, it shows 1066mhz, right voltage and timings. tries to boot into windows and BAM! dead. BSOD! i have had countless DIFFERENT error codes that point to EVERY piece of hardware in the whole damn machine being problematic.

you may be thinking, "dude, it's your ram!" NO!!
EXAMPLE: lets say i leave the ram alone.... and now im gonna set the proper multi and FSB settings along with the CPU:mem divider. dont touch voltage at all, everything still running at stock speeds. reboot....... BAM! dead. reboot again.... boots fine with all setting(set by me) in tact, (fresh load of windows now) BSOD! not even system restore or vistas boot fix will work.

now your thinking "have you tried XP?" YES, i have. same CRAP!

other things i've tried.....

different ram
different video cards
different dvd drive
different PSU
different hard drives
different CPU's
even different motherboards

same damn problem!!!! :banghead::banghead::banghead:

here's the kicker.....
i go back to the 680i and everything works FLAWLESS. even overclocked!

so now your thinking, " dont use a 780i man. sell it." i have 2 currently that really dont qualify for RMA because they work fine at bios defaults. does anyone want to buy a registered POS 780i? NO! im stuck with $500+ in motherboards that are complete crap.

EVGA, i want my damn money back.... NOW!

if you have ANY suggestions... PLEASE let me know.
 
Last edited:

OrbitzXT

New Member
Joined
Mar 22, 2007
Messages
1,969 (0.50/day)
Likes
59
Location
New York City
System Name AX-01
Processor Intel Core i5-2500K @3.7 GHz
Motherboard ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
Cooling Zalman 9700
Memory Kingston HyperX T1 Series 8GB DDR3 1600 MHZ
Video Card(s) GTX 590
Storage Intel X25-M
Display(s) 42" Samsung LED HDTV
Case Antec Twelve Hundred
Audio Device(s) HT | OMEGA STRIKER 7.1
Power Supply Kingwin 1000W
Software Windows 7 64-Bit
#2
Just get a different board, it clearly doesn't like something of yours in it. If they won't refund you, get a new sealed one from them again and sell that on eBay.
 

Fitseries3

Eleet Hardware Junkie
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
15,508 (4.12/day)
Likes
2,977
Location
Republic of Texas
#3
Just get a different board, it clearly doesn't like something of yours in it. If they won't refund you, get a new sealed one from them again and sell that on eBay.
thats what i plan on doing. i've gotta wait for the RMA's. my 680i has been a real killer board for about a year now. i guess it likes me.... and my stuff. i guess i'll take the money from the 780i's and get a 790i and UBER-expensive ddr3.
 

Fitseries3

Eleet Hardware Junkie
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
15,508 (4.12/day)
Likes
2,977
Location
Republic of Texas
#4
one thing i for got to mention....

i had my 3rd 780i running for about 7 hours and it did pretty good. but the next morning it did the same crap.

here is the SS of my bench...
 

Attachments

Joined
Dec 22, 2007
Messages
1,229 (0.33/day)
Likes
132
Location
vermont
System Name Dominator
Processor INTEL C2Q Q6600 FTW!!
Motherboard ASUS P5Q-E!!!
Cooling TEC cooled cpu, everything else is under water :D
Memory 4GB CELL SHOCK D9GMH 1066MHZ/4GB CRUCIAL REDS
Video Card(s) 4850 (VT)/ 4850 IN CROSSFIRE!
Storage western digital= 1X 250GB, 1X 500GB, IDE 160GB (BOOT DRIVE ONLY). SEAGATE FREE AGENT 500GB EHDD
Display(s) viewsonic 19" hd widescreen
Case ROCKETFISH FOR NOW :(
Audio Device(s) ONBOARD WORKS JUST FINE FOR ME :p
Power Supply ULTRA X3 1KW MODULAR
Software win vista ultimate 64 TWEAKED!!!
Benchmark Scores http://valid.x86-secret.com/show_oc.php?id=434759 3dm06: http://service.futuremark.com/compare?3dm0
#5
dude why don't you get the asus version of the 780i they are like 250 but they are alot more reliable than evga and alot more stable also.
 
Joined
Sep 14, 2006
Messages
564 (0.14/day)
Likes
97
Location
QLD, Australia
Processor i7 7820X (undervolted)
Motherboard MSI X299M Gaming Pro Carbon AC
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory Corsair Vengance 3400MHz (4 x 8GB)
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Ti 11GB Gaming X
Storage Samsung 960 EVO NVMe M.2 500GB + Samsung 850 EVO 1TB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB
Display(s) AOC U3277PWQU 32in 4K
Case Phanteks Enthoo Evolv mATX TG
Audio Device(s) Onboard - SPDIF Out - Logitech Z-5500
Power Supply Corsair HX850i 850W
Mouse Razer Mamba Chroma
Keyboard Corsair Gaming Strafe RGB Cherry MX Silent
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
#6
This may prove a little pointless but, I'm just wondering whether its a heat issue as your sys spec's tell me your watercooling and air flow will be limited around your mosfet heatsinks. Just a thought. :twitch:
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,212 (9.51/day)
Likes
13,701
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#7
This may prove a little pointless but, I'm just wondering whether its a heat issue as your sys spec's tell me your watercooling and air flow will be limited around your mosfet heatsinks. Just a thought. :twitch:
indeed.

Simplify things: run it out of a case with stock (air) cooling on all components. Point a desk fan at it for testing. Just rule out a hardware conflict (cooling, shorting)

Its possible something like the mosfets is overheating due to a deadspot in your system, as dia01 has said. So give it a shot and see if it helps!
 

Fitseries3

Eleet Hardware Junkie
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
15,508 (4.12/day)
Likes
2,977
Location
Republic of Texas
#8
dude why don't you get the asus version of the 780i they are like 250 but they are alot more reliable than evga and alot more stable also.
really? i've heard that the asus 780i are worse than the reference boards. let me know where you heard that. im interested in seeing how they do. i would switch if it took care of my problems.
 

Fitseries3

Eleet Hardware Junkie
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
15,508 (4.12/day)
Likes
2,977
Location
Republic of Texas
#9
indeed.

Simplify things: run it out of a case with stock (air) cooling on all components. Point a desk fan at it for testing. Just rule out a hardware conflict (cooling, shorting)

Its possible something like the mosfets is overheating due to a deadspot in your system, as dia01 has said. So give it a shot and see if it helps!
EVERY SINGLE BOARD was run out of the case. tried intel stock cooler on cpu and used stock coolers on my gtx and GT cards. tried different ram, cpu. very good cooling setup on my bench system. even the temps measured up fine. cooler than my 680i that WORKS. the only hardware conflict is the board. it's conflicting with my ability to use my computer.
 

Tatty_One

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
19,834 (4.52/day)
Likes
6,125
Location
Worcestershire, UK
Processor Skylake Core i7 6700k @ 4.6gig
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4gb R9 290X VaporX @1150mhz
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) Xifi Elite Pro 7.1/VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Keyboard CM Storm Octane Combo
Software Win 10 Home x64
#10
From many reviews I have read that included Asus and EVGA (I was seriously thinking of getting a 780i for my two Palit 8800GT's), the XFX 780i seems to be the best one from what I can see.
 

Fitseries3

Eleet Hardware Junkie
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
15,508 (4.12/day)
Likes
2,977
Location
Republic of Texas
#11
From many reviews I have read that included Asus and EVGA (I was seriously thinking of getting a 780i for my two Palit 8800GT's), the XFX 780i seems to be the best one from what I can see.
it's the same as the evga one. even the bios's are same. im might give the asus a try before i scrape the whole idea. my 680i is looking golden right now. im glad i didn't sell it yet.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,212 (9.51/day)
Likes
13,701
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#12
EVERY SINGLE BOARD was run out of the case. tried intel stock cooler on cpu and used stock coolers on my gtx and GT cards. tried different ram, cpu. very good cooling setup on my bench system. even the temps measured up fine. cooler than my 680i that WORKS. the only hardware conflict is the board. it's conflicting with my ability to use my computer.
ok, so you did all those.

I'm trying to look for that stupid niggling flaw, or overlooked thing that can cause really random screwups on some hardware.

They were all ran out of a case - are they earthing properly? maybe it needs to be IN a case?

You;ve tried other hardware, so its jsut trying different variations with the same hardware.
 

Fitseries3

Eleet Hardware Junkie
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
15,508 (4.12/day)
Likes
2,977
Location
Republic of Texas
#13
ok, so you did all those.

I'm trying to look for that stupid niggling flaw, or overlooked thing that can cause really random screwups on some hardware.

They were all ran out of a case - are they earthing properly? maybe it needs to be IN a case?

You;ve tried other hardware, so its jsut trying different variations with the same hardware.
yeah. im about to install my knee to the backside of this POS!

i thought it was my ram but i tried ram that is completely different and it causes something else to happen. like right now.. i just got a 0x00000018 REFERENCE_BY_POINTER error. the error codes are very random. never the same one twice.

i have tried them in cases as well. same things happen. it all started when i got the first 780i board. this hardware has run on my 680i's for about a year SOLID without error.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,212 (9.51/day)
Likes
13,701
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#14
yeah. im about to install my knee to the backside of this POS!

i thought it was my ram but i tried ram that is completely different and it causes something else to happen. like right now.. i just got a 0x00000018 REFERENCE_BY_POINTER error. the error codes are very random. never the same one twice.
i'm seriously out of ideas here. you seem to have a bitch of a problem.
Is there any available bios updates?
 

Fitseries3

Eleet Hardware Junkie
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
15,508 (4.12/day)
Likes
2,977
Location
Republic of Texas
#15
i'm seriously out of ideas here. you seem to have a bitch of a problem.
Is there any available bios updates?
OH, DONT EVEN GO THERE! the p03 bios is worse than the p02 that comes on the board. my second 780i i updated the bios to the p03 and it boot fine at bios defaults. if you change anything.... it's done. it gives POST codes like crazy. i got A0(not found anywhere) 11, 1d, 25, 2d. they all stop and hang on random codes. sometimes the board would jump straight to FF without posting at all.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,212 (9.51/day)
Likes
13,701
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#16
i've gone and looked up pics of the board, and apart from making sure all the chipset/mosfet coolers are properly greased i cant think of anything.

Everything else is negated by you trying various hardware combos, as commonly this would be bad ram, overheating, or power related
 
Joined
May 19, 2007
Messages
4,297 (1.10/day)
Likes
510
Processor Intel Core i9 7900X delidded @ 4.7Ghz 1.2v
Motherboard ASUS Rampage VI Extreme
Cooling EK-Supremacy EVO, EK-CoolStream PE 360, EK-CoolStream PE 240, EK-DDC Pump/X-RES 100
Memory Corsair Vengeance RED LED 32GB(8GBx4) DDR4 3400MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti FE ( EK 1080TI Waterblock./ Backplate )
Storage Samsung 950 Pro NVME 512GB, 2x 850 Evos 1TB, WD Black 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S27B970 27" Wide PLS Monitor - 2560 x 1440
Case Corsair Carbide Air 540
Power Supply Cooler Master Vanguard Series 1000W
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores http://www.3dmark.com/fs/12778735
#17
this is my 5th evga 780i board now. it is doing the same CRAP all the others have done.
:banghead::mad::banghead::mad::banghead::mad::banghead::shadedshu:shadedshu:shadedshu

here's the deal...

5 BRAND NEW, SEALED BOX, Evga 780i boards now have run fine for about 24hours at bios defaults. the minute i go back and set something different it wont boot and corrupts data on the hard drive to where i cant boot into windows without reinstalling. you may think, "he set something wrong or overclocked to far". NO!
EXAMPLE: i have a set of OCZ 1066mhz 2x1gigs... they have ran fine for MONTHS at 1066mhz at the 2.3v stock settings WITH EPP on in the bios of my 680i. my 780i will boot and run fine with the OCZ's set to 667mhz @ 1.8v BUT... i set them to run 1066mhz, voltage is auto set to 2.3v and timings are set correctly from SPD settings.... reboot, beeeeeeeeep! nothing. then... i turn the machine off, boot it up again, it shows 1066mhz, right voltage and timings. tries to boot into windows and BAM! dead. BSOD! i have had countless DIFFERENT error codes that point to EVERY piece of hardware in the whole damn machine being problematic.

you may be thinking, "dude, it's your ram!" NO!!
EXAMPLE: lets say i leave the ram alone.... and now im gonna set the proper multi and FSB settings along with the CPU:mem divider. dont touch voltage at all, everything still running at stock speeds. reboot....... BAM! dead. reboot again.... boots fine with all setting(set by me) in tact, (fresh load of windows now) BSOD! not even system restore or vistas boot fix will work.

now your thinking "have you tried XP?" YES, i have. same CRAP!

other things i've tried.....

different ram
different video cards
different dvd drive
different PSU
different hard drives
different CPU's
even different motherboards

same damn problem!!!! :banghead::banghead::banghead:

here's the kicker.....
i go back to the 680i and everything works FLAWLESS. even overclocked!

so now your thinking, " dont use a 780i man. sell it." i have 2 currently that really dont qualify for RMA because they work fine at bios defaults. does anyone want to buy a registered POS 780i? NO! im stuck with $500+ in motherboards that are complete crap.

EVGA, i want my damn money back.... NOW!

if you have ANY suggestions... PLEASE let me know.

WHAT ERROR IS POSTING ON THE MB LCD SCREEN?
i had a same problem it was my video card though using a 8800GT in a EVGA 680i AI then goin to a EVGA 780i didnt like it, wouldn't post screen in windows would black out some time's, i got a 8800GTS EVGA no problem at all
 
Joined
May 19, 2007
Messages
4,297 (1.10/day)
Likes
510
Processor Intel Core i9 7900X delidded @ 4.7Ghz 1.2v
Motherboard ASUS Rampage VI Extreme
Cooling EK-Supremacy EVO, EK-CoolStream PE 360, EK-CoolStream PE 240, EK-DDC Pump/X-RES 100
Memory Corsair Vengeance RED LED 32GB(8GBx4) DDR4 3400MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti FE ( EK 1080TI Waterblock./ Backplate )
Storage Samsung 950 Pro NVME 512GB, 2x 850 Evos 1TB, WD Black 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S27B970 27" Wide PLS Monitor - 2560 x 1440
Case Corsair Carbide Air 540
Power Supply Cooler Master Vanguard Series 1000W
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores http://www.3dmark.com/fs/12778735
#18
And for OCZ ram i hate that stuf, i had so many problems with it when i was using my 680i, i had 4GB OCZ REAPER 1066MHZ, i've only had one problem with my board and i fixed it im using a p03 bios no problems, and i tested the 8800GT worked fine in PCI-e 1.1 boards,think its some thing to do with the 8800's,they didn't like the swap, i had a 8400GS that worked fine i keeped try the GT but no hope did the same thing ova and ova work for a day then dead,then i would use the GS for a day or two then try the GT, wouldn't post just beep, and when i did get it to post would BSOD or just go black.
 
Last edited:

Fitseries3

Eleet Hardware Junkie
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
15,508 (4.12/day)
Likes
2,977
Location
Republic of Texas
#19
And for OCZ ram i hate that stuf, i had so many problems with it when i was using my 680i, i had 4GB OCZ REAPER 1066MHZ, i've only had one problem with my board and i fixed it im using a p03 bios no problems
the code that it give me are in post 15 on this page. the one that stumps me is the A0 code. i have yet to find what it means. as for the ram.... my corsair's and my gskill's do the same crap on all the 780i's ive had.

and you said the screen would blank out... yes mine did that when it was working. the nvlddmkm would crash and not recover causing a BSOD and reboot. i couldn't stay in windows long enough to attempt to fix the problem. i uninstalled ALL the nvidia drivers in safe mode and used driver cleaner. it did the same thing over and over no matter what driver i installed. i reinstalled windows 12 times since then.
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 19, 2007
Messages
4,297 (1.10/day)
Likes
510
Processor Intel Core i9 7900X delidded @ 4.7Ghz 1.2v
Motherboard ASUS Rampage VI Extreme
Cooling EK-Supremacy EVO, EK-CoolStream PE 360, EK-CoolStream PE 240, EK-DDC Pump/X-RES 100
Memory Corsair Vengeance RED LED 32GB(8GBx4) DDR4 3400MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti FE ( EK 1080TI Waterblock./ Backplate )
Storage Samsung 950 Pro NVME 512GB, 2x 850 Evos 1TB, WD Black 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S27B970 27" Wide PLS Monitor - 2560 x 1440
Case Corsair Carbide Air 540
Power Supply Cooler Master Vanguard Series 1000W
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores http://www.3dmark.com/fs/12778735
#20
have you tried a low end card or a card that hasn't been used? i believe A0 just mean's no post if i can rember what evga told me
 

Fitseries3

Eleet Hardware Junkie
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
15,508 (4.12/day)
Likes
2,977
Location
Republic of Texas
#21
guys, im not trying to be a pain in the ass here. these problems are just eating away at my sanity. forgive me if i sound annoyed. you ARE helping and that's what matters. thanks.
 
Joined
May 19, 2007
Messages
4,297 (1.10/day)
Likes
510
Processor Intel Core i9 7900X delidded @ 4.7Ghz 1.2v
Motherboard ASUS Rampage VI Extreme
Cooling EK-Supremacy EVO, EK-CoolStream PE 360, EK-CoolStream PE 240, EK-DDC Pump/X-RES 100
Memory Corsair Vengeance RED LED 32GB(8GBx4) DDR4 3400MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti FE ( EK 1080TI Waterblock./ Backplate )
Storage Samsung 950 Pro NVME 512GB, 2x 850 Evos 1TB, WD Black 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S27B970 27" Wide PLS Monitor - 2560 x 1440
Case Corsair Carbide Air 540
Power Supply Cooler Master Vanguard Series 1000W
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores http://www.3dmark.com/fs/12778735
#23
umm still think it a problem with some thing not being recognized properly, see i oc'ed my cpu and GT my never left my cpu oc'ed only my GT so i thought it was some sort of problem with it running at higher clocks.
 

Fitseries3

Eleet Hardware Junkie
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
15,508 (4.12/day)
Likes
2,977
Location
Republic of Texas
#24
i've tried the following...

different cpus... e6300, e8400, q6600
video cards... GTX, GT, 7600GT
bios... p02, p03
ram... ocz, gskill, corsair
cpu cooler... intel stock, zalman 9700, d-tec fusion
OSes...vista32/64, xp
dvd drives... samsung, sony
PSU...enermax galaxy 1kw, infinity 720watt, thermaltake 1000watt
hard drives... seagate 250gig, raptors raid and non raid
replaced TIM on NB/SB/NF200
tried different monitors

the power is being filtered by a power conditioner. i have tried running without the conditioner and same problems occur.
 
Joined
May 19, 2007
Messages
4,297 (1.10/day)
Likes
510
Processor Intel Core i9 7900X delidded @ 4.7Ghz 1.2v
Motherboard ASUS Rampage VI Extreme
Cooling EK-Supremacy EVO, EK-CoolStream PE 360, EK-CoolStream PE 240, EK-DDC Pump/X-RES 100
Memory Corsair Vengeance RED LED 32GB(8GBx4) DDR4 3400MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti FE ( EK 1080TI Waterblock./ Backplate )
Storage Samsung 950 Pro NVME 512GB, 2x 850 Evos 1TB, WD Black 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S27B970 27" Wide PLS Monitor - 2560 x 1440
Case Corsair Carbide Air 540
Power Supply Cooler Master Vanguard Series 1000W
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores http://www.3dmark.com/fs/12778735
#25
well if you had the same problem with 5 evga 780i boards then is some thing your missing or you got a bad bach of board's made with the same problem,like i said i've had my ova 2 months now and had no problems, i would contact evga and ask if any one else has had this problem.