• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Possible Sapphire Trixx bug or not?

fullinfusion

Vanguard Beta Tester
Joined
Jan 11, 2008
Messages
9,650 (2.64/day)
Likes
3,434
Processor I7-7700K
Motherboard Asus Z270 Maximus IX Code
Cooling Custom water plus another cooler
Memory Corsair Vengeance LED Red 4x8GB 32GB 3200MHz kit
Video Card(s) 2 x MSI RX Vega 56 and a single MSI RX Vega 64 in test rig
Storage 960 EVO/960 Pro M.2 nvme 250/1TB, Samsumg 850 evo 256/ WD 1TB blue
Display(s) Nexius 32" freesync 2 HDR
Case Corsair Obsidion 650D/ cardboard box
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 1300W
Mouse Mionix Naos 7000
Keyboard G15
Software Windows 10 Home
#1
I haven't used Trixx really till now.

My 6990 didn't like trixx at all, and now I've upgraded to a rreference 7970 and Trixx works well.

But something is just bothering me.

When I fire trixx up I see the core voltage is showing 1.175v
But when I hit reset the voltage shows 1.168v

What is this card's voltage? 1.175 or 1.168v?

Trixx at start up



Trixx after hitting reset/apply

 
Joined
Feb 20, 2008
Messages
4,435 (1.22/day)
Likes
733
Location
where everyone wants to be
System Name Everchanging
Processor Core i7 4790K
Motherboard ASUS ROG Maximus VII Hero
Cooling Custom loop
Memory 4x4GB Corsair Dominator Platinum 2800MHz 11-14-14-35
Video Card(s) 2xEVGA GTX 970 SSC
Storage SSD Main, 7TB backups
Display(s) Samsung 40" 4k UHD
Case Corsair 900D
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster thingy
Power Supply Enermax Revolution 85+ 1050w
Mouse Steel Series Sensi
Keyboard Thermaltake eSports Posiden Z Cherry Blues
Software Windows 10 x64
#2
Pop open GPU-Z before opening Trixx, check the VDDC, then go and do the render test for verifying the interface to load the card, check VDDC again, will have your idle volts and load volts.

EDIT: Forgot my card has crazy bad droop. 1.15v is stock for me, but under load does 1.12-1.13v. So you might need to account for that. Or pull the BIOS with GPU-Z and pop it in RBE, should be able to tell you there too.
 

fullinfusion

Vanguard Beta Tester
Joined
Jan 11, 2008
Messages
9,650 (2.64/day)
Likes
3,434
Processor I7-7700K
Motherboard Asus Z270 Maximus IX Code
Cooling Custom water plus another cooler
Memory Corsair Vengeance LED Red 4x8GB 32GB 3200MHz kit
Video Card(s) 2 x MSI RX Vega 56 and a single MSI RX Vega 64 in test rig
Storage 960 EVO/960 Pro M.2 nvme 250/1TB, Samsumg 850 evo 256/ WD 1TB blue
Display(s) Nexius 32" freesync 2 HDR
Case Corsair Obsidion 650D/ cardboard box
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 1300W
Mouse Mionix Naos 7000
Keyboard G15
Software Windows 10 Home
#3
RBE don't work. And thats pulled from Gpu-z... it named itself Tahiti.rom

EDIT: I see there is no 7 series in the change log for RBE

 
Last edited:

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Staff member
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,581 (3.85/day)
Likes
10,949
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
#4
I haven't used Trixx really till now.

My 6990 didn't like trixx at all, and now I've upgraded to a rreference 7970 and Trixx works well.

But something is just bothering me.

When I fire trixx up I see the core voltage is showing 1.175v
But when I hit reset the voltage shows 1.168v

What is this card's voltage? 1.175 or 1.168v?

Trixx at start up

http://img.techpowerup.org/130316/1175volts.png

Trixx after hitting reset/apply

http://img.techpowerup.org/130316/1168volts.png

There is more than one voltage for these cards.

1.175 is usually correct..that's the VID. At the same time, there is also a hardware VID programmed, which can vary. Some cards get 1.1 V only, others get more, and flashing BIOS cannot change this. You can simply override it using software(which makes it no big deal).

When you run Trixx, that's your hardware VID voltage. Hitting RESET applies the VID in BIOS.

Try HWMonitor to see what gets applied in real-time. It can read both VID and VDDC on most cards(but not all, damn you ASUS!@!).:roll:
 

fullinfusion

Vanguard Beta Tester
Joined
Jan 11, 2008
Messages
9,650 (2.64/day)
Likes
3,434
Processor I7-7700K
Motherboard Asus Z270 Maximus IX Code
Cooling Custom water plus another cooler
Memory Corsair Vengeance LED Red 4x8GB 32GB 3200MHz kit
Video Card(s) 2 x MSI RX Vega 56 and a single MSI RX Vega 64 in test rig
Storage 960 EVO/960 Pro M.2 nvme 250/1TB, Samsumg 850 evo 256/ WD 1TB blue
Display(s) Nexius 32" freesync 2 HDR
Case Corsair Obsidion 650D/ cardboard box
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 1300W
Mouse Mionix Naos 7000
Keyboard G15
Software Windows 10 Home
#5
Thanks Dave, that worked! :respect:

 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,166 (3.43/day)
Likes
18,136
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#6
As Dave mentioned, GPU voltage is different for each single GPU.

Figuring out the value is quite difficult and all three AMD BIOS, AMD Driver and TRIXX have small rounding errors, so sometimes the values will not exactly match. They voltages should be close enough anyway to be considered equal.
 
Joined
Jul 18, 2007
Messages
2,425 (0.63/day)
Likes
645
System Name panda
Processor 6700k
Motherboard sabretooth s
Cooling raystorm block<black ice stealth 240 rad<ek dcc 18w 140 xres
Memory 32gb ripjaw v
Video Card(s) 290x gamer<ntzx g10<antec 920
Storage 950 pro 250gb boot 850 evo pr0n
Display(s) QX2710LED@110hz lg 27ud68p
Case 540 Air
Audio Device(s) nope
Power Supply 750w superflower
Mouse g502
Keyboard shine 3 with grey, black and red caps
Software win 10
Benchmark Scores http://hwbot.org/user/marsey99/