• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Potential upgrade to AMD Ryzen

Joined
Mar 21, 2009
Messages
5,588 (1.40/day)
Location
Northampton,UK
System Name Spiderman
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 3600X
Motherboard Asus Prime B350-Plus
Cooling Be Quiet! Shadow Rock Slim/2x140mmCorsair SP140 /1x140mmCorsair AF140mm/1x140mm Noctua Industrial!
Memory G.Skill TridentZ RGB 16GB 3000MHZ
Video Card(s) AMD Sapphire Nitro+ 5700XT 8GB
Storage SSD - OCZ ARC 100 256GB HDD + Sandisk Ultra 3D 500GB - Western Digital Green 1TB
Display(s) MSI Optix MAG27CQ 1440p 144Hz Monitor
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Titanium - Grey Window Version
Audio Device(s) onboard/Speakers: Logitech Z-4
Power Supply Seasonic Focus Gold+ 850W Modular
Mouse Corsair Harpoon
Keyboard Corsair Strafe Cherry MX Red Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Professional 64-bit
So i've been contemplating on upgrading to AMD ryzen 5 for awhile now..is it worth upgrading my system*see system specs*?
I mainly use it for watching anime,movies and occasionally play games but when i do play games i still like playing major titles and i also do android programming if necessary for work. Only reason i have contemplating on upgrading is because it fell behind on rise of tomb raider on max settings at 1080p which i don't know whether its down to bottleneck from the CPU or the GPU or both.
The setup i'm looking at is:
AMD Ryzen 5 1600 (Is X worth it if i don't overclock?)
MSI B350 tomahawk
2x(4GB)8GB Corsair DDR4 Vengeance LPX 3000mhz 15-17-17-35

I will be looking at upgrading the GPU too but i am waiting on what AMD vegas has to offer or get RX580,i will be sticking with 1080p resolution but i may look at getting 1440p 144hz monitor aswell in future.
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
16,666 (4.49/day)
For your listed uses, I dont see a point to go Ryzen except to save money... you arent using the cores. Id go intel and its higher clockspeeds since you dont overclock. I7 7700/z270 board/2×8gb ddr4 3000.
 
Joined
Mar 21, 2009
Messages
5,588 (1.40/day)
Location
Northampton,UK
System Name Spiderman
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 3600X
Motherboard Asus Prime B350-Plus
Cooling Be Quiet! Shadow Rock Slim/2x140mmCorsair SP140 /1x140mmCorsair AF140mm/1x140mm Noctua Industrial!
Memory G.Skill TridentZ RGB 16GB 3000MHZ
Video Card(s) AMD Sapphire Nitro+ 5700XT 8GB
Storage SSD - OCZ ARC 100 256GB HDD + Sandisk Ultra 3D 500GB - Western Digital Green 1TB
Display(s) MSI Optix MAG27CQ 1440p 144Hz Monitor
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Titanium - Grey Window Version
Audio Device(s) onboard/Speakers: Logitech Z-4
Power Supply Seasonic Focus Gold+ 850W Modular
Mouse Corsair Harpoon
Keyboard Corsair Strafe Cherry MX Red Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Professional 64-bit
For your listed uses, I dont see a point to go Ryzen except to save money... you arent using the cores. Id go intel and its higher clockspeeds since you dont overclock. I7 7700/z270 board/2×8gb ddr4 3000.
£100 difference in price when putting a i7 7700 setup in comparison to ryzen which yeah i am only thinking of it to save money which is why i didn't look at a non k i7 which is why i like the appeal of the Ryzen 1600. i5 kabylake CPU doesn't seem like a big difference in clockspeed in comparison to my current i5.
What about Ryzen 5 1500X in comparison to my current CPU and latest Intel chips?
 
Joined
Apr 30, 2008
Messages
4,425 (1.02/day)
Location
Multidimensional
System Name Jill-Sandwich
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3700X 8 Core 16 thread @ Stock / PBO On 3.6Ghz - 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 I Aorus Pro Wifi
Cooling AMD Wraith Prism Cooler / 4x 120mm InWin Polaris RGB fans
Memory 32GB Corsair Vengeance LP DDR4 3200Mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX 5700 XT 8GB Nitro+ @ 2Ghz
Storage 512GB Adata XPG SX8200 Pro M.2 NVMe / 2TB Samsung 2.5in HDD
Display(s) LG 4K Ultra HD Smart 50inch TV
Case InWin A1 Plus Mini ITX Case
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD Audio / HDMI Audio Via GPU
Power Supply InWin 650W Gold Rated PSU + Qi Charger
Mouse CoolerMaster Masterkeys Lite L RGB Mem-Chanical Combo
Keyboard CoolerMaster Masterkeys Lite L RGB Mem-Chanical Combo
Software Windows 10 Home 64bit
Benchmark Scores Don't do em anymore. :(
Looks like a great build, go with the 1600 & just overclock it to 4Ghz IMO, your current system is still pretty decent though :)
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
16,666 (4.49/day)
I dont see it as a big upgrade any way it is sliced...IPC is about the same, you just add more threads. Whereas if you drop the extra hundo, you get more threads, much faster clocks, and better IPC.

If you go ryzen get the rastest clocks you can. :)
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
6,527 (1.31/day)
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, 2 x Fractal Design 140mm fans, stock CPU HSF
Memory 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Microsoft Wireless 5000
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
For your listed uses, I dont see a point to go Ryzen except to save money...
Except there is no money saved. Switching to AMD from Intel requires a new motherboard. And he can not use his old DDR3 RAM either. And a new motherboard is the same as a new computer so most likely, a new Windows license is required too, to be legal.

So to "upgrade" to a Ryzen from that Intel i5 would cost a lot more than simply upgrading to a better Intel processor. You could probably bump up your RAM to 16GB and still spend less than you would with a new CPU, all new RAM, and new motherboard (and maybe new OS license too).
 
Joined
Jan 2, 2012
Messages
1,055 (0.35/day)
Location
Indonesia
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3700X
Motherboard ASUS STRIX X470-F
Cooling NOCTUA NH-U12A
Memory G.Skill FlareX 32 GB (4 x 8 GB) DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) PALIT RTX 2080 Super GRP
Storage 512 GB Samsung 850 Pro | 500GB Crucial MX500 SATA M.2 | 2 x 4 TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 27MB85Z
Case Fractal Design Define R5 Black
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 650W
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard KIRA EXS
Software Windows 10 1909 x64 + Ubuntu 19.10
So i've been contemplating on upgrading to AMD ryzen 5 for awhile now..is it worth upgrading my system*see system specs*?
I mainly use it for watching anime,movies and occasionally play games but when i do play games i still like playing major titles and i also do android programming if necessary for work. Only reason i have contemplating on upgrading is because it fell behind on rise of tomb raider on max settings at 1080p which i don't know whether its down to bottleneck from the CPU or the GPU or both.
The setup i'm looking at is:
AMD Ryzen 5 1600 (Is X worth it if i don't overclock?)
MSI B350 tomahawk
2x(4GB)8GB Corsair DDR4 Vengeance LPX 3000mhz 15-17-17-35

I will be looking at upgrading the GPU too but i am waiting on what AMD vegas has to offer or get RX580,i will be sticking with 1080p resolution but i may look at getting 1440p 144hz monitor aswell in future.
ROTR with GTX 970 are limited by VRAM amount, on max setting it uses more than 3.5 GB so it would be problematic for GTX 970.

If I were you and if your main reason to upgrade is because the need to keep up with new/AAA/major games, I'll grab a GTX 1070 (or maybe wait for Vega) and 16 GB of RAM.
 

peche

Thermaltake fanboy
Joined
Nov 7, 2014
Messages
6,703 (3.46/day)
Location
San Jose, Costa Rica
System Name Athenna
Processor intel i7 3770 *Dellided*
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3 Rev. 1.1
Cooling Thermaltake Water 3.0 Pro + Tt Riing12 x2 / Tt ThunderBlade / Gelid Slim 120UV fans
Memory 16GB DRR3 Kingoston with Custom Tt spreaders + HyperX Fan
Video Card(s) GeForce GTX 980 4GB Nvidia Sample
Storage Crucial M4 SSD 64GB's / Seagate Barracuda 2TB / Seagate Barracuda 320GB's
Display(s) 22" LG FLATRON 1920 x 1280p
Case Thermaltake Commander G42 Window
Audio Device(s) On-board Dolby 5.1+ Kingston HyperX Cloud 1
Power Supply Themaltake TR2 700W 80plus bronce & APC Pro backup 1000Va
Mouse Tt eSports Level 10M Rev 1.0 Diamond Black & Tt Conkor "L" mouse pad
Keyboard Tt eSports KNUCKER
Software windows 10x64Pro
Benchmark Scores well I've fried a 775' P4 12 years ago, that counts?
So to "upgrade" to a Ryzen from that Intel i5 would cost a lot more than simply upgrading to a better Intel processor. You could probably bump up your RAM to 16GB and still spend less than you would with a new CPU, all new RAM, and new motherboard (and maybe new OS license too
agreed, its better to swap that i5 for a i7 from the same generation, add mopar ram, 8GB moar, so OP will have 16Gb ram... Video card still decent for gaming and most tasks such as movies, pics, videos and some programming,


Regards,
 
Joined
Mar 21, 2009
Messages
5,588 (1.40/day)
Location
Northampton,UK
System Name Spiderman
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 3600X
Motherboard Asus Prime B350-Plus
Cooling Be Quiet! Shadow Rock Slim/2x140mmCorsair SP140 /1x140mmCorsair AF140mm/1x140mm Noctua Industrial!
Memory G.Skill TridentZ RGB 16GB 3000MHZ
Video Card(s) AMD Sapphire Nitro+ 5700XT 8GB
Storage SSD - OCZ ARC 100 256GB HDD + Sandisk Ultra 3D 500GB - Western Digital Green 1TB
Display(s) MSI Optix MAG27CQ 1440p 144Hz Monitor
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Titanium - Grey Window Version
Audio Device(s) onboard/Speakers: Logitech Z-4
Power Supply Seasonic Focus Gold+ 850W Modular
Mouse Corsair Harpoon
Keyboard Corsair Strafe Cherry MX Red Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Professional 64-bit
Would i not be able to re-use my windows licence? The licence was a Windows 7 key which my older brother bought for his Vista laptop and upgraded to 7 but the laptop died so he passed the licence for me to use on my previous build which had an i3+GTX460 and now been passed onto my existing build.

I did consider looking at i7 haswell chip,more ram and potentially Vega or 1070 but id prefer a newer platform. Didn't realise Rise of Tomb raider used that much V-ram.
 

peche

Thermaltake fanboy
Joined
Nov 7, 2014
Messages
6,703 (3.46/day)
Location
San Jose, Costa Rica
System Name Athenna
Processor intel i7 3770 *Dellided*
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3 Rev. 1.1
Cooling Thermaltake Water 3.0 Pro + Tt Riing12 x2 / Tt ThunderBlade / Gelid Slim 120UV fans
Memory 16GB DRR3 Kingoston with Custom Tt spreaders + HyperX Fan
Video Card(s) GeForce GTX 980 4GB Nvidia Sample
Storage Crucial M4 SSD 64GB's / Seagate Barracuda 2TB / Seagate Barracuda 320GB's
Display(s) 22" LG FLATRON 1920 x 1280p
Case Thermaltake Commander G42 Window
Audio Device(s) On-board Dolby 5.1+ Kingston HyperX Cloud 1
Power Supply Themaltake TR2 700W 80plus bronce & APC Pro backup 1000Va
Mouse Tt eSports Level 10M Rev 1.0 Diamond Black & Tt Conkor "L" mouse pad
Keyboard Tt eSports KNUCKER
Software windows 10x64Pro
Benchmark Scores well I've fried a 775' P4 12 years ago, that counts?
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
16,666 (4.49/day)
Except there is no money saved. Switching to AMD from Intel requires a new motherboard. And he can not use his old DDR3 RAM either. And a new motherboard is the same as a new computer so most likely, a new Windows license is required too, to be legal.

So to "upgrade" to a Ryzen from that Intel i5 would cost a lot more than simply upgrading to a better Intel processor. You could probably bump up your RAM to 16GB and still spend less than you would with a new CPU, all new RAM, and new motherboard (and maybe new OS license too).
he would need a new board with 7700 (what i suggested) as well ;). The only difference is the price of the cpu since he needs a mobo and ddr4. Now YOUR suggestion going with haswell i7, you are correct, but not with what i said. ;)

Or...did i miss something?
 
Joined
Mar 21, 2009
Messages
5,588 (1.40/day)
Location
Northampton,UK
System Name Spiderman
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 3600X
Motherboard Asus Prime B350-Plus
Cooling Be Quiet! Shadow Rock Slim/2x140mmCorsair SP140 /1x140mmCorsair AF140mm/1x140mm Noctua Industrial!
Memory G.Skill TridentZ RGB 16GB 3000MHZ
Video Card(s) AMD Sapphire Nitro+ 5700XT 8GB
Storage SSD - OCZ ARC 100 256GB HDD + Sandisk Ultra 3D 500GB - Western Digital Green 1TB
Display(s) MSI Optix MAG27CQ 1440p 144Hz Monitor
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Titanium - Grey Window Version
Audio Device(s) onboard/Speakers: Logitech Z-4
Power Supply Seasonic Focus Gold+ 850W Modular
Mouse Corsair Harpoon
Keyboard Corsair Strafe Cherry MX Red Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Professional 64-bit
reasons ?
Majority of times the used market for CPUs generally doesn't justify the price difference to a newer platform. Used 4790k around £220-260 while a brand new 7700k is £329.
 

peche

Thermaltake fanboy
Joined
Nov 7, 2014
Messages
6,703 (3.46/day)
Location
San Jose, Costa Rica
System Name Athenna
Processor intel i7 3770 *Dellided*
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3 Rev. 1.1
Cooling Thermaltake Water 3.0 Pro + Tt Riing12 x2 / Tt ThunderBlade / Gelid Slim 120UV fans
Memory 16GB DRR3 Kingoston with Custom Tt spreaders + HyperX Fan
Video Card(s) GeForce GTX 980 4GB Nvidia Sample
Storage Crucial M4 SSD 64GB's / Seagate Barracuda 2TB / Seagate Barracuda 320GB's
Display(s) 22" LG FLATRON 1920 x 1280p
Case Thermaltake Commander G42 Window
Audio Device(s) On-board Dolby 5.1+ Kingston HyperX Cloud 1
Power Supply Themaltake TR2 700W 80plus bronce & APC Pro backup 1000Va
Mouse Tt eSports Level 10M Rev 1.0 Diamond Black & Tt Conkor "L" mouse pad
Keyboard Tt eSports KNUCKER
Software windows 10x64Pro
Benchmark Scores well I've fried a 775' P4 12 years ago, that counts?
Majority of times the used market for CPUs generally doesn't justify the price difference to a newer platform. Used 4790k around £220-260 while a brand new 7700k is £329.
4790K still an asskicking processor, 4770K might have a lower price, but what about locked or non "K" ones?

Regards,
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
6,527 (1.31/day)
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, 2 x Fractal Design 140mm fans, stock CPU HSF
Memory 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Microsoft Wireless 5000
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
Would i not be able to re-use my windows licence? The licence was a Windows 7 key which my older brother bought for his Vista laptop and upgraded to 7 but the laptop died so he passed the licence for me to use on my previous build which had an i3+GTX460 and now been passed onto my existing build.
Actually, it is most likely it would be technically illegal to re-use that license on several points.

1. Upgrades are tied to the qualifying license. So if your brother bought a W7 "Upgrade" license (which is likely since retail licenses are very expensive) then that W7 license is tied to the original Vista license. Assuming that Vista was preinstalled on the notebook at the factory, that Vista license is most likely an OEM license so it is inextricably tied to the "original equipment" it came with. That is, it goes with the original notebook and cannot legally be transferred to another computer under any circumstance.

2. If he bought a W7 OEM/System Builders license, then it too is tied to the original equipment it was first installed on, and that cannot legally be transferred to a new computer under any circumstance.

3. Only if he purchased an expensive, full "retail" Windows 7 license can it be transferred to a new computer, as long as all previous installations are removed.

4. BUT all that is talking about Windows 7. Your system specs say W10 Pro 64-bit. If you obtained that W10 as part of Microsoft's free upgrade program from W7, that "upgrade" is tied to this current computer. You cannot legally transfer the W10 "upgrade" to a new computer. You have to buy a new Windows 10 license. The good news from there is that from then on, that new W10 license is transferable in the future.

Now YOUR suggestion going with haswell i7...

Or...did i miss something?
"MY" suggestion? No where did I say haswell. I just said, which you quoted, "a better Intel processor". Regardless, my point is, upgrading to "a better Intel processor" (and keeping his current board, RAM and OS) is cheaper than buying a new AMD CPU as that will also require buying a new motherboard and all new RAM - and probably a new OS license too.
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
16,666 (4.49/day)
It wasn't you... let's not split hairs though...wasn't really the point there...........................

My point is, and always was, that if he is paying for a new mobo/cpu/ram for Ryzen, to spend the extra hundo on 7700(kabylake) system for his uses. If he really wants to go cheap, drop in an i7 Haswell as, perhaps you suggested. :)
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
6,527 (1.31/day)
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, 2 x Fractal Design 140mm fans, stock CPU HSF
Memory 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Microsoft Wireless 5000
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
It wasn't you...
Ah! Well, that was not apparent since you quoted me then replied. Thanks for clearing that up.

And yeah, "IF" going for a whole new platform (CPU, RAM, and motherboard), switching to AMD can save some money.
 

peche

Thermaltake fanboy
Joined
Nov 7, 2014
Messages
6,703 (3.46/day)
Location
San Jose, Costa Rica
System Name Athenna
Processor intel i7 3770 *Dellided*
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3 Rev. 1.1
Cooling Thermaltake Water 3.0 Pro + Tt Riing12 x2 / Tt ThunderBlade / Gelid Slim 120UV fans
Memory 16GB DRR3 Kingoston with Custom Tt spreaders + HyperX Fan
Video Card(s) GeForce GTX 980 4GB Nvidia Sample
Storage Crucial M4 SSD 64GB's / Seagate Barracuda 2TB / Seagate Barracuda 320GB's
Display(s) 22" LG FLATRON 1920 x 1280p
Case Thermaltake Commander G42 Window
Audio Device(s) On-board Dolby 5.1+ Kingston HyperX Cloud 1
Power Supply Themaltake TR2 700W 80plus bronce & APC Pro backup 1000Va
Mouse Tt eSports Level 10M Rev 1.0 Diamond Black & Tt Conkor "L" mouse pad
Keyboard Tt eSports KNUCKER
Software windows 10x64Pro
Benchmark Scores well I've fried a 775' P4 12 years ago, that counts?
Joined
Sep 23, 2008
Messages
269 (0.06/day)
Location
Richmond,VA
System Name FX-8350
Processor FX8350 @ 4.6ghz
Motherboard MSI 990FX-GD80 v2
Cooling Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 16gb G.Skill Ripjaws 1866 8-9-9-24
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 7950 OC 3GB
Storage Samsung 512GB 850 Pro SSD ; 3 x 1TB Seagate Drives Standalone
Display(s) Twin Dell E2215H
Case Rosewill Blackhawk Ultra
Power Supply Seasonic 850X Full Modular
Mouse Logitec MK520
Keyboard Logitec MK520
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
Would i not be able to re-use my windows licence? The licence was a Windows 7 key which my older brother bought for his Vista laptop and upgraded to 7 but the laptop died so he passed the licence for me to use on my previous build which had an i3+GTX460 and now been passed onto my existing build.

I did consider looking at i7 haswell chip,more ram and potentially Vega or 1070 but id prefer a newer platform. Didn't realise Rise of Tomb raider used that much V-ram.
Yes, you can use your old license. Windows will most likely come up with an activation failure after you get everything built. Call the 1-800 number, they will ask for the verification code, then they'll ask how many PCs have been installed with this copy of windows, ALWAYS say 1 and then they will give you a code to type in, and everything will be activated. I've done this countless times.
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
6,527 (1.31/day)
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, 2 x Fractal Design 140mm fans, stock CPU HSF
Memory 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Microsoft Wireless 5000
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
Yes, you can use your old license.
Please note I continuously said "legally". Being able to technically do something and legally do something are two entirely different things. You can technically run a Stop sign on a deserted road late at night and get away with it. That still does not make it legal.

Read your EULAs. They explain it all. Bottom line, Windows 10 licenses that were obtained free through Microsoft's upgrade from W7/W8.1 program cannot be "legally" transferred to a new computer.

Knowingly violating that EULA - which you agreed to abide by when you decided to keep using that license - is, by the way, fraud - a criminal offense. Can you get away with it? Probably. But it still does not make it right. So let your conscience be your guide and not what someone says you can get away with if you do this or say that.
 
Joined
Sep 23, 2008
Messages
269 (0.06/day)
Location
Richmond,VA
System Name FX-8350
Processor FX8350 @ 4.6ghz
Motherboard MSI 990FX-GD80 v2
Cooling Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 16gb G.Skill Ripjaws 1866 8-9-9-24
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 7950 OC 3GB
Storage Samsung 512GB 850 Pro SSD ; 3 x 1TB Seagate Drives Standalone
Display(s) Twin Dell E2215H
Case Rosewill Blackhawk Ultra
Power Supply Seasonic 850X Full Modular
Mouse Logitec MK520
Keyboard Logitec MK520
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
Please note I continuously said "legally". Being able to technically do something and legally do something are two entirely different things. You can technically run a Stop sign on a deserted road late at night and get away with it. That still does not make it legal.

Read your EULAs. They explain it all. Bottom line, Windows 10 licenses that were obtained free through Microsoft's upgrade from W7/W8.1 program cannot be "legally" transferred to a new computer.

Knowingly violating that EULA - which you agreed to abide by when you decided to keep using that license - is, by the way, fraud - a criminal offense. Can you get away with it? Probably. But it still does not make it right. So let your conscience be your guide and not what someone says you can get away with if you do this or say that.
Seeing as its coming from Microsoft, I wouldn't consider it illegal. I've done this countless time, so what, MS is gonna sue me because they gave me access? Get real...
 
Joined
Mar 21, 2009
Messages
5,588 (1.40/day)
Location
Northampton,UK
System Name Spiderman
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 3600X
Motherboard Asus Prime B350-Plus
Cooling Be Quiet! Shadow Rock Slim/2x140mmCorsair SP140 /1x140mmCorsair AF140mm/1x140mm Noctua Industrial!
Memory G.Skill TridentZ RGB 16GB 3000MHZ
Video Card(s) AMD Sapphire Nitro+ 5700XT 8GB
Storage SSD - OCZ ARC 100 256GB HDD + Sandisk Ultra 3D 500GB - Western Digital Green 1TB
Display(s) MSI Optix MAG27CQ 1440p 144Hz Monitor
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Titanium - Grey Window Version
Audio Device(s) onboard/Speakers: Logitech Z-4
Power Supply Seasonic Focus Gold+ 850W Modular
Mouse Corsair Harpoon
Keyboard Corsair Strafe Cherry MX Red Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Professional 64-bit
4790K still an asskicking processor, 4770K might have a lower price, but what about locked or non "K" ones?

Regards,
The 4770 non K to me on paper looks like it perform the same as my i5 4590 with only difference the 4 extra threads.
The 4770k seems reasonably priced but is the performance noticeable?
Actually, it is most likely it would be technically illegal to re-use that license on several points.

1. Upgrades are tied to the qualifying license. So if your brother bought a W7 "Upgrade" license (which is likely since retail licenses are very expensive) then that W7 license is tied to the original Vista license. Assuming that Vista was preinstalled on the notebook at the factory, that Vista license is most likely an OEM license so it is inextricably tied to the "original equipment" it came with. That is, it goes with the original notebook and cannot legally be transferred to another computer under any circumstance.

2. If he bought a W7 OEM/System Builders license, then it too is tied to the original equipment it was first installed on, and that cannot legally be transferred to a new computer under any circumstance.

3. Only if he purchased an expensive, full "retail" Windows 7 license can it be transferred to a new computer, as long as all previous installations are removed.

4. BUT all that is talking about Windows 7. Your system specs say W10 Pro 64-bit. If you obtained that W10 as part of Microsoft's free upgrade program from W7, that "upgrade" is tied to this current computer. You cannot legally transfer the W10 "upgrade" to a new computer. You have to buy a new Windows 10 license. The good news from there is that from then on, that new W10 license is transferable in the future.

"MY" suggestion? No where did I say haswell. I just said, which you quoted, "a better Intel processor". Regardless, my point is, upgrading to "a better Intel processor" (and keeping his current board, RAM and OS) is cheaper than buying a new AMD CPU as that will also require buying a new motherboard and all new RAM - and probably a new OS license too.
I see makes a lot sense,i'm not sure which version he bought though as it has been awhile,i had his W7 for few months before i got the free upgrade to W10.

So what if i was to stay on my current specs what would be better value with about £400 to play with since thats how much a GTX1070 roughly cost at this moment:
Upgrade 1:
Extra 4GB ram to boost to 16GB
AMD Radeon RX 580 8GB*Not available yet still*
240GB SSD for games
Upgrade 2:
GTX1070
Or wait for AMD Vega before making decision.
 
Joined
Nov 16, 2006
Messages
2,717 (0.56/day)
Location
Blighty
System Name Skylake / Sandybridge
Processor i7 6700k@4.8 / i5 2500k@4.6
Motherboard Asus Maximus VIII Ranger / Asrock z68 Extreme4 g3
Cooling EK Supremacy MX, CoolGate 240,EK D5pwm Revo Res/ EK Supreme, swiftech 240 rad, D5 non vario
Memory 16gb G.Skill Trident Z 16gb cl16 / 16gb Corsair Vengeance Pro 2400@2133cl9
Video Card(s) Asus Strix 1070 / Powercolor R9 390 PCS+
Storage Samsung SM961 256gb,BX100 250gb ,kc400 512gb/ 120gb Corsair Force GT, HyperX Savage 240gb,
Display(s) Panasonic 50dx700 tv + Dell u2515 / Dell u2312
Case TTake Suppressor F51/F31
Power Supply EVGA 1000 P2 / EVGA 650 G2
Mouse G900 / G700s
Keyboard Roccat Suora FX Brown / Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Win 10 / Win 10
Joined
Jul 10, 2015
Messages
808 (0.48/day)
Location
Romania
System Name Coffee Lake | RYZEN
Processor i9 9900k | R5 2600
Motherboard MSI Z390 Gaming Pro Carbon | GA-AB350M-DS3H V2
Cooling Hyper 212 EVO | Gamamaxx 300
Memory CORSAIR LPX 16GB Duall DDR4 3000 CL15 | CORSAIR LPX 8GB DDR4 3000 CL15
Video Card(s) GTX 1080 Ti GAMING X | VEGA 64
Storage Samsung 970 Evo Plus M2 1TB | Samsung 970 Evo Plus M2 500GB
Display(s) Dell S2719DGF 2K 155Hz | AOC AG241QX 2k 144Hz
Case NZXT S340 | DeepCool Matrexx 30
Audio Device(s) ALC 1220 | ALC 892
Power Supply Corsair RM650x GOLD | EVGA GQ 650w GOLD
Mouse Genesis Krypton 770 | Genesis Krypton 770
Keyboard Logitech G910 | Logitech G910
Software W10 Pro x64 | W10 Pro x64
I'd rather change gpu and cpu to i7 not entire socket.
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,997 (8.65/day)
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero X WiFi
Cooling Water
Memory 32GB G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) RX 5700 XT
Storage SSD's
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Lian Li PC 011 Dynamic
Audio Device(s) Yamaha AG03
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse PCMR Model O
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Tournament Ed.
Software Windows 10 Enterprise
I'm waiting to see how the 7800x, 7820x, Threadripper and 6c Coffee Lake fare before upgrading.
 
Top