• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Power and reset switches question

Joined
Jan 28, 2006
Messages
95 (0.02/day)
Likes
3
Location
Slovakia, KE
Processor AMD Athlon64 3200+ (2500MHz 1.4V)
Motherboard ASUS A8N-E rev. 2.00
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer64 Pro, , Thermalright hr-05 SLI
Memory 2x1024MB (PQI+GoodRAM) 418MHz
Video Card(s) ASUS EAH3650 256MB GDDR3 725/1600
Storage Seagate 120GB SATA ST3120827AS
Display(s) 19" Samsung 940BW
Case Euroce ML5410
Audio Device(s) integrated in nForce4Ultra
Power Supply SeaSonic S-12 380W
#1
Hello guys,

I was wondering what would my case be like when I buy new power and reset switches

I would like to use something like this for reset switch
(covered)

and something like this for power switch
(uncovered and with the same red colour as the reset one:D )

Problem is that I have no clue what parameters should switches have :(
What is voaltage and ampere there??
Board is Asus A8N-E (I wrote to asus web support but they told me they didn´t have that kind of info)
What parameters would you recommand
I can´t measure it .(
thanks for your great help
 
Last edited:

tigger

I'm the only one
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
10,476 (2.44/day)
Likes
1,673
System Name Black to the Core MKIV
Processor Intel I7 6700k
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming socket 1151
Cooling NZXT Kraken X61 280mm radiator
Memory 2x8gb Corsair vengeance LPX 2400 DDR4
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon R9 290 4gb ddr5
Storage Patriot Blast 120gb ssd Boot and WD10EADX-22TDHB0 1TB Data
Display(s) Dell 2408WFP 24" 1920x1200
Case Nzxt IS 340
Audio Device(s) Asus xonar dsx pci-e
Power Supply Corsair CX750
Mouse Logitech G502
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#2
the power you are switching from the power and reset switches is so low i dont think it matters.

just find the switches you like and they should work fine.

you probably only want spst (single pole single throw) switches tho'.
 
Joined
Jan 28, 2006
Messages
95 (0.02/day)
Likes
3
Location
Slovakia, KE
Processor AMD Athlon64 3200+ (2500MHz 1.4V)
Motherboard ASUS A8N-E rev. 2.00
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer64 Pro, , Thermalright hr-05 SLI
Memory 2x1024MB (PQI+GoodRAM) 418MHz
Video Card(s) ASUS EAH3650 256MB GDDR3 725/1600
Storage Seagate 120GB SATA ST3120827AS
Display(s) 19" Samsung 940BW
Case Euroce ML5410
Audio Device(s) integrated in nForce4Ultra
Power Supply SeaSonic S-12 380W
#3
so something like 15V and 1A will do the job?
is there any chance that it will blow up?
thanks for answers
 

tigger

I'm the only one
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
10,476 (2.44/day)
Likes
1,673
System Name Black to the Core MKIV
Processor Intel I7 6700k
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming socket 1151
Cooling NZXT Kraken X61 280mm radiator
Memory 2x8gb Corsair vengeance LPX 2400 DDR4
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon R9 290 4gb ddr5
Storage Patriot Blast 120gb ssd Boot and WD10EADX-22TDHB0 1TB Data
Display(s) Dell 2408WFP 24" 1920x1200
Case Nzxt IS 340
Audio Device(s) Asus xonar dsx pci-e
Power Supply Corsair CX750
Mouse Logitech G502
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#4
that should be fine.
 

ATIonion

New Member
Joined
Oct 31, 2006
Messages
1,015 (0.25/day)
Likes
0
#5
but make sure that you use a MOMENTARY switch.....not sure what would happen if you use a switch that doesnt stop making a connection for reset or power....:rockout:
 
Joined
Jan 28, 2006
Messages
95 (0.02/day)
Likes
3
Location
Slovakia, KE
Processor AMD Athlon64 3200+ (2500MHz 1.4V)
Motherboard ASUS A8N-E rev. 2.00
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer64 Pro, , Thermalright hr-05 SLI
Memory 2x1024MB (PQI+GoodRAM) 418MHz
Video Card(s) ASUS EAH3650 256MB GDDR3 725/1600
Storage Seagate 120GB SATA ST3120827AS
Display(s) 19" Samsung 940BW
Case Euroce ML5410
Audio Device(s) integrated in nForce4Ultra
Power Supply SeaSonic S-12 380W
#6
yes sure
it would start and after 3-5 seconds shut down
then start and so on:D
thanks so there is less than 1 ampere for sure??