• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Power Button

Ammonite

New Member
Joined
Jan 24, 2012
Messages
50 (0.02/day)
Likes
7
Location
Christchurch, NZ
#1
Power Button [Solved]

Hello,

I'm designing my own case and I was wondering about power buttons. I'm not fussed about making my own, I'd be quite happy with a button I could buy from somewhere else and just stick in a hole in the case.

Is there any store online that sells power buttons? Preferably one with a wire so I can put it in the front of the case and attach it to the motherboard?

Thanks in advance.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 16, 2010
Messages
2,884 (1.03/day)
Likes
881
Location
Portugal
System Name _JP_'s Daily Driver
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming Plus
Cooling Noctua NH-C12P SE14 + NM-AM4 + NF-P14r
Memory 2x 8GB G.Skill Trident Z (F4-3200C16D-16GTZB)(Hynix)
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 280X Gaming
Storage HyperX Savage 240GB + KC300 240GB + 750EVO 500GB
Display(s) LG Flatron W2361V 23'' FHD
Case NOX Blaze
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DX
Power Supply Corsair TX650M
Mouse Microsoft Comfort Mouse 4500
Keyboard Logitech Media Keyboard (PS/2)
Software Windows 10 x86-64 (1703)
#2
Lamptron makes/sells power/reset buttons. I don't know if you can find then near you, but if those are not available, I'm sure the electronics store has plenty to choose from.
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2010
Messages
7,641 (2.71/day)
Likes
1,983
Location
Jakarta, Indonesia
System Name micropage7
Processor Intel G4400
Motherboard MSI B150M Bazooka D3
Cooling Stock ( Lapped )
Memory 16 Gb Team Xtreem DDR3
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX460
Storage Seagate 1 TB, 5oo Gb and SSD A-Data 128 Gb
Display(s) LG 19 inch LCD Wide Screen
Case HP dx6120 MT
Audio Device(s) Stock
Power Supply Be Quiet 600 Watt
Software Windows 7 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Classified
#4
or you can use button for door bell
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,031 (3.47/day)
Likes
6,633
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, 1 X 4 Tb HGST, 1 x 6Tb Toshiba
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#5
E bay for about $2
 
Joined
Oct 10, 2011
Messages
208 (0.09/day)
Likes
35
Location
Kilmarnock Scotland
System Name White Phantom
Processor i5 2500K @ 4.4ghz = 1.360-1.368 vcore
Motherboard asrock p67 pro (not pro3)
Cooling prolimatech megahalem with 2x nocuta in push pull (thanks to the 54thvoid) ;) , stock phantom fans
Memory 8gb pny optima ddr3 1333mhz cas 9... oc'd to 1600mhz 1.56v's
Video Card(s) asus 560ti 1gb TOP bf3 edition (stock 900mhz oc)
Storage primary seagate 7200rpm 80 gig, secondary maxtor 250gig ,external maxtor 750 gig
Display(s) samsung syncmaster p2450 via DVI @1080p 60hz
Case White and blue NZXT Phantom (carbon fibred sides/door)
Audio Device(s) onboard , philips AMBX pro speakers 80watts rms
Power Supply corsair TX 650 watt
Software windows 7 ultimate 64bit service pack 1 64bit
Benchmark Scores world record for most amount of times machine has pissed me off ....
#6

Ammonite

New Member
Joined
Jan 24, 2012
Messages
50 (0.02/day)
Likes
7
Location
Christchurch, NZ
#7
Thanks for the advice so far. I find a lot of these buttons will require me to do a bit of wiring myself. Isn't there something more complete that just needs to be plugged in? Quite hard to find since most cases have buttons in them I guess. :/

Looks like its designed for no case and direct clipping onto the motherboard. I need something more distant from the board itself.
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,031 (3.47/day)
Likes
6,633
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, 1 X 4 Tb HGST, 1 x 6Tb Toshiba
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi

Ammonite

New Member
Joined
Jan 24, 2012
Messages
50 (0.02/day)
Likes
7
Location
Christchurch, NZ
#9
I'd like to try and avoid eBay, I'm not a fan to say the least. But thanks for the links, I'll see if I can find a local solution with a similar product.
 
Joined
Nov 22, 2007
Messages
1,396 (0.38/day)
Likes
184
Location
Hyderabad,India
Processor AMD x2 4000+
Motherboard Jetway M2A692 GDG
Memory 1 Gb transcend Ram DDR2 667
Video Card(s) IGP ATI x1200
Storage Hitachi 160 Gb
Display(s) LG 17" CRT Flatron E700S
Case Zebronics Sivaji
Power Supply 450W
#10
Why are you so worried about wiring? it's just two wires.

Edit- Get a two pin connector


Touch two wires loose ends for a second and release whenever you want to switch on the system.
 

Ammonite

New Member
Joined
Jan 24, 2012
Messages
50 (0.02/day)
Likes
7
Location
Christchurch, NZ
#11
When I say I'm 'building a case' it means I need a retail-quality solution. Opening it and touching two wires is useless. And I'm not sure how I could make a button myself.
 
Joined
Nov 22, 2007
Messages
1,396 (0.38/day)
Likes
184
Location
Hyderabad,India
Processor AMD x2 4000+
Motherboard Jetway M2A692 GDG
Memory 1 Gb transcend Ram DDR2 667
Video Card(s) IGP ATI x1200
Storage Hitachi 160 Gb
Display(s) LG 17" CRT Flatron E700S
Case Zebronics Sivaji
Power Supply 450W
#12
Buy a push to on switch.



you don't want a toggle switch. The one you want one should be a spring type switch. as you can see in the pic the other end has two terminals. join those two wires to this.
 

Ammonite

New Member
Joined
Jan 24, 2012
Messages
50 (0.02/day)
Likes
7
Location
Christchurch, NZ
#13
Thank you, sounds good.

I will have a go with this. Will I need any special tools (like to weld?) or is there a simpler way like just wrapping the metal around it.
 
Joined
Nov 22, 2007
Messages
1,396 (0.38/day)
Likes
184
Location
Hyderabad,India
Processor AMD x2 4000+
Motherboard Jetway M2A692 GDG
Memory 1 Gb transcend Ram DDR2 667
Video Card(s) IGP ATI x1200
Storage Hitachi 160 Gb
Display(s) LG 17" CRT Flatron E700S
Case Zebronics Sivaji
Power Supply 450W
#14
You have a soldering iron? If not you can wind it on around the terminals and press it hard with a plier. If you don't have a plier use electrical tape.
 

Ammonite

New Member
Joined
Jan 24, 2012
Messages
50 (0.02/day)
Likes
7
Location
Christchurch, NZ
#15
Understood. Thanks again, I'll be sure to update you with my progress!

EDIT: Hey just a question, what is the name of that wire? I've tried simply searching "two pin connector" but its not helping much.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 22, 2007
Messages
1,396 (0.38/day)
Likes
184
Location
Hyderabad,India
Processor AMD x2 4000+
Motherboard Jetway M2A692 GDG
Memory 1 Gb transcend Ram DDR2 667
Video Card(s) IGP ATI x1200
Storage Hitachi 160 Gb
Display(s) LG 17" CRT Flatron E700S
Case Zebronics Sivaji
Power Supply 450W
#19
It's essentially the same thing.
 

Ammonite

New Member
Joined
Jan 24, 2012
Messages
50 (0.02/day)
Likes
7
Location
Christchurch, NZ
#20
It's essentially the same thing.
But a cheaper plugin-and-play option. Finding an all-in-one solution was something I wanted, though I thank you for your help and if I ever have the patience to make a standalone button myself I'll be sure to check back here.
 

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (5.01/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
Joined
Jan 12, 2012
Messages
49 (0.02/day)
Likes
32
System Name Angel'S RGB Glow
Processor Intel I5 3570K
Motherboard ASRock Extreme 4
Cooling ASUS Triton II
Memory 16 GB Gskill
Video Card(s) GeForce GTX660 Ti
Storage WD 1TB WD 2TB
Display(s) Samsung 32 HDTV
Case Thermaltake Armor VA8000BWS
Power Supply Silencer 850W
Mouse Razer Diamondback RGB
Keyboard Saitek Eclipse II
Software Win 7 Ultimate 64
#22
why not just find an old atx case someone is throwing out and just get the switch there. check local mom and pop computer store for the wire and switch
 
Joined
Jun 12, 2007
Messages
4,815 (1.25/day)
Likes
639
Location
Wangas, New Zealand
System Name Darth Obsidious
Processor Intel i5 2500K
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V/Gen3
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+ in Push Pull
Memory 2X4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) ASUS R9 270x TOP
Storage 128GB Samsung 830 SSD, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Green
Display(s) LG IPS234V-PN
Case Corsair Obsidian 650D
Audio Device(s) Infrasonic Quartet
Power Supply Corsair HX650w
Software Windows 7 64bit and Windows XP Home
Benchmark Scores 2cm mark on bench with a razor blade.
#23
Call up one of the computer repair stores in your region, they should have junkers out the back which they have not touched in a long time with all the wiring you need to make a custom build for next to nothing.
 

Ammonite

New Member
Joined
Jan 24, 2012
Messages
50 (0.02/day)
Likes
7
Location
Christchurch, NZ
#24
why not just find an old atx case someone is throwing out and just get the switch there. check local mom and pop computer store for the wire and switch
Because I may want to make a couple of these (its a mini-ITX system you see) and I need a supplier that isn't that... temporary. Plus I prefer things new.
 

Norton

Moderator & WCG-TPU Captain
Staff member
Joined
Dec 21, 2011
Messages
12,672 (5.80/day)
Likes
36,224
Location
USA
System Name My Fortress/Trish (WCG)/Julia (WCG)/Ella (WCG)/Junior(WCG)/Cruncher 1 & 2/Kreij (WCG)
Processor Ryzen 1700X/i7-970/2600K/i7-980X/3930k/Opteron 6168x4/Ryzen 1600X/FX-8350
Motherboard X370 Taichi/ ASUS R3E/Asus P8P67 Pro/P9X79 Pro/EVGA X58 SLI 3/SuperMicro 4P
Cooling NH-D14/Phanteks/NH-U14S/H70/DeepCool/CM 212+ (x4)/NH-U14S/CM212
Memory 16GB GSkill TridentZ-3200 (1700X), 16GB GSkill FlareX-2400 (1600X),... various...., 4P- 16x1GB
Video Card(s) RX 580/HD 4670/HD 7770/HD 7770/HD 7770/onboard/HD 7770/onboard
Storage WD 500GB SSD/Seagate 2TB SSHD, everything else is Western Digital (mostly)
Display(s) Dell U2414H & 2409W / Dell 2208WFP (shared)
Case Silverstone FT01B/Source 530/Corsair 230T/Define XL R2/Silverstone FT05/Define R4/custom
Audio Device(s) on board (All)
Power Supply Corsair HX850/TX650/CS650M/X Gold 750/EVGA P2 850/X Gold 1050/HX650
Mouse Logitech G300s
Keyboard Thermaltake Challenger Prime (Great for $30!!!)
Software Win 7 Home 64 (Win 10 Pro 64)/Win Pro 64 or Ubuntu 12.04 LTS/14.04 LTS/17.04
Benchmark Scores Why sit on the Bench when you can get in the game and Crunch!!!
#25