• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Power consumtion on gigabyte 2070 super

troggi

New Member
Joined
Feb 25, 2020
Messages
9 (0.21/day)
After talking with a few more owners of the 2070 Super, I found out that on graphics cards from a gigabyte, the consumption in 2d / idle is two times higher than the nominal. other vendors of 2070 Super consume 6-12 watts in idle/2d time, and on graphics cards from a gigabyte, consumption is 25-29 watts. can someone explain why the consumption on cards differs so much from a gigabyte from other vendors, why are the indicators so different if the pcb is the same as the reference from nvidia.
I talked with three owners of 2070super from a gigabyte and everyone has a consumption of 25-29 watts.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
30,425 (6.52/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Ask gigabyte they engineered that card.

use their gpu bios update utility and try that.
 

troggi

New Member
Joined
Feb 25, 2020
Messages
9 (0.21/day)
Ask gigabyte they engineered that card.

use their gpu bios update utility and try that.
I already tried, they answer with standard phrases.
"
Hello.
Depends on the load in 2D mode. It also depends on multi-tasking in a 2D environment. Maybe 30 watts, maybe 50.
"
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
17,099 (4.56/day)
I reviewed a Gigabyte RTX 2070 Super Gaming OC... Idle power use is around 20W.

(updated post, read the wrong column in the spreadsheet, ha!)
 

troggi

New Member
Joined
Feb 25, 2020
Messages
9 (0.21/day)
I reviewed a Gigabyte RTX 2070 Super Gaming OC... Idle power use is around 9-10W.

Did you have Chrome/browser up with GPUz or something like that? I see it sits at the idle clocks of 300 MHz...Memory should jump back to 101 MHz as it has as well.
and what is your BIOS version?

I have
90.04.86.00.С6
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
30,425 (6.52/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
I already tried, they answer with standard phrases.
"
Hello.
Depends on the load in 2D mode. It also depends on multi-tasking in a 2D environment. Maybe 30 watts, maybe 50.
"
Id say either laziness on their part or for stability reasons. If you are worried about this send the card back and change vendors.
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
17,099 (4.56/day)
and what is your BIOS version?

I have
90.04.86.00.С6
I don't recall. If I get time to swap it out and check, I will post back. I assume whatever came with it... which is likely the first bios (not sure how many they have out there).

Please note, I updated my post as I read the wrong data. 20W idle.... I have another rtx 2070 super, but it is a hybrid so, I can't really compare it.
 

troggi

New Member
Joined
Feb 25, 2020
Messages
9 (0.21/day)
Id say either laziness on their part or for stability reasons. If you are worried about this send the card back and change vendors.
I would love to return it, but with this epidemic it will be impossible, even our mail has been closed for quarantine, and then it will be too late.
I don't recall. If I get time to swap it out and check, I will post back. I assume whatever came with it... which is likely the first bios (not sure how many they have out there).

Please note, I updated my post as I read the wrong data. 20W idle.... I have another rtx 2070 super, but it is a hybrid so, I can't really compare it.
26-27 watts is consumption on the desktop, without a browser.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
30,425 (6.52/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Use this tool to flash and use this video.





Here is a slew of files to try, just make sure they specifically state this and this only in the details.
1x HDMI
3x DisplayPort
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
17,099 (4.56/day)
This one was 20W. Not sure why it is more than others. I'll have the 2070 super hybrid in (evga) next week.. I'll post that too, but it may be inflated a bit because of the pump.
 

troggi

New Member
Joined
Feb 25, 2020
Messages
9 (0.21/day)
gigabyte support answer why their cards are eating more energy
"Hello.
1. This may be a feature of the video card.
2. Some monitors 144Hz and higher do not allow the video card to completely reduce frequencies. Please try to check the power consumption of the video card while the monitor is 120-60Hz. "

I have a DELL P2314H monitor 1920x1080 60Hz
 

troggi

New Member
Joined
Feb 25, 2020
Messages
9 (0.21/day)
they call it
" Hello.
This is a feature of the graphics card. "
something is wrong here
 
Top