• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Power on, Fans going... black screen

davidfox

New Member
Joined
May 9, 2008
Messages
20 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Location
Australia
System Name Built today, not workin yet
Processor E8400
Motherboard GA-P35 DS3L
Memory 4gb Corsair XM
Video Card(s) MSI NX8800GT factory OC
Storage Seagate SATAII 500gb
Display(s) 22"
Case Antec NSK4000
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply 500w Antec Basiq
#1
Hey. just put together a machine (see my previous 'custom machine' post), installed everything onto the motherboard inc. videocard, cpu, ram, hdd, dvd. Turned it on, all the fans going fine so it aint gonna blow-up.

However, there is nothing going through to the monitor (DVI), and there is no 'beep' noise from the computer, which the motherboard manual says there should be... The front case LED isnt lighting up at all either... It's just on, then black screen, no beeps, no LED and all the fans are working..

The motherboard gives minimal guide as to how to plug in the case cables, it species to put the positive n negative wires in a particular spot, but theres no way of knowing which is which??? the case wires aint marked.

Soooo... where u suggest i start? The case cables into the motherboard which would show the LED and give a 'beep' noise... maybe they're wrong? Or is the videocard just not sending any signal?

Help.. this sux. :banghead:
 
Last edited:

davidfox

New Member
Joined
May 9, 2008
Messages
20 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Location
Australia
System Name Built today, not workin yet
Processor E8400
Motherboard GA-P35 DS3L
Memory 4gb Corsair XM
Video Card(s) MSI NX8800GT factory OC
Storage Seagate SATAII 500gb
Display(s) 22"
Case Antec NSK4000
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply 500w Antec Basiq
#2
Ok... I changed around the Case LED cable on the motherboard (so the + and - ends must have been opposite), and now the front of case LED is working.

Something i noticed - when i turn on the power supply switch (not the computer power switch), the connected keyboards lights flash once, which i would think means they get a quick hit?? When i turn the computer power on, those keyboard lights never come on, and the USB mouse doesnt turn on either... its like theres no power going out from the motherboard? Although the CPU fan is plugged into the motherboard, and that works fine...
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2008
Messages
6,309 (1.74/day)
Likes
3,428
Location
S.E. Virginia
System Name Barb's Domain/Barb's Cruncher#2
Processor i7 3930k@3.8ghz/i7 860 @ 3.3ghz
Motherboard ASUS Rampage IV Black Edition/Gigabyte P55-UD3R
Cooling Deep Cool Assassin/Corsair A50
Memory 16gig DDR3 1600/4gig DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) GTX 1070 OC'ed 2.1GHz core/4GHz mem/MSI HD7770
Storage 500GB WD Blue SSD, 2TB Seagate Hybrid SSHD/ WD Caviar Blue 160gb
Display(s) HP ZR30W 30" 2560*1600/SOYO Topaz S 24" 1920*1200
Case SilverStone Fortress FT04/NZXT Source 210 Black
Audio Device(s) Logitech Z533
Power Supply XFX 750W XXX edition/PC Power Cooling Turbo Cool 860
Mouse Logitect G5
Software Windows 10 Pro 64 bit /Windows 7 Ult 64 bit
Benchmark Scores https://www.3dmark.com/fs/14508101
#3
I dont think the "little cables" your talking about would cause this. Sounds to me like either a video card problem or motherboard problem. By chance, do you have another video card you could put in your motherboard to try?

BTW, I won't be online much longer this morning, almost time for me to leave for work(it's 6:51 am here right now), so I may not reply to your response.
 

davidfox

New Member
Joined
May 9, 2008
Messages
20 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Location
Australia
System Name Built today, not workin yet
Processor E8400
Motherboard GA-P35 DS3L
Memory 4gb Corsair XM
Video Card(s) MSI NX8800GT factory OC
Storage Seagate SATAII 500gb
Display(s) 22"
Case Antec NSK4000
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply 500w Antec Basiq
#4
no i dont have any spare motherboard or graphics card... i just got all these parts n case brand new yesterday.
 

davidfox

New Member
Joined
May 9, 2008
Messages
20 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Location
Australia
System Name Built today, not workin yet
Processor E8400
Motherboard GA-P35 DS3L
Memory 4gb Corsair XM
Video Card(s) MSI NX8800GT factory OC
Storage Seagate SATAII 500gb
Display(s) 22"
Case Antec NSK4000
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply 500w Antec Basiq
#5
MY BAD! I found the problem after a complete re-read / rebuild... I hadnt connected the 12V to the motherboard, which meant the CPU power wasnt there, and the system wont boot. Thanks for reading through my stuff-up situation.
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,379 (3.98/day)
Likes
4,791
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 390X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#6
Good to hear you got it sorted out :).
 

davidfox

New Member
Joined
May 9, 2008
Messages
20 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Location
Australia
System Name Built today, not workin yet
Processor E8400
Motherboard GA-P35 DS3L
Memory 4gb Corsair XM
Video Card(s) MSI NX8800GT factory OC
Storage Seagate SATAII 500gb
Display(s) 22"
Case Antec NSK4000
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply 500w Antec Basiq
#7
Not sorted anymore :(

It was sorted... not sorted anymore :banghead:

Was all good last night. Ran Windows XP boot from CD setup - it formatted the HDD, made the partition, started on the XP setup. With 10mins to go, screen went blank, into power save mode. I just left it overnight in case it was workin somethin out...

Couldnt get it responding again this morning - now boots up with a long then 2 x short beeps which the MB manual says mean a 'videocard' problem. All the fans are still working and it sounds like the system actually starts booting up - the CD light flicks, and the HDD light flicks...

I have rebuilt the entire system to reseat the MB, also tried RAM modules one at a time but to no avail. I dont know how to test the videocard to see if it actually the problem, and if i send back to base for a warranty, they charge me $60 if it aint actually broken (plus return postage)!!

So much for saving money to build it myself. :cry: Anyone got thoughts on what to do next???
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,379 (3.98/day)
Likes
4,791
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 390X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#8
It was sorted... not sorted anymore :banghead:

Was all good last night. Ran Windows XP boot from CD setup - it formatted the HDD, made the partition, started on the XP setup. With 10mins to go, screen went blank, into power save mode. I just left it overnight in case it was workin somethin out...

Couldnt get it responding again this morning - now boots up with a long then 2 x short beeps which the MB manual says mean a 'videocard' problem. All the fans are still working and it sounds like the system actually starts booting up - the CD light flicks, and the HDD light flicks...

I have rebuilt the entire system to reseat the MB, also tried RAM modules one at a time but to no avail. I dont know how to test the videocard to see if it actually the problem, and if i send back to base for a warranty, they charge me $60 if it aint actually broken (plus return postage)!!

Ont hat PSU can you change to different 6pin connectors ?.. Maybe a rail is not as good as it could be ?..

So much for saving money to build it myself. :cry: Anyone got thoughts on what to do next???
Maybe just RMA the Video Card...

Try another monitor like a analog one maybe ?.. i would of thought the PSU would be shutting down if that was the issue.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 14, 2008
Messages
3,338 (0.93/day)
Likes
500
Location
Brooklyn, New York 11223
System Name Mine | Dad + Mom
Processor E8500 E0 Wolfdale @ 4.6GHz 1.5V | E2180 M0 Allendale @ 3.0GHz 1.3V
Motherboard Asus Maximus Formula (X48) w/ Rampage BIOS | Asus P5Q Pro (P45)
Cooling Xigmatek Rifle HDT-S1283 w/ SFF21F Fan | Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
Memory G.Skill Pi Black 2x2GB 1.02GHz CL5 | OCZ Reaper 2x2GB 1.05GHz CL5
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4870X2 2GB 820/1020MHz | Sapphire 4850 1GB 700/1100MHz
Storage WD VR 150GB 10K RPM + WD 500GB 7.2K RPM | WD 200GB 7.2K RPM
Display(s) Acer P243WAID 24" 1920x1200 LCD | Acer V193W 19" 1440x900 LCD
Case Cooler Master HAF 932 Full-Tower | Antec Twelve Hundred Mid-Tower
Audio Device(s) Fatal1ty Xtreme Gamer w/ Z-5500 5.1 | On-Board Audio w/ S-220 2.1
Power Supply PC Power and Cooling 750W Non-Modular | Corsair HX-520W Modular
Software Windows Vista Home Premium X64 | Windows Vista Home Premium X64
Benchmark Scores Not Wasting Time!
#9
What exactly is your custom PC? BTW I'll look for the previous post you were talking about.
 

MKmods

Case Mod Guru
Joined
Feb 26, 2008
Messages
5,697 (1.57/day)
Likes
1,735
Location
Nevada
System Name Crossflow III
Processor AMD 965 (4.04Ghz)
Motherboard Asus Crosshair III
Cooling Air
Memory 4 gigs Mushkin 7-7-7-20@1T
Video Card(s) single 9800GT
Storage Raptor 150's in Raid0
Display(s) LG Flatron 24"
Case Custom
Audio Device(s) AuzenTech X-Raider W/OP637
Power Supply Custom modded Corsair 750HX
Software Win 7 64/Solaris Utility
Benchmark Scores 3DMark06--21963 so far
#10
Have you tried to remove/re install the video card?

do you have the 6 pin plugged into the video card?

are there any friends( or computer shop) close buy so you can try a different video card in ur comp or try ur card in their comp.
 

davidfox

New Member
Joined
May 9, 2008
Messages
20 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Location
Australia
System Name Built today, not workin yet
Processor E8400
Motherboard GA-P35 DS3L
Memory 4gb Corsair XM
Video Card(s) MSI NX8800GT factory OC
Storage Seagate SATAII 500gb
Display(s) 22"
Case Antec NSK4000
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply 500w Antec Basiq
#11
Computer setup is under my 'system specs' list under my name...

I've tried everything in terms of 're-install'. Like I said, I've done a complete system rebuild, including removing everything from the case n back in.

How can a system run for 4hrs doin an OS install then die!!??

Yea - the video card has power plugged in, and I do have some friends but im not sure if they have pcie - in discussion now... Seems like all i can do :(
 
Last edited:

davidfox

New Member
Joined
May 9, 2008
Messages
20 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Location
Australia
System Name Built today, not workin yet
Processor E8400
Motherboard GA-P35 DS3L
Memory 4gb Corsair XM
Video Card(s) MSI NX8800GT factory OC
Storage Seagate SATAII 500gb
Display(s) 22"
Case Antec NSK4000
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply 500w Antec Basiq
#12
Maybe just RMA the Video Card...

Try another monitor like a analog one maybe ?.. i would of thought the PSU would be shutting down if that was the issue.
What does "RMA the video card" mean?? There is no onboard video, and the card only has DVI - so cant plugin my other monitor...
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,379 (3.98/day)
Likes
4,791
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 390X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#13
What does "RMA the video card" mean?? There is no onboard video, and the card only has DVI - so cant plugin my other monitor...
Return Merchandise Authorization = RMA meaning you return it MSI. Some places like Newegg allow some times 30 days to return the item normally.

You should of got at least one DVI 2 D plug at least. Question is does your LCD monitor have a analog plug on it... All though you might need the cable too. I got a analog and digital cables with my LCD.
 

davidfox

New Member
Joined
May 9, 2008
Messages
20 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Location
Australia
System Name Built today, not workin yet
Processor E8400
Motherboard GA-P35 DS3L
Memory 4gb Corsair XM
Video Card(s) MSI NX8800GT factory OC
Storage Seagate SATAII 500gb
Display(s) 22"
Case Antec NSK4000
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply 500w Antec Basiq
#14
Yeah - my monitor has DVI and Analog, just not the card - its twin DVI, S-Video. So you reckon just plugin an adapter and try it in the analog port?? I can do that.
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,379 (3.98/day)
Likes
4,791
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 390X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#15
Yeah - my monitor has DVI and Analog, just not the card - its twin DVI, S-Video. So you reckon just plugin an adapter and try it in the analog port?? I can do that.
DVI port to the v card is were you add the adapter which goes to the Analog port. on the monitor.

Read the manual on for your monitor.
 

davidfox

New Member
Joined
May 9, 2008
Messages
20 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Location
Australia
System Name Built today, not workin yet
Processor E8400
Motherboard GA-P35 DS3L
Memory 4gb Corsair XM
Video Card(s) MSI NX8800GT factory OC
Storage Seagate SATAII 500gb
Display(s) 22"
Case Antec NSK4000
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply 500w Antec Basiq
#16
DVI port to the v card is were you add the adapter which goes to the Analog port. on the monitor. Read the manual on for your monitor.
Tried that one too... No luck! I think my only options now are to test the stupid thing on another computer then take it to the store and express how I feel :ohwell:

Nothin worse than a faulty product spoiling a dream.
 

Namslas90

New Member
Joined
Aug 27, 2006
Messages
4,846 (1.16/day)
Likes
535
Location
Earth
Processor AMD PII 940
Motherboard Biostar TA790GXB3
Cooling Custom Air
Memory 4GB G.SKILL (2x2)
Video Card(s) ASUS Radeon HD 5970
Storage 2X32GB ST SSd R0 + WD500GB storage
Display(s) Asus 22" Widescreen
Case Thermaltake V9 BE
Power Supply PCP&C 750 Silencer
#17
Before you "RMA" anything, try the following;

Using the instructions in the Motherbaord Manual, Reset the CMOS jumper.
(page 29 sec. 18)
Hold <DEL> upon reboot and see if you can get into BIOS settings(page 31),
If you can, Check settings for VGA and memory, use the manual.

Recheck all connections, make sure 8800 has power connected.
 
Last edited:

davidfox

New Member
Joined
May 9, 2008
Messages
20 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Location
Australia
System Name Built today, not workin yet
Processor E8400
Motherboard GA-P35 DS3L
Memory 4gb Corsair XM
Video Card(s) MSI NX8800GT factory OC
Storage Seagate SATAII 500gb
Display(s) 22"
Case Antec NSK4000
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply 500w Antec Basiq
#18
I just took my system and tried a new graphics card in it (8600GT which didnt need any power cables). My system booted fine!! So is that enough testing to show that its the videocard or do i really need to test MY card in another machine? I kinda dont want to blow someone elses machine up.
 
Joined
Jan 12, 2007
Messages
2,276 (0.56/day)
Likes
230
Location
Cairns QLD, Aussie
System Name GaMEr / HTPC
Processor FX8320 4.5ghz so far NB- 2815mhz / X2 255 @ 3.2ghz (Temp till BD)
Motherboard 990FX-UD5 / GA-MA785GPMT-US2H
Cooling XSPC - 240rad 480rad 5 x 120mm out, 6 x 80mm in / H220-edge 1/2" & 2 x 120mm Magma
Memory 4gb PI 6,8,6,18 1T 1706mhz / 4gb Crucial D9's 1400 @ 6,6,6,18,1T
Video Card(s) 3gb HD7950 / Onboard
Storage 2 x 120gb Sandisk ultra plus 2tb WD / 60gb vertex 2 + 2 x 2tb WD Greens
Display(s) 3x24in Dell Ultra (portrait) / NEC 32" FullHD LCD
Case LL PC71A Full tower / Antec fusion black with Imon remote Modded for WC
Audio Device(s) OB / Auzentech cinema 7.1
Power Supply TT 700w TR2 / TT 600w Litepower modded with Noctua S12 fan.
Software 7 Ult / 7 premium x64
#19
I would be very surprised if its not the card. if you put in another card and it booted fine. Another thing - I just looked on the cpu compatibility page and it reckons you need to have bios f8a for with an E8400 installed. have you got that?? That may also be causing you some issues if you have an "old" factory bios on the board. I would definitely be RMAi'in the card though....
 

boyakaa

New Member
Joined
Jun 23, 2008
Messages
10 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#20
same thing happends here. when i put my 8600GT it works fine but when i put the NX8800GT no screen pops up.just dark. TO Namslas90 i did not try what you have said ill try it soon

my PC specs

motherboard=ASUS A8V-E-SE
CPU=AMD athlon64 3800+
450 watt power supply.

i also put in the adaptor dongle so i could use the video card.the fan turns BUT NO SCREEN!!
 

panchoman

Sold my stars!
Joined
Jul 16, 2007
Messages
9,595 (2.50/day)
Likes
1,148
Processor Amd Athlon X2 4600+ Windsor(90nm) EE(65W) @2.9-3.0 @1.45
Motherboard Biostar Tforce [Nvidia] 550
Cooling Thermaltake Blue Orb-- bunch of other fans here and there....
Memory 2 gigs (2x1gb) of patriot ddr2 800 @ 4-4-4-12-2t
Video Card(s) Sapphire X1950pro Pci-E x16 @stock@stock on stock
Storage Seagate 7200.11 250gb Drive, WD raptors (30/40) in Raid 0
Display(s) ANCIENT 15" sony lcd, bought it when it was like 500 bucks
Case Apevia X-plorer blue/black
Audio Device(s) Onboard- Why get an sound card when you can hum??
Power Supply Antec NeoHe 550-manufactured by seasonic -replacement to the discontinued smart power series
Software Windows XP pro SP2 -- vista is still crap
#21
boyakaa.. do you have the 6 pin power connection hooked up to the video card?
 

panchoman

Sold my stars!
Joined
Jul 16, 2007
Messages
9,595 (2.50/day)
Likes
1,148
Processor Amd Athlon X2 4600+ Windsor(90nm) EE(65W) @2.9-3.0 @1.45
Motherboard Biostar Tforce [Nvidia] 550
Cooling Thermaltake Blue Orb-- bunch of other fans here and there....
Memory 2 gigs (2x1gb) of patriot ddr2 800 @ 4-4-4-12-2t
Video Card(s) Sapphire X1950pro Pci-E x16 @stock@stock on stock
Storage Seagate 7200.11 250gb Drive, WD raptors (30/40) in Raid 0
Display(s) ANCIENT 15" sony lcd, bought it when it was like 500 bucks
Case Apevia X-plorer blue/black
Audio Device(s) Onboard- Why get an sound card when you can hum??
Power Supply Antec NeoHe 550-manufactured by seasonic -replacement to the discontinued smart power series
Software Windows XP pro SP2 -- vista is still crap
#23
chances are that your psu cant handle it.. what brand and model is it?
 
Joined
Dec 23, 2007
Messages
16,919 (4.59/day)
Likes
1,622
Location
Omaha, NE
System Name The ShadowFold Draconis (Ordering soon)
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T 2.8ghz
Motherboard ASUS M4A87TD EVO AM3 AMD 870
Cooling Stock
Memory Kingston ValueRAM 4GB DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) XFX ATi Radeon HD 5850 1gb
Storage Western Digital 640gb
Display(s) Acer 21.5" 5ms Full HD 1920x1080P
Case Antec Nine-Hundred
Audio Device(s) Onboard + Creative "Fatal1ty" Headset
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts 650w
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
Benchmark Scores -❶-❸-❸-❼-
#25
Did it come with the case?