1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

power requirements for 8800GT

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by kysg, Dec 31, 2008.

  1. kysg New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,255 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    99
    Location:
    Pacoima, CA
    my buddy has an 8800GT, said it keeps artifacting,

    He's past the 30days from newegg so I know he has to send back to Palit, but I need to be sure, what are the amp requirements for 8800GT.

    I need to be sure I mostly recommended the build for him, but I might have made a mistake on the PSU,

    He has this psu

    http://www.zalman.co.kr/ENG/product/Product_Read.asp?idx=197

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817379006

    They both show up as 20A amps on the +12v, I just want to make sure he's getting enough amps to that card.
     
  2. Lumpy

    Lumpy New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Messages:
    41 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Last edited: Jan 1, 2009
  3. From_Nowhere New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Messages:
    661 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    That PSU should be good enough. He might have gotten a bad card, or overclocked it too much (if he did).
     
  4. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,683 (5.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,790
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    No mistake on the PSU. It's a TOPower built, a solid OEM. Sounds like an RMA on the card is due. Sorry.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. kysg New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,255 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    99
    Location:
    Pacoima, CA
    Nah thats okay I told him to RMA that card, I figured since it was artifacting, he said he never Oc'd it,

    He's using the 790I from EVGA,
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813188025

    I told him also to upgrade the driver just in case, hasn't gotten back to me yet on that. I dunno I just wanted make sure I covered everything since I recommended the build for him, he's had issues with since he got it,

    The board died in a few days, RMA'd that back., He had to RMA back the DDR3 which were OCZ plats 4gb which those got stolen, and he couldn't get his money back, So he had to move down to 2gbs.

    It was allright build though, X58 boards weren't out at that time.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)