• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

PowerColor and TechPowerup Present Pimp My Rig Contest

Joined
Jul 21, 2010
Messages
386 (0.14/day)
Likes
115
Location
Romania
Processor Intel Core i5 4570
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z87-HD3
Cooling Stock
Memory 8GB Kingston ValueRAM CL9 1333MHz DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GeForce GTS450OC-1GL
Storage 1TB WD Black + 1.5TB WD Black + Kingston V300 120GB
Display(s) T200HD
Case Delux MZ401
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Enermax NAXN 500W
Software Windows 8 Pro x64
Wanted a low score so I fired up prime95 on 2 cores+ furmark 1CPU core+gpu+ downclocked gpu to the lowest i could... ran 3dmark happy that everything worked out... and then my score was above 70k, i think i found a bug in there somewhere because i couldn't score that high with no other programs running just 3dmark so i give up.
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2010
Messages
4,012 (1.48/day)
Likes
630
Location
UK
System Name PC
Processor AMD FX 8320E @4.3ghz
Motherboard Asrock 970 extreme3
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC12DX, 3 x NZXT FN 140mm, 1x NZXT FV V2 120mm
Memory 8GB Corsair Vengeance Blue 1600mhz
Video Card(s) ASUS R9 290 DCII-OC 4GB
Storage 128GB Kingston V200 SSD 1TB WD Blue, 750GB Maxtor
Display(s) LG 27MB85Z 27" 1440p
Case NZXT Source 340
Power Supply Thermaltake 675w
Mouse Logitech G500S
Keyboard Logitech G510S
Software Windows 8.1 64 bit
ok, this is just like what joseaugusto1 said, if the FPS is 0 fps, it won't appear in the online result, however if I don't run the test at all, N/A would appear in the online result.

So how do we determine the results' validity?
too add more confusion to that, vertex shader and ragtroll will show N/A if they run successfully if the FPS is below a certain amount (thinks it's below around 0.5 or something)
 
Joined
Sep 1, 2011
Messages
11 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
too add more confusion to that, vertex shader and ragtroll will show N/A if they run successfully if the FPS is below a certain amount (thinks it's below around 0.5 or something)
So wait what you are saying is that if the results for Rag Troll and Vertex Shader are below 0.5 they will show as N/A ? so that means this score is right , right?

http://3dmark.com/3dm03/6434753
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2010
Messages
4,012 (1.48/day)
Likes
630
Location
UK
System Name PC
Processor AMD FX 8320E @4.3ghz
Motherboard Asrock 970 extreme3
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC12DX, 3 x NZXT FN 140mm, 1x NZXT FV V2 120mm
Memory 8GB Corsair Vengeance Blue 1600mhz
Video Card(s) ASUS R9 290 DCII-OC 4GB
Storage 128GB Kingston V200 SSD 1TB WD Blue, 750GB Maxtor
Display(s) LG 27MB85Z 27" 1440p
Case NZXT Source 340
Power Supply Thermaltake 675w
Mouse Logitech G500S
Keyboard Logitech G510S
Software Windows 8.1 64 bit
So wait what you are saying is that if the results for Rag Troll and Vertex Shader are below 0.5 they will show as N/A ? so that means this score is right , right?

http://3dmark.com/3dm03/6434753
not exactly 0.5, all i know is that if i slowly reduce my clockspeed on my graphics it will eventually switch to N/A when the 3d score gets under 20, even though the test ran successfully, in my opinion that's a valid run
 
Joined
Sep 1, 2011
Messages
11 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
not exactly 0.5, all i know is that if i slowly reduce my clockspeed on my graphics it will eventually switch to N/A when the 3d score gets under 20, even though the test ran successfully, in my opinion that's a valid run
Yeah I actually watched my PC going through all those tests ( it was painfully slow LOL) but still shows them as N/A ... Someone really needs to tell us what is actually considered as "Valid Run"
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2010
Messages
4,012 (1.48/day)
Likes
630
Location
UK
System Name PC
Processor AMD FX 8320E @4.3ghz
Motherboard Asrock 970 extreme3
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC12DX, 3 x NZXT FN 140mm, 1x NZXT FV V2 120mm
Memory 8GB Corsair Vengeance Blue 1600mhz
Video Card(s) ASUS R9 290 DCII-OC 4GB
Storage 128GB Kingston V200 SSD 1TB WD Blue, 750GB Maxtor
Display(s) LG 27MB85Z 27" 1440p
Case NZXT Source 340
Power Supply Thermaltake 675w
Mouse Logitech G500S
Keyboard Logitech G510S
Software Windows 8.1 64 bit
Yeah I actually watched my PC going through all those tests ( it was painfully slow LOL) but still shows them as N/A ... Someone really needs to tell us what is actually considered as "Valid Run"
you need to run all 4 graphics tests for a valid 3d score, the cpu score doesn't affect it, therefore i think a valid run must be anything that has a valid 3d score, running all benchmarks.

remember, most of us are running the free version, and therefore we can't change any settings anyway

so, from logic, it has to be a valid 3d score (if one of the tests doesn't complete the futuremark page marks it as invalid anyway)

and it has to be done on a DX9 card for the program to run a full test (DX8 and 7 cards will run a reduced version of the benchmark)
 
Joined
Sep 1, 2011
Messages
11 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
you need to run all 4 graphics tests for a valid 3d score, the cpu score doesn't affect it, therefore i think a valid run must be anything that has a valid 3d score, running all benchmarks.

remember, most of us are running the free version, and therefore we can't change any settings anyway

so, from logic, it has to be a valid 3d score (if one of the tests doesn't complete the futuremark page marks it as invalid anyway)

and it has to be done on a DX9 card for the program to run a full test (DX8 and 7 cards will run a reduced version of the benchmark)
Nice to know that... I guess ill just try yo beat my 16 3DMark record thanks for the info
 
Joined
Sep 2, 2011
Messages
964 (0.42/day)
Likes
554
Location
Porto
System Name No name / Purple Haze
Processor Phenom II 1100T @ 3.8Ghz / Pentium 4 3.4 EE Gallatin @ 3.825Ghz
Motherboard MSI 970 Gaming/ Abit IC7-MAX3
Cooling CM Hyper 212X / Scythe Andy Samurai Master (CPU) - Modded Ati Silencer 5 rev. 2 (GPU)
Memory 8GB GEIL GB38GB2133C10ADC + 8GB G.Skill F3-14900CL9-4GBXL / 2x1GB Crucial Ballistix Tracer PC4000
Video Card(s) Asus R9 Fury X Strix (4096 SP's/1050 Mhz)/ PowerColor X850XT PE @ (600/1230) AGP + (HD3850 AGP)
Storage Samsung 250 GB / WD Caviar 160GB
Display(s) Benq XL2411T
Audio Device(s) motherboard / Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty Pro + Front panel
Power Supply Tagan BZ 900W / Corsair HX620w
Mouse Zowie AM
Keyboard Qpad MK-50
Software Windows 7 Pro 64Bit / Windows XP
Benchmark Scores 64CU Fury: http://www.3dmark.com/fs/11269229 / X850XT PE http://www.3dmark.com/3dm05/5532432
Im reaching my limits i got 30 marks on my fx5500 50 on core and 40 on memory.

Now I have flashed it, so it is running at 35/40.

I have some conclusions:

having the cpu at full speed helped me getting a lower score
The memory clocks is what is limiting the results the most
 

option350z

New Member
Joined
Jun 2, 2009
Messages
115 (0.04/day)
Likes
28
Location
Gurnee, IL
Processor AMD Phenom II x2 550BE
Motherboard Asus M4A79T Deluxe
Cooling OCZ CNPS10X Flex (Dual 80cfm fans)
Memory OCZ Reaper 1866 4GB
Video Card(s) ASUS EAH4870 Dark Knight 1G
Storage 150gb WD Raptor
Display(s) Viewsonic Optiquest Q22wb
Case Apevia X-Navigator
Power Supply OCZ ModXStream Pro 500W
Software Windows 7 Ulitimate (64bit)
With valid 0's and not N/A on the Gpu tests.
As well as getting it to show up on the leader boards officially you need approved drivers as well.
 
Last edited:

option350z

New Member
Joined
Jun 2, 2009
Messages
115 (0.04/day)
Likes
28
Location
Gurnee, IL
Processor AMD Phenom II x2 550BE
Motherboard Asus M4A79T Deluxe
Cooling OCZ CNPS10X Flex (Dual 80cfm fans)
Memory OCZ Reaper 1866 4GB
Video Card(s) ASUS EAH4870 Dark Knight 1G
Storage 150gb WD Raptor
Display(s) Viewsonic Optiquest Q22wb
Case Apevia X-Navigator
Power Supply OCZ ModXStream Pro 500W
Software Windows 7 Ulitimate (64bit)
I'm just gonna throw this out there but it does say you have to submit a validation link with your entry. To me that means it must be leader board valid. So I'm figuring future mark has to approve of the score before you submit it.

Scratch that, I just found the link for 3dmark scores and leader boards. Problem is how will you know a score is valid unless its post on the future mark leader boards.
http://www.3dmark.com/support/troubleshooting-my-results/
We can complete all the gpu tests with 0 and get away with N/A's on the cpu stuff. And it still will give a 3d mark score...so is that technically valid? I will post this in the other post for this contest as well.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 2, 2010
Messages
4,012 (1.48/day)
Likes
630
Location
UK
System Name PC
Processor AMD FX 8320E @4.3ghz
Motherboard Asrock 970 extreme3
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC12DX, 3 x NZXT FN 140mm, 1x NZXT FV V2 120mm
Memory 8GB Corsair Vengeance Blue 1600mhz
Video Card(s) ASUS R9 290 DCII-OC 4GB
Storage 128GB Kingston V200 SSD 1TB WD Blue, 750GB Maxtor
Display(s) LG 27MB85Z 27" 1440p
Case NZXT Source 340
Power Supply Thermaltake 675w
Mouse Logitech G500S
Keyboard Logitech G510S
Software Windows 8.1 64 bit
I'm just gonna throw this out there but it does say you have to submit a validation link with your entry. To me that means it must be leader board valid. So I'm figuring future mark has to approve of the score before you submit it.
that's the conclusion i came to
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,369 (10.18/day)
Likes
18,018
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
Joined
Jul 2, 2010
Messages
4,012 (1.48/day)
Likes
630
Location
UK
System Name PC
Processor AMD FX 8320E @4.3ghz
Motherboard Asrock 970 extreme3
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC12DX, 3 x NZXT FN 140mm, 1x NZXT FV V2 120mm
Memory 8GB Corsair Vengeance Blue 1600mhz
Video Card(s) ASUS R9 290 DCII-OC 4GB
Storage 128GB Kingston V200 SSD 1TB WD Blue, 750GB Maxtor
Display(s) LG 27MB85Z 27" 1440p
Case NZXT Source 340
Power Supply Thermaltake 675w
Mouse Logitech G500S
Keyboard Logitech G510S
Software Windows 8.1 64 bit
From the results I've been getting I don't think that's the case? :confused:
what's scores you been getting?

i've varied my CPU speed between 200mhz and 1ghz and its made no difference whatsoever
 

option350z

New Member
Joined
Jun 2, 2009
Messages
115 (0.04/day)
Likes
28
Location
Gurnee, IL
Processor AMD Phenom II x2 550BE
Motherboard Asus M4A79T Deluxe
Cooling OCZ CNPS10X Flex (Dual 80cfm fans)
Memory OCZ Reaper 1866 4GB
Video Card(s) ASUS EAH4870 Dark Knight 1G
Storage 150gb WD Raptor
Display(s) Viewsonic Optiquest Q22wb
Case Apevia X-Navigator
Power Supply OCZ ModXStream Pro 500W
Software Windows 7 Ulitimate (64bit)
Actually I just looked up from years past the last power color give away for an hd3850. The score technically doesn't have to be valid on the leader boards. However you do have to complete the whole test and get an actual 3d mark score to qualify. Since it's not sponsored by future mark, any driver changes are valid and doesn't need to be FM approved.
 
Joined
Apr 1, 2008
Messages
2,817 (0.80/day)
Likes
604
System Name HTC's System
Processor Ryzen 5 1600
Motherboard Asrock Taichi
Cooling NH-C14
Memory G.Skill Kit 16GB DDR4 F4 - 3200 C16D - 16 GTZB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ Radeon RX 480 OC 4 GB
Storage 2 * Samsung 1 TB HD103UJ
Display(s) LG 27UD58
Case Corsair Obsidian 650D
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX750
Mouse Logitech Performance MX
Software Ubuntu 16.04 LTS
First, i ran 3D03 @ my regular CPU / GPU speed (E8400 @ 9*225 / Sapphire 6850 @ 620/800) and got this:



Then, i ran Furmark and OCCT Linpack test @ the same time and got this:



Looking good, i thought ... then, i ran Furmark, Kombustor and OCCT GPU test for good measure and got this:



Better, but still isn't nowhere near enough :( Let's see if i can add something: the previous run with prime95 and Intel Burn Test added to it and got this:



Argh :( What i's giving me such a high score? these are the details of the previous run:



17.5 FPS @ best and i still get over 2K points? Where can i reduce? Do i really need to mess up my underclocks (CPU and GPU) for this?
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2010
Messages
4,012 (1.48/day)
Likes
630
Location
UK
System Name PC
Processor AMD FX 8320E @4.3ghz
Motherboard Asrock 970 extreme3
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC12DX, 3 x NZXT FN 140mm, 1x NZXT FV V2 120mm
Memory 8GB Corsair Vengeance Blue 1600mhz
Video Card(s) ASUS R9 290 DCII-OC 4GB
Storage 128GB Kingston V200 SSD 1TB WD Blue, 750GB Maxtor
Display(s) LG 27MB85Z 27" 1440p
Case NZXT Source 340
Power Supply Thermaltake 675w
Mouse Logitech G500S
Keyboard Logitech G510S
Software Windows 8.1 64 bit
First, i ran 3D03 @ my regular CPU / GPU speed (E8400 @ 9*225 / Sapphire 6850 @ 620/800) and got this:

http://img.techpowerup.org/110903/2011-09-03_012257.jpg

Then, i ran Furmark and OCCT Linpack test @ the same time and got this:

http://img.techpowerup.org/110903/2011-09-03_015233.jpg

Looking good, i thought ... then, i ran Furmark, Kombustor and OCCT GPU test for good measure and got this:

http://img.techpowerup.org/110903/2011-09-03_032213.jpg

Better, but still isn't nowhere near enough :( Let's see if i can add something: the previous run with prime95 and Intel Burn Test added to it and got this:

http://img.techpowerup.org/110903/2011-09-03_040112.jpg

Argh :( What i's giving me such a high score? these are the details of the previous run:

http://img.techpowerup.org/110903/2011-09-03_040147.jpg

17.5 FPS @ best and i still get over 2K points? Where can i reduce? Do i really need to mess up my underclocks (CPU and GPU) for this?
you get such a high score because of your parts, you will not be able to get a low score with a 6850, it just has too many shaders, your competing against fx5200 and similar, you can't win no matter how low the clockspeed goes
 
Joined
Apr 1, 2008
Messages
2,817 (0.80/day)
Likes
604
System Name HTC's System
Processor Ryzen 5 1600
Motherboard Asrock Taichi
Cooling NH-C14
Memory G.Skill Kit 16GB DDR4 F4 - 3200 C16D - 16 GTZB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ Radeon RX 480 OC 4 GB
Storage 2 * Samsung 1 TB HD103UJ
Display(s) LG 27UD58
Case Corsair Obsidian 650D
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX750
Mouse Logitech Performance MX
Software Ubuntu 16.04 LTS
you get such a high score because of your parts, you will not be able to get a low score with a 6850, it just has too many shaders, your competing against fx5200 and similar, you can't win no matter how low the clockspeed goes
Maybe. Just because i don't know where to reduce doesn't mean it's not possible to win with my hardware, though it's much harder, granted.

I'll try something else i thought of which may or may not help: dunno, yet.
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2010
Messages
4,012 (1.48/day)
Likes
630
Location
UK
System Name PC
Processor AMD FX 8320E @4.3ghz
Motherboard Asrock 970 extreme3
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC12DX, 3 x NZXT FN 140mm, 1x NZXT FV V2 120mm
Memory 8GB Corsair Vengeance Blue 1600mhz
Video Card(s) ASUS R9 290 DCII-OC 4GB
Storage 128GB Kingston V200 SSD 1TB WD Blue, 750GB Maxtor
Display(s) LG 27MB85Z 27" 1440p
Case NZXT Source 340
Power Supply Thermaltake 675w
Mouse Logitech G500S
Keyboard Logitech G510S
Software Windows 8.1 64 bit
Maybe. Just because i don't know where to reduce doesn't mean it's not possible to win with my hardware, though it's much harder, granted.

I'll try something else i thought of which may or may not help: dunno, yet.
your going to have to reduce your clockspeeds
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2010
Messages
4,012 (1.48/day)
Likes
630
Location
UK
System Name PC
Processor AMD FX 8320E @4.3ghz
Motherboard Asrock 970 extreme3
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC12DX, 3 x NZXT FN 140mm, 1x NZXT FV V2 120mm
Memory 8GB Corsair Vengeance Blue 1600mhz
Video Card(s) ASUS R9 290 DCII-OC 4GB
Storage 128GB Kingston V200 SSD 1TB WD Blue, 750GB Maxtor
Display(s) LG 27MB85Z 27" 1440p
Case NZXT Source 340
Power Supply Thermaltake 675w
Mouse Logitech G500S
Keyboard Logitech G510S
Software Windows 8.1 64 bit
Joined
Aug 30, 2004
Messages
151 (0.03/day)
Likes
7
Location
Worcester, England
What system you running?

I'm currently running it on Athlon XP @ 1Ghz, 512Mb DDR1 Ram & a NVidia 5200 card.

Its a sod trying to get it stable at low speed & several times I thought I would have got less then 10 but the driver keeps bombing out with errors.

Plus it takes about 1 hour to run all the way through!!
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2010
Messages
4,012 (1.48/day)
Likes
630
Location
UK
System Name PC
Processor AMD FX 8320E @4.3ghz
Motherboard Asrock 970 extreme3
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC12DX, 3 x NZXT FN 140mm, 1x NZXT FV V2 120mm
Memory 8GB Corsair Vengeance Blue 1600mhz
Video Card(s) ASUS R9 290 DCII-OC 4GB
Storage 128GB Kingston V200 SSD 1TB WD Blue, 750GB Maxtor
Display(s) LG 27MB85Z 27" 1440p
Case NZXT Source 340
Power Supply Thermaltake 675w
Mouse Logitech G500S
Keyboard Logitech G510S
Software Windows 8.1 64 bit
What system you running?

I'm currently running it on Athlon XP @ 1Ghz, 512Mb DDR1 Ram & a NVidia 5200 card.

Its a sod trying to get it stable at low speed & several times I thought I would have got less then 10 but the driver keeps bombing out with errors.

Plus it takes about 1 hour to run all the way through!!
my driver keeps bombing out as well

i'm running a phenom ii x2 550, 4GB of 1600mhz ram, and an nvidia 7025
 
Joined
Jan 12, 2010
Messages
1,471 (0.51/day)
Likes
290
Location
Spain
System Name Custom Built | Netbook Samsung N145P
Processor Intel Core i3 6100 | Intel Atom N455 1.6 GHz
Motherboard Asus H110M-K-D3
Cooling Stock heatsink/fan
Memory 12GB RAM
Video Card(s) MSI GT 1050 Ti 4GB| Intel GMA 3150
Storage Samsung EVO 750 120GB + Kingston HyperX Fury 120 GB + 2TB WD Hard disk | Kingston V300 120GB
Display(s) HP Pavilion 22cw
Case A old one
Audio Device(s) Realtek
Power Supply Generic 500W
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit 1| Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
I got 1610 I didn't know my IGP is so "powerful" at stock :laugh: