• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

PowerColor HD 7990 Devil 13 6144 MB

WarEagleAU

Bird of Prey
Joined
Jul 9, 2006
Messages
10,809 (2.59/day)
Likes
529
Location
Gurley, AL
System Name Boddha Getta Boddha Getta Bah!
Processor AMD FX 6100 @ 4.432Ghz @1.382
Motherboard ASUS M5A99X EVO AMD 990X AMD SB950
Cooling Custom Water. EK 240MM Kit, Supreme HSF - Runs 35C
Memory 2 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance White LP @ 1.35V
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon HD 6870 980/1100
Storage WD Caviar Black 1.0TB, WD Caviar Green 1.0TB, WD 160GB
Display(s) Asus VH222/S 22: (21.5" Viewable) 1920x1080p HDMI LCD Monitor
Case NZXT White Switch 810
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek 5.1
Power Supply NZXT Hale 90 Gold Cert 750W Modular PSU
Software Windows 8.1 Profession 64 Bit
Actually I can say I am very impressed with this release from Powercolor, cooling mounting issues aside. It either competes very closely with the 690 or wins in most all benchmarks. Costs is still high and they should have worked on toning down power usage but hell who cares. This thing rocks. I didn't expect it to do so well. WtG. Not sure why most of you are calling it a loss or fail, I disagree respectfully with that. Major win.
 
Joined
Sep 7, 2011
Messages
2,785 (1.21/day)
Likes
1,672
Location
New Zealand
System Name MoneySink
Processor 2600K @ 4.8
Motherboard P8Z77-V
Cooling AC NexXxos XT45 360, RayStorm, D5T+XSPC tank, Tygon R-3603, Bitspower
Memory 16GB Crucial Ballistix DDR3-1600C8
Video Card(s) GTX 780 SLI (EVGA SC ACX + Giga GHz Ed.)
Storage Kingston HyperX SSD (128) OS, WD RE4 (1TB), RE2 (1TB), Cav. Black (2 x 500GB), Red (4TB)
Display(s) Achieva Shimian QH270-IPSMS (2560x1440) S-IPS
Case NZXT Switch 810
Audio Device(s) onboard Realtek yawn edition
Power Supply Seasonic X-1050
Software Win8.1 Pro
Benchmark Scores 3.5 litres of Pale Ale in 18 minutes.

sammorris

New Member
Joined
Sep 22, 2012
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
3
This isn't exactly an unknown.

I had the misfortune of testing two 4GB HD5970s from Sapphire when they were getting all the press attention. With the near-impossible task of getting hold of them you'd think that for such a small production run they'd take some care of their construction. Both the cards were DOA (and this was verified by CCL who provided a full refund), one seriously in that there was a strong burning smell as soon as the system was powered up.

I just can't get my head around why cards that are manufactured in such small quantities they are only really designed for the press and not the end-user aren't tested even briefly before they leave the factory, it's just bizarre.
I'm also not sure why the card should fail to work in dual-GPU mode in so many games that support crossfire perfectly well. Seemingly there just hasn't been any software groundwork carried out here either. Presumably Powercolor just released the card anyway, even though they couldn't get it to work properly, in hardware or software!

In fairness, they are no more deserving of criticism than Asus for botching the release versions of the GTX590 either, but these stories highlight the fact that when testing cutting edge hardware like this, if it's a fault-free experience, you're one of the lucky ones.
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2011
Messages
978 (0.43/day)
Likes
215
Location
coast ,melbourne
System Name THE MEDIAMACHINE
Processor i5-3570k
Motherboard Asus gene v z-77 matx.
Cooling Antec h20 620
Memory 2x4gb g.skill ripjaws z 2400
Video Card(s) h.i.s radeon 7950 reference 3 gb- hooray!!!
Storage samsung 128gb~830 ssd. samsung 500gb hdrive.
Display(s) 22 inch tele.
Case circa 1996 grey rat box with no sides front.until my own is finished
Audio Device(s) inbuilt creative.supreme effects 3
Power Supply thermaltake tt-500w
Software win 7 x64-
Benchmark Scores Coming soon
Well thankyou for the review, its quite the fascinating read, i dont see it as a fail, at least powercolor tried to bring to market something unusual and unique, if companies never innovated for fear of producing a lemon, where would we be for tech??

If it shows up in device manager as two gpu,s then surely you could disable one and run games that dont crossfire well in single gpu mode and still have plenty of performance yes?

Its a novelty card, no 1 makes you buy it.

Would you rather it was never made?, then you would not have had the pleasure of reading~posting in this review would you lol!!

I love the looks of it, its radiates-how do you say-wicked hehehe!
 

sammorris

New Member
Joined
Sep 22, 2012
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
3
Unfortunately that's not how dual-GPU cards work. There were workarounds you can use in catalyst control center to make the card behave as if the second GPU has been disabled, but after official support for this was removed, this is bordering on registry-hack territory. There is no 'enable/disable crossfire' as per two discrete cards.
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2011
Messages
978 (0.43/day)
Likes
215
Location
coast ,melbourne
System Name THE MEDIAMACHINE
Processor i5-3570k
Motherboard Asus gene v z-77 matx.
Cooling Antec h20 620
Memory 2x4gb g.skill ripjaws z 2400
Video Card(s) h.i.s radeon 7950 reference 3 gb- hooray!!!
Storage samsung 128gb~830 ssd. samsung 500gb hdrive.
Display(s) 22 inch tele.
Case circa 1996 grey rat box with no sides front.until my own is finished
Audio Device(s) inbuilt creative.supreme effects 3
Power Supply thermaltake tt-500w
Software win 7 x64-
Benchmark Scores Coming soon
Unfortunately that's not how dual-GPU cards work. There were workarounds you can use in catalyst control center to make the card behave as if the second GPU has been disabled, but after official support for this was removed, this is bordering on registry-hack territory. There is no 'enable/disable crossfire' as per two discrete cards.

Ok i see, i wasnt exactly sure, just guessing .
 

sammorris

New Member
Joined
Sep 22, 2012
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
3
Back in the days when I was using HD4870X2s you could disable Catalyst A.I. in the control center and that would as good as disable crossfire. Not quite the same and there were occasional times when that wouldn't suffice but in the majority of cases that would do the job. However, a couple of years back that feature was removed from the interface, and last I checked it hadn't been put back in, so you had to resort to modifying ini files / registry settings to achieve the same result. I don't think there was any technical reason for doing it, so it baffles me why the function was removed from the interface. Then again, I defy anyone to understand the reasonings of AMD's driver team.
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2011
Messages
978 (0.43/day)
Likes
215
Location
coast ,melbourne
System Name THE MEDIAMACHINE
Processor i5-3570k
Motherboard Asus gene v z-77 matx.
Cooling Antec h20 620
Memory 2x4gb g.skill ripjaws z 2400
Video Card(s) h.i.s radeon 7950 reference 3 gb- hooray!!!
Storage samsung 128gb~830 ssd. samsung 500gb hdrive.
Display(s) 22 inch tele.
Case circa 1996 grey rat box with no sides front.until my own is finished
Audio Device(s) inbuilt creative.supreme effects 3
Power Supply thermaltake tt-500w
Software win 7 x64-
Benchmark Scores Coming soon
Yes, they should get on the ball a bit more when it comes to drivers, mind tho, they got the 7 series of cards out pretty quick, personally, ive only ever owned amd cards, and never had driver issues myself, but ive never ran cf either.

It should be an option in ccc shouldnt it?.Perhaps i will join the amd forum and ask them to implement it?
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2011
Messages
3,121 (1.39/day)
Likes
892
Processor Ci7 5960X
Motherboard RVE
Cooling Triple Aquacomputer AMS 840 with D5
Memory Some random DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1080 Ti
Storage 960 EVO
Display(s) Dell U3011 2560x1600 + Dell 2408WFP 1200x1920 (Portrait)
Case Dimastech Bench EasyXL
Audio Device(s) Essence STX
Power Supply AX 1500i
Software Win10
If you want to get your second GPU disabled just go windowed full screen, that's how I do when scaling is negative :)
 

sammorris

New Member
Joined
Sep 22, 2012
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
3
Yes, they should get on the ball a bit more when it comes to drivers, mind tho, they got the 7 series of cards out pretty quick, personally, ive only ever owned amd cards, and never had driver issues myself, but ive never ran cf either.

It should be an option in ccc shouldnt it?.Perhaps i will join the amd forum and ask them to implement it?
Good luck with that :p
The AMD board is not usually monitored by staff working for AMD, and it can be hard work getting something useful out of the community there sometimes!
 
Joined
Jun 29, 2009
Messages
57 (0.02/day)
Likes
25
Location
El People's Republik de Kalifornistan
System Name I deal with a lot of systems, fambly tech ya know...
Processor mine is thankfully still intact
Motherboard Naw she aint, she has 5 dogs and Kodi.tv
Cooling I shave my head and DD an E30 with a sunroof
Memory It's rather eidetic, and I'm a longtime reader here.
Video Card(s) I only play hacked oldschool Shogun: Total War when I do game.
Storage I grew up in Silicon Valley, HS Class of '94 in San Jose, CA
Display(s) hell yeah I wear my safety glasses! I ride 2 wheels a lot, too.
Case 4 wheels, I only roll in old shit. My car is an '85 and my truck is a '63.
Audio Device(s) Music is the soundtrack of your life. Fuck listening to garbage.
Power Supply I try hard to keep in shape, I can push forklifts and big trucks
Mouse I hates em. I sets up glue traps for em. Guk.
Keyboard Trying to close a Captains of Crush #3. For a year now.
Software Hey! My underpants is my business!
Benchmark Scores 1976
I have a 4850X2 and the latest Catalyst that supports it (12.4). I've had the "Disable Crossfire X" option in every Catalyst I've run since I've had this card.
 

Attachments

Last edited:

sammorris

New Member
Joined
Sep 22, 2012
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
3
The HD4850X2 is non standard and uses internal crossfire. Therefore you will have the option on it as crossfire was obviously not removed from catalyst. It is the catalyst AI setting as used by the 4870x2, 5970, 6990 and so on that was removed.
 

Ren_kun

New Member
Joined
Aug 27, 2011
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
If you did want to quadfire 2 devils... what kind of motherboard would one use? With enough room for a sound card?
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2011
Messages
3,121 (1.39/day)
Likes
892
Processor Ci7 5960X
Motherboard RVE
Cooling Triple Aquacomputer AMS 840 with D5
Memory Some random DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1080 Ti
Storage 960 EVO
Display(s) Dell U3011 2560x1600 + Dell 2408WFP 1200x1920 (Portrait)
Case Dimastech Bench EasyXL
Audio Device(s) Essence STX
Power Supply AX 1500i
Software Win10
If you did want to quadfire 2 devils... what kind of motherboard would one use? With enough room for a sound card?
I'd use a Rampage IV either extreme or formula, you'd be fine even with a Sabertooth X79.
You definitely want X79 chipset because I think 8x/8x won't cut it.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,252 (5.04/day)
Likes
4,830
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
I'd use a Rampage IV either extreme or formula, you'd be fine even with a Sabertooth X79.
You definitely want X79 chipset because I think 8x/8x won't cut it.
2 GPUs on the Same bus probably would strain at 8x/8x
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2011
Messages
3,121 (1.39/day)
Likes
892
Processor Ci7 5960X
Motherboard RVE
Cooling Triple Aquacomputer AMS 840 with D5
Memory Some random DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1080 Ti
Storage 960 EVO
Display(s) Dell U3011 2560x1600 + Dell 2408WFP 1200x1920 (Portrait)
Case Dimastech Bench EasyXL
Audio Device(s) Essence STX
Power Supply AX 1500i
Software Win10
Yeah it'd be 4x/4x/4x/4x, pretty choked lanes you'd have there :)

Z77 isn't good for 4 GPUs
 
Joined
Aug 15, 2012
Messages
175 (0.09/day)
Likes
19
System Name For now
Processor Intel i7-4790K
Motherboard ASRock Extreme9 Z97
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory Kingston HyperX
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 980 Strix x 2
Display(s) Overlord
Case Corsair 900D
Power Supply Corsair AX1200i
Doesn't this 7990 have its own built in PLX chip?

EDIT looked at the review and it indeed has its own PLX PCIe Bridge chip. So wouldn't it internally run at its max x16 and send out information on 7990 x 8 7990 x 8 when installed?