• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Powercolor Radeon 4670 VPU Error

xTalon

New Member
Joined
Dec 12, 2009
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
I had gone over to a friend's house to uninstall his old Geforce 8200 GT and install the new Radeon 4670, trying as best as possible obviously not to touch the 4670's connectors I had touched it by the edges and tried to not apply any pressure to it as it was installed. Screw in and all, turned the PC and it worked perfectly.

The computers specs are as follows:
Operating System: Windows XP Professional (5.1, Build 2600) Service Pack 3
System Motherboard: G31M-ES2L
BIOS: Award Modular BIOS v6.00PG
Processor: Pentium® Dual-Core CPU E5200 @ 2.50GHz (2 Cores)
Memory: Kingston DDR2 2046MB RAM
PSU: 400w (card usually only takes 300w)

The powercolor URL to the GPU.
http://www.powercolor.com/eng/products_features.asp?ProductID=4560

The VPU errors occured while in game only. We had tried using the updated drivers from the website itself, powercolor, however after an hour or so the VPU error had kicked in. Uninstalled them and used the disc's drivers, games then went for a good 5ish hours at least before the VPU error kicked in.

We also don't have any heat issues, GPU-Z came up with 60 degrees when in game and besides that, the case is sometimes wide open (no side panel) to allow more airflow as needed.

The most updated driver ver from powercolor is:
Driver + Ver: HD4650/ HD4670 Series PCI-E & Catalyst 9.11 + Version 8.67.
Date: 26/11/2009

Now, I myself am also using a Radeon 4670 only I am using ASUS.
I have never had a single issue and my driver ver+date (dxdiag) is:
Driver Version: 7.15.0010.0176
Date: 2/4/2009

Lucky enough for me, ASUS provides the newest + older drivers unlike Powercolor, so I am unable to find any older Powercolor drivers. We also tried the ATI Radeon drivers but had installation errors, we tried again and this time currently the setup has not generated any errors.

The ATI drivers worked, but then produced another VPU error 5mins later.

Anyone got any ideas at all? This is plain frustrating.
 
Last edited:

xTalon

New Member
Joined
Dec 12, 2009
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#2
I believe the issue is a PSU failure. I'll run a Memtest just incase, though, I believe that's fine.

He's using a 400w "PowerTek PTI-400AR-T". Now, I haven't been able to find the exact model online but I did find one 770w version on newegg and that power supply got reviews like...

Newegg

Cons: Inserted a EVGA 8800 Ultra 768MB today. After 5 minutes of playing Crysis Warhead on GAMER settings, it smelled like burnt rubber. I sniffed around, smell was coming from a PSU. Turned it off immediately

Cons: The first one blew up and killed my $150 mobo.

Cons: Not worth $1...don’t risk buying this power supply. It has too many defects. Integrated transformers can not withstand to much head...50C? Too much heat? Yes, way too much heat for this power supply...So don’t take a change of burning your motherboard or anything else for that mater.

Cons: After about 4 months it blew up and killed my board.
Any other ideas? Anyone? =/
 

xTalon

New Member
Joined
Dec 12, 2009
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#3
Now more issues are occuring, after 2days with dealing with VPU errors - now when my friend plays at max resolution, things look a bit pixellated and graphical quality has lowered. When playing at a diff, lower, resolution - things look decent again.

Is this graphical issue with the monitor, or another effect of the PSU? I'm starting to think I bought a failed card.

Any other ideas?
 
Joined
Jul 10, 2009
Messages
467 (0.15/day)
Likes
89
Location
TR
Processor C2duo e6750@ 2800mhz
Motherboard GA-P43T-ES3G
Cooling Xigmatek S1283
Memory 2x2Gb Kingstone HyperX DDR3 1600 (KHX1600C9D3K2/4GX )
Video Card(s) HIS HD 6870
Storage samsung HD103SJ
Case Xigmatek Utgard
Audio Device(s) X-FI Titanium Pci-e
Power Supply Xigmatek NRP-PC702 700W
Software win7 ultimate -64bit
#4
Did you use driver cleaner to remove old nvidia drivers ?sometimes old drivers can cause problems uninstall ati dirvers ,run driver sweeper clean old ati/nvidia drivers http://www.guru3d.com/category/driversweeper/ reboot and reinstall ati drivers .You can use drivers from amd/ati noneed for manufacturer drivers (latest is catalyst 9.11 atm) .

Heat can cause vpu recover also , may be psu for your friend (altought 4670 is not power hungry and cool working card ) try it another system .If these are not problem RMA it.
 

xTalon

New Member
Joined
Dec 12, 2009
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#5
As I mentioned in the opening post, heat is not the issue as it is at 60* and even then the case may be opened for more airflow.

And yes, we tried powercolor drivers (from disc and updated) as well as the ATI drivers and my ASUS drivers...

Not to be mean as you are trying to help, but please read first =/

I'll try driver sweeper, I was thinking of doing it just didn't think it'd really help much, ah well.
 
Joined
Jun 26, 2008
Messages
2,302 (0.67/day)
Likes
959
Location
EDM, AB, CAN
Processor AMD FX-4350
Motherboard Gigabye GA-970A-D3P
Cooling Enermax ETD-T60-VD - 7 x 120mm case fans
Memory Kingston HyperX 2x4GB@1600mhz
Video Card(s) Asus R9 380
Storage Kingston V300 240GB SSD + WD Green 2TB
Display(s) ACER K212HL 27" + Haier 55"
Case Enermax Ostrog (Red)
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA B2 750W
Software Win10 64bit
#6
If I add a new video card I will always do a fresh install of my operating system.
 

3dsage

New Member
Joined
Nov 8, 2008
Messages
1,797 (0.54/day)
Likes
328
Location
NW Burbs of Chicago
System Name *5GHZ_STAR*
Processor Core i5 2500K 5GHZ 24/7 1.38Vcore
Motherboard Asrock P67 Extreme6
Cooling Scythe SCMG-2100 REV. B
Memory 2x2GB GSkill Ripjaw X 1600 CL7
Video Card(s) 4850 XFIRE
Storage 500GB + 1TB NAS
Display(s) I-INC 28" LCD 1920x1200
Case Antec P180
Power Supply Thermaltake TR2 TRX-650
Software Seven Ultimate 64-bit
#8
Cant you just disable VPU recover in CCC?
Its in the overdrive tab.
 

xTalon

New Member
Joined
Dec 12, 2009
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#9
Cant you just disable VPU recover in CCC?
Its in the overdrive tab.
Even so, I don't know if that'll help. I've read that sometimes that doesn't work and you still need a hard reboot.

Also since this has happened with 4 different drivers, I think there is a bit more to it than just a driver glitch...maybe.

Edit:
Got a blue screen 15mins ago, not sure if it was in-game or not. Will need to get that info.
 

3dsage

New Member
Joined
Nov 8, 2008
Messages
1,797 (0.54/day)
Likes
328
Location
NW Burbs of Chicago
System Name *5GHZ_STAR*
Processor Core i5 2500K 5GHZ 24/7 1.38Vcore
Motherboard Asrock P67 Extreme6
Cooling Scythe SCMG-2100 REV. B
Memory 2x2GB GSkill Ripjaw X 1600 CL7
Video Card(s) 4850 XFIRE
Storage 500GB + 1TB NAS
Display(s) I-INC 28" LCD 1920x1200
Case Antec P180
Power Supply Thermaltake TR2 TRX-650
Software Seven Ultimate 64-bit
#10

xTalon

New Member
Joined
Dec 12, 2009
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#11
Here we go, my friend was in modern warfare 2 when the BSOD had occured.

The reason it had occurred is because he had disabled VPU recover.
 

3dsage

New Member
Joined
Nov 8, 2008
Messages
1,797 (0.54/day)
Likes
328
Location
NW Burbs of Chicago
System Name *5GHZ_STAR*
Processor Core i5 2500K 5GHZ 24/7 1.38Vcore
Motherboard Asrock P67 Extreme6
Cooling Scythe SCMG-2100 REV. B
Memory 2x2GB GSkill Ripjaw X 1600 CL7
Video Card(s) 4850 XFIRE
Storage 500GB + 1TB NAS
Display(s) I-INC 28" LCD 1920x1200
Case Antec P180
Power Supply Thermaltake TR2 TRX-650
Software Seven Ultimate 64-bit
#12
Here we go, my friend was in modern warfare 2 when the BSOD had occured.

The reason it had occurred is because he had disabled VPU recover.
Symptoms started after the Vid card install?
It has to be driver issues, do a clean sweep of the old drivers.
 

xTalon

New Member
Joined
Dec 12, 2009
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#13
Just uninstalled old drivers, tried driver sweeper and then re installed new drivers.

The results are:
VPU error after 15mins.

Edit:
He's now uninstalling the 4670 and throwing back in his Nvidia card. I'll try running his card in my PC and see what happens, blue screens and VPU errors of the like.

If it doesn't occur with me, I'll see once more about maybe a windows reinstall for him or new PSU.

And if I do have errors, time to RMA it.
 
Last edited: