• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

PowerColor RX 480 Red Dragon 4gb BIOS Issue

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Jun 24, 2022
Messages
42 (0.44/day)
Bought it as defective card for a cheap price. Posted as "no display".
This is a dual BIOS card.
When I check the 1st BIOS, it only display my motherboard splash screen then no display when loading WIndows.
And on the 2nd BIOS, system will post (1 beep) then display error (3 beeps).

I open the card to check, saw the thermal paste dried up so I reapply a new one.
Assembled and installed back in my system.

Using 1st BIOS, it can now boot in Windows then freeze for like a minute or two.

I put another card (Nvidia) as my main so I can check the BIOS of the 480 without crashing my system.

I noticed that there are missing information when I check the card with GPU-Z.
Photo here

So I've searched for BIOS for my card.
Found and flashed this.
Here's what it looks like in GPU-Z after flashing.

The condition was improved.
I can play games, system will not freeze, pass some benchmarks.

But it's not that stable specially then I put more load in the system while benchmarking.
I didn't encounter this in my other cards so I think there is still wrong with the 480.

Then just last night, I decided to benchmark again with a freshly installed Windows so I can eliminate the driver conflicts.

When I power up, I got the issue when I firstly obtain the card.
Black screen after splash screen of my motherboard on the 1st BIOS, display error (3beeps) on the 2nd.


Does anyone had this issue before?
Is this a HW or a SW failure?

Another weird thing is that, clock and memory are always zero value in GPU-Z sensor tab.
Though I can see the values in MSI AB and Adrenaline SW.
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 20, 2020
Messages
605 (0.70/day)
Did you check the card before flashing BIOS that it really has that Samsung RAM (K4G41325FE written on the chips)?
Hynix has much more relaxed timings/would heat up too much with the other ones and probably stop functioning.
It could also be that the card was used for mining and the RAM has degraded...
 
Joined
Jun 24, 2022
Messages
42 (0.44/day)
Yes, I have checked the modules when I open it to replace the thermal paste. They are Samsung.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
37,418 (6.72/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Stop buying used gpus
 
Joined
Jul 16, 2014
Messages
7,533 (2.52/day)
Location
SE Michigan
System Name Dumbass
Processor AMD FX-9370
Motherboard ASUS SABERTOOTH 990FX R2.0 +SB950
Cooling Artic Liquid Freezer 2 - 420mm
Memory G.Skill Sniper 16gb DDR3 2400
Video Card(s) GreenTeam 1080 Gaming X 8GB
Storage Samsung EVO 500gb & 1Tb, 2tb HDD
Display(s) 1x Nixeus NX_EDG27, 2x Dell S2440L (16:9)
Case Phanteks Enthoo Primo w/8 140mm SP Fans
Audio Device(s) onboard (realtek?) - SPKRS:Logitech Z623 200w 2.1
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Logitech G604
Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spark
Software windows 10
Benchmark Scores https://i.imgur.com/aoz3vWY.jpg?2
But it's not that stable specially then I put more load in the system while benchmarking.
I didn't encounter this in my other cards so I think there is still wrong with the 480.

Then just last night, I decided to benchmark again with a freshly installed Windows so I can eliminate the driver conflicts.

When I power up, I got the issue when I firstly obtain the card.
Black screen after splash screen of my motherboard on the 1st BIOS, display error (3beeps) on the 2nd.

When I check again the BIOS with Nvidia card together so I can boot up, the BIOS got corrupted again with the missing informations in GPU-Z.

Does anyone had this issue before?
Is this a HW or a SW failure?
Is the PSU large enought to handle both cards? some system info would be nice. And Welcome to TPU
 
Joined
Jun 24, 2022
Messages
42 (0.44/day)
I think so.
I only encounter freeze or crash when benchmarking the 480 installed alone. Not with other cards.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
37,418 (6.72/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Get a pic of the white sticker labels and a closeup of a samsung ram chip please
 
Joined
Jun 24, 2022
Messages
42 (0.44/day)
Will this work? Or should I take picture individually each module?
And which white sticker you are referring to?


IMG_20220627_190926.jpg
 

Attachments

  • IMG_20220624_100434.jpg
    IMG_20220624_100434.jpg
    1.8 MB · Views: 11

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
37,418 (6.72/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Will this work? Or should I take picture individually each module?
And which white sticker you are referring to?


View attachment 252840

The 1 on the back of the card or on the side of the gpu heatsink near the pcie blade
 
Joined
Jun 28, 2022
Messages
355 (3.90/day)
System Name EA-ZEN
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 5800X3D with -50mW UV
Motherboard Asus X570
Cooling Big Air
Memory 2x16 GB DDR4 3600 CL16
Video Card(s) Asus RTX 2080 Ti Strix highly OC’ed
Storage 1 TB NVME, 500 GB SSD etc
Display(s) 2x 27”, main: curved 144Hz SVA with BLS and HDR
Case Full Tower
Audio Device(s) Z906 5.1 and Audeze Headphones, Shure SM7B mic
Power Supply Enough
Mouse Old but gold
Keyboard Mechanical Cherry Brown
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores A lot
Most likely the GPU is half dead, what was left of its life is now over.
 
Joined
Jun 24, 2022
Messages
42 (0.44/day)
I will try to do the suggestion of other firstly, like checking the memory using dmgg or tserver.
If it's really not repairable anymore, then I will just keep the card as backup in case my main card encountered an issue.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
37,418 (6.72/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Thats better

Most likely the GPU is half dead, what was left of its life is now over.
Lets not jump to conclusions

I will try to do the suggestion of other firstly, like checking the memory using dmgg or tserver.
If it's really not repairable anymore, then I will just keep the card as backup in case my main card encountered an issue.
Let me do some research i will have an answer
 
Joined
Jun 24, 2022
Messages
42 (0.44/day)
Let me do some research i will have an answer
Thank you for helping.

I just want to add up some strange things that I have obsered, not sure is this information is helping.

I also noticed that the card working better in 8lanes PCIE slot than a 16lanes.

BIOS switch 1 seems better than switch 2 since I can boot while the other one, if the card is not working, I can't even boot.

And in BIOS 2, most of the time I can't boot from it.
Booting in BIOS 1 then switching to BIOS 2 to flash a new BIOS will have an "error reading from rom" by just opening atiflash.
I can't also flash BIOS 2 using CMD.
 
Last edited:

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
37,418 (6.72/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Ok will have an answer today

Latest bios


All the rest, you must ensure Samsung FE Ram is in the details.



Follow this guide

 
Last edited:

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
37,418 (6.72/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
37,418 (6.72/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Joined
Jun 24, 2022
Messages
42 (0.44/day)
Sorry. Been busy trying to fix.
Unfortunately it doesn't work.

What happened is, in my first boot, the card is behaving. Like I can boot in Windows without freezing.
So I flashed the BIOS from the link that you have provided. Flashing goes well, I also managed to flash BIOS on the 2nd switch.

After flashing, I rebooted.
Then I decided to benchmark to see if the card is already ok.

Crashed and the PC reboots.

Then I attempted to flash the BIOS again to switch 2, I got "error reading from ROM".
Flashing switch 1 doesn't have problem though. But it's freezing in Windows and crashing on benchmarks.

And I got this error in CMD amdvbflash -i command
 

Attachments

  • IMG_20220630_195416_1.jpg
    IMG_20220630_195416_1.jpg
    6.7 MB · Views: 19

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
37,418 (6.72/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
The card is damaged from mining
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
37,418 (6.72/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Yup, that's what mining does.


Unless if you have a pcb repair station, schematics, good understanding, and smd stock, used gpus really arent worth it especially 1s that came out 3-6 years ago
 
Joined
Jun 24, 2022
Messages
42 (0.44/day)
Ok. My last workaround will be the 8+1 pin with the BIOS chip this weekend.
If it doesn't work, I will just keep the card as backup even just for display since my CPU doesn't have intergrated graphics.

Thanks all for the help.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
37,418 (6.72/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Ok. My last workaround will be the 8+1 pin with the BIOS chip this weekend.
If it doesn't work, I will just keep the card as backup even just for display since my CPU doesn't have intergrated graphics.

Thanks all for the help.
Id pick up a RX 5500, 6400, 6500.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top