• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

PowerColor RX 480 Red Dragon 4gb BIOS Issue

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Jun 24, 2022
Messages
42 (0.26/day)
I will if I have budget.
Will stick with my old 1070 at the moment untill end of this year, or not if my budget is short.

Just an update, I tried the 1 + 8pin method and successfully flashed the BIOS.
I no longer getting test fail with amdvbflash -i command including the error 0FL01.

The remaining issues are;
1. Stability during benchmarks specially when there are background apps in the background including a full scanning of Windows Security
- it will pass Superposition, Heaven and Usebench specially when there are no background apps


2. GPU and Memory clock values are zero in GPU-Z sensor tab. Though MSI AB, AMD software and HW Info have them
- I am now trying different BIOS and driver version.
is it related more with driver or BIOS, so I know which I will focus into?


I will have a fresh install of Windows in my spare drive this weekend to test properly and to eliminate other factors that causing instability.

Update :
I got the GPU and Memory clock reading under sensor tab now with 17.2.2 driver Remaining issue to resolve is the stability. Will test until weekend with fingers crossed.


Screenshot 2022-07-05 183513.jpg
 
Last edited:

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
37,548 (6.67/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
I will if I have budget.
Will stick with my old 1070 at the moment untill end of this year, or not if my budget is short.

Just an update, I tried the 1 + 8pin method and successfully flashed the BIOS.
I no longer getting test fail with amdvbflash -i command including the error 0FL01.

The remaining issues are;
1. Stability during benchmarks specially when there are background apps in the background including a full scanning of Windows Security
- it will pass Superposition, Heaven and Usebench specially when there are no background apps


2. GPU and Memory clock values are zero in GPU-Z sensor tab. Though MSI AB, AMD software and HW Info have them
- I am now trying different BIOS and driver version.
is it related more with driver or BIOS, so I know which I will focus into?


I will have a fresh install of Windows in my spare drive this weekend to test properly and to eliminate other factors that causing instability.

Update :
I got the GPU and Memory clock reading under sensor tab now with 17.2.2 driver Remaining issue to resolve is the stability. Will test until weekend with fingers crossed.


View attachment 253715
Forgot to mention there are 2 guides in my link
 
Joined
Jun 24, 2022
Messages
42 (0.26/day)
Yeah, actually I follow those guides for the flashing procedure.

Btw, how do you benchmark GPUs? Are you just running benchmark without background apps?
Because the card pass the benchmarks if there is no scanning of AV in the background. I even play some games for about an hour but no crash.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
37,548 (6.67/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Yeah, actually I follow those guides for the flashing procedure.

Btw, how do you benchmark GPUs? Are you just running benchmark without background apps?
Because the card pass the benchmarks if there is no scanning of AV in the background. I even play some games for about an hour but no crash.
AVs cause oddness in games, this dates back to Windows 95/98 Days.

There are plenty of benchmark vids on youtube for RX 400/500 cards.
 
Joined
Jun 24, 2022
Messages
42 (0.26/day)
So can I say it's stable now that I pass unigine, userbench, furmark for 15mins?
And btw, since this card is dual BIOS and I only have one BIOS from TPU which is verified, I want to modify that BIOS by underclocking and flash to one of the BIOS.
My plan is just to modify the GPU clock and leaving Memory clock in stock.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
37,548 (6.67/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Dont bother with furmark testing

Just use MSI Afterburner
 
Joined
Jun 24, 2022
Messages
42 (0.26/day)
Yeah, I'm not using furmark on my main card because I'm afraid. Just for this one so I can really see if it can handle.

So I think this card is stable now and ready for battle. Though I will still monitor by using it as daily driver.

Thank again for all the help.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
37,548 (6.67/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Yeah, I'm not using furmark on my main card because I'm afraid. Just for this one so I can really see if it can handle.

So I think this card is stable now and ready for battle. Though I will still monitor by using it as daily driver.
Yeah thats fine, furmark is not a good tool for stability testing as gpus Since the Radeon HD 5000 series throttle it anyway. Just use games.

I used the uniengine benchs to verify total system stability for my sig rig.
 
Joined
Jun 28, 2022
Messages
355 (2.29/day)
System Name EA-ZEN
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 5800X3D with -50mW UV
Motherboard Asus X570
Cooling Big Air
Memory 2x16 GB DDR4 3600 CL16
Video Card(s) Asus RTX 2080 Ti Strix highly OC’ed
Storage 1 TB NVME, 500 GB SSD etc
Display(s) 2x 27”, main: curved 144Hz SVA with BLS and HDR
Case Full Tower
Audio Device(s) Z906 5.1 and Audeze Headphones, Shure SM7B mic
Power Supply Enough
Mouse Old but gold
Keyboard Mechanical Cherry Brown
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores A lot
So can I say it's stable now that I pass unigine, userbench, furmark for 15mins?
And btw, since this card is dual BIOS and I only have one BIOS from TPU which is verified, I want to modify that BIOS by underclocking and flash to one of the BIOS.
My plan is just to modify the GPU clock and leaving Memory clock in stock.
Just test stability with unigine (heaven or superpos) or 3dmark/firestrike. If it passes its at least partially stable. Ofc you need to play a few hours to know more.
 
Joined
Jun 24, 2022
Messages
42 (0.26/day)
Yes, it passes those benchmarks. My guess is that my whole system is the one that is not stable when it restarts in benchmark while having AV scanning in the background.
Btw, when it restarts, the system cannot find my boot device which is a nvme drive. I have to power down the system to start it back normally.

I don't have much time to play continuously but will try this weekend if wife is in good mood.
 
Joined
Jun 28, 2022
Messages
355 (2.29/day)
System Name EA-ZEN
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 5800X3D with -50mW UV
Motherboard Asus X570
Cooling Big Air
Memory 2x16 GB DDR4 3600 CL16
Video Card(s) Asus RTX 2080 Ti Strix highly OC’ed
Storage 1 TB NVME, 500 GB SSD etc
Display(s) 2x 27”, main: curved 144Hz SVA with BLS and HDR
Case Full Tower
Audio Device(s) Z906 5.1 and Audeze Headphones, Shure SM7B mic
Power Supply Enough
Mouse Old but gold
Keyboard Mechanical Cherry Brown
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores A lot
Yes, it passes those benchmarks. My guess is that my whole system is the one that is not stable when it restarts in benchmark while having AV scanning in the background.
Btw, when it restarts, the system cannot find my boot device which is a nvme drive. I have to power down the system to start it back normally.

I don't have much time to play continuously but will try this weekend if wife is in good mood.
This doesn't sound good, I wouldn't trust this system. Is it always like this or just with this GPU?
 
Joined
Jun 24, 2022
Messages
42 (0.26/day)
I have this issue before using my main gpu. Just by playing a game. It started when I move from 2.5" SSD to a NVMe OS drive.
I got it fixed when I remove the PSU extension cable for the 8pin connector of my motherboard.

So I will test my GPU more with these options.

1. fresh OS in a 2.5 SSD
2. remove the PSU extension cables for the 24pin and 8pin PCIE
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
37,548 (6.67/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
What power supply are you using?
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
37,548 (6.67/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
CM V650 Gold
Get hwinfo 64 and get a screenshot of the power supply volts (to the motherboard) before playing a game, leave it open in background then play 1 of your more demanding games, then get a screenshot afterwards.

Do the same for Sensors in GPU-Z.
 
Joined
Jun 24, 2022
Messages
42 (0.26/day)
I just pass a benchmark with other apps and AV scanning in the background which before was crashing.
I disable my CPU and RAM OC and removed all the PSU extension cables.
So maybe when it's crashing it is the system which is not stable and not the GPU?

Get hwinfo 64 and get a screenshot of the power supply volts (to the motherboard) before playing a game, leave it open in background then play 1 of your more demanding games, then get a screenshot afterwards.

Do the same for Sensors in GPU-Z.
Here are the screenshots
 
Last edited:

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
37,548 (6.67/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Ok lets see hwinfo64
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
37,548 (6.67/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Here they are
Set
Well the ATX 12V is way Under 5%, that's why you are failing, replace the PSU with a High Quality 650W from Seasonic/EVGA/Superflower/Andyson/Corsair RM
 
Joined
Jun 24, 2022
Messages
42 (0.26/day)
Ok then. If I got this RX 480 sold, I will buy a new PSU.
But can I keep this PSU for the build I am planning for my daughter, will be used on her online class?
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
37,548 (6.67/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Ok its outside of ATX spec and will eventually cause failure on that system, replace it totally
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top