• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Powercolor x800 GTO 12ppp no temperature & fan's rpm/control...

roo13

New Member
Joined
Feb 26, 2007
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
Hello

I've bought this videocard as i found it at a good price, but i'm really disappointed by the fan..so i decided to unplug it as i could'nt control it by atitool 0.26 or trixx (last version)..in addition, by safety, i've underclocked gpu and memory to 200mhz but my problem is that it is impossible to monitor temperature..?

Here is the bios i have: 009.010.001.015 (15 sept. 2005).. is there an update i could find somewhere..? or maybe could i change this bios by a generic one for x800 GTO pci-e 256mb DDR3..?
Or is there a manipulation to do with rabit to modify my bios..?

Thanks in advance, ju
 

Zalmann

New Member
Joined
Feb 25, 2007
Messages
910 (0.23/day)
Likes
1
Location
Perth, Australia
System Name HP Pavilion dv6
Processor Intel Core i7-2630QM
Memory 8GB (2 x GEIL 4GB DDR3 SO-DIMM C9 1333MHz)
Video Card(s) ATI Mobility Radeon HD6570
Storage 750Gb WD 2.5" WD Scorpio Black
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
#2
Hello

I've bought this videocard as i found it at a good price, but i'm really disappointed by the fan..so i decided to unplug it as i could'nt control it by atitool 0.26 or trixx (last version)..in addition, by safety, i've underclocked gpu and memory to 200mhz but my problem is that it is impossible to monitor temperature..?

Here is the bios i have: 009.010.001.015 (15 sept. 2005).. is there an update i could find somewhere..? or maybe could i change this bios by a generic one for x800 GTO pci-e 256mb DDR3..?
Or is there a manipulation to do with rabit to modify my bios..?

Thanks in advance, ju
Get an aftermarket fan, like the Zalman VF900-CU or the AC Accellero. These connect straight to the fan headers on your MB or you can connect it to your PSU via 4 pin to 3 pin connector. Thats the best way, other than stuffing around in BIOS just to adjust the fan speed. Very risky to play around in BIOS, esp if it locks up while you are flashing it.
 

Zalmann

New Member
Joined
Feb 25, 2007
Messages
910 (0.23/day)
Likes
1
Location
Perth, Australia
System Name HP Pavilion dv6
Processor Intel Core i7-2630QM
Memory 8GB (2 x GEIL 4GB DDR3 SO-DIMM C9 1333MHz)
Video Card(s) ATI Mobility Radeon HD6570
Storage 750Gb WD 2.5" WD Scorpio Black
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
#3
If you want control the fanspeed, the Zalman VF900 comes with a fan speed controller.
 

peach1971

New Member
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
652 (0.16/day)
Likes
46
Location
Germany
Processor AMD Phenom II X2 550 @3600MHz (VCore -0.05V)
Motherboard Gigabyte MA-780G-DS3H (AMD SB700), BIOS: 04/14/09
Cooling Scythe Samurai cooled by 2x Enermax Warp 80mm ~700 RPM
Memory 2x 1GB GeIL Ultra DDR2-800 @1066 CL4-5-5-15 2T
Video Card(s) MSI R4830 OC (HD4830)
Storage Samsung 400 GB S-ATA, WD 400GB S-ATA
Display(s) Samsung 2433BW 1920 x 1200 Pixel (16:10)
Case timeless office tower ;)
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1
Power Supply be quiet! Straight Power BQT E7-400W
Software Windows XP Pro 32bit
#4
Plus the VF series (incl. VF700) comes along connectors for different voltages.
I chose 12V (full speed), cause my XpertVision X800 GTO doesn´t support monitoring, too.

My GPU (R420) runs at 520MHz (default 400), not a single crash or errors occured with this settings (VF700 @ full speed, not noisy).
 

Zalmann

New Member
Joined
Feb 25, 2007
Messages
910 (0.23/day)
Likes
1
Location
Perth, Australia
System Name HP Pavilion dv6
Processor Intel Core i7-2630QM
Memory 8GB (2 x GEIL 4GB DDR3 SO-DIMM C9 1333MHz)
Video Card(s) ATI Mobility Radeon HD6570
Storage 750Gb WD 2.5" WD Scorpio Black
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
#5
Plus the VF series (incl. VF700) comes along connectors for different voltages.
I chose 12V (full speed), cause my XpertVision X800 GTO doesn´t support monitoring, too.

My GPU (R420) runs at 520MHz (default 400), not a single crash or errors occured with this settings (VF700 @ full speed, not noisy).
Yeah, the VF700 and VF900 are both very quiet units. I love the variable speed controller (fanmate2) tho.
 

roo13

New Member
Joined
Feb 26, 2007
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#6
Hi both of you and thanks

In fact buying an other cooler wasn't really an option cause, i'm kind of tight in $ (in € actually..) and thought i could fix this by an update or modification of the bios..if anyone knows the trick for this, please let me know..

Otherwise, as i can't monitor temp, at least (rpm was just to have an idea), i'll certainly go for a vf700..
Controlling the fan was interresting as by slowing it down with my finger it seemed to be quiet..and that appeared to me the cheapest and most efficient way to do it..

thanks again, ju
 

Zalmann

New Member
Joined
Feb 25, 2007
Messages
910 (0.23/day)
Likes
1
Location
Perth, Australia
System Name HP Pavilion dv6
Processor Intel Core i7-2630QM
Memory 8GB (2 x GEIL 4GB DDR3 SO-DIMM C9 1333MHz)
Video Card(s) ATI Mobility Radeon HD6570
Storage 750Gb WD 2.5" WD Scorpio Black
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
#7
Hi both of you and thanks

In fact buying an other cooler wasn't really an option cause, i'm kind of tight in $ (in € actually..) and thought i could fix this by an update or modification of the bios..if anyone knows the trick for this, please let me know..

Otherwise, as i can't monitor temp, at least (rpm was just to have an idea), i'll certainly go for a vf700..
Controlling the fan was interresting as by slowing it down with my finger it seemed to be quiet..and that appeared to me the cheapest and most efficient way to do it..

thanks again, ju
The VF700 is a bit cheaper than the VF900, and would meet your needs. Alternatively you can buy the Zalman fanmate controller, and try and solder that to your existing fan.
 

roo13

New Member
Joined
Feb 26, 2007
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#8
Hello

Thanks Zalmann, i can use the fanmate with the special 3 pins connector of the video card's fan..? isn't it supposed to be plugged on stard 3pins connector like cpu fan ?

thx in advance
ps: anyway i'm little worried by the temperature and would like to monitor it in order to check thaht the fan isn't too low..any idea..? when i edit my bios dumped from CCC in rabit, fields about temp and fan speed are inactive, but if i edit bios from techpowerup for powercolor x800 gto pci-e they are active..difference of PCB..? how can i check this and find a good version..?
 

peach1971

New Member
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
652 (0.16/day)
Likes
46
Location
Germany
Processor AMD Phenom II X2 550 @3600MHz (VCore -0.05V)
Motherboard Gigabyte MA-780G-DS3H (AMD SB700), BIOS: 04/14/09
Cooling Scythe Samurai cooled by 2x Enermax Warp 80mm ~700 RPM
Memory 2x 1GB GeIL Ultra DDR2-800 @1066 CL4-5-5-15 2T
Video Card(s) MSI R4830 OC (HD4830)
Storage Samsung 400 GB S-ATA, WD 400GB S-ATA
Display(s) Samsung 2433BW 1920 x 1200 Pixel (16:10)
Case timeless office tower ;)
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1
Power Supply be quiet! Straight Power BQT E7-400W
Software Windows XP Pro 32bit
#9

roo13

New Member
Joined
Feb 26, 2007
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#10
thanks a lot peach, i'll take a look at it this evening. i thought all recent videocards have this feature..

thx again

edit: if this sentence is right: "All Radeon X800 boards support temperature monitoring. On the X800 series the LM63 chip is located here:" i shaould have it so..?
 

AKA_Dawg

New Member
Joined
Feb 27, 2007
Messages
33 (0.01/day)
Likes
3
Processor Core 2 Duo E6550 @3.5
Motherboard ABIT IP35 Pro Intel P35
Cooling ARCTIC COOLING Freezer 7 Pro 92mm
Memory OCZ FLEX 2 PC 9200 4GB (2 x 2GB)
Video Card(s) 2 DIAMOND Viper Radeon HD 3870 512MB 256-bit GDDR4
Storage WD Raptor 740 WD raptor 360(page file)
Display(s) Acer 19" 2ms on a DELL adj stand
Case Top Secret
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling 750w
Software XP PRO
#11
It doesn't show the temp in CCC?
Anyways why don't you splice the connector off a case fan and then plug it in to a motherboard header? Do you have a fan on your northbridge?