1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Pre-Owned computer issues

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by DaddyDoubleA, Dec 8, 2009.

  1. DaddyDoubleA

    DaddyDoubleA New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    27 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    I acquired a pretty nice computer recently from an educational institution and when I try to boot up, it says this computer belongs to the "educational institution". I got a new HD and loaded windows and it still says that the computer belongs to this place. can anyone help...:toast:
     
  2. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,240 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,446
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    Damn. If it said that after you change the HDD, then that maybe security built in the BIOS. Have you tried flashing the BIOS back to default settings?
     
    DaddyDoubleA says thanks.
  3. dr emulator (madmax)

    dr emulator (madmax)

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    2,261 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    178
    Location:
    the uk that's all you need to know ;)
    are you asking how to disable/erase an anti theft serial name/number ?
    i should be very carefull asking about such things here as your likely to face the chop
    now if you can prove that the pc is yours and not say stolen thats fine someone will help:)
     
    DaddyDoubleA says thanks.
  4. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,240 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,446
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    Actually if you have it all legit and stuff, call the school you bought it from and they will just give you the bypass code. Then you can delete their profile once you have control over the system. Which they should do anyway. You may need to just take it back and have their tech dept. clean it up for you.
     
  5. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    5,650 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,638
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    DaddyDoubleA says thanks.
  6. DaddyDoubleA

    DaddyDoubleA New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    27 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    it's most definitely not the Dell latitude, it is more complicated than just getting the password. what component is causing the protection. by my accounts, if i already replaced the harddrives then it must be the RAM or the Motherboard, but more likely the memory than the motherboard... any useful suggestions?!?!?!:shadedshu
     
  7. DaddyDoubleA

    DaddyDoubleA New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    27 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    thank you for the suggestion but... It's not stolen but the school no longer exists and the computer is nice enough to keep. Please help if you can
     
  8. GREASEMONKEY

    GREASEMONKEY

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    596 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    411
    Location:
    Pacific N.W.
    Surely not a TPM thing is it??
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. InTeL-iNsIdE Guest

    Its the bios, you need to contact who ever you bought it from, surely if the school no longer exists you can still contact the person you got it from?

    Other than that I cant suggest much
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. Corrosion

    Corrosion New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    821 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    74
    Location:
    Maplewood, Mn
    Whats the specs on this computer?
     
    dr emulator (madmax) says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    14,755 (3.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,425
    What happens if you reset the bios?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. Paulieg The Mad Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,960 (3.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,054
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    You have already received the most useful suggestions possible. You either need a password, or if the security is in the bios, the bios needs to be cleared. It has to be in the motherboard bios. First, try clearing the cmos. You may not be able to find a jumper, so just take out the motherboard battery for 30 seconds, then pop it back in. If this does not work, you may need to find the original bios for whatever board they put in that system and reflash it.
     
    DaddyDoubleA says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. exodusprime1337

    exodusprime1337

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,220 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    372
    i agree with the above posts, i would just contact the person who gave it to you, imho most computers given out for free by an institution whether professional or educational usually clear the things off first and this detail is hardly missed, i would just get in touch with whomever you got if from and see what they say.
     
  14. DaddyDoubleA

    DaddyDoubleA New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    27 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Thank you all. i will try your suggestions and let you know what happens... thank you again.
     
  15. roast

    roast

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Messages:
    597 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    102
    Location:
    Ireland.
    It might possibly be a Smart Card installed in one of the PCI slots. I've come across devices like that before, so you could check for that too.
     
    DaddyDoubleA says thanks.
  16. DaddyDoubleA

    DaddyDoubleA New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    27 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    i looked there first though.... if you have anything else that may help, please let me know. Most all of your suggestions have been helpful at least from a troubleshooting standpoint thank you very much
     
    roast says thanks.
  17. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    4,001 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,655
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    If the logo appears right when the computer is turned on (during POST), it is part of the BIOS as mentioned before. The laptops at the high school that I attended have the school district's Product Record number (like a serial #) for that particular laptop displayed on the POST screen, so kids can't peel the sticker off and call it their laptop. You may be able to flash the regular BIOS for that computer model and have it be a regular computer, if the current BIOS allows you to overwrite it.
     
    DaddyDoubleA says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)