• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Prerequisite Modifier for Steam

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
25,564 (6.27/day)
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate Exos X12 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 VGA)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
If you've used Steam a lot you've probably noticed a few games where Steam tries to install something every time an application is started. This application is intended to tell Steam it is installed so it can quit trying.



1) Select the VDF for the application you're trying to install. Not all applications have prerequisites so not all applications have a VDF file to select. The VDF usually resides in the application's install directory as either install_APPID.vdf or installscript.vdf. Either should work but I would recommend using installscript.vdf when both are available.

2) Input the application ID number for the product. It should show up in the drop down list acquired from Steam but it might not. The easiest way to get it is to find the Steam store page for the program. For example, here is the full URL to the Dishonored store page and I have bolded the application ID number in it. Input that into the "app ID" field of the program: http://store.steampowered.com/agecheck/app/205100/
Without agecheck: http://store.steampowered.com/app/205100/

3) Click refresh to try to parse the installscript and search the application ID registry. If it was successful, it will show a list of prerequisite applications in the list box below.

4) Check all the unchecked boxes and start the application. Steam should no longer prompt to install anything. Note: If the prerequisite is, in fact, not installed, right-click on it and select Install to start the installer.


TitleAppIDPrerequisite (process if not obvious)VDF
Assassin's Creed III208480VCRedist, UplayLauncher, kb971512x86, kb971512x64
Command & Conquer 4: Tiberium Twilight47700.NET 3.5 SP1
Darksiders II50650DirectX
Dishonored205100PhysXRedist (msiexec)
Dungeons57650VC201057650_install.vdf
Dungeons: The Dark Lord200550VC2010200550_install.vdf
Endless Space208140
Far Cry Primal371660Microsoft .Net4, Vcredist2010WW
Hard Reset98400DirectX
Mafia II50130PhysX2
Space Engineers244850Coldstart
Warhammer 40,000: Dawn of War - Soulstorm9450DirectX (not installable because directory missing), VCRedistMFC, x86 SP1 (VC++ 2005), x64 SP1 (VC++ 2005)
Wasteland Angel46520MS VC++ 2010 Redist
If you know of an application that should be added to the list, post it or private message me. Please provide the title, app ID, and information about the bugged prerequisite in the message.
 

Attachments

Last edited:
Joined
Sep 8, 2012
Messages
830 (0.31/day)
Location
Sydney, Australia
System Name The White Breeze||Medion Akoya Ultrabook
Processor i7-3770k||Core i5-3317U
Motherboard MSI Z77 MPOWER||Laptop?
Cooling Custom TEC waterloop||Laptop?
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX @ 2133MHz||8GB SDRAM
Video Card(s) 2X SLI MSI GeForce GTX 680 Lightning||Intel 4000
Storage Corsair GT 120GB, WD Caviar Black 1TB||500GB HDD with 32gb MSATA cache
Display(s) Samsung U28D590D 4k||14" LED
Case NZXT Switch 810||Laptop shell?
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi surround pro 5.1||Dolby Home Theatre V4
Power Supply Seasonic XP-860 Platinum||Laptop Power Brick
Software Windows 7||Windows 8
Great idea! Anyway to make it work with new applications? I have about 20 instances of directX installed on my computer due to steam installing it for new games, even though I already have DirectX........
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
25,564 (6.27/day)
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate Exos X12 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 VGA)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
If you install the software but don't run it (needs the VDF file) and know the App ID, it should be able to tell Steam they are all installed before even running it. You have to remember to run Prerequisite Modifier for Steam prior to starting the game though.


Edit: For coders out there, the VDF parser is exposed in the binary if you wanted to use it in your own .NET application. It isn't completely finished though (no Write method) because I didn't see much use in finishing it. If someone has use of it, let me know and I'll finish it.
 
Last edited:

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
25,564 (6.27/day)
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate Exos X12 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 VGA)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
Updated to version 1.0.1 which fixes a bug where VDF file listed values before subkeys. This problem prevented the program from working correctly on Assassin's Creed III installscript.vdf (and likely others). It now works for changing AC3's prerequisites. I also added AC3 to the list of "applications known to be helpful on."
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
25,564 (6.27/day)
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate Exos X12 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 VGA)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
Updated to version 1.0.2 which fixes a bug where the end of the file doesn't terminate as expected and it would try to read data that did not exist. I noticed this issue on Mafia II installscript.vdf (Steam tries to install "PhysX2" every time the game runs). It should now be fixed.

Edit: If someone finds a game that has problems, attach the VDF you used to your post (probably have to zip it first) and provide the Steam App ID and I'll see if I can fix it.
 
Last edited:

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
25,564 (6.27/day)
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate Exos X12 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 VGA)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
Updated to version 1.0.3 which allows PMS to work on runasadmin.vdf where there was no "installscript" section. I also made it auto-fill the VDF location and App ID from command line parameters if given (simply put them in that order and quotes around the path if it has spaces).
 
Last edited:

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
25,564 (6.27/day)
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate Exos X12 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 VGA)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
Updated to 1.0.4 and squished some bugs:
-If the .VDF is not in the root game directory, it will try to work back to the root game directory for installing sake (which is based on the "installdir")
-Some code was properly case insensitive while other code was not causing errors on some .vdf files. It is now case insensitive in both locations.
-Application no longer crashes when trying to install something that doesn't exist. It will attempt to fix the install path first and failing that, spit out a descriptive message box of what it tried (it's probably pretty obvious why it failed looking at it).
-Caught some registry NullReferenceExceptions earlier on.

In working on this update, it has become pretty clear this needs a major rewrite because of Steam's move to .acf files to organize where applications are installed. When it does happen, you should be able to pick the game you want to modify out of a list of games and install scripts rather than having to manually find the install scripts and type in the App ID. Before I uploaded 1.4, there were only 100 downloads on 1.3 and it was up for two years. Unless there is a boom in interest in this application, I'll probably leave well enough alone.
 
Joined
Nov 18, 2010
Messages
4,749 (1.44/day)
Location
Rīga, Latvia
System Name HELLSTAR
Processor Intel 5960X @ 4.4GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X99-UD3
Cooling Custom Loop. 360+240 rads.
Memory 4x8GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000MHz 15-17-17-36 CR1
Video Card(s) ASUS 1080 Ti FE + water block
Storage Optane 900P + Samsung PM981 NVMe 1TB + 750 EVO 500GB
Display(s) Philips PHL BDM3270
Case Phanteks Enthoo Evolv ATX Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Fractal Design Newton R3 1000W
Mouse Razer Basilisk
Keyboard Razer Deathstalker
Software Windows 10 insider
Never heard of it. Poor advertising mate.
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
25,564 (6.27/day)
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate Exos X12 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 VGA)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
I don't advertise. The problem is that search engines aren't finding it. Or rather they are but they aren't prioritizing it so people aren't seeing it.

I think it could use a better name. Terms people would search for. The current name is too technical.
 
Joined
Apr 30, 2006
Messages
1,181 (0.24/day)
Processor 7900
Motherboard Rampage Apex
Cooling H115i
Memory 64GB TridentZ 3200 14-14-14-34-1T
Video Card(s) Fury X
Case Corsair 740
Audio Device(s) 8ch LPCM via HDMI to Yamaha Z7 Receiver
Power Supply Corsair AX860
Mouse G903
Keyboard G810
Software 8.1 x64
Maybe put a link in your sig so more people can find it.

What other programs have your written Ford?
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
25,564 (6.27/day)
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate Exos X12 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 VGA)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
Lots of them. Most are scattered on TPU.
 
Joined
Mar 23, 2016
Messages
3,098 (2.28/day)
Processor Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard MSI B450 Tomahawk ATX
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu with AM4 bracket
Memory PNY Anarchy-X XLR8 Red DDR4 3200 MHz C15-17-17-17-35
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce RTX 2060 GAMING Z 6G
Storage Samsung 970 EVO NVMe M.2 500 GB, SanDisk Ultra II 480 GB
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster C27H711 OC refresh rate 110Hz
Case Phantek Eclipse P400S (PH-EC416PS)
Audio Device(s) EVGA NU Audio
Power Supply EVGA 850 BQ
Mouse SteelSeries Rival 310
Keyboard Logitech G G413 Silver
Software Windows 10 Professional 64-bit v1903
Never heard of it myself until I checked what this thread was about. Would of helped me out in the past fighting Steam over redist. packages it kept trying to install/reinstall.

Thanks for the update Ford. :)

Steam App ID List: https://steamdb.info/apps/
 
Last edited:

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
25,564 (6.27/day)
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate Exos X12 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 VGA)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
Just updated the program to 1.0.5.0 to fix a pesky bug that presents itself in Space Engineers (and probably a lot of others).

Short version is that the devs created a new key in the registry and my program couldn't. It would give the impression of working but if you refreshed again after checking the box that it's installed, it would clear the box demonstrating that it wasn't actually installed. Now, if keys don't exist in the hive, it creates them anyway so when you check/uncheck the box, it can actually work as intended instead of thinking it did and not really doing it.


Two things I've contemplated changing but haven't yet:

1. Game names instead of AppIDs. Resolving game names involve downloading a file from Valve with options to refresh it because it gets out of date. Right now the program is portable. I would have to make it resident for the sake of saving bandwidth/cleanliness to resolve game names. It isn't much work to get the AppID from the store so not sure it is worth my time to implement.

2. Make it find all of the VDFs in the choosen directory instead of just the one VDF file picked. Yeah, it's annoying to have to search for *.vdf and go through them all but implementing this change is rather costly. It would involve changing the UI significantly, there's risk of name conflicts spanning VDFs (e.g. vcredist occurring repeatedly), and there's no way to know which VDFs Steam looks at and which it ignores (e.g. Space Engineers has five but only looks at four).
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 17, 2017
Messages
797 (0.78/day)
Location
Italy
Processor i7 2600K @4.5GHz
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/Gen 3
Cooling ZeroTherm FZ120
Memory G.Skill Ripjaws 4x4GB DDR3
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1060 6G Gaming X
Storage Samsung 830 Pro 256GB + WD Caviar Blue 1TB
Display(s) Samsung PX2370 + Acer AL1717
Case Antec 1200 v1
Audio Device(s) aune x1s
Power Supply Enermax Modu87+ 800W
Mouse Logitech G403
Keyboard Qpad MK80
Great idea! Anyway to make it work with new applications? I have about 20 instances of directX installed on my computer due to steam installing it for new games, even though I already have DirectX........
Weird, never happened to me...
 
Joined
Sep 17, 2014
Messages
10,440 (5.47/day)
Location
Mars
Processor i7 8700k 4.7Ghz @ 1.26v
Motherboard AsRock Fatal1ty K6 Z370
Cooling beQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 3
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200/C16
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X @ 2100/5500
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 1TB + Samsung 830 256GB + Crucial BX100 250GB + Toshiba 1TB HDD
Display(s) Eizo Foris FG2421
Case Fractal Design Define C TG
Power Supply EVGA G2 750w
Mouse Logitech G502 Protheus Spectrum
Keyboard Sharkoon MK80 (Brown)
Software W10 x64
Weird, never happened to me...
You sure? Install a new Steam game and watch the dialog boxes that pass you by when you want to do the game's first startup. It goes through a vcredist process and checks DirectX.
 
Joined
Feb 17, 2017
Messages
797 (0.78/day)
Location
Italy
Processor i7 2600K @4.5GHz
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/Gen 3
Cooling ZeroTherm FZ120
Memory G.Skill Ripjaws 4x4GB DDR3
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1060 6G Gaming X
Storage Samsung 830 Pro 256GB + WD Caviar Blue 1TB
Display(s) Samsung PX2370 + Acer AL1717
Case Antec 1200 v1
Audio Device(s) aune x1s
Power Supply Enermax Modu87+ 800W
Mouse Logitech G403
Keyboard Qpad MK80
You sure? Install a new Steam game and watch the dialog boxes that pass you by when you want to do the game's first startup. It goes through a vcredist process and checks DirectX.
"Checks" is different from "installs" tho, i don't have multiple instances of directx installed although i installed many games.
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
25,564 (6.27/day)
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate Exos X12 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 VGA)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
That's not the purpose of this program. I mean, you can install stuff using it that for some reason Steam didn't. For example, you did a clean install of the computer and the game refuses to run, you could use this program to look at what the game should install and force the install then check that it is installed and it would be like Steam did it; however, the main purpose of this tool is for games that work and every time you start it, it asks for admin credentials to install something it doesn't need or is already installed but for some reason didn't check the box that it was installed.

TL;DR: this program stops Steam from nagging you on game start.
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
25,564 (6.27/day)
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate Exos X12 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 VGA)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
There can only be two: DirectX and DirectX Redistributable. DirectX is the core engine which ships with the operating system. DirectX Redistributable is basically an SDK for DirectX 9 and below. Both cases overwrite when a newer version is installed.

How many installers do you have for these things? Probably one for almost every game. Steam is extremely wasteful in this regard.
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
25,564 (6.27/day)
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate Exos X12 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 VGA)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
I added a demonstration video to the original post which shows the symptom in Space Engineers (admin login box pops up), how to fix it with Prerequisite Modifier for Steam, and shows that it fixed the issue (no more admin login).
 
Joined
Feb 8, 2012
Messages
2,934 (1.03/day)
Location
Zagreb, Croatia
System Name Windows 7 64-bit Core i5 3570K
Processor Intel Core i5 3570K @ 4.2 GHz, 1.26 V
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z77MX-D3H
Cooling Scythe Katana 4
Memory 4 x 4 GB G-Skill Sniper DDR3 @ 1600 MHz
Video Card(s) Gainward NVIDIA GeForce GTX 970 Phantom
Storage Western Digital Caviar Blue 1 TB, Seagate Baracuda 1 TB
Display(s) Dell P2414H
Case CoolerMaster Silencio 550
Audio Device(s) VIA HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX v2 650W
Mouse Steelseries Sensei
Keyboard CM Storm Quickfire Pro, Cherry MX Reds
Software MS Windows 7 Enterprise 64-bit SP1
This app can be nicely extended with some kind of steam api connectivity https://steamcommunity.com/dev and https://developer.valvesoftware.com/wiki/Steam_Web_API

You can use OpenId library https://github.com/IdentityModel/IdentityModel.OidcClient2
to log-in app user into steam using http://steamcommunity.com/openid as a provider
and call GetOwnedGames https://developer.valvesoftware.com/wiki/Steam_Web_API#GetOwnedGames_.28v0001.29
to receive user's library for a nice game id lookup, scanning library for usual offenders, getting accurate install locations and so on ...
 
Last edited:

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
25,564 (6.27/day)
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate Exos X12 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 VGA)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
It already generates a list of AppIDs (I think it tears into one of the Steam VDF files) from the local machine to populate the dropdown list. I already have my own code for finding all of the installed libraries as well. I can do pretty much everything the Steam Web API does in this instance without requesting a key (which they might not give) and without injecting legalese in my program.

I could do a lot of things to improve this program but 1.0.4 was only downloaded 73 times before I updated it to 1.0.5. I'm not sure it's worth the effort to improve when it is used so rarely and this one gets the job done as is.
 
Last edited:

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
20,691 (4.34/day)
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i7 2600k 4.4GHz :: Athlon II x4 630 3.5GHz
Motherboard ASUS P8P67 Pro :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 1866 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: none
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) Onboard - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply EVGA 500w 80 Plus :: Wounded Corsair CX600
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
This really seems like something Steam, and truly every game installer should be doing already. How hard would it be to add a check to see if you already have an equivalent or newer version of DirectX or whatever else they're pushing before installing it for the hundredth time?
 
Top