1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Prime95 Error...

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Franklinwallbrown, Jul 9, 2008.

  1. Franklinwallbrown

    Franklinwallbrown New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,228 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    It says:

    [Tue Jul 08 20:28:40 2008]
    FATAL ERROR: Rounding was 0.5, expected less than 0.4
    Hardware failure detected, consult stress.txt file.

    I looked for the stress.txt file, but I couldn't find it.

    I have also gotten many many errors on MemTest...

    Help me someone!
     
  2. dark2099

    dark2099

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4,433 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    758
    Location:
    where everyone wants to be
    Most likely means that you don't have enough power going through the CPU (unless you are at stock) and if your ram is failing memtest means either you have some bad ram or bad ram slots.
     
  3. Franklinwallbrown

    Franklinwallbrown New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,228 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    I'm at stock on the CPU and I did buy some used RAM...
     
  4. dark2099

    dark2099

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4,433 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    758
    Location:
    where everyone wants to be
    Might have gotten some bad ram, and if the CPU is at stock, I've had that happen, try using a different program like OCCT which can be found here.
     
  5. intel igent

    intel igent New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Messages:
    4,640 (1.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    428
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    you're mixing RAM? if so what is it you have?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    24,036 (5.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,705
    Reset CMOS and test ram stock. If it errors then , sorry to say, you got screwed( be sure to reset voltage and timings in bios first).

    And everytime I got the expected bla bla bla...it was CPU volts!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. CrAsHnBuRnXp

    CrAsHnBuRnXp

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    6,121 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    965
    Sounds like faulty hardware if your on stock.
     
  8. dark2099

    dark2099

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4,433 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    758
    Location:
    where everyone wants to be
    Completely off topic, but the comic in your sig intel igent is hilarious.
     
  9. intel igent

    intel igent New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Messages:
    4,640 (1.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    428
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    thnx, got it from russianboy! he posted it in the cray pik thread :rockout:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. Paulieg The Mad Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,960 (3.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,054
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    Yeah, you got some bad memory if you're failing prime and memtest. Do you have the voltage correct for the sticks?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. Franklinwallbrown

    Franklinwallbrown New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,228 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Well, I went and reset optimized defaults in BIOS and now it isn't going crazy in a half a second. Actually, for the few moments I let Prime95 and MemTest run I didn't get any errors. Well, Now I need to try to OC my rig and figure out how to Raid0 my Raptors, then put my OS on them by just moving the partition...wish me luck.
    I'm going to defrag, then start the OC...
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)