• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

prime95 FATAL ERROR... Need Help

bshadow

New Member
Joined
Apr 12, 2007
Messages
16 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
hello guys..
im new here..
recently my computer started freezing on random occasions, i understood that it freezes up when i make him process alot of things (make it work hard).. like encoding video or something like that..
i guesses something is wrong with my hardware so i ran the prime95 test. but i got not idea what to do with its results.. plz help me..
thanks

the results:
[Thu Apr 12 02:35:25 2007]
Self-test 1024K passed!
[Thu Apr 12 02:51:29 2007]
Self-test 8K passed!
[Thu Apr 12 03:07:18 2007]
Self-test 10K passed!
[Thu Apr 12 03:24:38 2007]
Self-test 896K passed!
[Thu Apr 12 03:42:10 2007]
Self-test 768K passed!
[Thu Apr 12 03:57:45 2007]
Self-test 12K passed!
[Thu Apr 12 04:12:50 2007]
Self-test 14K passed!
[Thu Apr 12 04:30:19 2007]
Self-test 640K passed!
[Thu Apr 12 04:46:18 2007]
Self-test 512K passed!
[Thu Apr 12 05:01:45 2007]
Self-test 16K passed!
[Thu Apr 12 05:20:57 2007]
Self-test 20K passed!
[Thu Apr 12 05:36:17 2007]
Self-test 448K passed!
[Thu Apr 12 05:52:44 2007]
Self-test 384K passed!
[Thu Apr 12 06:10:59 2007]
Self-test 24K passed!
[Thu Apr 12 06:26:08 2007]
Self-test 28K passed!
[Thu Apr 12 06:41:41 2007]
Self-test 320K passed!
[Thu Apr 12 06:58:30 2007]
Self-test 256K passed!
[Thu Apr 12 07:16:54 2007]
Self-test 32K passed!
[Thu Apr 12 07:32:10 2007]
Self-test 40K passed!
[Thu Apr 12 07:48:53 2007]
Self-test 224K passed!
[Thu Apr 12 08:04:29 2007]
Self-test 192K passed!
[Thu Apr 12 08:19:46 2007]
Self-test 48K passed!
[Thu Apr 12 08:34:56 2007]
Self-test 56K passed!
[Thu Apr 12 08:50:29 2007]
Self-test 160K passed!
[Thu Apr 12 09:06:19 2007]
Self-test 128K passed!
[Thu Apr 12 09:25:30 2007]
Self-test 64K passed!
[Thu Apr 12 09:41:36 2007]
Self-test 80K passed!
[Thu Apr 12 09:58:45 2007]
Self-test 112K passed!
[Thu Apr 12 10:14:42 2007]
Self-test 96K passed!
[Thu Apr 12 10:32:15 2007]
Self-test 1280K passed!
[Thu Apr 12 10:48:08 2007]
Self-test 1536K passed!
[Thu Apr 12 11:04:29 2007]
Self-test 1792K passed!
[Thu Apr 12 11:21:38 2007]
Self-test 2048K passed!
[Thu Apr 12 11:38:45 2007]
Self-test 2560K passed!
[Thu Apr 12 11:54:00 2007]
Self-test 3072K passed!
[Thu Apr 12 12:10:45 2007]
Self-test 3584K passed!
[Thu Apr 12 12:27:37 2007]
Self-test 4096K passed!
[Thu Apr 12 12:46:17 2007]
Self-test 1024K passed!
[Thu Apr 12 13:02:37 2007]
Self-test 8K passed!
[Thu Apr 12 13:22:14 2007]
Self-test 10K passed!
[Thu Apr 12 13:40:18 2007]
Self-test 896K passed!
[Thu Apr 12 13:57:44 2007]
Self-test 768K passed!
[Thu Apr 12 14:13:25 2007]
Self-test 12K passed!
[Thu Apr 12 14:28:48 2007]
Self-test 14K passed!
[Thu Apr 12 14:46:54 2007]
Self-test 640K passed!
[Thu Apr 12 15:02:46 2007]
Self-test 512K passed!
[Thu Apr 12 15:21:57 2007]
Self-test 16K passed!
[Thu Apr 12 15:37:13 2007]
Self-test 20K passed!
[Thu Apr 12 15:53:13 2007]
Self-test 448K passed!
[Thu Apr 12 16:09:58 2007]
Self-test 384K passed!
[Thu Apr 12 16:28:23 2007]
Self-test 24K passed!
[Thu Apr 12 16:45:17 2007]
FATAL ERROR: Rounding was 0.5, expected less than 0.4
Hardware failure detected, consult stress.txt file.
 

DR.Death

New Member
Joined
Jul 10, 2005
Messages
1,737 (0.38/day)
Likes
63
Location
Canada
System Name death machine
Processor intel 6600 quad core cooled by scythe mutgen 2
Motherboard dfi lanparty UT P35-T2R
Cooling air
Memory crucial ballistic tracer 4 gb
Video Card(s) nvida 260 gtx
Storage segate baracuta 500 GB , western digital blue 1TB
Display(s) asus 23.6 vh242h
Case lian-li pc-a70 full tower
Power Supply 650 watt Antec Earth Watts
Software windows 7 and lots of other titles
#3
prime95 tests ram and cpu if my memory is correct
 

bshadow

New Member
Joined
Apr 12, 2007
Messages
16 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#4
sorry for not giving hardware specs..

i got no idea what info u need or where to get it... plz help me explain to u
 

Kursah

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
10,957 (2.68/day)
Likes
5,077
Location
Missoula, MT, USA
System Name Kursah's Gaming Rig - Haswell Edition | Spartan Home Server 2015
Processor i7 4790k 4.0/4.8 @ 1.26v | i7 4790k 4.0/4.4 @ 1.18v - Both delidded w/CLU
Motherboard Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103 | Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S Push-Pull | Cooler Master 212 EVO Stock - Using NT-H1 and AC MX-4
Memory 16GB (2x8) Corsair Dominator DDR3 2400 CL11 | 32GB (4x8) G.Skill DDR3-1600 CL9
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980 Ti Gaming 6G LE @ Stock | Onboard Intel HD 4600
Storage 850EVO 250GB SSD, 960GB SSD, 1x2TB | 840 120GB SSD, RAID10 6x2TB (6TB) + 8TB Backup
Display(s) Samsung 32" TV IPS 1080p, Dell 23" U2312HM IPS 1080p | 19" 4:3 Dell LCD..mostly RDP.
Case Corsair 600C - Stock Fans on Low | Lian Li Lancool PC-K7 - Cougar fans
Audio Device(s) Aune T1 mk1 > AKG K553 Pro + HiFiMAN HE-350 (Equalizer APO + PeaceUI) | Realtek ALC1150
Power Supply EVGA 750G2 Modular + APC 1500VA UPS | EVGA KR500 80+ Bronze + CyberPowerPC 1000VA UPS
Mouse Logitech G502 | Dell USB Laser Mouse
Keyboard Logitech G15 rv2 | Dell USB Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows Server 2012 R2 (GUI Core,Hyper-V + VMs)
#5
What kind is it? Amd/Intel
Processor speed?
How much RAM do you have?
Is this system overclocked at all? (probably not since you are unsure of where to get your system specs, you probably haven't messed with FSB settings and such).

Have you opened your PC case and vacuumed out the dust? Dust, if allowed to build up can cause your PC to do all sorts of strange things including freeze, crash, etc..

Download SiSandra and it will tell you plenty about your PC.
 

GIGGLA

New Member
Joined
Nov 15, 2004
Messages
156 (0.03/day)
Likes
14
System Name PsychoTron
Processor Intel Q9450 @ 3.2
Motherboard Asus p5e (x38) @ 400 fsb Rampage Formula Bios
Cooling Arctic Freezer Pro Antec 900 Case Fans
Memory 4gb G.Skill ddr2-1000
Video Card(s) MSI 280GTX @ 702/1404/1200
Storage 2X Seagate 500gb Raid-0 @7200rpm
Display(s) 24" Dell Widescreen LCD 1920x1200 5ms
Case Antec 900
Audio Device(s) Onboard Supreme FX 2
Power Supply 750 watt pc power & cooling Crossfire edition
Software Windows Vista Home Premium SP2 64-bit
#6
Do you have a program that monitors the temperature of the cpu? Yeah maybe your cpu is getting to hot and then it makes an error. If it is to hot then you need to clean the dust out of the cpu heatsink. I use a q-tip being carefull not to leave any of the cotton behind from the q-tip or a toothpick or a compressed air canister.
 

Kursah

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
10,957 (2.68/day)
Likes
5,077
Location
Missoula, MT, USA
System Name Kursah's Gaming Rig - Haswell Edition | Spartan Home Server 2015
Processor i7 4790k 4.0/4.8 @ 1.26v | i7 4790k 4.0/4.4 @ 1.18v - Both delidded w/CLU
Motherboard Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103 | Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S Push-Pull | Cooler Master 212 EVO Stock - Using NT-H1 and AC MX-4
Memory 16GB (2x8) Corsair Dominator DDR3 2400 CL11 | 32GB (4x8) G.Skill DDR3-1600 CL9
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980 Ti Gaming 6G LE @ Stock | Onboard Intel HD 4600
Storage 850EVO 250GB SSD, 960GB SSD, 1x2TB | 840 120GB SSD, RAID10 6x2TB (6TB) + 8TB Backup
Display(s) Samsung 32" TV IPS 1080p, Dell 23" U2312HM IPS 1080p | 19" 4:3 Dell LCD..mostly RDP.
Case Corsair 600C - Stock Fans on Low | Lian Li Lancool PC-K7 - Cougar fans
Audio Device(s) Aune T1 mk1 > AKG K553 Pro + HiFiMAN HE-350 (Equalizer APO + PeaceUI) | Realtek ALC1150
Power Supply EVGA 750G2 Modular + APC 1500VA UPS | EVGA KR500 80+ Bronze + CyberPowerPC 1000VA UPS
Mouse Logitech G502 | Dell USB Laser Mouse
Keyboard Logitech G15 rv2 | Dell USB Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows Server 2012 R2 (GUI Core,Hyper-V + VMs)
#7
Do you have a program that monitors the temperature of the cpu? Yeah maybe your cpu is getting to hot and then it makes an error.
If the cpu is getting hot enough to make an error, (that'd be damn hot!!) it'd probably give a warning and/or shut down. Usually if a cpu fails, it's not stable under the load Prime gives it. It could be choking for voltage..and with vdroop still common for intel boards, it's definately touch and go. Same for memory though, if your memory is in need of extra juice that's not there, it's gonna create errors. Download Orthos, and run CPU at priority 9 overnight or as long as possible and see what you come up with...if that's okay, then run memtest overnight and see what that comes up with. But first and foremost inspect for dust and remove any found dust!

The main deal with heat, is the hotter you let your components get, the more drastic the decrease overall life of that component will be, so monitoring temps is a must, and keeping in a safe temp zone range is a must.
 

bshadow

New Member
Joined
Apr 12, 2007
Messages
16 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#8
intel pentium 4 3.2ghz...
2gb ram
the computer is clean from the inside... i already had heat problems in the past but i replaced the fan to something better and cooler.
what else?
 
Joined
Nov 15, 2005
Messages
880 (0.20/day)
Likes
394
Processor 2500K @ 4.5GHz 1.28V
Motherboard ASUS P8P67 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair A70
Memory 8GB (2x4GB) Corsair Vengeance 1600 9-9-9-24 1T
Video Card(s) eVGA GTX 470
Storage Crucial m4 128GB + Seagate RAID 1 (1TB x 2)
Display(s) Dell 22" 1680x1050 nothing special
Case Antec 300
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling 750W
Software Windows 7 64bit Pro
#10
A little more info might still be useful.... what's the output wattage of your PSU. Cheap or underpowered PSU's can cause all kinds of irrational system instability even at stock settings. How many HD's, case fans do you have? Do you have a vid card or is it integrated? Errors with memory will also cause freezes and random reboots. Another factor that I've run into with older motherboards is a bad battery for the motherboard. I've actually had old MB batteries effect my stability. These are just a few causes for the effects you're seeing. Only through systematic testing of each component at a time will you pinpoint the prob.
 

bshadow

New Member
Joined
Apr 12, 2007
Messages
16 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#11
i got an expensive cooler master brand power supply also my cpu fan is cooler master, i got three fans in my case, vid card is not integrated its pci express ati with 2 hdd..

i also did a prime95 small fft test maybe it will help:
the results:

Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 3.20GHz
CPU speed: 3211.31 MHz
CPU features: RDTSC, CMOV, Prefetch, MMX, SSE, SSE2
L1 cache size: 16 KB
L2 cache size: 1024 KB
L1 cache line size: 64 bytes
L2 cache line size: 128 bytes
TLBS: 64
Prime95 32-bit version 24.14, RdtscTiming=1
Best time for 512K FFT length: 15.070 ms.
[Fri Apr 13 16:26:23 2007]
Self-test 8K passed!
[Fri Apr 13 16:41:48 2007]
Self-test 10K passed!
[Fri Apr 13 16:57:51 2007]
Self-test 12K passed!
[Fri Apr 13 17:14:17 2007]
Self-test 14K passed!
[Fri Apr 13 17:29:34 2007]
Self-test 16K passed!
[Fri Apr 13 17:46:06 2007]
Self-test 20K passed!
[Fri Apr 13 18:02:15 2007]
Self-test 24K passed!
[Fri Apr 13 18:10:17 2007]
FATAL ERROR: Final result was 43BA1666, expected: B0680C2B.
Hardware failure detected, consult stress.txt file.
 

Paulieg

The Mad Moderator
Joined
Feb 19, 2007
Messages
11,960 (3.02/day)
Likes
2,846
Location
Wherever I can find the iron.
Processor Haswell i7 4770K
Motherboard Gigabyte z79 UD5H Black Edition
Cooling Cryorig R1 Ultimate
Memory Gskill Trident DDR3 2400
Video Card(s) Asus 7970 Direct CU II
Storage Kingston Hyper Fury 240 SSD/ WD Black 640GB
Case Fractal Design R5
Power Supply XFX 650w
Software Win 7/Win 10 Tech preview
#13
Unless you have a significant power supply issue, I think your vcore may be to low. Try increasing your vcore in bios a small amount, then run Orthos prime. Also, you may want to try a stability program called OCCT. I think it's much better at testing real world stability, and you can run a short (30 min.) test for basic stability.
 

bshadow

New Member
Joined
Apr 12, 2007
Messages
16 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#15
ok....
this is getting seriously, i cant play my games..
i try to play nba live 07 and uefa champions league 06/07, i play for like 5-10 min and the computer freezes!!!!
nothing to do but to shut down it from the button on the case :(

plz.... im thinking on throwing it through the window :)
plz help me with this,,

thanks
 

Oliver_FF

New Member
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
544 (0.13/day)
Likes
65
Processor Intel q9400 @ stock
Motherboard Lanparty P45-T2RS
Cooling Zalman CNPS-9500
Memory 8GB OCZ PC2-6400
Video Card(s) BFG Nvidia GTX285 OC
Storage 1TB, 500GB, 500GB
Display(s) 20" Samsung T200HD
Case Antec Mini P180
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster X-Fi Elite Pro
Power Supply 700w Hiper
Software Ubuntu x64 virtualising Vista
#16
download the RightMark RAM Tester (google it) and see what that says, some of your RAM may be slowly dying - after all, it is pretty cheap RAM and it's pushing 6 years old :p
 
Joined
Mar 7, 2007
Messages
3,788 (0.96/day)
Likes
671
Location
Pompano beach, Florida
System Name HAL
Processor Core i7 4770k @ 4.6 ghz.
Motherboard Asus Maximus VII Hero
Cooling H80i Closed loop liquid cooling.
Memory 4x 4 (16) GB Corsair Vengeance ddr3 2133 @ 2200
Video Card(s) GTX 1080 FTW
Storage 256 GB Ocz V4 SSD "Thank you Kreij (Dean)" + 2x 1TB drives.
Display(s) 50" Samsung, UHD, 4k, 60hz.
Case Corsair Carbide MId tower
Audio Device(s) LG system through optical 5.1
Power Supply CORSAIR Enthusiast Series TX850M
Software Microsoft Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores Haven (3720), Cinebench (932)
#19
remove and try each memory stick individually.. see if they pass individually.. sorry but there is no easy way to fix things like this.. it's going to take time to find the problem. then fix the problem.. i agree with trying to up your voltage a bit.. but you say your screen freezes? it doesnt boot you out? getting booted out is typical of low power.. a screen freeze tends to be something different.. i would uninstall and reinstall my video drivers .. 1st look for any new drivers or updates and reinstall them.. have you installed any program at all that you can remember that was around the time you started having these problems? if so.. remove it..

if all esle fails try a repair on the operating system by starting up with it in the cd rom and hitting esc then booting to cd.. just try the repair oprtion 1st before reinstalling it all. saves a bunch of time. check all your connections on every port.. make sure their nice and snug. if you have overclocked anything, then lower whatever it was you OC"d before this started happening.
make sure every connection is secure on your mobo ( i cant stress that enough, just moving a pc can make something pop out by chance or become loose especially sata cables).. I hope this helps.. it's a standard procedure i use to hunt down basic problems.

fyi: if your using memtest and you have 2048 memory then run one at 900 and one at "all available memory"... that error is making me think your memory is ded.. when you boot does it still register the memory? can u see 2048 or 1024? trying each stick individually will let you know for sure.. my best guess so far is your memory is crapping out..lol.. sorry.. it happens though..hell you got a great run out of that memory though.. lucky it lasted that long..
 

bshadow

New Member
Joined
Apr 12, 2007
Messages
16 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#20
i think my memory is fine, after i took the memtest36...
and i didnt installed any prog, and its not my video driver coz i tried that..
its happens to be something that makes my computer works harder and when some prog pushing it resources to the limit or something its freezes!! even games...
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
9,816 (2.23/day)
Likes
3,803
Location
Manchester, NH
System Name Working on it ;)
Processor I7-4790K
Motherboard MSI Z97
Cooling Be Quiet Pure Rock Air
Memory 16GB 4x4 G.Skill CAS9 2133 Sniper
Video Card(s) Intel IGP (Dedicated GPU TBD)
Storage WD 320 / 500KS / 500KS / 640KS / 640LS / 640LS / 640LS / 1TBFAEX and a NAS with 2x2Tb WD Black
Display(s) 24" DELL 2405FPW
Case Rosewill Challenger
Audio Device(s) Onboard + HD HDMI
Power Supply Corsair HX750 (love it)
Mouse Logitech G5
Software Win 7 Pro
#21
Do You know what motherboard make you have? Is this a pre-built system (like a Dell or HP, etc.)?

I suspect a bad stick of memory like others have mentioned - I'm actually going through sort of the same thing myself on my old rig... a GeiL 512 stick has gone completely bad, and I'm sending it back. Ironically, I have close tot he same system as you, but a 630 CPU and slightly different memory... the motherboard I'm talking about is an Abit AG8 - i915 northbridge.

When the memory was working, I had to bump up the memory voltage slightly above stock and everything seemed fine for a while, but then random crashes, BSOD's, etc. It's hosed.
 
Joined
Jan 28, 2007
Messages
2,646 (0.67/day)
Likes
201
Location
UK
System Name Ma Biatch
Processor i7 860
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-P55-UD3A
Cooling Noctua
Memory 8gb (4x2gb) G-Skill
Video Card(s) GTX 470
Storage WD5000aaks raid0
Display(s) Sony Bravia 37" 1080p
Case CM 690
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair HX520
Software Windows 7 Ultimate
#23
you said youve replaced the stock cooler, have you monitored your temps while your cpu is at load? with 775 heatsinks sometimes it can be easy to not push in one the pins all the way in to secure it and youll normally have random freezes/shutdowns if its over heating, doesnt sound like a psu problem to me as you have a coolermaster which have good amperage even for the lower models im thinking at least 400w+? which would run your rig happily all day and night unless its deffective.
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
9,816 (2.23/day)
Likes
3,803
Location
Manchester, NH
System Name Working on it ;)
Processor I7-4790K
Motherboard MSI Z97
Cooling Be Quiet Pure Rock Air
Memory 16GB 4x4 G.Skill CAS9 2133 Sniper
Video Card(s) Intel IGP (Dedicated GPU TBD)
Storage WD 320 / 500KS / 500KS / 640KS / 640LS / 640LS / 640LS / 1TBFAEX and a NAS with 2x2Tb WD Black
Display(s) 24" DELL 2405FPW
Case Rosewill Challenger
Audio Device(s) Onboard + HD HDMI
Power Supply Corsair HX750 (love it)
Mouse Logitech G5
Software Win 7 Pro
#25