• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

problem after format

Chaba422

New Member
Joined
Jul 19, 2020
Messages
17 (0.17/day)
hey guys, before formating my PC today whic has 9700k at stock settings my CPU would idle at 800mhz and very low voltage, whic i preffer, now its constantly jumping from 800mhz all the way up to 4.9ghz, and cpu usage is jumping from 0% to 1% every 2-3 seconds, i literally have no background tasks running, i have fully updated windows and even stoped windows defender completely, could culprit be newest windows update or something?
btw clock jumps happen so fast that MSI afterburner can barely track changes with 1000ms interval monitoring,
something like CPU Z will show you what im talking about, it literaly changes cpu clocks 5 times every second
1600829455921.png
 

Attachments

Last edited:
Joined
Aug 5, 2020
Messages
134 (1.58/day)
System Name BUBSTER
Processor I7 8700K
Motherboard ASUS Maximus Hero X
Cooling Deepcool Gamer Storm Captain 240 EX
Memory 32GB G.Skill Trident Z RGB LED DDR4 3866MHz 4x8GB
Video Card(s) SLI 2 x Asus GeForce GTX 1080 ROG Strix Gaming Advanced
Storage Samsung 970 EVO M2 NVME + 2 Tb RAID 0 Samsung 850 EVO 500GB X4 + 12 TB HDD
Display(s) Sony Bravia KD-55X8505C
Case Corsair Carbide Air 540
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar Essence STX II
Power Supply Corsair AX 860i
Mouse Corsair Gaming M65 Pro RGB + Razr Taipan
Keyboard Asus ROG Strix Flare Cherry MX Red + Corsair Gaming K65 lux RGB
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores overall: 13177 Graphics 3d Mark : 15523
check power save mode in control panel ...it's probably on power saver mode that's why it goes from 700 or 800 mhz all the way up to you boost clock. try it first

Control panel> Hardware and sound > Power options then choose which option suits your needs :

high performance mode
Balanced mode
power saver mode (mostly good for laptops)
i have also 2 more (based on my current config) as i had a 9 gen cpu before as 2nd PC
ultimate mode
and Samsung High Performance mode

Here check out pic below it shows where you need to go to take care of this .
 

Attachments

Last edited:

Chaba422

New Member
Joined
Jul 19, 2020
Messages
17 (0.17/day)
Bro, I have the same problem. I will wait here for some competent answers
i think issue is with this newest windows version or something, but im not entirely sure, need someone to confirm properly, it bugs me the fuck out

check power save mode in control panel ...it's probably on power saver mode that's why it goes from 700 or 800 mhz all the way up to you boost clock. try it first
thanks bro, but i already tried that
 
Joined
Aug 5, 2020
Messages
134 (1.58/day)
System Name BUBSTER
Processor I7 8700K
Motherboard ASUS Maximus Hero X
Cooling Deepcool Gamer Storm Captain 240 EX
Memory 32GB G.Skill Trident Z RGB LED DDR4 3866MHz 4x8GB
Video Card(s) SLI 2 x Asus GeForce GTX 1080 ROG Strix Gaming Advanced
Storage Samsung 970 EVO M2 NVME + 2 Tb RAID 0 Samsung 850 EVO 500GB X4 + 12 TB HDD
Display(s) Sony Bravia KD-55X8505C
Case Corsair Carbide Air 540
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar Essence STX II
Power Supply Corsair AX 860i
Mouse Corsair Gaming M65 Pro RGB + Razr Taipan
Keyboard Asus ROG Strix Flare Cherry MX Red + Corsair Gaming K65 lux RGB
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores overall: 13177 Graphics 3d Mark : 15523
did it work?
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
9,870 (4.49/day)
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel i5-9600KF
Motherboard NZXT N7 Z370 Black
Cooling Cooler Master 240 RGB AIO / Stock
Memory Thermaltake Toughram 16GB 4400MHz DDR4 or Gigabyte 16GB 3600MHz DDR4 or Adata 8GB 2133Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) Asus Dual 1060 6GB
Storage Kingston A2000 512Gb NVME
Display(s) AOC 24" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Mouse Yes
Keyboard Of course
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
Do you happen to have Nvidia Experience installed along with the drivers?
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
9,870 (4.49/day)
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel i5-9600KF
Motherboard NZXT N7 Z370 Black
Cooling Cooler Master 240 RGB AIO / Stock
Memory Thermaltake Toughram 16GB 4400MHz DDR4 or Gigabyte 16GB 3600MHz DDR4 or Adata 8GB 2133Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) Asus Dual 1060 6GB
Storage Kingston A2000 512Gb NVME
Display(s) AOC 24" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Mouse Yes
Keyboard Of course
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
Have a look in Task Manager and see what is using the CPU when idle.
 

Chaba422

New Member
Joined
Jul 19, 2020
Messages
17 (0.17/day)
Have a look in Task Manager and see what is using the CPU when idle.
I tried tracking it already, but cant, the clock jumps/downs happen so fast that task manager doesnt even track it, but task manager shows cpu speed of arround 1.5ghz-2.5ghz its changing every second, and one of my cpu cores is constantly at like 1-2% usage, this wasnt happening before, cpu z program shows how clocks fluctuate very rapidly, i also tries disabling almost every service, but its still hapening

Have a look in Task Manager and see what is using the CPU when idle.
Looks like windows event log is culprit, i tried disabling it in services, but it wont let me,

managed to disable it but its still hapening
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 23, 2016
Messages
4,187 (2.49/day)
Processor Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard MSI B450 Tomahawk ATX
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Black Edition
Memory PNY Anarchy-X XLR8 Red DDR4-3200 16GB kit & PNY Anarchy-X XLR8 Red DDR4-2666 16GB kit
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce RTX 2060 GAMING Z 6G
Storage Samsung 970 EVO NVMe M.2 500 GB, SanDisk Ultra II 480 GB
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster C27H711 OC refresh rate 110Hz
Case Phantek Eclipse P400S (PH-EC416PS)
Audio Device(s) EVGA NU Audio
Power Supply EVGA 850 BQ
Mouse SteelSeries Rival 310
Keyboard Logitech G G413 Silver
Software Windows 10 Professional 64-bit v2004
Looks like windows event log is culprit,
It's a critical (needed for logging) service for Windows.
I tried tracking it already, but cant, the clock jumps/downs happen so fast that task manager doesnt even track it, but task manager shows cpu speed of arround 1.5ghz-2.5ghz its changing every second, and one of my cpu cores is constantly at like 1-2% usage, this wasnt happening before, cpu z program shows how clocks fluctuate very rapidly, i also tries disabling almost every service, but its still hapening
Would Process Explorer be of any help to find out what is causing the CPU clockspeed fluctuations?
https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/sysinternals/downloads/process-explorer

one of my cpu cores is constantly at like 1-2% usage,
Task Manager should still catch what the process is up to. Have you changed the refresh rate to high?
Untitled.jpg
 

Chaba422

New Member
Joined
Jul 19, 2020
Messages
17 (0.17/day)
It's a critical (needed for logging) service for Windows.

Would Process Explorer be of any help to find out what is causing the CPU clockspeed fluctuations?
https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/sysinternals/downloads/process-explorer


Task Manager should still catch what the process is up to. Have you changed the refresh rate to high?
View attachment 169576
Hey man, i tried that and it showed nvidia container and windows event log using 0.2% cpu usage every other sec, i disabled both, but its still jumping clocks :S
 
Joined
Mar 23, 2016
Messages
4,187 (2.49/day)
Processor Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard MSI B450 Tomahawk ATX
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Black Edition
Memory PNY Anarchy-X XLR8 Red DDR4-3200 16GB kit & PNY Anarchy-X XLR8 Red DDR4-2666 16GB kit
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce RTX 2060 GAMING Z 6G
Storage Samsung 970 EVO NVMe M.2 500 GB, SanDisk Ultra II 480 GB
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster C27H711 OC refresh rate 110Hz
Case Phantek Eclipse P400S (PH-EC416PS)
Audio Device(s) EVGA NU Audio
Power Supply EVGA 850 BQ
Mouse SteelSeries Rival 310
Keyboard Logitech G G413 Silver
Software Windows 10 Professional 64-bit v2004
Hmmm, I have no idea what is going. Sorry

What happens if you boot Windows in safe mode compared to safe mode with networking? Does the issue persist in either one?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 8, 2017
Messages
5,895 (4.24/day)
System Name Good enough
Processor AMD Ryzen R7 1700X - 4.0 Ghz / 1.350V
Motherboard ASRock B450M Pro4
Cooling Deepcool Gammaxx L240 V2
Memory 16GB - Corsair Vengeance LPX - 3333 Mhz CL16
Video Card(s) OEM Dell GTX 1080 with Kraken G12 + Water 3.0 Performer C
Storage 1x Samsung 850 EVO 250GB , 1x Samsung 860 EVO 500GB
Display(s) 4K Samsung TV
Case Deepcool Matrexx 70
Power Supply GPS-750C
I am not sure there is actually an issue here, the clock will vary not matter what you do.

As you have already observed it's switching even faster than what these monitoring software can record. It's simply the way these CPUs work.
 

Chaba422

New Member
Joined
Jul 19, 2020
Messages
17 (0.17/day)
I am not sure there is actually an issue here, the clock will vary not matter what you do.

As you have already observed it's switching even faster than what these monitoring software can record. It's simply the way these CPUs work.
But it wasnt doing this few days ago before i formated, as i said in idle it would be at 800mhz without any fluctuation and 0% cpu usage,i literally disabled almost all services and uninstalled most of programs, disabled windows defender, my idle ram usage is very low 1.3gb/16gb , but one or two of my cpu cores is constantly going from 0% to 1% usage every other second and causes cpu clock to jump as high as 4.9ghz for split second every now and then
 
Joined
Jan 8, 2017
Messages
5,895 (4.24/day)
System Name Good enough
Processor AMD Ryzen R7 1700X - 4.0 Ghz / 1.350V
Motherboard ASRock B450M Pro4
Cooling Deepcool Gammaxx L240 V2
Memory 16GB - Corsair Vengeance LPX - 3333 Mhz CL16
Video Card(s) OEM Dell GTX 1080 with Kraken G12 + Water 3.0 Performer C
Storage 1x Samsung 850 EVO 250GB , 1x Samsung 860 EVO 500GB
Display(s) 4K Samsung TV
Case Deepcool Matrexx 70
Power Supply GPS-750C
But it wasnt doing this few days ago before i formated, as i said in idle it would be at 800mhz without any fluctuation and 0% cpu usage
I somehow doubt that but maybe you simply didn't pay that much attention. I never saw a machine idling at exactly 0% all the time and lowest power state without budging from that at least occasionally.

i literally disabled almost all services and uninstalled most of programs, disabled windows defender
You can disable everything you can, there will always be something running taking the CPU out of it's lowest power state intermittently.

but one or two of my cpu cores is constantly going from 0% to 1% usage every other second and causes cpu clock to jump as high as 4.9ghz for split second every now and then
That is straight up nitpicking, there is nothing wrong with your system.
 

Chaba422

New Member
Joined
Jul 19, 2020
Messages
17 (0.17/day)
I somehow doubt that but maybe you simply didn't pay that much attention. I never saw a machine idling at exactly 0% all the time and lowest power state without budging from that at least occasionally.



You can disable everything you can, there will always be something running taking the CPU out of it's lowest power state intermittently.



That is straight up nitpicking, there is nothing wrong with your system.
Sorry man, but i am 1000% sure it wasnt fluctuating before format, and my cpu usage was 0% constantly at idle without it even jumping to 1%
 
Joined
Jan 8, 2017
Messages
5,895 (4.24/day)
System Name Good enough
Processor AMD Ryzen R7 1700X - 4.0 Ghz / 1.350V
Motherboard ASRock B450M Pro4
Cooling Deepcool Gammaxx L240 V2
Memory 16GB - Corsair Vengeance LPX - 3333 Mhz CL16
Video Card(s) OEM Dell GTX 1080 with Kraken G12 + Water 3.0 Performer C
Storage 1x Samsung 850 EVO 250GB , 1x Samsung 860 EVO 500GB
Display(s) 4K Samsung TV
Case Deepcool Matrexx 70
Power Supply GPS-750C
Well, I wish you the very best in solving this problem then. I for one see nothing out of place.
 
Joined
Jan 8, 2014
Messages
241 (0.10/day)
System Name maipc
Processor 4790k @ 4.4Ghz / 1.16v
Motherboard Asus vii hero
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (2x8GB) Hyperx fury 1866 / CL10
Video Card(s) MSI GTX1060 Gaming X 6GB
Storage 1TB 860EVO + 1TB 860EVO + 4TB WD Red + 4TB WD Red
Display(s) Asus VG259QM (1080p IPS 240Hz)
Case Cooler Master Centurion 6
Power Supply Seasonic SSP-450 RT (80+ Gold OEM PSU)
Mouse Razer DeathAdder 3.5G
Keyboard CM Storm Quickfire Rapid-i
Software Win 10 64bit
Modern CPUs change clock speed many times a second.
The "effective clock" value in hwinfo should be able to tell you if the CPU is running at high clocks even at idle or just briefly clocking high because it's running a background task. That way you should be able to confirm if you have a problem or not.
More information about this is here:

Also, CPU core idle temperatures can probably tell you if your CPU is properly downclocking to save power or not.
 
Joined
Mar 23, 2016
Messages
4,187 (2.49/day)
Processor Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard MSI B450 Tomahawk ATX
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Black Edition
Memory PNY Anarchy-X XLR8 Red DDR4-3200 16GB kit & PNY Anarchy-X XLR8 Red DDR4-2666 16GB kit
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce RTX 2060 GAMING Z 6G
Storage Samsung 970 EVO NVMe M.2 500 GB, SanDisk Ultra II 480 GB
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster C27H711 OC refresh rate 110Hz
Case Phantek Eclipse P400S (PH-EC416PS)
Audio Device(s) EVGA NU Audio
Power Supply EVGA 850 BQ
Mouse SteelSeries Rival 310
Keyboard Logitech G G413 Silver
Software Windows 10 Professional 64-bit v2004
This is what my Ryzen 7 3800X looks like when it's idle even though to Windows it appears to be running at 3,875 MHz. The effective clock shows the cores running at a idle frequency. The cores are also in the power saving C6 state.
Ryzen 7 3800X Idle.jpg
 
Joined
Aug 5, 2020
Messages
134 (1.58/day)
System Name BUBSTER
Processor I7 8700K
Motherboard ASUS Maximus Hero X
Cooling Deepcool Gamer Storm Captain 240 EX
Memory 32GB G.Skill Trident Z RGB LED DDR4 3866MHz 4x8GB
Video Card(s) SLI 2 x Asus GeForce GTX 1080 ROG Strix Gaming Advanced
Storage Samsung 970 EVO M2 NVME + 2 Tb RAID 0 Samsung 850 EVO 500GB X4 + 12 TB HDD
Display(s) Sony Bravia KD-55X8505C
Case Corsair Carbide Air 540
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar Essence STX II
Power Supply Corsair AX 860i
Mouse Corsair Gaming M65 Pro RGB + Razr Taipan
Keyboard Asus ROG Strix Flare Cherry MX Red + Corsair Gaming K65 lux RGB
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores overall: 13177 Graphics 3d Mark : 15523
it is in fact power saving mode either from windows or Motherboard suite program like EPU in Asus , or in a bios settings in the motherboard...it should not affect performance either way. since you are not overclocking.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 25, 2006
Messages
1,367 (0.25/day)
Processor Ryzen 1600AF @4.2Ghz 1.35v
Motherboard MSI B450M PRO-A-MAX
Cooling Deepcool Gammaxx L120t
Memory 16GB Team Group Dark Pro Sammy-B-die 3400mhz 14.15.14.30-1.4v
Video Card(s) XFX RX 5600 XT THICC II PRO
Storage 240GB Brave eagle SSD/ 2TB Seagate Barracuda
Display(s) Dell SE2719HR
Case MSI Mag Vampiric 011C AMD Ryzen Edition
Power Supply EVGA 600W 80+
Software Windows 10 Pro
So your computer was turned on and using exactly 0% cpu? What kind of magical computer is this? 1%, split second jumps between states, I mean come on man, there's no issue here whatsoever, this is ocd
 

unclewebb

RealTemp Author
Joined
Jun 1, 2008
Messages
2,303 (0.51/day)
@Chaba422 - Open HWiNFO and see if Speed Shift Technology is enabled. Look for SST in green.



Most monitoring programs like CPU-Z are not able to give you an accurate look at CPU speed when Speed Shift is enabled. Sampling the CPU speed a couple of times per second will show meaningless data if the CPU multiplier is changing hundreds of times per second.
 
Top