• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

problem oc'ing 9500 pro with oc'ed system

Uptime73

New Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2005
Messages
109 (0.02/day)
Likes
3
Location
Columbus, Ohio USA
System Name custom built clone
Processor AMD Phenom 9950 Quad Core (Agena)
Motherboard ASUS M3A78-EM
Cooling Zalman CNPS9700 LED
Memory OCZ Fatal1ty PC2 8500 4 GB (2 x 2GB)
Video Card(s) Visiotek ATI Radeon 3650
Storage Western Digital 320 GB SATA II hard drive
Display(s) Proview CRT
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply 475 watt not sure of brand
Software Vista Ultimate Edition x64, Service Pack 2
#1
I have an AMD XP 1800+ (thoroughbred model) that has been over clocked to 2000+ and Gigabyte GA7VT-600 motherboard. My video card is a ATI Radeon 9500 Pro that has already been flashed. When I use ATI Tool to oc my vid card, the display becomes corrupt and makes the system unstable. Furthermore, when I overclocked my system, the clock speed for AGP was increased from 66 MHz to 73 MHz. I don't know if that has anything to do with it not. What should I do?

- Josh
 
Joined
Nov 26, 2004
Messages
4,382 (0.92/day)
Likes
1,513
Location
Canuck in Norway
System Name Hellbox 3.0(same case new guts)
Processor i7 4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97 Sabertooth Mark 1
Cooling TT Kandalf L.C.S.(Water/Air)AC Cuplex Kryos CPU Block/Noctua
Memory 2x8GB Corsair Vengance Pro 2400
Video Card(s) Sapphire Tri-X Fury (Unlocked to Fury X)
Storage WD Caviar Black SATA 3 1TB x2 RAID 0 2xSamsung 850 Evo 500GB RAID 0 1TB WD Blue
Display(s) ASUS MG279Q 1440 IPS 144Hz FreeSync
Case TT Kandalf L.C.S.
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster ZX/Logitech Z906 5.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-1050W 80+ Gold
Mouse G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard G19s
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#2
yes your better to try to Lock the AGP at 66. how are you overclocking? I know my Gigabyte locks the AGP/PCI in the BIOS unless I tell it Otherwise. If your using "Easytune" it wont lock the AGP try OC from the BIOS
 

Uptime73

New Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2005
Messages
109 (0.02/day)
Likes
3
Location
Columbus, Ohio USA
System Name custom built clone
Processor AMD Phenom 9950 Quad Core (Agena)
Motherboard ASUS M3A78-EM
Cooling Zalman CNPS9700 LED
Memory OCZ Fatal1ty PC2 8500 4 GB (2 x 2GB)
Video Card(s) Visiotek ATI Radeon 3650
Storage Western Digital 320 GB SATA II hard drive
Display(s) Proview CRT
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply 475 watt not sure of brand
Software Vista Ultimate Edition x64, Service Pack 2
#3
I am oc'ing through BIOS. How would I lock the video card in at 66?

- Josh
 

Uptime73

New Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2005
Messages
109 (0.02/day)
Likes
3
Location
Columbus, Ohio USA
System Name custom built clone
Processor AMD Phenom 9950 Quad Core (Agena)
Motherboard ASUS M3A78-EM
Cooling Zalman CNPS9700 LED
Memory OCZ Fatal1ty PC2 8500 4 GB (2 x 2GB)
Video Card(s) Visiotek ATI Radeon 3650
Storage Western Digital 320 GB SATA II hard drive
Display(s) Proview CRT
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply 475 watt not sure of brand
Software Vista Ultimate Edition x64, Service Pack 2
#4
How would I lock in the video card at 66 through the BIOS?

- Josh
 

gerrynicol

New Member
Joined
Feb 8, 2005
Messages
758 (0.16/day)
Likes
18
Location
Scotland, Falkirk
System Name Home built
Processor Core i7-920 4.0Ghz
Motherboard Asus P6t OC
Cooling Akasa Nero
Memory 6GB G.Skill DDR3 PC3-1348Mhz
Video Card(s) XFX GTX 285 SLi
Storage 160GB, 250GB, 320GB
Display(s) 24" dell(1920X1200)
Case Coolermaster HAF
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Prelude, logitech Z5500
Power Supply Corsair HX 1K
Software 7 ultimate 64
#5
I am not sure you can lock the agp speed on that particular motherboard, as soon as you increase the FSB you are increasing both the PCI and the AGP buses.
 

Uptime73

New Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2005
Messages
109 (0.02/day)
Likes
3
Location
Columbus, Ohio USA
System Name custom built clone
Processor AMD Phenom 9950 Quad Core (Agena)
Motherboard ASUS M3A78-EM
Cooling Zalman CNPS9700 LED
Memory OCZ Fatal1ty PC2 8500 4 GB (2 x 2GB)
Video Card(s) Visiotek ATI Radeon 3650
Storage Western Digital 320 GB SATA II hard drive
Display(s) Proview CRT
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply 475 watt not sure of brand
Software Vista Ultimate Edition x64, Service Pack 2
#6
unable to lock AGP/PCI ports speeds

Since I can't lock the AGP/PCI ports speeds, the AGP/PCI ports speeds increase as I increase the FSB. This cause stability problems with my ATI Radeon 9500 Pro flashed to 9700 Pro. Is there anything I can do about this problem, and to oc my system, besides replacing the motherboard? Thanks.

- Josh