• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Problem Overclocking Radeon 9200SE

Joined
Jun 12, 2005
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (400x7, 2.8GHz)
Motherboard MSI P45-C51
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper TX-3
Memory 4x2GB Kingston DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) Asus R9 280X DC2T 3GB
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD
Power Supply Seasonic G-Series 550W 80Plus Gold
Software Windows 8.1 Pro
#1
I've tried to overclock my Asus 9200SE with the overclocked BIOS and it always come out with problem.
I've tried from 200/166 to 250/200 and also 260/220 but after i flashed successfully and restart, the display come out with "ultra artifact and resolution".
And when i flashed it back to the original BIOS, it becomes normal again.
Issit i have to reinstall driver for it?
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2005
Messages
1,807 (0.39/day)
Likes
35
Location
Hamburg
Processor Intel I7 2600k@ 4.5
Motherboard Gigabyte p67 ud4 b3
Cooling AC Cuplex kryos Hf
Memory 8096 Exceleram 1600@ 1333 Cl9 1.35v
Video Card(s) Palit Gtx570@950/1900@1.063v
Storage Ocz Vertex 3 120gb, 2tb Seagate 7200rpm s-ata3
Display(s) Asus 24inch Lcd
Case Coolermaster Cosmos S
Audio Device(s) Creative X-fi with Teufel Magnum Power Edition
Power Supply Coolermaster 700W Silent Pro Gold
Software Linux?^^ ;P Windows 7 64bit
#2
what did you flash witch bios and what was your programm to see that 260 runs stable
 
Joined
Jun 12, 2005
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (400x7, 2.8GHz)
Motherboard MSI P45-C51
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper TX-3
Memory 4x2GB Kingston DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) Asus R9 280X DC2T 3GB
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD
Power Supply Seasonic G-Series 550W 80Plus Gold
Software Windows 8.1 Pro
#3
i flash with the bios from this site "Asus 9200SE 128mb". I've check the core and mem speed with ati tool.
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2005
Messages
1,807 (0.39/day)
Likes
35
Location
Hamburg
Processor Intel I7 2600k@ 4.5
Motherboard Gigabyte p67 ud4 b3
Cooling AC Cuplex kryos Hf
Memory 8096 Exceleram 1600@ 1333 Cl9 1.35v
Video Card(s) Palit Gtx570@950/1900@1.063v
Storage Ocz Vertex 3 120gb, 2tb Seagate 7200rpm s-ata3
Display(s) Asus 24inch Lcd
Case Coolermaster Cosmos S
Audio Device(s) Creative X-fi with Teufel Magnum Power Edition
Power Supply Coolermaster 700W Silent Pro Gold
Software Linux?^^ ;P Windows 7 64bit
#4
hm then just oc
it may be that your memory cant handle better timings or even other timings
 

DREXY

New Member
Joined
Aug 23, 2004
Messages
18 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
Kragujevac, Serbia & Montenegro
#5
asus 9200se has a shit of memory its almoust imposible to owerclock, just fey MHz!!!!
BUT you can push your core up to 300 MHz, best to keep it at 275 with stock cooling!
you should try a ram sinks, but im not optimistick
 
Joined
Jun 12, 2005
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (400x7, 2.8GHz)
Motherboard MSI P45-C51
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper TX-3
Memory 4x2GB Kingston DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) Asus R9 280X DC2T 3GB
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD
Power Supply Seasonic G-Series 550W 80Plus Gold
Software Windows 8.1 Pro
#6
then if oc to 275 with stock cooling, what mem speed should be recomend? my casing already got 6 fans.

i tried to oc with small increment and it can. the prob is juz that my windows driver never regconize it. must i reinstall the driver. original driver or softmod driver?
 

DREXY

New Member
Joined
Aug 23, 2004
Messages
18 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
Kragujevac, Serbia & Montenegro
#7
there is no need to yse diferent bios, original one is just fine, you should only use softmod drivers to unlock gpu,and atitool to oc.
J have oc few asus 9200se and nither one of them couldn't pass 180 with mem,
but you shoud try to get as high as posible, J am sugesting that you try the "find max mem" in atitool. or you can do it manualy by increasing the mem speed by 5 and let the cube scan to check the artifacts for a few minutes, when you get artifacts reduse the speed by the last 5MHz and that should be it.
 
Joined
Jun 12, 2005
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (400x7, 2.8GHz)
Motherboard MSI P45-C51
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper TX-3
Memory 4x2GB Kingston DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) Asus R9 280X DC2T 3GB
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD
Power Supply Seasonic G-Series 550W 80Plus Gold
Software Windows 8.1 Pro
#8
the problem is i cant use the new version of ati driver either softmod or original. i can only use until version ati799_wxp2k. i am using asus brand. when i install the new driver, my display will come up with artifact. some of the driver i noticed that it change to internal DAC from 400MHz to 500MHz.