• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

[Problem]Pc freezing

Ciampa

New Member
Joined
Mar 25, 2019
Messages
6 (0.23/day)
Likes
2
#1
Hi guys,
Since a couple of months my pc has started to freeze in pretty random situations, it gets back to usable only by resetting.
When feezing GPU-Z shows a great increase in both the gpu usage and bus interface load.
If anyone has any clue about what a problem is, I'm ready to help him in any way possible.
Thanks.
 
Joined
Apr 28, 2011
Messages
613 (0.21/day)
Likes
84
Location
Botevgrad, Bulgaria, Europe
System Name Main PC/OldPC/3rd PC
Processor Intel Core i7-3770K Ivy Bridge/Core i5-3470 Ivy Bridge/Core i3-4330 Haswell
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-V/ASRock Z68 Pro3 Gen1/ASUS H81M2
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO/Intel Box cooler/Intel Box cooler
Memory 32GB Corsair Vengeance/32GB ADATA/16GB ADATA
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE R9 290 Tri-X OC 4GB/MSI RX 480 8GB/SAPPHIRE R9 390 8GB
Storage 2x1TB ADATA SSDs in RAID0+3 HDDs/2xCrucial 1TB SSDs in RAID0+3 HDDs/Samsung 1TB SSD+8TB+4TB HDDs
Display(s) Philips 274E5QHAB@HDMI + Philips 273EQH@DVI (both 27")
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Titanium
Audio Device(s) Kenwood Mini HiFi system/Microlab speakers/Philips HDMI (main)+LG TV monitor HDMI + Apple headphones
Power Supply Cooler Master Silent ProM 600 W (modular)
Mouse Microsoft Ergonomic Sculpt Desktop 2.0 (combo)@Razer Goliath mousepad (Medium speed)
Keyboard Microsoft Ergonomic Sculpt Desktop 2.0 (combo)
Software Win10 64-bit (Main PC v.1809 RTM Enterprise/2nd PC v.1903 Insider Preview Pro/3rd PC - same as 2nd)
#2
Add system specs, and exact version of Windows OS used.
In case of using Windows 10, give its 4-digit version (such as 1803/1809/etc)+Build number(s) (such as 17763.333/etc).
(if using Windows Insider Preview, mention that explicitly)
 

Ciampa

New Member
Joined
Mar 25, 2019
Messages
6 (0.23/day)
Likes
2
#3
Hi Naki,
I'm using:
-intel Core i5-6600K (not oc)
-16 Gb Corsair ram
-Gtx970 (not oc)
for the motherboard is an msi, if needed I can provide you with the exact name
for OS I have Windows 10 version 1803 (build SO 17134.648)
I'm not currently using Insider.
Thanks for helping.
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
18,889 (3.46/day)
Likes
21,417
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#4
Does this happen only with GPU-Z running?
 
Likes: Naki

Ciampa

New Member
Joined
Mar 25, 2019
Messages
6 (0.23/day)
Likes
2
#5
Absolutely not.
I've run it and waited for the freeze to happen.
I've done this just to see if CPU-Z would record anything.
 
Joined
Apr 12, 2013
Messages
908 (0.41/day)
Likes
696
Location
Northern Europe
System Name Pc
Processor i5 4460s
Motherboard H81M-VG4 R3.0
Cooling Stock
Memory G.Skill 2 x 4GB
Video Card(s) RX580 8gb
Storage WD Black 1TB
Case Cooler Master 430 Elite
Power Supply Seasonic 620w
Software Win 10 x64
#6
Hi welcome to TPU.

First thing to do is to find out if the problem is caused by software or hardware. What do you mean by resetting is it bios settings. Are you using latest drivers or any beta drivers.

And what is your power supply unit.
 

Ciampa

New Member
Joined
Mar 25, 2019
Messages
6 (0.23/day)
Likes
2
#7
Hi Countryside and thanks for joining.
By resetting i mean holding the physical start button for 5 sec.
I'm using both latest os and gpu drivers, any beta driver installed.
 
Joined
Apr 12, 2013
Messages
908 (0.41/day)
Likes
696
Location
Northern Europe
System Name Pc
Processor i5 4460s
Motherboard H81M-VG4 R3.0
Cooling Stock
Memory G.Skill 2 x 4GB
Video Card(s) RX580 8gb
Storage WD Black 1TB
Case Cooler Master 430 Elite
Power Supply Seasonic 620w
Software Win 10 x64
#8
Hi Countryside and thanks for joining.
By resetting i mean holding the physical start button for 5 sec.
I'm using both latest os and gpu drivers, any beta driver installed.
Well holding down the power button for 5 sec shuts down your pc but anyway total system freeze can be due bad power delivery so it would be nice to know the full name of your PSU.
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
19,039 (4.34/day)
Likes
7,089
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Icarus Mk.IV
Processor Intel 8600k@4.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus ROG Strixx Z370-F
Cooling Corsair H105 {2x Corsair ML 120 Pro}
Memory Corsair Vengeance White LED DDR4 3200Mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080Ti Gaming OC
Storage Samsung 970Evo 512GB SSD (Boot)|WD Blue 1TB SSD|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White) {1x Corsair ML120 Pro |3x ML140 Pro}
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Z {AVR:Yamaha RX-V573|Speakers: JBL Control One|Auna 300-CN|Wharfedale Diamond SW150}
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900/G502
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores (ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻━┻
#10
okay.
I'm using a corsair v850
You mean Cooler Master v850? That's a pretty decent PSU

Is your ram a matched set/kit?
 
Joined
Apr 12, 2013
Messages
908 (0.41/day)
Likes
696
Location
Northern Europe
System Name Pc
Processor i5 4460s
Motherboard H81M-VG4 R3.0
Cooling Stock
Memory G.Skill 2 x 4GB
Video Card(s) RX580 8gb
Storage WD Black 1TB
Case Cooler Master 430 Elite
Power Supply Seasonic 620w
Software Win 10 x64
#11
okay.
I'm using a corsair v850
Thank you but i think it might be Cooler Master V850 not Corsair.
Corsair has VS series up to 650W but nevertheless v850 is a fine psu.

By any chance to you have a another psu you could try but if youre not familiar with pc parts it would be wise to ask someone to help you or to take it to a local shop, beacus its quite easy to damage pc components if youre pressing the cables wrong way with force.
 
Last edited:

Ciampa

New Member
Joined
Mar 25, 2019
Messages
6 (0.23/day)
Likes
2
#12
Actually, if I had another PSU I could try myself.
Is that the only way??

For the ram I have a Corsair 16 Gb kit
Sorry for the error about the PSU.
 
Joined
Apr 12, 2013
Messages
908 (0.41/day)
Likes
696
Location
Northern Europe
System Name Pc
Processor i5 4460s
Motherboard H81M-VG4 R3.0
Cooling Stock
Memory G.Skill 2 x 4GB
Video Card(s) RX580 8gb
Storage WD Black 1TB
Case Cooler Master 430 Elite
Power Supply Seasonic 620w
Software Win 10 x64
#13
No problem, it comes down to process of elimination the are many things that can cause this freez, like bad psu, bad ram, bad motherboard power phase, bad ram slot etc.

Edit: If your not familiar with pc hardware it's easier and safer to take the pc to a local shop and get it check out.
 
Last edited:
Top