• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

problem regarding graphic interface

behlat

New Member
Joined
Dec 4, 2012
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Processor Athlon II X3 445
Motherboard MSI 880GM-E43
Memory Ripjaws X 2x2gb DDR3 1333 CL8
Video Card(s) Asus HD 6770 DirectCU
Storage Seagate Barracuda 500gb
Case Thermaltake V4
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HEC Rapter II 500w
Software Win7 Ultimate 64bit
#1
I just notice this last month that gpuz shows my video card is running at x8, but since I bouhgt my card I know it is running at x16 so I never bother to look at it again. but I never see any performance drop in games, I also run in-game benchmark and same results. is the pci-e lane and vcard golden teeth just dusty?




my previous card running at x16
 

Bo$$

Lab Extraordinaire
Joined
May 7, 2009
Messages
5,626 (1.79/day)
Likes
971
Location
London, UK
System Name Desktop | Server
Processor Intel i7 2700k @ 4.4GHZ | AMD 5350 @ 2500MHZ
Motherboard Asus P7Z77-V Pro | Asus AM1I-A
Cooling GeLID Tranquilo | Stock Air
Memory Crucial Ballistix 2x8GB CL8 1600MHZ | Corsair Vengence 2x4GB CL9 1600MHZ
Video Card(s) Gainward GTX 780 Phantom GLH | PNY GTX 750Ti
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 250GB + 4TB WD Red | 2x Seagate Barracuda 2TB
Display(s) Samsung S27D390H + Asus VE276Q | Headless
Case Fractal Design R5 | CM Elite 110
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1 w/Otone Stilo 5.1 and Creative Fatal1ty headset
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 850 G2| Corsair CX430M
Mouse Razer Imperator 2012
Keyboard Corsair K90
Software Windows 7 SP1 X64 | Ubuntu 16.04LTS
#2
Run furmark in the background it will go up again ;) its a power saving feature
 
Joined
Nov 26, 2004
Messages
4,370 (0.92/day)
Likes
1,507
Location
Canuck in Norway
System Name Hellbox 3.0(same case new guts)
Processor i7 4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97 Sabertooth Mark 1
Cooling TT Kandalf L.C.S.(Water/Air)AC Cuplex Kryos CPU Block/Noctua
Memory 2x8GB Corsair Vengance Pro 2400
Video Card(s) Sapphire Tri-X Fury (Unlocked to Fury X)
Storage WD Caviar Black SATA 3 1TB x2 RAID 0 2xSamsung 850 Evo 500GB RAID 0 1TB WD Blue
Display(s) ASUS MG279Q 1440 IPS 144Hz FreeSync
Case TT Kandalf L.C.S.
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster ZX/Logitech Z906 5.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-1050W 80+ Gold
Mouse G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard G19s
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#3
Just click the Question Mark next to the Bus Interface. It will give you something to put it under load and should make it go up to full speed. It's just a "Power Save" function.
 

behlat

New Member
Joined
Dec 4, 2012
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Processor Athlon II X3 445
Motherboard MSI 880GM-E43
Memory Ripjaws X 2x2gb DDR3 1333 CL8
Video Card(s) Asus HD 6770 DirectCU
Storage Seagate Barracuda 500gb
Case Thermaltake V4
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HEC Rapter II 500w
Software Win7 Ultimate 64bit
#4
i've run the gpuz render test before and running it again but still gpuz showing the card running at x8. also tried running a game in window mode but still x8. this is giving me headache...
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,055 (3.44/day)
Likes
17,957
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#5
I assume that slot in your motherboard supports x16 ?
Do you have any second graphics card installed that could cause the ports to get switched to x8/x8 ?
Did you configure the slot in BIOS to x8 ?
Try to reseat the card, while you are at it look for damage in the connector area of the card, one resistor or capacitor could have been knocked off, also try the card in another PC
 
Joined
May 14, 2009
Messages
2,132 (0.68/day)
Likes
477
Location
Chicago burbs
System Name Halloween Boo!
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77-Up7
Cooling Custom Water/ Thermalchill TA 120.3/ Swiftech Apogeee XT/ MCP655/ Swiftech M icrores/ XSPC RX 240
Memory 16G G.Skill trident 2400MHz
Video Card(s) 3 x Radeon 7970
Storage OCZ Revo Drive 240G
Display(s) 24 inch Viewsonic
Case Phobia WayCoolIt Test Bench
Power Supply Nexus 1100 watt
#6
Performance will be essentially the same in 8X
 

behlat

New Member
Joined
Dec 4, 2012
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Processor Athlon II X3 445
Motherboard MSI 880GM-E43
Memory Ripjaws X 2x2gb DDR3 1333 CL8
Video Card(s) Asus HD 6770 DirectCU
Storage Seagate Barracuda 500gb
Case Thermaltake V4
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HEC Rapter II 500w
Software Win7 Ultimate 64bit
#7
my mobo supports x16(as you can see in previous card), though only one pcie x16 lane. i'll reseat the card this weekend and do some major cleaning too.
 
Joined
May 14, 2009
Messages
2,132 (0.68/day)
Likes
477
Location
Chicago burbs
System Name Halloween Boo!
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77-Up7
Cooling Custom Water/ Thermalchill TA 120.3/ Swiftech Apogeee XT/ MCP655/ Swiftech M icrores/ XSPC RX 240
Memory 16G G.Skill trident 2400MHz
Video Card(s) 3 x Radeon 7970
Storage OCZ Revo Drive 240G
Display(s) 24 inch Viewsonic
Case Phobia WayCoolIt Test Bench
Power Supply Nexus 1100 watt
#8
Like I said, your performance will be the same either way
 

behlat

New Member
Joined
Dec 4, 2012
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Processor Athlon II X3 445
Motherboard MSI 880GM-E43
Memory Ripjaws X 2x2gb DDR3 1333 CL8
Video Card(s) Asus HD 6770 DirectCU
Storage Seagate Barracuda 500gb
Case Thermaltake V4
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HEC Rapter II 500w
Software Win7 Ultimate 64bit
#9
finally reseat the card and do some cleaning, and it's running at x16 again, thanks to those who help...
 
Joined
Nov 9, 2010
Messages
5,160 (1.99/day)
Likes
1,709
Processor Intel i7 950 @ 3.2GHz
Motherboard ASUS P6X58D-E
Cooling Corsair H50 push/pull
Memory Kingston HyperX 1600 8GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 7970 OC
Storage Plextor M5P 128GB/WD Black 2x1TB,1x6TB/Seagate 1TB
Display(s) Panasonic TC-L32U3
Case Antec DF-85
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V371 AVR
Power Supply XFX 850w Black Edition
Mouse Logitech G402
Keyboard Logitech K120
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
#10
According to the Pci-Ex bandwidth tests that have been done at TPU, it takes at least a 580 or 5870 to surpass 8x bandwidth, and those only do so by 2%.

That said, I recently set my Pci-Ex lane config to 16x/1x in the BIOS, just to make sure the default Auto setting wouldn't throttle my 7970 any.

God knows these modern GPUs do enough throttling of their own with their boost features. The GPU usage graph can look like a roller coaster.