• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Problem when playing video

argada

New Member
Joined
Mar 30, 2008
Messages
16 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
My System:

- E8500 CPU
- 2 * 2GB G.Skill DDR2-800 4-4-4-12
- Asus P5N-D MOTHERBOARD
- 2 * XFX 8800GT 512MB xXx Edition
- Thermaltake Toughpower 750W
- Windows XP Pro x64

I’ve been having this problem while playing avi video clips (divx etc.) "sometimes" it would screw up and all these colored bands start appearing, like artifacts and vertical bars etc . And my mouse cursor turns into a big smudge. See attachment.

I don't think this has to do with heat, just playing a video clip doesn't put the system under much load at all, everything running at idle temperatures. It also doesn't crash, it would happily keep playing (with colors and bars and all.) But when I do launch another application that uses 'graphics' that's when it will freeze and hang.

So, say, after having this happen, I could still continue browsing, moving around the desktop, everything is fine. (Except mouse is a smudge.) But as soon as I launch anything that's 'graphical' it will hang. e.g. (start any game, launch a screen saver, rthdribl.) and I have to reboot.

I don't know what the problem is. It only happens sometimes, for example I could play a clip all day long and it would be fine. It happens with multiple different files, all of which I have viewed on another machine and seems to be fine. It would ‘turn bad’, and I would reboot and jump straight to the location in the file that it happened and it would be play fine.

The same thing happens with different media players I tried wmp, vlc.

Aside from this, the computer appears stable enough. It passed an 18 hour ORTHOS run, 10 hours of MemTest86+, no errors.

I tried going back to another set of drivers. I was using 169.32 drivers. I tried going back to 169.21, it didn’t help. Running out of ideas… what could it be? Codec? 64bit operating system issues?
 

Attachments

Joined
Oct 7, 2007
Messages
15,006 (4.03/day)
Likes
2,940
Location
In a library somewhere on this earth
System Name Haru
Processor i7 3770k @ 4.5ghz
Motherboard Biostar Tz77xme4
Cooling Koolance C370si loop
Memory 8gb G. Skill Trident X 2400mhz at 10-11-11-28
Video Card(s) XFX Double D 7950 / Zotac 620 for physx
Storage Samsung 830 128gb (os)Muskin Chronos 120gb, Pyro 120gb
Display(s) Viewsonic VX2450WM-LED 24" & Hanns G 28"
Case Cooler Master Cosmos II
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-fi Forte 7.1 Opamp modded
Power Supply Silverstone Strider Plus 1000w pp05 cables
Software Win7 Pro64
Benchmark Scores i5 750 4.62ghz pi runs // Evga FTW p55
#2
Its most likely your codec. here is a codec that is by far the best one around. I say try that, and your video's should be good again.
 
Joined
Nov 17, 2007
Messages
2,227 (0.60/day)
Likes
316
Location
Larisa, Greece
System Name StarCruiser Dark Knight
Processor QX9650 @4.4GHz max OC
Motherboard DFI x48 Dark Knight
Cooling 1x custom W/C loop/ inflow:6x120 /outflow:4x120, 2x200
Memory 8 Gb Geil Esoteria rev.2
Video Card(s) Powercolor LCS 5870
Storage 2 x 500 Gb wd (ext. port), 1 x 1.500 Gb Seagate, 1 X 500GB Seagate, 1 X 500GB Seagate (AC Ryan box)
Display(s) LG M2094D-PZ 20'' HD (1920 X 1080)
Case custom MDF case (I BUILT IT) check sig.....NOW
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Tagan 900 watt
Software Win 7 RC / Open office / Games
Benchmark Scores 18509 single 4870 - 23996 3dmark06 4870 crossfire(vista ult.64@4Ghz)/ P16213 3dmark vantage
#3
Joined
Jul 15, 2006
Messages
248 (0.06/day)
Likes
7
Location
Coventry ... UK
System Name MR BUDGIE
Processor INTEL Skylake 6700K 4.4ghz
Motherboard Asus Z170-P
Cooling Air
Memory 2 x 8gb Kingston Hyperx 2133mhz
Video Card(s) 2 x RX480 8gb Crossfire (xfx custom backplates)
Storage SSD
Display(s) Benq 144hz 24 inch
Case Corsair Carbide Spec-03
Audio Device(s) RAZER BARRACUDA AC-1 & HP-1
Power Supply Corsair CS750M
Mouse Razer Ouroboros
Software WIN10 64BIT
Benchmark Scores TimeSpy 7200 (Gpu-7648 Cpu-5408) Unigine Heaven Benchmark Score:2566 FPS: 101.9 Min:35.4 Max:211.2
#4
download vlc media player, you'll never need codecs again, and it plays anything you throw at it
 

argada

New Member
Joined
Mar 30, 2008
Messages
16 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#5
Thanks for the speedy replies. I installed CCCP, will give this a try. The annoying thing is it only happens "sometimes", so it's a little tricky to figure out if this fixes the problem. Only time will tell...
...
NEVERMIND!

**JUST AS I was typing this..** The same thing happened again... urg..

Oh, and and I was using VLC, ..., in fact, that picture attachment in my post shows VLC running. lol
 
Joined
Dec 10, 2007
Messages
7,185 (1.96/day)
Likes
769
Location
Adelaide Australia
System Name Becca 2
Processor AMD A10 4600m quad core @ 2.3 ghz
Motherboard dunno
Cooling Logitech alto connect
Memory 16 Gig ddr3 1600mhz
Video Card(s) Ati HD 7660G + & 7470M
Storage 1 TB
Audio Device(s) onboard crap
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit with sp1
#6
Try media player classic nad make sure ya got the latest divx codec
 
Joined
Nov 17, 2007
Messages
2,227 (0.60/day)
Likes
316
Location
Larisa, Greece
System Name StarCruiser Dark Knight
Processor QX9650 @4.4GHz max OC
Motherboard DFI x48 Dark Knight
Cooling 1x custom W/C loop/ inflow:6x120 /outflow:4x120, 2x200
Memory 8 Gb Geil Esoteria rev.2
Video Card(s) Powercolor LCS 5870
Storage 2 x 500 Gb wd (ext. port), 1 x 1.500 Gb Seagate, 1 X 500GB Seagate, 1 X 500GB Seagate (AC Ryan box)
Display(s) LG M2094D-PZ 20'' HD (1920 X 1080)
Case custom MDF case (I BUILT IT) check sig.....NOW
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Tagan 900 watt
Software Win 7 RC / Open office / Games
Benchmark Scores 18509 single 4870 - 23996 3dmark06 4870 crossfire(vista ult.64@4Ghz)/ P16213 3dmark vantage
#7
the player makes no difference in playback... you need the codecs
 
Joined
May 30, 2006
Messages
7,626 (1.81/day)
Likes
855
Location
TX, USA
Processor Intel i7 4770K
Motherboard Asrock
Cooling Water
Memory Team Xtreem LV 16GB (2x8GB)
Video Card(s) EK Full WB HD7970
Display(s) CROSSOVER 27Q LED-P 27"
Case Danger Den Torture Rack
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply CORSAIR Professional Series Gold AX1200
Software W 10 Pro

orphy

New Member
Joined
Mar 3, 2008
Messages
37 (0.01/day)
Likes
4
Processor Intel Q660
Motherboard ASUS P5NE-SLI
Cooling Arctic Cooling AC-FRZ-7P Freezer 7 Pro
Memory 2X 2GB CM2 6400 4-4-4-12
Video Card(s) Point Of View 8800GT 512MB GDDR3
Storage 1.5TB Total
Display(s) Visitron 26"
Case Collermaster Elite 510
Power Supply Solwise 650 Modular
Software XP PRO 64bit
#9
i find it strange you never normally need codecs if youy are using vlc. Are we all sure its not a driver/card issue?
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2006
Messages
6,374 (1.54/day)
Likes
983
System Name ICE-QUAD // ICE-CRUNCH
Processor Q6600 // 2x Xeon 5472
Memory 2GB DDR // 8GB FB-DIMM
Video Card(s) HD3850-AGP // FireGL 3400
Display(s) 2 x Samsung 204Ts = 3200x1200
Audio Device(s) Audigy 2
Software Windows Server 2003 R2 as a Workstation now migrated to W10 with regrets.
#10
I have issues with VLC. For example, the GTA4 demo trailer will not run in VLC but it works just fine in DivX player. Change your media player and load the latest Klite or CCCP codecs.
 

argada

New Member
Joined
Mar 30, 2008
Messages
16 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#11
That is right. I have installed and used VLC player on 5 other machines and never had any problem like this.

btw, I installed latest xvid codec from that link, and I'm currently playing/testing it. *fingers crossed*

I'm absolutely NOT sure if its driver issue or not, lol. But I did try another driver version, which didn't change anything. So I'm seeking advice here... this is the first time for me installing 64bit OS so I don't know if that has anything to do with it, compatibility issues maybe? dunno.
 
Joined
May 30, 2006
Messages
7,626 (1.81/day)
Likes
855
Location
TX, USA
Processor Intel i7 4770K
Motherboard Asrock
Cooling Water
Memory Team Xtreem LV 16GB (2x8GB)
Video Card(s) EK Full WB HD7970
Display(s) CROSSOVER 27Q LED-P 27"
Case Danger Den Torture Rack
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply CORSAIR Professional Series Gold AX1200
Software W 10 Pro
#12

argada

New Member
Joined
Mar 30, 2008
Messages
16 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#13
VLC would play fine and only sporadically it would start showing the funky colors. Using another player, like windows media player, it would fail in EXACTLY the same manner, so I'm not sure the software player have much to do with it.

Bare in mind the video clips I'm trying to play are not some "recent" file (Like 5 year old TV show?), i.e. encoded with a later version than my playback would allow. I have watched these on older machines using whatever version of VLC (and others.) with no problem at all.

What really confuses me is, it messes up my mouse cursor, and it hangs my machine as soon as I, start up another video, or start some graphical application(game, screen saver full screen picture preview.) and If I don't, the machine will continue to function indefinitely.

I will try http://www.xpcodecpack.com/ soon, it takes me a while to test if anything worked or not. And I just installed new xvid codec, testing 1 thing at a time.
 
Joined
Mar 14, 2007
Messages
970 (0.25/day)
Likes
150
Processor Intel e2180 2.0ghz @ 2.8ghz w/ stock volts
Motherboard ASUS P5K-e Wifi-AP
Cooling Zalman 9500 w/ AS5
Memory G.Skill Black PI's DDR2 @ 896MHz 4-4-4-12 1.9v
Video Card(s) EVGA 8800GT w/ Zalman VF-900
Storage 2x Crucial C300 64GB, Samsung F3 2TB & 1TB, F1 1TB & 750GB
Display(s) ASUS VW246H 24" 16:9
Case Ultra / Chieftec Black Tower
Audio Device(s) X-fi XtremeMusic -> Z-5300e's
Power Supply PCP&C 610 Silencer
Software Windows 7 x64
#15
I'm gonna list another codec pack, just for kicks. It includes EVERYTHING from the latest divx, xvid, ah, well you can look at the list and find out.

K-Lite: http://www.free-codecs.com/download/k_lite_codec_pack.htm

I'm not sure if it will change anything, but perhaps SLI is giving a problem with the PureVideo playback. Disabling it might be worth a shot.
 
Joined
May 30, 2006
Messages
7,626 (1.81/day)
Likes
855
Location
TX, USA
Processor Intel i7 4770K
Motherboard Asrock
Cooling Water
Memory Team Xtreem LV 16GB (2x8GB)
Video Card(s) EK Full WB HD7970
Display(s) CROSSOVER 27Q LED-P 27"
Case Danger Den Torture Rack
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply CORSAIR Professional Series Gold AX1200
Software W 10 Pro
#16
I think it ask for you to restart after install make sure you restart for it to work ;)
 

argada

New Member
Joined
Mar 30, 2008
Messages
16 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#17
yeah. So what I been doing is, deleting all codecs followed by restart. Install the new pack. Restart. Then start testing.

What is painful is ... I cannot quickly tell if it worked or not, have to play a few videos, sit around, and wait ...

I used k-lite before, I will give this the latest version a shot if this xpcodecpack doesn't work.
 
Joined
Mar 29, 2007
Messages
4,829 (1.23/day)
Likes
635
System Name The Cube
Processor Ryzen 5 1600
Motherboard Asus Prime B350M-A/CSM AM4 mATX
Cooling Stock Wraith Spire
Memory 2x8gb Crucial Ballistix Sport LT DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 760
Storage 256 GB Samsung Evo 850, 1TB WD Blue
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440p LED
Case Thermaltake Core V21
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W
Software Win 10 Education
#19
What are your gpu temps? Could be an sli thing as well, have you tried disabling one?
 

argada

New Member
Joined
Mar 30, 2008
Messages
16 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#20
pretty much idle temperatures. core temp of upper card 50 degree, the bottom card 5 degrees lower.

I have not tried disabling SLI, but even if that works, doesn't seem like a nice solution.
 
Joined
Mar 29, 2007
Messages
4,829 (1.23/day)
Likes
635
System Name The Cube
Processor Ryzen 5 1600
Motherboard Asus Prime B350M-A/CSM AM4 mATX
Cooling Stock Wraith Spire
Memory 2x8gb Crucial Ballistix Sport LT DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 760
Storage 256 GB Samsung Evo 850, 1TB WD Blue
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440p LED
Case Thermaltake Core V21
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W
Software Win 10 Education
#21
No it doesn't, but at least you would know whats going on and could go from there. This seems like its probably a vc issue to me.

Just make sure you have the latest drivers from nvidia also, and try disabling sli.

And just to clarify, your cards aren't ocd right?
 

argada

New Member
Joined
Mar 30, 2008
Messages
16 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#22
xXx editions are factory oced. So... yes they are oced, but I didn't touch them.

using latest stable from from nvidia
 
Joined
Jul 26, 2007
Messages
536 (0.14/day)
Likes
41
Location
Melbourne, Australia
System Name beast
Processor 3930K
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X79-UD3
Cooling Noctua NH-U12P SE2011
Memory 16GB Kingston Value DDR3 1333Mhz CL9
Video Card(s) Sapphire 5870 1GB
Storage 1x 120GB Intel 520
Display(s) 3x X243BW@5760x1080
Case Antec P182
Power Supply Antec TruePower Trio 650
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64
#23
ive read recently that green bands over compressed video can have to do with ffshow configuration, if you still have the k-lite codec pack intstalled, try configuring the ffshow decoder differently, ill have a look around to see if i can find where i read it and paste u a solution form there, hope it'l help

i found the thread where ive read this similar problem, altho im speculating it could be the age of the video your trying to play, i hope that giving this url doesnt break any forum rules, apologies in advance if it does:
http://forums.overclockers.com.au/showthread.php?t=657047&highlight=divx

incase u guys cant read the thread [its likely so] ill share the solution from overclockers here,
credits goto foxmulder881 from ocau not me for this:
"I opened the file in g-spot and identified the codec as XviD.
So I changed XviD and DivX decoding from ffdshow to XviD 1.2 and DivX 6.8.0, respectively."

theres a screenshot of a klite install, selecting the correct codecs for directshow, that should help with ur playback problems.
funny enough the rest of the thread just praises vlc a few times and thats it, so hope that helps u out a bit.
 
Last edited:

argada

New Member
Joined
Mar 30, 2008
Messages
16 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#24
Tried clean install, with 2 different operating systems. Still unresolved.
Windows XP32 sp3 (latest update)
Windows Vista x64 sp1 (latest updates)

Using latest stable video drivers from nvidia.

They all fail in exactly the same manner, the video window start showing these colored lines etc, and mouse cursor gets messed up. Then eventually system locks up.

I tried disabling SLI mode, made no difference.

Interestingly, initially this was only happening with divx encoded file (Although I didn't really try that many different file types), today it happened with a .wmv file. But xvid seems to play fine.
 

treezy

New Member
Joined
Feb 15, 2006
Messages
12 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#25
Wow I have the same exact problem, I use to have 2 EVGA 8800gt SLi and it happened a handful of times i ended up selling them and now 2 Evga 8800GTS and it just happened again.
I messed around with the temps a whole lot with rivatuner and i am almost positive its not a overheating issue mine are in the higher 40's idle and 70-80 full blast. like you said it only happens when watching video clips. i have troubleshooting for quite a long time now, and have tried everything mentioned on this forum as well. im running out of ideas except disable sli but you did that already and it didnt help. I will keep trying new things and hopefully we'll get this
fixed because its really starting to get annoying.