1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Problem with 8800GT running at PCI-e 2.0

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Live OR Die, Dec 29, 2007.

  1. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    4,201 (1.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    475
    Im having problem running my 8800GT Sparkle at PCI-e 2 on my new 780i ,it will work some times and then some times in windows the screen will just go black and than ill have to restart, then ill get a bibing sound and no display will come up so im goin to sell it and get a new EVGA 8800 GTS will i get the same problem:(
     
  2. trog100

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    5,448 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    619
    it shouldnt make any difference pci-e 2 or 1.. any card should just work in either..

    trog
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (4.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,002
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    It seems to me that there is driver conflicts. But, I'm with trog, any new PCI-e cards work in any PCI-e slot. Its just you have a benefit to go with PCI-e 2...
     
  4. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    4,201 (1.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    475
    It seem to work for a while and then not i maybe it the brand of 8800GT im using it the problem?
     
  5. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (4.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,002
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    I really don't think it would be that.. I've been seeing a lot of problems on here with 8800gt oc. Seems once they are tried oced they just go back and forth... I wish Solaris could get his hands on one.. I believe he would have an answer for evey 8800gt out there thats oced theirs...
     
  6. Snipe343

    Snipe343

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,002 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    are you oc at all cause that is what my 8600GT does when i puch it to far runs great but when runnign crysis for 30 minutes it stops(also randomly stops but cant connect it to anything im doing)
     
  7. Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,969 (3.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,054
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    I'm with cold here, bet we will see these problems decrease with new drivers. Every new card has some growing pains.
     
  8. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (4.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,002
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    yeah, your right.. The driver updates will work everything out... The only thing I can say is if its really a hassle then rma it, don't oc it, and wait for a driver that stablizes the ocing ability. It will come out, you just have to wait for it...
    Also, check to see at other forums if there is any mods that people are doing to fix their problems like that, or just helping them out...
     
  9. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    4,201 (1.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    475
    it not just in windows in at post to and my card is not oc anymore stock speed
     
  10. Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,969 (3.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,054
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    Hmm, did you run it on another board before you got the 780i?
     
  11. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (4.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,002
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    I wish there was something I could say... But if its still doing that, and nothing is wrong with Bios, then I'd say RMA it...
    On a lighter note.. Sweet that you got the 3 way Sli board... just skimmed through the manual. Its funny that you need a PSU that is over 1000w to power it! :laugh:
     
  12. Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,969 (3.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,054
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    over 1000w. WTF:wtf: Man, three cards in SLI and a 1000w psu. Damn, that seems like such overkill to me.
     
  13. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (4.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,002
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    To Quote the Manual:
    To support 3-way SLI, this motherboard has the following specific power
    supply requirements:
    Minimum 1000 W peak power
    Six PCI-E power connectors configured in either of the following
    configurations (see Figure 3):
    Four 6-pin (3x2) and two 8-pin (4x2) PCI-E power connectors
    or
    Six 6-pin (3x2) PCI-E power connectors

    I know it says 1000w peak, but I'd have to go with at lease 1200w for it.. don't want to fry anything!

    Edit: I'm sorry that was off subject, but I haven't seen the PSU requirements ever being so high!
     
  14. Snipe343

    Snipe343

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,002 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    If no oc then listen to cold
     
  15. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (4.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,002
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    +1 on that if you have the ability... if not then wait for driver updates, or rma...
     
  16. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    4,201 (1.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    475
    i ran my 8800GT on a 680i board befor i got my 780i? and my PSU is made for Quad sli, 4 6pin plugs, 2 8pin plugs but im goin to get a 9800GTX next year so ill be ok to sli 2 9800GTX together
     
  17. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (4.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,002
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    Well then, the only thing I can say now is to rma it...
    Forget what I just said!
     
    Last edited: Dec 30, 2007
  18. Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,969 (3.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,054
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    Well, wait a minute. Was it running ok on the 680i? If it was, it could be a motherboard issue, not a video card.
     
  19. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (4.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,002
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    That is right... I know I shouldn't post on here before my morning coffee.... :banghead:
     
  20. philbrown23

    philbrown23 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,231 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    147
    Location:
    vermont
    I read on another forum that some people who bought the sparkle 8800's had ALOT of problems with them, wheras the people who bought EVGA, XFX, BFG, have had absolutely no problems.
     
  21. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    4,201 (1.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    475
    yes i didnt have any problems with it running on the 680i but that was only at PCI-e 1.1 right, i went back to my back up card 8400GS for a week and i didnt have any problems running that on my 780i i know it was only running at PCI-e 1.1 but i still should get problems if it was the board, i think i just a crap card that why it one of the cheapest GT you can find, and if it was the board it would come up with a error at post but i doesnt it start up normal and evem logs into windows lol with no video.
     
    Last edited: Dec 30, 2007

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)