1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Problem with cold cathode lighting

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by swistak92, Jul 6, 2010.

  1. swistak92 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    96 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Sydney
    Hey guys,
    I just bought and installed Red Cold Cathode 30cm Fluorescent 2x lights
    So it consists of 2x lamps, an inverter, and an off/on switch

    The problem is when I boot the comp it runs perfect, until I touch the switch, once I switch it on/off the computers restarts/crashes.

    Any ideas what the problem could be?

    Thanks in advance

    edit: I can actually turn the lights on, when i turn them off, it is then when the system pretty much crashes
     
    Last edited: Jul 6, 2010
  2. Conflict0s

    Conflict0s

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    Messages:
    399 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    United Kingdom.
    Sounds like it is shorting something out to me.
    If you can, try taking the inverter and CCFLs out of the case but still connected to the power and see if it does the same thing.
     
  3. swistak92 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    96 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Sydney
    yup already done that and still the same :/
     
  4. Conflict0s

    Conflict0s

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    Messages:
    399 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    United Kingdom.
    Hmm, well I can't see it being your power supply.
    Check for a loose connection? (mainly 4pin molex)
     
    swistak92 says thanks.
  5. swistak92 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    96 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Sydney
    mm alright Ill do it right now
     
  6. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    11,950 (3.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,348
    Take the switch out of the mix. That's probably where the short is. If needed, you can buy another switch at Wal-Mart, Auto Zone, Radio Shack, etc...
     
    swistak92 says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU
  7. swistak92 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    96 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Sydney
    checked all the connections, even tried different molex plugs.. still no luck :(
    so it's most likely the switch?
     
  8. Conflict0s

    Conflict0s

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    Messages:
    399 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    United Kingdom.
    Give it a shot. It should just be two crimped connections on the switch, if you pull them both off (they will go back on) and then connect them together it will be like eliminating the switch.
     
  9. swistak92 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    96 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Sydney
    So pull them off first while the comp is off....
    Boot the comp
    Touch the two cables together = on ye?
    when not touching its off yup?
    so if the comp doesn't crash it means that its the switch?
     
  10. Conflict0s

    Conflict0s

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    Messages:
    399 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    United Kingdom.
    Yea, make sure the computer is off. Take the switch off and connect the two wires (put some electrical tape over it so you don't zap yourself) and then boot up and see if it works. When the two wires are connected the circuit is made meaning the CCFLs should light. When they are disconnected the circuit is broken meaning they shouldn't. So if it doesn't crash, it is the switch at fault.
     
  11. m1dg3t

    m1dg3t

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,349 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    580
    Location:
    Canada
    Could also be the inverter itself but check the switch as mentioned
     
  12. swistak92 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    96 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Sydney
    so i took the cables of the switch and connected them and ye the lights light up... however I'm unsure about the next step... Do I separate the cables while the computer is still on to check if it will crash? is that safe for the comp?
     
  13. Conflict0s

    Conflict0s

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    Messages:
    399 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    United Kingdom.
    Yea, just disconnect the wires and see if it crashes. You are essentially doing what the switch does by making and braking the circuit (so no harm will come from doing this). If it doesn't crash, then connect the two wires back and see if the CCFLs light again, if they do and there are no crashes, your switch is at fault. Otherwise it could be like m1dg3t said and be the inverter.

    EDIT: This is all done whilst the computer is turned on so be carfull when you are reconnecting the wires back together.
     
  14. swistak92 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    96 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Sydney
    Once I disconnected the cables the comp crashed just like with the switch... so it must be the inverter?
    is there anyways of fixing it or just buy a new one?
     
  15. Delta6326

    Delta6326

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,018 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    742
    Location:
    Iowa, USA
    if it has warranty then i would send it back but probable the inverter at fault
     
  16. segalaw19800

    segalaw19800

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    383 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    65
    Location:
    Lost in space
    EMP from the inverter when switch off move the inverter away from computer and try again
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)