• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Problem with my monitor (Hanns G... HG216D)

DeusEx

New Member
Joined
Apr 28, 2008
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
I've had this monitor for about 7-8 month's now and have not had a problem with it until the other day. When I turned on my computer, a series of whitish lines appeared from about 2/3 of the way down the screen, running to the bottom. They faded in and out for a while and after a few minutes dissapeared completely without me making any adjustments to anything. It was almost like the monitor had to warm up or something. This has happened a few times since then and the lines have appeared in the same region. Any idea what the problem could be?
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,103 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,530
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#2
I've had this monitor for about 7-8 month's now and have not had a problem with it until the other day. When I turned on my computer, a series of whitish lines appeared from about 2/3 of the way down the screen, running to the bottom. They faded in and out for a while and after a few minutes dissapeared completely without me making any adjustments to anything. It was almost like the monitor had to warm up or something. This has happened a few times since then and the lines have appeared in the same region. Any idea what the problem could be?
try it on another PC. the problem could actually be your video card.

Also try other cables/adaptors, maybe somethings loose or damaged.
 

Trompthar

New Member
Joined
Jan 14, 2013
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#3
hanns g HG216D

I know this is an old thread but have been searching around for an answer and just cannot find it. I have a Hanns.g 216D 22" monitor and it has been working very well for the past couple of years. Just recently, the display has become very bright and the response time is very slow, as in when you move your mouse across the desktop, the reaction on the monitor is slow. I have disconnected it from the PC and when powered on, it is very slow to respond, when it does, it gets very bright and you can see the lines form, then it goes back to black with the box stating no signal detected. This happens on regular VGA and HDMI both. I have checked it with 3 different PCs plus and XBOX via the HDMI port. Just wondering if the main board is bad. I have taken the board out, no blown capacitors and nothing looks burned out. Any helpl would be appreciated.
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,031 (3.47/day)
Likes
6,631
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, 1 X 4 Tb HGST, 1 x 6Tb Toshiba
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#4
LCDs are tricky to fix. Its a guessing game. Disassemble it and put it back together. If that's doesn't work I wouldn't put any money into it. The boards work together so it could be your main board or the PSU or the t con. Or a ribbon

cable. You could try to change the capacitors as they are only a couple of bucks
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,399 (4.85/day)
Likes
5,480
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#5
I've been extremely unhappy with my HannsG/HannSpree display. I've had to RMA the damn thing 4 times. One of those times something similar happened. My display got stuck in some form of diagnostic mode. It would show different basic patterns and solid colors of red, green, and blue and wouldn't connect to a display. Occasionally it would make a buzz noise and the display would go dark. I would just send it back if it is in warranty and if it isn't, it might be bad caps if it is looking dim or if the backlight just cuts off.
 

Trompthar

New Member
Joined
Jan 14, 2013
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#6
I found a main board online for about $30. I might try that as it is basically inexpensive, but there are no blown caps on either main or PSU. Was just hoping that someone else has had the same issue and knew a fix.... but thanks for the replies.... Greatly appreciated!!!!!!!! :)
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,031 (3.47/day)
Likes
6,631
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, 1 X 4 Tb HGST, 1 x 6Tb Toshiba
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#7
I have bought inverters, main boards, and other things. Only one time was I able to fix an issue like this. It was a cable. Buy a new monitor
 
Joined
Jan 16, 2013
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#8
good info, Only one time was I able to fix an issue like this. It was a cable. Buy a new monitor,thank you